April 19, 2024, 08:56:41 AM

Author Topic: WOMEN SOCCER LEAGUE IN 2009  (Read 3543 times)

WOMEN SOCCER LEAGUE IN 2009
« on: September 04, 2007, 08:40:54 PM »
VWomen's Soccer League to Start in 2009
Tue Sep 04, 05:55 PM

Abby Wambach and her U.S. teammates will have a new pro soccer league to look forward to after the Women's World Cup and the Olympics.

Its launch has been bumped back a year to 2009, when the seven-team pro Women's Soccer LLC is set to begin in the spring, league commissioner Tonya Antonucci announced Tuesday.

Teams will be based in Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Los Angeles, New Jersey/New York, St. Louis, and Washington. Several teams are expected to play in MLS soccer-specific stadiums.

"Careful consideration was taken in timing the launch of the league, as team owners are being judicious to ensure that this league is sustainable and successful in the long run," Antonucci said. "It's a simple matter of preparation and operational readiness."

The league follows the failed Women's United Soccer Association (WUSA), which launched after the success of the 1999 Women's World Cup. Wambach played for the Washington Freedom, but the league folded in 2003 after three seasons even though the stars of the 1999 U.S. team played in the WUSA.

"A league was the most important component to getting me completely prepared to play at the next level," said Wambach, the leading scorer for the U.S. women's national team. "What this means is that more women will have more opportunity to not only play at the next level, but also fulfill lifelong dreams of being a professional athlete."

The investors decided to wait to start the new venture until after this month's Women's World Cup in China and the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

"We did not want to impact the various national teams between these two events and we did not want our league to take the focus away from these two great events for our players or our fans," said Michael Stoller, managing partner for Boston Women's Soccer, the ownership group of the Boston Breakers.

The seven ownership groups are: AEG L.A. Women's Soccer; Boston Women's Soccer; Chicago Professional Women's Soccer; Hendricks Investment Holdings (Washington); St. Louis United Soccer; Sky Blue Women's Soccer (New Jersey/New York); and Sting Soccer Group (Dallas).

Phil Anschutz, the owner of the MLS' Los Angeles Galaxy, is the lead investor of AEG L.A. Women's Soccer. Anschutz, of course, spent millions recently to bring David Beckham to his MLS team.

The women's league intends to partner with Soccer United Marketing, which is affiliated with MLS, for sponsorship and marketing. The league plans to announce a new name in the coming months, and more teams may be added.

As CEO of the Women's Soccer Initiative, Antonucci worked the past three years planning the league.

"For years, the U.S. has been home to some of the world's best female soccer players," Antonucci said. "They and their international counterparts deserve to play on a professional stage."

Antonucci said the financial lessons from WUSA have been noted, and investors are taking the long view.

"The new league is taking every step to ensure that this league is a permanent fixture on the nation's professional sports landscape," she said. "We are not expecting overnight success, but are committed to long-term growth and profitability."

E-mail this article   Printer-friendly version

Do we have any contenders for the WPS Draft?
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2009, 03:20:50 PM »
... the US women's pro league?

Re: Do we have any contenders for the WPS Draft?
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2009, 04:03:31 PM »
Maybe Tasha St. Louis, Akheela Mollon and Maylee Johnson......maybe. 

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2009, 06:15:52 PM »
doesn't akheela already play professionally in sweden tho?

« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 07:51:01 AM »
ah study dat...hopefully by next season the target should be at least 5 tnt players

« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2009, 08:45:12 AM »

Who knows what will go on. The WPS will see players crossing borders. Marta will be leaving Sweden for WPS.

« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2009, 09:25:16 AM »
allyuh look for a player named Marissa Schumaker-Hodge...the girl wicked.....

« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2009, 09:31:59 AM »
Maylee recovering from a knee injury

« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2009, 09:34:51 AM »

horse where yuh girls and dem from silverbacks go end up playing?

« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2009, 11:30:42 AM »
allyuh look for a player named Marissa Schumaker-Hodge...the girl wicked.....

Marisha Schumacher-Hodge. Is she Trini? or yuh just telling us to check a baller.
Will check the league out. Hope it does better than WUSA

« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2009, 06:08:53 PM »

horse where yuh girls and dem from silverbacks go end up playing?

Thick legs gone to Boston and Sharolta gone to a club in new york :(

« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2009, 11:53:27 AM »
From what I have heard, we would not have any representation at this draft. Well we go see on Friday.

« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2009, 06:22:10 PM »

I would not call it professional (in terms of renumarations and such).

Re: WOMEN SOCCER LEAGUE IN 2009
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2009, 01:17:29 PM »
http://www.womensprosoccer.com/playerlist.aspx?team=

like they signed up the whole Brazilian team. Marta plays for LA Sol.
don't see any Trinis listed, but tryouts begin Sunday.

« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2009, 01:52:22 PM »
http://www.womensprosoccer.com/playerlist.aspx?team=

like they signed up the whole Brazilian team.

true dat!

now if they could get some ah dem german, aussie, norweigian and swedish big players this league will def be the best women's league in the world.

« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2009, 01:57:47 PM »
I waiting to see if they call the winners of the inaugural season the World Champions.

« Reply #16 on: March 05, 2009, 12:58:57 AM »
Blatter gets his wish? skorts for WPS. the wrap is detachable though and won't be worn in games.

« Reply #17 on: March 05, 2009, 05:21:16 AM »
Paols..look Martha sweating

« Reply #18 on: March 05, 2009, 12:43:53 PM »
fsc real advertisin it.

« Reply #19 on: March 05, 2009, 02:01:54 PM »
good some woman too watch at  :devil:

« Reply #20 on: March 05, 2009, 04:34:34 PM »
That is good. I hope some of our girls may get a shot.

The WPS League
« Reply #21 on: March 25, 2009, 08:52:21 AM »
I dont know if this is in any other thread but the WPS starts next week and i was curious to know if any of our girls are contracted by any clubs in this league.

Re: The WPS League
« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2009, 09:16:04 AM »
not sure but i watching for sure  :devil:

Re: The WPS League
« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2009, 09:37:39 AM »
I dont know if this is in any other thread but the WPS starts next week and i was curious to know if any of our girls are contracted by any clubs in this league.

The 1 player who I thought for sure would have gotten a bligh, is on her way to Sweden. So I guess we will have none this go round.

« Reply #24 on: March 25, 2009, 09:54:47 AM »
If this league doesn't bust, we could see some significant improvement in the competitiveness and quality of the women's game...

« Reply #25 on: March 25, 2009, 10:28:58 AM »
If this league doesn't bust, we could see some significant improvement in the competitiveness and quality of the women's game...

Was talking to a National staff coach and he said they are prepared to go longer this time around operating at a loss (the WUSA tried to turn a profit way to quickly). So they are expecting this league to last longer.