March 28, 2024, 12:07:14 PM

Author Topic: Your Game Day Traditions  (Read 2983 times)

Your Game Day Traditions
« on: March 28, 2009, 09:12:18 AM »
What have you done or do on game day? As a player? Coach? Fan?

Fan.

If TnT or any country team is playing that I support, it starts with me verifying that I can see it on tv or get an internet feed. once that's confirmed..

If it's the warriors, I make sure to tell family, friends etc.. don't come around. If I'm watching from home, I like to be alone. Day starts off visiting here to see all the latest postings, then as time gets nearer it means cooking lau (only for tnt games) and I must have zaboca (even them nashy ting from mexico). So as game starts I usually have a tall glass of orange juice and my lau, accented with some cucumber and tomato on the side.

I usually also switch between the 3 shirts I have to see if one brings me luck or not. So far the "finta" seems to bring most luck.

Ever since Germany I also grab ah couple German beers to wash dong the sorrow or celebrate the victory as the game progresses.

If it's a team like Holland that's playing.. the meal would be corned beef and rice or something. Same rule applies.. I want to be alone, cause the lass thing I need is someone (wife) asking me something "dumb" I have to explain.

EPL / CL / Womens game etc.. no real dedication here unless it's Barca or Spurs.. then I dere. No food preps but still focused and doh bother me. If it's a womens game, I usually try to include my daughters as it's the only thing they will ever watch with me.

« Last Edit: March 28, 2009, 09:40:33 AM by Jumbie »

Re: Your Game Day Traditions
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 09:31:41 AM »
haha...nice

I always wear red when watching a T&T game- even if it's me alone in my living room/or following it on a game tracker/watching online....no exceptions....that's about the only game day tradition I have as a fan...

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2009, 09:45:58 AM »
I am the worst:

T&T:

1) My Kit with my black Adidas shorts
2) Must go Trotters and watch a game first...most the time it's England
3) Eat shark bites and fries from Trotters
4) Away games: take off cell and nobody is allowed in my tv room but my father
5) Say a prayer before kick off

Man Utd:
1) Wear the exact kit each matchday..I have all the kits..1st 2nd and 3rd
2) Wear my man utd ring
3) Use blue Irish spring soap and green Irish spring deodarent
4) Specific towels
5) Set the surround sound to 53 and the TV to 20
6) Rooney and Man Utd scarves hung over the tv room door
7) Man Utd pillow in TV Room facing up
8 ) Can't drink 12 hours before a Man Utd game
9) Can't eat during a Man Utd game
10) check squad list from fbtz.com only
11) Set my man utd playlist on my ipod to play 1/2 hour before kick off for big games
12) Wash all man utd kits if we lose...
13) Dont wash utd kits till we lose haha
14) many others...just cant think of them

These superstitions have won us a CL and 2 prems and 1 Carling Cup in the past 3 seasons so far haha

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2009, 10:13:49 AM »
On TV...Home ALONE..in meh drawers...3 drinks...1 1st half, 1 half time, one for victory/drown sorrows.

In Stadium...reach 2-3 hrs before kickoff and get a seat near 18 yrd line.

Dont call meh, don't bother me.

Football is serious ting.

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2009, 10:39:14 AM »
i thought bout this a while back bout what people does do when watching football at home.

with T&T i wear red, cook up some cook up, bottle of wine..and i watch it alone.
don't pay too much attention to friendly's but i'm always tense especially if its a qualifier.
the difference i notice last match was that even though i celebrated silently when we went 2 goals up i knew we were just lucky. when Stern missed the penalty, i just minimized the screen and i tell mehself look how them going and come back now..so said so done

with Liverpool i wear red or meh Torres #9, no special meal just some Heineken.
would like to watch it alone but somehow the wife and infant ends up there, he can actually say 'Stevie G'  lol
i am tense for all Liverpool games till we in front by bout 3 goals..Champions league games are the best..real bamsee grippign stuff  ;D

with Spain, nothing special, i was so accustomed to us failing at every tournament, with winning Euro 08 that was like surreal..the thing with that now is everybody jump on the Spanish wagon now..steups
i used to like England but me ent know what happen to that affair, cant really put my finger on it  :-\

« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2009, 10:40:47 AM »
mus wear red whole day. And my finta shirt. Have a lucky pair of boxers as well, but i leave dem home for carnival so today i go be extra nervous!
and as felizano said, think we had a similar thread a while back..

« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2009, 10:46:01 AM »
mus wear red whole day. And my finta shirt. Have a lucky pair of boxers as well, but i leave dem home for carnival so today i go be extra nervous!
and as felizano said, think we had a similar thread a while back..

Yeah dis is we contribution 2 earth day a recycle thread. All us will need our electricity at 830

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2009, 11:01:34 AM »
At home on TV or de net I usually wear one ah meh throwback T&T kits or meh Warrior Nation jersey.  I also blast Maximus Dan's "Fighter" before each game.

At de game is de latest kit or meh Warrior Nation jersey.

White or black draws is a must! Bad boy doh wear red draws tho... ;D

« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2009, 11:04:23 AM »
the usual lime by my house if i getting the game or by a bar who bringing the game :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2009, 11:08:01 AM »
must put the Maximus 'Fighter' on repeat for at least a half hour...

« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2009, 11:52:09 AM »
wife kids nobody must talk or want anyting done,if de house burnin leave me alone.

« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2009, 12:46:27 PM »
must put the Maximus 'Fighter' on repeat for at least a half hour...

And de last time I post dais wha I does do....Jah Gol laugh at me.... :)

« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2009, 12:56:02 PM »
have a red white and black boxers i does put on (yes i wash it after every game).  have meh warrior nation shirt i does wear.   meh son getting bigger now so i going and start a new tradition of putting him in a trinidad shirt on game day as well. 

« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2009, 01:09:09 PM »
as a player, ah had ah red, white & black drawers ah used to wear, even doh ah was playing for ah greek club..ah keep it right thru to coaching games, after the 89 game it get bun, ah reach home 2 days after the game, an ah didn't leave town...the wife(who I accused) say she never see it...nobody know how it get bun an end up in the garbage... :-[
since then, red shirt on game day, an watch the game home on internet.

« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2009, 02:16:53 PM »
All of this is some mental/ psychological shite but I find myself doing it. Lord it does be tiring and I find myself not doing it against shite sides but after the Fulham loss I have tuh make the sacrifice.  :devil: I actually drop some things cause I was geezeanages this shite is becoming super annoying.
1. wash dishes, sink needs to be empty and dishes put away.
2. when at home I don't start watching the game until a few minutes after kick off but make sure I see 2nd half kick off.
3. wear my Giggs shirt on with my United scarf, underneath is a t-shirt commerating United's 1st PL championship in 93' and a trackpants I wore when we won the treble, slippers, special watch.
4. if I am in a pub I eat after the game. no bathroom breaks if United winning
5. clear messages on voicemail, no talking on the phone.
6. ceiling fan and light on, blinds at a certain angle
7. vitamins, emergenc drink, before game

Off season does not come fast enough, international breaks always welcome.

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2009, 02:46:56 PM »
in front of de tv/computer wearing a adult-size pampers with a fresh one on de side for de 2nd half

(T&T senior team only)

« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2009, 06:32:15 AM »
in front of de tv/computer wearing a adult-size pampers with a fresh one on de side for de 2nd half

(T&T senior team only)

« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2009, 07:45:24 AM »
Living abroad away from any kind of Trini populus, I have had to modify my tradition just a bit.

If the time difference does not interrupt a work day. (of if it does, I take the day off  ;D )
I first cook a big pot of food. A tradition my Dad and I started years ago before any big sports event.
Usually a pellaou with a salad to compliment. This is eaten before the match. As I devote complete attention to the game.

The bigger the game, the bigger the antics. For the second encounter vs. Bahrain, I took the day off. Cooked and then just meditated for about an hour, to calm the nerves. Then buss some prayers just before and during kick off.

If anybody is going to be around me, they have to be hard core fans and not more than about four. Nothing worse than ass who want to CONVERSE during a match.

Usually to pump me up and get me in the mood, there are three songs I play: Deutchland, Little Giants and Fighter. If that can't get you pumped, nothing will.

« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2009, 10:28:40 AM »
hustle to find a working game stream on the net if the game not on TV and try to hold mih spot.