April 26, 2024, 09:13:58 AM

Author Topic: West Indies v England, 4th ODI  (Read 4700 times)

West Indies v England, 4th ODI
« on: March 29, 2009, 06:57:09 AM »

Gayle forces England onto back foot
The Preview by Andrew Miller
March 29, 2009

http://content.cricinfo.com/wiveng2009/content/story/397237.html

Match facts
West Indies v England, 4th ODI, Bridgetown
Sunday March 29
Start time 9.30am (13.30GMT)

Big picture
England are ending their Caribbean tour as they began it, beset by off-field rifts and dripping with unadulterated humiliation. Their walloping in the third ODI was quite possibly their most pathetic effort of a success-starved winter, involving as it did a total brain-freeze from batsmen and bowlers alike. Had it not been for John Dyson's Duckworth-Lewis miscalculation in the first match at Providence, there would be nothing left to play for in this series, but mentally England's players have packed up and gone home already, not least Kevin Pietersen, whose dissatisfaction couldn't really be more clear.

But far from revelling in the prospect of a rare clean-sweep of victories across all three formats, West Indies are themselves embroiled in disputes. Their captain, Chris Gayle, has warned that he could yet lead a boycott of the fifth and final ODI in St Lucia next week, if the thorny issue of the player contracts are not sorted out in a hurry. The wranglings have not affected his form one iota - quite the opposite in fact - but if anything is going to allow England back into this series, disharmony in their opponent's ranks is the likeliest route.

Form guide (most recent first)
West Indies WWLLN
England LLWLL

Watch out for …
Chris Gayle's contemptuous onslaught in Barbados was the culmination of a glorious winter of performances, that began with his flyswatting half-century in the Stanford 20/20 for 20, and continued through his twin hundreds in the Test series. His habitual power and timing were joined by a streak of inventiveness, as he flogged eight sixes in a 43-ball 80, from third man, to cover, to long-on, to wide midwicket. This is his team, in every sense of the word, and so his off-field leadership will be every bit as critical as his on-.

Kevin Pietersen was once a leader of men. Right now he's reverted to being the malignant source of disruption that his critics always suspected him to be. Whether he was right to pour his heart out to a daily newspaper is debatable - some would applaud his honesty, others, such as Nasser Hussain, were scathing of his actions - but one thing that's clear is that the final week of this campaign will be among the longest of his international career.

Team news
Team changes of the industrial-action type may appear come the final ODI, but for now West Indies have a series to win, and a finely balanced side with which to achieve it. It's hard to envisage any changes just yet. England, on the other hand, have pretty much exhausted their options. How many more times can they shuffle their pack to no avail? At least Andrew Flintoff is back in action, although his sixth-ball duck on Friday reaffirmed the doubts about his batting form.

West Indies (possible) 1 Chris Gayle (capt), 2 Lendl Simmons, 3 Ramnaresh Sarwan, 4 Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 5 Kieron Pollard, 6 Dwayne Bravo, 7 Darren Sammy, 8 Denesh Ramdin (wk), 9 Lionel Baker, 10 Nikita Miller, 11 Fidel Edwards.

England (possible) 1 Ravi Bopara, 2 Andrew Strauss (capt), 3 Kevin Pietersen, 4 Owais Shah, 5 Paul Collingwood, 6 Andrew Flintoff, 7 Matt Prior (wk), 8 Dimitri Mascarenhas, 9 Stuart Broad, 10 Gareth Batty, 11 James Anderson.

Pitch and conditions
With rain in the air on Friday, it proved to be an exceptional toss to win for West Indies, as England were inserted on a lively track and succumbed to a meek array of cross-batted swishes. But, as Gayle subsequently demonstrated in his blitzkrieg, there's nothing much wrong with the Bridgetown surface. Seventeen wickets fell in five days during the Test match - it's a batsman's ground, regardless of the impression England gave.

Stats & Trivia
Friday's victory over England was only West Indies' second at Bridgetown in 15 ODIs since 1999
England's total of 117 in that match was their 15th lowest in ODI history

Quotes
"I'm confident, but not overconfident. I'm a little nervous too, because it is a very important game. We want to win the series."
Gayle's target for the end of the match is an unassailable 3-1 series lead.

"There are 11 guys in that dressing room right now feeling pretty down on themselves. It wasn't a contest, we didn't play well."
Strauss has few positives to take from Friday's rout

Andrew Miller is UK editor of Cricinfo

© Cricinfo

Re: West Indies v England, 4th ODI
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2009, 07:00:27 AM »
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 08:17:14 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2009, 08:31:55 AM »
Good Morning Folks,

Well I guess England learning their lesson.

They won the toss and put us in to field.

We tend to be better run-chasers than target-setters in the 50-over format.

Dey go still get licks tho'

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2009, 08:33:53 AM »
Steups,
Sarwan set up Simmons for that run out.

Offline willi

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2009, 08:44:20 AM »
Steups,

Yeah, a terrible mistake was made. We will still win, as the openers laid a good base.

ANY MORE LINKS??? The last one just dropped out.

Edit...this works:
http://www.cricketheats.org/server2.html
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 08:58:08 AM by willi »

« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2009, 08:47:18 AM »
http://www.cricheats.com/
this one might pop up warnings on your browser, but the links seem ok.

« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2009, 09:06:15 AM »
Steups,

Yeah, a terrible mistake was made. We will still win, as the openers laid a good base.

ANY MORE LINKS??? The last one just dropped out.

Edit...this works:
http://www.cricketheats.org/server2.html

This links should also work if you're getting problems with cricketcheats.

http://footysports.info/content/sports/?page=live&pid=3&cname=cric&game=England%20v%20West%20Indies&gametype=cricket

« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2009, 11:37:34 AM »
Good day Ladies & Gentlemen
how tings looking so far
wha happen wid Miller
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 11:39:09 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2009, 12:07:54 PM »
Well West Indies posted 239/9 after 50 overs.

Not enough, but it will have to do.

« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2009, 02:43:30 PM »
After a long rain delay, play resumes.
England set 135 to win off 20 overs

Currently at 28/0

« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2009, 03:42:01 PM »
like d only way england cud win is by through duckworth lewis!

« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2009, 03:55:45 PM »
eng need 5 runs from 2 overs.

« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2009, 05:03:30 PM »
Comprehensively beaten. Not much we could have done once the rain reduced it to 135 in 20 overs. I thought we did well enough all things considered. There were some fielding errors, but generally the level was still high. That 239 was not enough to begin with, especially considering the start, but that's the nature of the game.

Wonder if we'll have a 5th match to decide the series.

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2009, 05:24:41 PM »
Comprehensively beaten. Not much we could have done once the rain reduced it to 135 in 20 overs. I thought we did well enough all things considered. There were some fielding errors, but generally the level was still high. That 239 was not enough to begin with, especially considering the start, but that's the nature of the game.

Wonder if we'll have a 5th match to decide the series.

Comprehensively used out of context.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2009, 08:16:54 PM »
I always wanted to know...D/L method is based on runs scored...as well as number of wickets in hand. We saw especially in the first ODI that a wicket is very crucial in terms of determining the par score based on D/L. When the target is readjusted due to rain, is the team given an amount of wickets that they need to keep in hand to win on D/L? Because..chasing 135 in 20 overs is no scene..especially with 10 wickets in hand. Is the minimum wickets that they need to win factored into the reckoning?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2009, 08:38:05 PM »
like d only way england cud win is by through duckworth lewis!

Cosign

« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2009, 02:41:11 PM »
I always wanted to know...D/L method is based on runs scored...as well as number of wickets in hand. We saw especially in the first ODI that a wicket is very crucial in terms of determining the par score based on D/L. When the target is readjusted due to rain, is the team given an amount of wickets that they need to keep in hand to win on D/L? Because..chasing 135 in 20 overs is no scene..especially with 10 wickets in hand. Is the minimum wickets that they need to win factored into the reckoning?

It looks like you're comparing our chase in Guyana, which is different to what  happened on Sunday. The formula was used to set England a target... it includes runs, wickets lost and available overs. I was trying to find the formula, but couldn't. Fact of the matter is based on our score, wickets lost and available overs England was given 135 to win the game. If we'd scored more or lost fewer wickets (we couldn't control total overs remaining) then the score would have been more challenging.

« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2009, 06:05:05 PM »

It looks like you're comparing our chase in Guyana, which is different to what  happened on Sunday. The formula was used to set England a target... it includes runs, wickets lost and available overs. I was trying to find the formula, but couldn't. Fact of the matter is based on our score, wickets lost and available overs England was given 135 to win the game. If we'd scored more or lost fewer wickets (we couldn't control total overs remaining) then the score would have been more challenging.

The formula not readily available....yuh need to pay. What i saying is...if it used to set England a target....and you told you have to score 135 in 20 overs......dat simple. Especially since you have 10 wickets to play with. If thats the case....the side that is chasing is always at an advantage. If they had to chase 135...but had to keep in mind that they could only loose 4 wickets....it would be much different.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2009, 07:46:14 AM »
Well that is the nature of the game. Obviously when you chase you know what you have to do, this is regardless of D/L or not. My point is when you bat first you have to score runs, if you fail to do so you make it easier for the other team to chase. That is what happened to us, D/L or not we failed to put enough runs on the board. It would be unfair to the chasing team to tell them how many wickets they have to lose too.

« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2009, 07:59:12 AM »
wuh happen no thread fuh de 5th ODI.