April 19, 2024, 06:20:26 AM

Author Topic: Which Performance was Worst? Chicago or Nasville!!!  (Read 2443 times)

Offline masterblaster

Which Performance was Worst? Chicago or Nasville!!!
« on: April 01, 2009, 08:18:04 PM »
In my view this game was worst than Chicago....but that is my opinion....Maybe ah just forgettin de carnage in Chicago bcz months have passed!!

Offline Augi

Re: Which Performance was Worst? Chicago or Nasville!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2009, 08:35:18 PM »
Hard to say.I was present in Chicago and the US scored 2 in the first 20 mins. Game was done real early.In this one we were still in with a chance in the second half.So I guess we performed better in this game....hey we getting better!!

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2009, 08:36:25 PM »
De worse game was the one that Maturana coached.

Blessings

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2009, 08:44:18 PM »
In my view this game was worst than Chicago....but that is my opinion....Maybe ah just forgettin de carnage in Chicago bcz months have passed!!

6 of 1 1/2 a dozen of d other.

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2009, 08:48:09 PM »
Chicago

« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2009, 08:50:01 PM »
Chicago

Y u say so crap is crap meh sis gettin u c d US but crap is crap.

« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2009, 08:56:38 PM »
Chicago was worse. At least tonight we appeared to have a clue a few times.

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2009, 09:10:12 PM »

6 of 1 1/2 a dozen of d other.

more like 3 of 1, 1/4 dozen of d other :rotfl:

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2009, 10:09:23 PM »
i say this game, we  had ah better squad this time around & we played disgraceful

« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2009, 10:11:58 PM »
i say this game, we  had ah better squad this time around & we played disgraceful

Might b incline 2 agree wit u.

« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2009, 07:39:46 AM »
I went to both games and I must say Chicago was worse.  In Chicago we did nothing right.  Last night was not as bad as people think.  We were competitive for about 65 minutes.   

« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2009, 07:43:43 AM »
Chicago was worse. Last night we had glimpses of knowing what we were doing, like when Carlos had the ball or when Ince was at least shouting at the defence. Chicago we had nothing, nothing, nothing.

« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2009, 07:47:52 AM »
The first 20-25 minutes of each half in Nashville were vast improvements over just about anything that happened in the Chicago game. Sounds odd given the poor performance, but we had maybe only 10 minutes at the beginning of the 2nd half in Chicago where the team played ok.

Defensivley we were just as poor at the wing back position and Keon Daniel had a worst game at left midfield than he did in the semifinal stage encounter. But we were far more solid at center back. The two man center midfield of De Leon and Birchie had too much work to do, but all in all were better in intensity and possession than the 3 man center mid we had in Chicago, for the most part.

We also made a lot more (half) chances this game. Stern held up the ball and distributed it well, compared to Cornell who can't play that role as well. But in terms of chances to score:
1) We had a powerful header off a corner, that KJ of all people accidentally blocked. It may not have scored, but it was goal bound and was a chance.
2) Carlos had a perfect low cross to the penalty spot that KJ should have attacked in the 1st half,
3) Stern's chest trap and overhead kick was another decent half chance
4) Stern mistrapped when free at the far post from another inch perfect cross from Carlos in the 2nd half
5) KJ blazed over the bar after a good cross from Hyland and dummy from Stern
6) Keon had a chance at a well placed direct free kick...but some refs would have given a penalty for Mastroeni's hand ball leading up to it.
7) Scotland was clear on goalbut never controlled the ball well and it was bubbling up on him, allowing Hejduk to come in and sweep the ball away.

Idon't recall more than 1 decent half chance from the Chicago game.

In addition, Carlos, who was our m.o.m in Chicago (great energy, but his touch was a lil off last time) had a superb game last night. He had Beasley's number, but we don't have the kind of ball movement in transition to consistently keep him in the game....instead we get to see what he can do in spurts.

Unfortunately, our performance fell off really badly at the end of the 1st half and maybe 1/2 through the 2nd half, to the point that both games started to look identical leaving just as bad a taste at the final whiste. BUt when the disappointemnt wears off, and you look back at the whole game...we were better last nite imo.

« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2009, 09:05:52 AM »
Chicago

« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2009, 09:10:15 AM »
Theobald played in Chicago...nuff said

« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2009, 09:41:29 AM »
Chicago was waaaaay worse.

Last night was actually not bad in stretches.  There were small periods, especially in the first 25-30 mins (of each half) where we actually gained control of the game....That never happened in Chicago. 

Last night we were exploited in certain areas--The usual areas--our wing backs were kinda lost at times, our technique in some parts of the field was below par, and our overall energy level, creative movement and sense of urgency was absent, so we were relatively easy to defend against......

Then there were periods when we collectively lost the plot (due to a lack of collective fitness and focus)....In Chicago we never really looked like we had a plot

Overall last night was alot better than Chi-town.

« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2009, 10:29:36 AM »
Chicago,
Yesterday the coach's picks were slightly less inexplicable.

« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2009, 10:32:56 AM »
Chicago,
Yesterday the coach's picks were slightly less inexplicable.

Dat is d bench mark now  :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2009, 10:33:25 AM »
Theobald played in Chicago...nuff said