March 29, 2024, 03:18:56 AM

Author Topic: Obama to be in Trinidad for 4 hours?  (Read 8819 times)

Offline dervaig

Obama to be in Trinidad for 4 hours?
« on: April 02, 2009, 12:43:42 PM »
$1BB TT for a 4 hour visit?

Say it ain't so!

Re: Obama to be in Trinidad for 4 hours?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2009, 01:47:23 PM »
is like manning seer woman real good..de summit did plan since 2004....we learn about it in manning 2005 budget, and all datw as because dem did already know Obama was going to run for president, and win too1

WOW!

fella de summit is NOT about Obama...for your info only eh...jes in case yuh did not already know this!

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2009, 02:28:03 PM »
4hrs where u get that now?

Offline dervaig

« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2009, 03:24:22 PM »

Stay tuned, his visit might be via delayed satellite broadcast.

$1BB TT for a meeting of state heads, that will not result in
any TANGIBLE benefit for ANYONE in Trinidad and Tobago.

« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2009, 04:26:31 PM »

U look like a UNC Ram Jack supporter.

« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2009, 05:36:29 PM »
yuh could go teartah and by de time yuh come out he gone.

« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2009, 07:06:02 PM »
chavez barely have time to finish one of he long-winded jeremiads in 4 hours. steups.

Offline dervaig

« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2009, 02:33:52 AM »

And Forever Trini, how will this Summit improve your life?

What I want is the best for Trinidad, which means...........

Fight crime with fire!
Fight kidnapping with fire and brimstone!
Instead of building a $250MM castle, take that money and
put into the hospitals in Trinidad and Tobago!
Utilize the petro dollars (before they run out, which they will)
in a well planned and systematic way to help improve the
lives of the citezenry of Trinidad and Tobago.

So Forever Trini, I ask again, how will this summit improve
your life?

« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2009, 03:11:43 AM »

And Forever Trini, how will this Summit improve your life?

What I want is the best for Trinidad, which means...........

Fight crime with fire!
Fight kidnapping with fire and brimstone!
Instead of building a $250MM castle, take that money and
put into the hospitals in Trinidad and Tobago!
Utilize the petro dollars (before they run out, which they will)
in a well planned and systematic way to help improve the
lives of the citezenry of Trinidad and Tobago.

So Forever Trini, I ask again, how will this summit improve
your life?

Not this shit again...

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42865.0

« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2009, 07:35:10 AM »
so dervaig, after all that u say then what? will it stop the summit from happening? it happening if u like or not. we cah do nothing about that.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2009, 02:56:05 PM »
uhh... didnt the british government spend something like 20M pounds for the G20 Summit?i know being a developed country they would have less to fix up but its kind of ridiculous that manning spend 5 times the amt... i say we should riot in the streets of POS like the british doing in London and mash up the beetham berm and put jouvert style bumcee prints on the hyatt walls... who w/ me?

« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2009, 10:32:26 PM »
Allyuh trini people bold yes. Obama is the president on the USA, not TnT.  People want to meet him and thing.  He is coming as a representative of the US and for the US.  Not on a inspirational tour.  Leave the inspiration up to your own father of the nation, Hon. Patrick Manning....

OBAMA ON TV ONLY ;D

Public will not be able to meet, greet US President during summit

Aretha Welch awelch@trinidadexpress.com

Saturday, April 4th 2009

IF you are expecting to see US President Barack Obama in the flesh, shaking hands and kissing babies while he is in this country for the Fifth Summit of the Americas, you will be disappointed.

At a community meeting which the Summit Secretariat held with residents of Cascade and St Ann's on Thursday night, when a member of the audience asked whether or not the public would get to see the US president in all his glory, Dennis McComie, the night's MC and member of the Summit Secretariat's communications unit, disappointed the crowd with his wry response. "You can see him on TV," he told the gathering.

The crowd responded with exasperated signs and a resounding "No!", but McComie quickly moved on to the next question.

Environmentalist Eden Shand questioned whether he could go to the Lookout (at Lady Young Road, Morvant) with his children to wave at the delegates.

He was told there would be no restrictions on that, however.

But those hoping to get a look at Obama in this way will have little to see.

Sources have confirmed that his official vehicle (otherwise known as "The Beast") is so heavily tinted that civilians looking in will not be able to see the object of their admiration, and unless he has a special desire to meet the locals, he will be making no public appearances outside of his summit meetings.

Media reports have said the US president, who will be touching down in Air Force One, will be accompanies by his contingent of over 1,000 people, which will include everyone from his wife, First Lady Michelle Obama, to economic advisers, doctors and security personnel.

Sources told the Express that after his arrival (the time is still to be confirmed), a police detail will escort his vehicle along the West-bound lane of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway, down to the Hyatt Regency hotel off Wrightson Road in Port of Spain, where the summit events are set to take place.

Around the Hyatt will be the Red Zone, which will be sterilised of all non-accredited individuals beforehand.

Therefore, the public will not get to see Obama when he arrives or leaves the hotel either. It is not clear where Obama will be staying.

On April 19, when the international delegates visit the Diplomatic Centre in St Ann's, the route will be equally enclosed, as the public will not be allowed to use the St Ann's Main Road between the hours of 7 a.m. and 9 a.m., while delegates arrive, or between 11 a.m. and 1 p.m., when delegates will be leaving the centre.

During the meeting, which was held at the Queen's Hall in St Ann's, summit security officials assured that they were pondering all scenarios which could occur during the three days, with one of them being crowd-control issues, which could arise due to the people's enthusiasm to see President Obama.

« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2009, 12:23:11 AM »
uhh... didnt the british government spend something like 20M pounds for the G20 Summit?i know being a developed country they would have less to fix up but its kind of ridiculous that manning spend 5 times the amt... i say we should riot in the streets of POS like the british doing in London and mash up the beetham berm and put jouvert style bumcee prints on the hyatt walls... who w/ me?

how much is 20 million UK pounds in TT again?

« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2009, 06:21:03 AM »
i wasnt expecting him to be walking around shaking hands, even if so i doubt we could get so close to him

« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2009, 03:49:09 PM »

ceteris paribus? allyuh equating g-20 to summit of americas? how many rioters go turn out in woodford square?  :D
« Last Edit: April 04, 2009, 03:52:13 PM by ribbit »

« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2009, 05:34:55 PM »
Me ain't understand allyuh

When lass it had a big governing event like dis in Trinidad ?
Now allyuh know dey reason why Patos build up dey Castle in St Anns'

Dey way I only hearing about the US President coming, I say is only he and Patos having dey summit oui.
Who else coming ?

What Mrs Obama doing whilst Mr President having talks with Patos ? She visiting Richards in Maracas or she and maybe Wendy visiting Cyril Home or she getting a tour of Lara's Cancer Clinic by Brian heself OR she visiting uhmm what else ?

« Reply #17 on: April 04, 2009, 05:37:08 PM »
$1BB TT for a 4 hour visit?

Say it ain't so!

hmmm is that the cost of Obama's plane ticket, or the cost to prepare TnT for the Summit ?

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2009, 05:54:03 PM »
It have some real dunce and simple people on the forum, OMG.

...and this summit eh about Obama!

PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

Offline The_Ice

• RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2009, 06:06:12 PM »

ceteris paribus? allyuh equating g-20 to summit of americas? how many rioters go turn out in woodford square?  :D

abt TT$185M... and i wasnt equating it as such... i was more referring to the G-20 being a more important conference and operating on a much lower budget... i see on BBC a couple days ago obama walking through a street in london greeting a crowd while it have rioting going on in the same city... anyways the rioters so far... uhhh... 1... unless uncle basdeo give me a last minute hand.lol

Offline The_Ice

• RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #20 on: April 04, 2009, 06:33:49 PM »
It have some real dunce and simple people on the forum, OMG.

...and this summit eh about Obama!

1st calm urself dred, ur taking things too much to heart at times no one is seriously stating that the summit is abt 1 man but anyway i swear alot of trinidadians were feeling very proud when the 1st black US president got voted in. He is a living historical figure to many so the fact that he is coming here so soon after being inaugurated especially is going to stand out above others.dont forget the fact that half the local population is of african descent and a large portion of our local culture is african based.plus i believe this would be the 1st country he has visited since being president with such a level of black heritage so i wouldnt expect ppl to not complain... im not disputing the fact that there are particular security concerns when it comes to t&t tho and im not really backing the idea of making him walk around kissing babies... im just stating what i think ppl may feel abt it

« Reply #21 on: April 04, 2009, 06:36:52 PM »
Man bring the Summit. Dem dignitaries must be going Maracas cuz all kinda pot hole dat eh fix in the almost 2 years I living up on my side get sort out in quick time (and who say public servants not efficient)....

Now if only they were passing in my street, it could use some major repairs..... ::)

« Reply #22 on: April 04, 2009, 06:37:14 PM »
believe me nobody aint rioting in Trinidad, and if they do they will get shut down fast. they moving breathless these days.

« Reply #23 on: April 04, 2009, 07:41:43 PM »
Man bring the Summit. Dem dignitaries must be going Maracas cuz all kinda pot hole dat eh fix in the almost 2 years I living up on my side get sort out in quick time (and who say public servants not efficient)....

Now if only they were passing in my street, it could use some major repairs..... ::)

This is my point right dere. :beermug: 

Generally speaking now:  Preparing TnT for the Summit benefiting who in the long run ???
Not dey citizens ???
When the summit done, are they taking down all the highway cameras, jooking back up dey roads etc etc etc ???

Now that dey country looking kinda presentable for the hour, lewwe see who throwing dey first fridge and ole stove over dey bridge to clog back up dey drains and dem.

Genuine question:
How dey highway by Beetham smelling dese days ? In fact how dey Beetham ??

« Reply #24 on: April 04, 2009, 07:58:14 PM »
Actually Cana the Beetham looking like a gated community girl, the berm coming along nicely....
I agree that we will benefit, but I have a problem with the apparent lack of paying attention to the things we need.  Why I have to wait for ah summit for mih road to be fixed??  And note is only a certain part of the Saddle Road dat get organised eh....the street coming een by me in a mess and ah doubt it will get any attention cuz Obama definitely not coming een by me....

Is the window dressing and pappy show syndrome I have a problem with.....

« Reply #25 on: April 04, 2009, 08:15:30 PM »
Actually Cana the Beetham looking like a gated community girl, the berm coming along nicely....
I agree that we will benefit, but I have a problem with the apparent lack of paying attention to the things we need.  Why I have to wait for ah summit for mih road to be fixed??  And note is only a certain part of the Saddle Road dat get organised eh....the street coming een by me in a mess and ah doubt it will get any attention cuz Obama definitely not coming een by me....

Ent the mentality of ALL the Governments of Trinidad and Tobago, is that something has to OR MUST happen to get results ??? All the homeless people from Tanibrand Square....where dem today ? And how come all of ah sudden they have beds for them at St Anns ? Come bet, one week after the Summit, Rupert and Clarence back on dey bench behind dey Cathedral showing off dey willie and bamsee to the public.

Lara Promenade CLEAN... Down to the trees around dey Savannah get ah trim the other day. The route where the Presidents/Prime Ministers and Dignitaries passing pretty up to let dem and dey world know...Trinidad niceeeeeee, Trinidad is ah paradise.  Yup window dressing is the right phrase in truth...

« Reply #26 on: April 04, 2009, 10:03:14 PM »

abt TT$185M... and i wasnt equating it as such... i was more referring to the G-20 being a more important conference and operating on a much lower budget... i see on BBC a couple days ago obama walking through a street in london greeting a crowd while it have rioting going on in the same city... anyways the rioters so far... uhhh... 1... unless uncle basdeo give me a last minute hand.lol

what makes it more important, secondly, what about already existing infrastructure in the UK?  Doh equate as much as it doh make sense to compare de two

« Reply #27 on: April 04, 2009, 11:24:30 PM »

Allyuh eh realise how much mamaguy trinis like? Is only when ting hadda be done for something special den yuh does see people get serious. Just be glad it getting done oui. Me eh takin on dis fuss for summit fuh nuttin...cuz...is just dat..a big mamaguy.

However...i would greatly love to see obama tint get strip. :devil:

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #28 on: April 05, 2009, 01:01:48 AM »

Obama did not greet the public in London, and certainly wasn't walking down no street (maybe that was footage from somewhere else), however the "riots" were contained to an area the size of woodford square. I work in 5 minutes from that area and trust me they were overrated - more cameramen than violence, it was mainly a peaceful protest of about 4000 people, which for London is nothing...you get 4000 at a third division football game.

« Reply #29 on: April 05, 2009, 09:21:56 AM »
However...i would greatly love to see obama tint get strip. :devil:

ent?!!...ah go dead if yuh see de same rogue police whey stop manning motorcade, end up stoppin barack cadillac and start to pass out razor blades to the secret service fellahs