April 29, 2024, 07:45:32 AM

Author Topic: U17s warm up with 2-0 win over Panama club team.  (Read 1903 times)

U17s warm up with 2-0 win over Panama club team.
« on: April 20, 2009, 02:31:36 PM »
U17s warm up with 2-0 win over Panama club team.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 team warmed up for the final round of qualification for the FIFA Under 17 World Championship with a 2-0 victory over Panamanian club side Tauro FC on Saturday.

The local team, under head coach Anton Corneal, spent three days in Panama City en route to Mexico where they will contest the final round starting on Wednesday against the Mexicans.

The goalscorers for T&T were forwards Jerrel Britto and Johan Peltier.

“Overall it was a pretty decent exercise for us,” Corneal told TTFF Media as the team settled in Tijuana on Monday.

“Now we are in Mexico and looking to get the boys settled in as quickly as possible. They have done well so far.  Of course this is a very big outing for them and so far they have responded in the right manner. Being away from home, especially in a place like Mexico for a tournament and not just a training camp or a friendly, is always expected to be a challenge especially for a group of Under 17 players. But it’s going to be almost the same for the other teams except the hosts,” Corneal added.

Team captain Britto, who had another recent stint with English club Portsmouth, sounded confident ahead of T&T’s opening clash, despite being well aware that the hosts will be a tough hurdle to overcome.

“I believe our chances are good. We have worked really hard to get ready for this tournament and even though it might look really difficult with the teams in our group, we have played against teams like Brazil and other good clubs in Colombia. That has done a lot to help us get ready for this tournament,” Britto said.

“I think once we settle down well and be composed then we have a great chance of coming out successful. The team spirit is great but we just need to ensure we are not too nervous going into the first match. Our approach to this tournament has been good because we have been training for a long time trying to get ourselves ready.”

T&T face off with Mexico at the  33,000-capacity Estadio Caliente on Wednesday and they then take on Costa Rica on April 24  before meeting Guatemala two days later

The top two teams from each group will advance to the World Championship in Nigeria from October 24 to November 15, 2009. The other group being contested also in Mexico includes USA, Honduras, Canada and Cuba.

VIDEO - View team getting ready for Mexico
« Last Edit: April 21, 2009, 05:24:51 AM by Flex »

Re: U17s warm up with 2-0 win over Panama club team
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2009, 03:58:58 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 team warmed up for the final round of qualification for the FIFA Under 17 World Championship with a 2-0 victory over Panamanian club side Tauro FC on Saturday.

Was this Tauro FC's U-17 team, or was it their senior team?

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2009, 04:26:27 PM »
Check there site and no mention of the game .

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2009, 09:41:48 PM »
Corneal look like he'll be a good national team coach in the future.  He rel bawling and drilling them youths to better teamselves.  He was rather less aggresive while with the senior team, because he know the big men will look at him like "who is he?"   Thats the fear i have with Latapy now, because I can't see him bawling up Edwards for taking a free kick away from Keon Daniel, or Lawrence for not hustling down an attacker into the penalty box. 

Re: U17s warm up with 2-0 win over Panama club team.
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2009, 08:08:14 AM »
Babawalo:

Good point. But there are other ways to get people to do things. Bawling at a man is one option not necessarily the best either. But your point is well taken, that he has to find a way to assert his leadership and command respect.

« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2009, 08:12:23 AM »
Ey Flex how come we dont have a game day viewing tread for this huge game vs Mexico ? Would there be no TV or radio links for the game ....local based any tv .What about dish network anything
« Last Edit: April 21, 2009, 08:30:38 AM by Quagmire »

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2009, 08:50:26 AM »

Highly unlikely that a 17 year old team would be able to beat the senior team of one of Panama's top professional clubs.

« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2009, 08:55:06 AM »
Corneal look like he'll be a good national team coach in the future.  He rel bawling and drilling them youths to better teamselves.  He was rather less aggresive while with the senior team, because he know the big men will look at him like "who is he?"   Thats the fear i have with Latapy now, because I can't see him bawling up Edwards for taking a free kick away from Keon Daniel, or Lawrence for not hustling down an attacker into the penalty box. 
Let Corneal stay right where he is.

« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2009, 12:03:22 PM »

Highly unlikely that a 17 year old team would be able to beat the senior team of one of Panama's top professional clubs.

First of all how "professional" is this Panamanian team?

Secondly, I remember a certain U-16 team captained by Latas that held D. Force to a draw. DF was one of the top three teams in CONCACAF at the time.

Peace,

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2009, 12:21:08 PM »

First of all how "professional" is this Panamanian team?

Secondly, I remember a certain U-16 team captained by Latas that held D. Force to a draw. DF was one of the top three teams in CONCACAF at the time.

Peace,

Tauro FC played in the CONCACAF champions league a couple yars ago...they got by some Mexican clubs...also defeated Chivas USA 2-0 or something like that in Panama.

If thats anything to go by.

Under normal circumstances, the T&T under-17 shouldnt be beating the likes of San Juan Jabloteh or W. Connection senior team.

« Last Edit: April 21, 2009, 12:34:52 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2009, 02:04:41 PM »
pull yuh stiking ass nah RF...go and wipe down yuh TV...

1-868-britz

« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2009, 03:52:07 PM »
They probably played a mix of first team, youth and reserves. Either way they benefitted from the experience of the previous team and are probably better prepared. They in a real tough group tho, Mexico at home is no joke.

« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2009, 08:28:06 PM »
Let Corneal stay right where he is.

Until he pops cross ovah 2 d other side.

« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2009, 08:28:52 PM »
pull yuh stiking ass nah RF...go and wipe down yuh TV...

1-868-britz

1-876-britz