March 28, 2024, 06:36:37 AM

Author Topic: U-20 team face host Egypt in WC opener.  (Read 5499 times)

U-20 team face host Egypt in WC opener.
« on: April 05, 2009, 05:44:40 PM »
Crunch clashes in Egypt.
By: FIFA.COM.

The Final Draw for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009, held on 5 April in Luxor, has thrown up six intriguing groups with any number of mouth-watering clashes. The leading FIFA competition for juniors takes place from 24 September until 16 October in the five host cities of Alexandria, Ismailia, Cairo, Port Said and Suez.

The draw ceremony at the Temple of Luxor was attended by a large number of VIP guests. FIFA Director of Competitions Jim Brown conducted the draw, assisted by Shawki Gharieb, assistant coach of Egypt's national team, Aya Medany, the female modern pentathlon world champion, and a trio of distinguished former Egypt internationals: Hazem Emam, Hady Khashaba and Taher Abou Zeid.

The team making the draw conjured up a string of fascinating encounters at the group stage. European champions Germany must contend with USA, South American top dogs Brazil face the challenge posed by Czech Republic, and African champions Ghana will take on England. Hosts Egypt will meet Trinidad and Tobago in the opening match on Thursday 24 September at the Egyptian Army Stadium in Alexandria.

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2009 groups:

Group A (Cairo)
Egypt
Trinidad & Tobago
Paraguay
Italy

Group B (Cairo)
Nigeria
Venezuela
Spain
Tahiti

Group C (Suez)
USA
Germany
Cameroon
Korea Republic

Group D (Ismailia)
Ghana
Uzbekistan
England
Uruguay

Group E (Port Said)
Brazil
Costa Rica
Czech Republic
Australia

Group F (Alexandria)
United Arab Emirates
South Africa
Honduras
Hungary
T&T to open FIFA U-20 W/CUP vs host Egypt on Sept 24.

Trinidad and  Tobago has been drawn in Group A along with hosts Egypt as well as Italy and Paraguay for the  FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009 following the draw  held on Sunday  in Luxor.

T&T will play the opening match of the prestigious tournament on September 24 against the hosts Egypt at the Egyptian Army Stadium in Alexandria. The leading FIFA competition for juniors takes place from September 24 until October 16 in the five host cities of Alexandria, Ismailia, Cairo, Port Said and Suez.

The draw ceremony at the Temple of Luxor was attended by a large number of VIP guests. FIFA Director of Competitions Jim Brown conducted the draw, assisted by Shawki Gharieb, assistant coach of Egypt's national team, Aya Medany, the female modern pentathlon world champion, and a trio of distinguished former Egypt internationals: Hazem Emam, Hady Khashaba and Taher Abou Zeid.

FIFA Vice President Jack Warner attended as well as National Under 20 head coach Zoran Vranes, manager Chris De Silva as well as TTFF President Oliver Camps and General Secretary Richard Groden.

“It’s difficult group but it gives us the opportunity to play against three very good teams which is always a plus for us. I think it is a great opportunity for us to be up against these teams which are all well respected in world football. To play in the opening match of the tournament is also a highlight and it should be a great occasion for us,” Vranes told TTFF Media.

“We did not expect it to be easy but looking at the rest of the draw I would say that we will have to prepare well and do our best against two top rated teams and of course Egypt being the host nation makes that match a very interesting one. But we will prepare for it and work towards representing and playing the best possible way when we come to Egypt as a team,” Vranes added.

Warner was also excited over T&T's draw, adding that every effort will be made to ensure the team is properly prepared for  the tournament.

The team making the draw conjured up a string of fascinating encounters at the group stage. European champions Germany must contend with USA, South American top dogs Brazil face the challenge posed by Czech Republic, and African champions Ghana will take on England.

Hosts Egypt, European champions Germany and South American champions Brazil were  the only three seeded teams.

With geographic and sporting criteria in mind and to also help maintain the FIFA principle of no two teams from the same confederation being drawn to the same group, the names of the 24 qualified teams had been divided into four pots with six teams each.

The FIFA Organising Committee had earlier  approved a request of the Egyptian Local Organising Committee to seed and assign to a particular venue the host along with the European and South American champions, as only European and South American teams have emerged as champions in the history of the FIFA U-20 World Cup. In order to identify these three seeded teams, they were placed in different coloured balls in their respective pots.

* Diego Maradona, Kaka, Marco van Basten and Lionel Messi are just a few of the superstars who first caught the eye at the FIFA U-20 World Cup. Others seen at this tournament include T&T’s own Dwight Yorke at the 1991 Championships, Bebeto of Brazil, France’s Thierry Henry, Michael Owen, Luis Figo, Andy Cole and Ronaldinho are among the other stars to have emerged from the Championships over the years.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2009, 06:00:22 AM by Flex »

Re: U-20 team face host Egypt in WC opener.
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2009, 06:00:50 PM »
Oh we have to prepare for this game big time...

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2009, 06:01:30 PM »
Egypt will be playing inspired ball at home, but if we could hold Concacaf's best, we should be able to run at Egypt and make it interesting.

ah hope we put ah lickin on Paraguay to avenge that 06 senior team loss.

if that youth who play for ManUre today sweating for Italy, pressha.

C'mon young Braves, we going to the 2nd round.

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2009, 06:04:42 PM »
Oh we have to prepare for this game big time...

Psychologically definetely d crowd go b mad

Offline legal alien

« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2009, 06:06:42 PM »
Egypt will be playing inspired ball at home, but if we could hold Concacaf's best, we should be able to run at Egypt and make it interesting.

Who is that?I want to do a search on him . Thanks.

« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2009, 06:08:04 PM »
Talk about a hard group. Second time in a row we draw Egypt and now they are host makes it worst, they will be gunning......  :angel:

This is also the first time any T&T team will play Italy.

« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2009, 06:08:14 PM »

KIKOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO  ;D

Federico Macheda

« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2009, 06:09:10 PM »
It cant get much bigger than this 4 we yutes in terms of exposure, playing the hosts in the opening game.  Ah upset go be real nnice fellas , look 4 allyuh scoring boots one time. for the 1st time i can say ah not afraid of a tnt team defence

« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2009, 06:13:08 PM »
me aint fraid nah , at least they will play with a fighting spirit compared to them senior men

« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2009, 06:17:43 PM »
We players should do better this time as most of our team member has been to a world cup before and played big games.

They play 3 top teams in the under 17 WC, Germany (big side, smile e-man), Colombia and Ghana.

So no excuse Mr Vranes, we need to prepare well.

Some of these players will rub shoulders will emerging stars from Italy, Egypt and Paraguay and from last under 17 WC, Germany, Ghana and Colombia.

Great exposure.

2014 senior WC, we in good hands.

« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2009, 06:38:35 PM »
give them host some lix boys

Offline legal alien

« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2009, 06:48:01 PM »

KIKOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO  ;D

Federico Macheda

And it look like he just score on he ManU first team debut.

« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2009, 07:01:30 PM »
usa go ketch they ass.

« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2009, 07:21:47 PM »
enjoy the moment young men

what group jamaica in ???

« Reply #14 on: April 05, 2009, 07:57:44 PM »
 :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2009, 08:00:33 PM »
We in a tough group, but I see them fellas being more experienced and better prepared than is probably generally expected of them.  I wish them all the best regardless.  :beermug: 

Corbeaux

« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2009, 08:07:03 PM »
Hyland will tear Egypt apart...............he on d team?

« Reply #17 on: April 05, 2009, 08:11:43 PM »

most likely im sure later on

« Reply #18 on: April 05, 2009, 08:39:05 PM »

Hoping for Jamal to do some damage as well, in addition to the whole squad of course

« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2009, 08:49:36 PM »

Hoping for Jamal to do some damage as well, in addition to the whole squad of course
I hope so we need goal scorers .......btw how Jamal doing he scoring goals ..anybody .
This team might need some goal scoring depth from what i saw NO OFFENSE to anybody or be more clinical.just saying ,they might want to add Britto or Winchester or somebody even just on the bench ,good defense but another old Trinbago problem scoring....SAM ,Big Mag any ideas.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2009, 09:01:18 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #20 on: April 05, 2009, 09:09:02 PM »
Orrite fellas
make us proud

what group jamaica in ???
dem not in the Gold Cup? :devil:

I know, is de senior team and YES this joke real stale now
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #21 on: April 05, 2009, 09:11:53 PM »
hyland and Gay in the team

but what all ya hadda say if/when Hyland fo to Egypt with the team, and his spot on the senior team?
should be interesting

well when him and Gay get selected, it gonna be heartbreak for a couple youths in that selection process
we'll see

« Reply #22 on: April 05, 2009, 09:13:24 PM »
Britto could be a good addition...

we hadda get some good practice games.
Hope they have that in order already and they dont end up just playing PFL sides

all the best to the team

« Reply #23 on: April 05, 2009, 09:16:23 PM »
hm..good ting dem U20 players big and roughish....cuz....dey also have balotelli to deal with too. Dis go be interesting...dis go be a nice measure of how we measure up against a lot of teams.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #24 on: April 06, 2009, 11:34:35 AM »
Congrats to the U-20s. My main concern is that Vranes develop a core mid-field unit so that they can control the game on our terms. At the U-17 in Korea the other teams dominated us in mid-field. That is where our problems lies. We are woefully lacking in offensive and defensive mid-fielders. I am not worried about the forwards. We have decent forwards. But for them to succeed they need efficient service from the mid-field and wing backs. Too much long balls. 

« Reply #25 on: April 06, 2009, 11:39:08 AM »
Congrats to the U-20s. My main concern is that Vranes develop a core mid-field unit so that they can control the game on our terms. At the U-17 in Korea the other teams dominated us in mid-field. That is where our problems lies. We are woefully lacking in offensive and defensive mid-fielders. I am not worried about the forwards. We have decent forwards. But for them to succeed they need efficient service from the mid-field and wing backs. Too much long balls. 

« Reply #26 on: April 06, 2009, 01:08:06 PM »
The last time we play Egypt at u-20 level we get 6 we goh need to improve on that big time

« Reply #27 on: April 06, 2009, 11:44:00 PM »
Talk about a hard group. Second time in a row we draw Egypt and now they are host makes it worst, they will be gunning......  :angel:

This is also the first time any T&T team will play Italy.

Nah........I watch TNT play Italy in the Oval sometime in the late '80's. The game tie. And I think it was twice they play too. It was billed as the seniors and I know TNT seniors play but not sure if it was Italy senior team. Might have been their U-21. It was right after they win WC. GREAT GAME. Plenty Italians get one setta leave out and shake and spanner. Back then men seemed to have confidence on the ball unlike now. The crowd was definitely entertained.

Them Italians was only kicking man down and pulling hand and shirt, because they couldn't defend the "beats".

Its so strange how we have a different type of baller now. Just plain coward.

Who remember that series?

« Reply #28 on: April 07, 2009, 08:32:23 AM »
Deliberations on the Draw.
FIFA.COM

On Sunday 5 April, the historic Temple of Luxor provided a magnificent setting for the Final Draw for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009. Coaches, officials and reporters from around the world were captivated by the breathtaking show and ceremony. FIFA.com summarises reaction to the event.

Jack Warner.

Jack Warner, FIFA vice-president and Chairman of the Organising Committee for the FIFA U-20 World Cup
I’m extremely pleased with the draw. We have six evenly-matched groups. I’m sure we’ll see lots of exciting matches. Naturally, it’s a happy coincidence that my home country of Trinidad and Tobago will contest the opening match against host nation Egypt.

Miroslav Soukup, Egypt coach
The groups are all very strong, because every team good enough to qualify for the World Cup has to be strong. I’ve closely followed the qualifying tournaments around the world, and these are all very good teams. We’ll now begin preparing for the various systems used by our group opponents. The whole of Egypt is expecting us to succeed at the tournament. We’ll have to work very hard in the coming months and prepare ourselves for the challenge.

Thomas Rongen, USA coach
We have definitely been drawn into a strong group, perhaps the strongest of the tournament but that poses a great opportunity. Anytime you have the chance to play against teams like Germany, Cameroon and Korea Republic is a chance to showcase American football. At this level you're going to have to play the best teams eventually so we might as well take on some of the best in the group phase.

Brian Eastick, England coach
First of all, I have to give a lot of credit to the Egyptian LOC and to FIFA for a fantastic draw. The setting was magnificent; very unique and exotic and everyone connected with hosting the draw should be congratulated. It's a very difficult draw for us. Obviously, the team that jumps out is Ghana, but Uruguay and Uzbekistan will be very difficult opponents too. We're very much looking forward to the challenge.

It is not an easy group, but you can expect at a World Cup that all matches will be challenging as you have the top countries participating.

Jan Versleijen, Australia coach
It is not an easy group, but you can expect at a World Cup that all matches will be challenging as you have the top countries participating. Brazil has qualified for more FIFA U-20 World Cups than any other nation, and have won the tournament on four occasions. The Czech Republic were runners up in Canada in 2007 and the Costa Ricans are unknown but always produce great players with good skills. Our plan now is to get matches against European and South American opposition in the lead-up to the tournament, which will give our players plenty of experience in time for the opening match.

Zoran Vranes, Trinidad and Tobago coach
We’ve landed in a very tough group, but we’re looking forward to meeting Egypt, Paraguay and Italy. The draw ceremony was perfect – even better than I expected."

Horst Hrubesch, Germany coach
It's a very difficult group. Cameroon have a very skilled team. The US team also has very good players in their squad and Korea won't make it easy for us. Anyway, our goal is to reach the next round."

Hong Myung Bo, Korea Republic coach
This isn’t an easy group. It’ll be very difficult, but we’ll rise to the challenge.

Ronald Gonzalez, Costa Rica coach
We’ve landed in an exotic group with strong opponents. It will be very interesting.

Winston Marumo, South Africa team manager
The draw as a whole has been a fantastic event.

Francisco Flores, Venezuela player
We have two U-20 world champions - Nigeria and Spain, but we cannot rule out Tahiti. It won't be easy, but we have the desire to play a good tournament and show that we deserved to be here.

Luis Milla, Spain coach
Each team will cause us different problems. Venezuela eliminated Argentina, so they qualified for a good reason and football is improving there all the time. Nigeria have very powerful players, very competitive. and Tahití is the team we know least of all, But they will compete with energy and passion.

Sellas Tetteh, Ghana coach
The group is solid, difficult and tough. England will be a huge force to reckon with considering their background. Uruguay and Uzbekistan have good youth football policies so it definitely will be difficult to play them, but we will be ready for them when the competition kicks-off.

Mahdi Ali, UAE coach
We could not have asked for a better group. We hoped to top one of the groups but anyway, we are satisfied with the result of the draw. We should now prepare for the final tournament to make sure we will honour our country.

Francesco Rocca, Italy coach
The groups are quite even. I know I can't make mistakes in the choice of players: I have to take with me motivated and ready-for-the-fight players, because it's a long tournament and because the first opponent will be the heat. I have a bit of time to prepare my team and I will do the best I can, because the goal is to go as far as possible.

Thomas Rongen, USA coach
We have definitely been drawn into a strong group, perhaps the strongest of the tournament but that poses a great opportunity. Anytime you have the chance to play against teams like Germany, Cameroon and Korea Republic is a chance to showcase American football.

Serame Letsoaka, South Africa coach
I think we got a very fair draw. No disrespect to the other teams in our group, but I think we will certainly proceed to the next round because my team has been playing good football lately. We have to go through to the second round and once we are there, anything can happen. What we know is that we have to be ruthless in this tournament, we need to be aggressive on our approach and take our chances.

Emilio Umanzor, Honduras coach
It won't be an easy group. At this stage, any team that we could face will be difficult. If they are in a World Cup, there must be a reason. We should prepare ourselves in the best way to play well. Now that we know our rivals, we'll start to study them. We are not coming to Egypt only to participate, we want to leave our mark.

« Reply #29 on: April 07, 2009, 08:37:47 AM »

Miroslav Soukup, Egypt coach
The groups are all very strong, because every team good enough to qualify for the World Cup has to be strong. I’ve closely followed the qualifying tournaments around the world, and these are all very good teams. We’ll now begin preparing for the various systems used by our group opponents. The whole of Egypt is expecting us to succeed at the tournament. We’ll have to work very hard in the coming months and prepare ourselves for the challenge.

Imagine if our Mens' Senior NT coaches used that rationale, wonder where we'd be.