April 20, 2024, 05:52:03 AM

Author Topic: UEFA CL- Manchester United VS FC Porto Tuesday 7th April 09  (Read 22890 times)

UEFA CL- Manchester United VS FC Porto Tuesday 7th April 09
« on: April 06, 2009, 10:45:34 AM »
Ferdinand out of Porto clash
United defender out of quarter-final first leg with groin injury

Rio Ferdinand will miss Manchester United's UEFA Champions League quarter-final first leg clash with Porto at Old Trafford on Tuesday with a groin injury.

The 30-year-old watched from the stands on Sunday as United beat Aston Villa 3-2 to go back to the top of the league but the defender has not recovered in time to be considered to face the Portuguese league leaders.

The former Leeds ace has had problems in the past with his back, an injury which kept him out of the England side that beat Slovakia 4-0 in a friendly last week.

Ferdinand returned for his country's World Cup qualifying win over Ukraine days later but was withdrawn three minutes before the end.

It is believed the centre-back picked up the groin problem there and then but Sir Alex Ferguson is hopeful he will be fit for the weekend trip to Sunderland.

The Scot also explained that all the players who missed Sunday's win through injury were unlikely to feature against Porto although Nemanja Vidic, Paul Scholes and Wayne Rooney are all available again after suspension.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_5154020,00.html
« Last Edit: April 06, 2009, 11:03:08 AM by triniairman »

Re: UEFA CL- Manchester United VS FC Porto Tuesday 7th April 09
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 12:20:29 PM »
lookin fuh ah 3 nil victoree.

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2009, 12:22:05 PM »

I called a 3-0

but with the confidence gained from yesterday and a early goal we could end this tie in the first leg

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2009, 04:01:16 PM »

I called a 3-0

but with the confidence gained from yesterday and a early goal we could end this tie in the first leg

agreed   :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2009, 06:47:48 PM »
 :wavetowel:

« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2009, 07:25:40 PM »
 :devil: :devil: :devil: utd utd utd  :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2009, 08:49:35 PM »
what T&T time the game starting?

« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2009, 09:10:07 PM »
what T&T time the game starting?

2:45

« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2009, 05:22:57 AM »
cake walk

« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2009, 06:23:06 AM »
Allyuh men is the best yes. The side ent really play a good game for 4 games now. Little shaky against Inter, Unlucky against Liverpool in the scoreline but defended horribly, outplayed for long stretches against Fulham and Villa and again, defended horribly.

Porto is a decent side (better than Fulham) and what they have is confidence from rolling everybody the Portuguese league all season. Plus they have tricky strikers who could conjure up something against the run of play. A lot will depend on O'Shea (can't see Neville getting a sweat) keeping his head on and Fletcher and Carrick keeping possession.

United should be able to beat this side both home and away but the tie not dying tonight becuase Porto good for an away goal.

« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2009, 12:07:29 PM »
Utd starting line-up:

VDS

O'Shea
Vidic
Evans
Evra

Fletcher
Carrick
Scholes

Park
Ronaldo
Rooney

Bench:

12 Ben Foster
2 Gary Neville
11 Ryan Giggs
17 Nani
32 Carlos Tévez
41 Federico Macheda
42 Richard Eckersley

« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2009, 12:40:33 PM »
i feel the only man who n celebrate macheda goal is tevez. if this kid  gets more playing time is bye bye tevez

« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2009, 12:42:00 PM »
You can also watch it here:

http://www.justin.tv/herox7

http://goal2net.com/L1.html  this one works
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 01:05:09 PM by triniairman »

« Reply #15 on: April 07, 2009, 12:50:37 PM »
Porto up 1-0 after 4 minutes.

« Reply #16 on: April 07, 2009, 12:54:48 PM »
no biggy
ManU does wait for the last 10 mins
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #17 on: April 07, 2009, 12:56:38 PM »
no biggy

edit: last 15 minutes..

you have to consider the extra 5 minutes of injury time from nowhere that the refs does give them at old trafford.

« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2009, 12:57:33 PM »
They've not had the strongest of starts, but unlike the EPL away goals count against you.

« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2009, 01:01:00 PM »
Shrek VS The Hulk
Tied 1-1 :rotfl: :rotfl:

no biggy
edit: last 15 minutes..
you have to consider the extra 5 minutes of injury time from nowhere that the refs does give them at old trafford.
I stand corrected ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2009, 01:01:45 PM »
Brilliant back pass from Bruno Alves to Rooney. 1-1. Two bad passes I think from Porto, this first to Alves (rather than going forward) and then Alves to the keeper. That's the game though. 15 minutes in it is 1-1.

« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2009, 01:06:31 PM »
 :whew:

« Reply #22 on: April 07, 2009, 01:08:58 PM »
This one going as expected. Poor defending by United but they doing well on the balance of play.

They need to start testing Porto becuase Helton is shaky.

A 2-1 or 3-1 result tonight and they good for the 2nd leg.

« Reply #23 on: April 07, 2009, 01:14:27 PM »
They are settling into a good rhythm. They're defending better, but Porto is playing a very good away game too.

« Reply #24 on: April 07, 2009, 01:15:48 PM »
dem defenders playing ah pack ah shit yuh know stueps , one set ah one touch pass infront goal

« Reply #25 on: April 07, 2009, 01:16:28 PM »
you talkin about previous matches or this one?
as I find he has done very well so far

« Reply #26 on: April 07, 2009, 01:20:41 PM »

Previous.

« Reply #27 on: April 07, 2009, 01:21:16 PM »
Previous.
ok

« Reply #28 on: April 07, 2009, 01:31:57 PM »
Porto have a man name "HULK" on there team  :o

« Reply #29 on: April 07, 2009, 01:33:08 PM »
Porto have a man name "HULK" on there team  :o

yeah ha noticed that when i was playing fifa 09