April 29, 2024, 08:56:48 AM

Author Topic: Seagulls put block on Birchall teaming up with Beckham  (Read 5015 times)

Seagulls put block on Birchall teaming up with Beckham
« on: April 07, 2009, 05:27:20 AM »

Seagulls put block on Birchall teaming up with Beckham
8:00am Tuesday 7th April 2009

Albion have put on hold the prospect of Chris Birchall becoming a team-mate of David Beckham in the States.

LA Galaxy have reportedly placed a ‘discovery notice’ on Birchall, which means no other Major League Soccer club can make an approach to sign him.

The Seagulls turned down a request from the former Coventry midfielder’s agent to allow him to spend a couple of days with Galaxy while he was on international duty recently with Trinidad and Tobago.

Boss Russell Slade said: “At the moment he has got a big part to play still in our squad.”

Meanwhile, calf injury victims Gary Borrowdale and Gary Hart have travelled with the squad to Hereford after resuming training yesterday.

Both will be assessed in a training session this morning ahead of tonight's key relegation clash. Slade said: “If they come through that they will definitely be considered.”

Albion will be especially keen to be first to break the deadlock at Edgar Street.

They have a good record away from home in the League after scoring the opening goal, going on to win four, draw two and lose just once, at Leyton Orient.

They have only picked up two away points in ten games when they have conceded the first goal and one of those was at rock-bottom Cheltenham.

http://www.theargus.co.uk/sport/4271588.Seagulls_put_block_on_Birchall_teaming_up_with_Beckham/

Re: Seagulls put block on Birchall teaming up with Beckham
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2009, 07:54:35 AM »
birch must be real impress arena or somebody last week.

i say go LA if brighton behave. i doh see them staying up in League 1.

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2009, 08:08:11 AM »

well he was the only person on the field outside of carlos who actually did something on the field. (probably exclude tallman and Ince)! :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2009, 08:13:22 AM »
true dat. he even warm up with more intensity that the rest of the t&t side.

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2009, 08:22:48 AM »
Birchie  :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2009, 08:27:37 AM »
this yr LA galaxy roster eh bad at all. coupled with bruce arena, they will be a decent side.

last weekend roster:

Los Angeles Galaxy -- Josh Saunders, Omar Gonzalez, Tony Sanneh, Sean Franklin, Eddie Lewis (A.J. DeLaGarza 77), Chris Klein, Dema Kovalenko, Josh Tudela, Kyle Patterson (Stefani Miglioranzi 62), Landon Donovan, Alan Gordon (Bryan Jordan 82),

Substitutes Not Used: Miguel Benitez, Gregg Berhalter, Jovan Kirovski, Yohance Marshall

« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2009, 08:30:25 AM »
Go LA padna - nuff girls & great weather - reward yuhself. The football will fall in place too.  ;D

« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2009, 08:31:58 AM »
Go LA padna - nuff girls & great weather - reward yuhself. The football will fall in place too.  ;D
Free Birchie! Let him go ;D

« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2009, 08:34:49 AM »

well he was the only person on the field outside of carlos who actually did something on the field. (probably exclude tallman and Ince)! :beermug:

Somehow I think , just like in the case of Beckham, the decision is not only based on football ....

« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2009, 08:36:25 AM »
Well it eh hard to stand out on a TT side playing like that ...he and tallest  were the hardest workers on the day ....

« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2009, 08:39:40 AM »
Well it eh hard to stand out on a TT side playing like that ...he and tallest  were the hardest workers on the day ....

Even if he was playing sh!t, he would still stand out on that TT side - and the whole side playing tootoo.
Is not like he camouflage.  :D

« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2009, 08:46:41 AM »
Armm !!!! Anybody asking why they blocking him from training with them...... ah mean they not even playing him week in week out so what is the problem ????

« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2009, 09:08:24 AM »
Armm !!!! Anybody asking why they blocking him from training with them...... ah mean they not even playing him week in week out so what is the problem ????
He's usually playing or on the bench, so he's still in the frame somewhat. Is not like he's a disposable fringe player.

« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2009, 09:20:26 AM »
Somehow I think , just like in the case of Beckham, the decision is not only based on football ....

...what else might the decision be based on?

« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2009, 09:28:38 AM »
I hope that Brichy see’s some day-light with an escape from Seagulls jail. Let him go!  Bruce must be seeing the Pit Bull mentally that he has.  ;D

« Reply #15 on: April 07, 2009, 09:31:41 AM »
Birchall....the one who get sub and people was okay with it saying he can't pass a ball?

How funny.

« Reply #16 on: April 07, 2009, 09:35:51 AM »
Do they want him as a right winger or a central mid? Because we's de only ones does play him in the middle.

« Reply #17 on: April 07, 2009, 10:39:58 AM »
Birchall....the one who get sub and people was okay with it saying he can't pass a ball?

How funny.

Why will someone say that? We know better than that, he was one of the reasons we make it to a WC showing. He may not be nice with skills but I like his hustle, on every team you need a player like him who will do the dirty work. As soon as that leave the pitch, ting does open up in the midfield for the opposing team. Is like we players scared to tackle or jam people hard…yuh doh have to worry about Birchy doing that.  ;)

« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2009, 12:31:43 PM »

How funny.
HUH? People actually said that, well I guess they don't know who Birchall is.... he know how to trap, pass and shoot.

edit: I just saw your question mark.... but elan yuh on this board for some time now and I think by now you would know what Birchall bring to the team.... I think you meant Wolfe :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2009, 12:39:04 PM »

How funny.
HUH? People actually said that, well I guess they don't know who Birchall is.... he know how to trap, pass and shoot.

edit: I just saw your question mark.... but elan yuh on this board for some time now and I think by now you would know what Birchall bring to the team.... I think you meant Wolfe :beermug:

I think that comment was sarcasm bredda

« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2009, 12:45:48 PM »

How funny.

I think that comment was sarcasm bredda
I am so dumb!! Thank you for clearing that up.... I don't see why she would make a sarcastic comment about the topic, so I honestly think she meant to say wolfe... correct meh if ah wrong please elan.

« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2009, 01:34:15 PM »

Seriously! i still disappointed he didnt go to San Jose. LA would be an excellent move for him (apart from the family being far away). Women+Weather+better than league 2(where brighton will be next yr).

« Reply #22 on: April 07, 2009, 01:45:38 PM »
He's usually playing or on the bench, so he's still in the frame somewhat. Is not like he's a disposable fringe player.
He started today.

« Reply #23 on: April 07, 2009, 02:56:45 PM »
Saddist on any TT team Birchy name is one of the first ones on my sheet anytime ..everytime  ... men does talk bout birchy cyah pass ...that is incorrect he doesnt have the range that yorke latas or whitley have but he can easily match or beat anyone else on this team in terms of passing ... the difference is he concentrates on his roll not be a playmaker but to hustle and get dirty since all the other false pretenders prefer to stand up and watch ..............our two supposed free kick specialists spann and daniel are constantly mishitting their passes or making bad choices.....the only place he would really struggle is that he isnt really a dribbler I mean i dont expect a guy to get dragged by birchy anytime soon

« Reply #24 on: April 07, 2009, 03:10:57 PM »
Funny things is, Birchall was warming the bench. Now some teams interested, they surprised???!!!!!!

« Reply #25 on: April 07, 2009, 03:19:02 PM »
Funny things is, Birchall was warming the bench.
Where this talk keep coming from? Birchall has been consistently getting playing time with Brighton. Either starting or coming on as a sub. Allyuh mixing up Brighton and Carlisle.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #26 on: April 07, 2009, 03:30:29 PM »
http://www.seagulls.co.uk/page/Home/

pic of Chris in the headlines section... anybody have any idea how he played?he got subbed in the 73rd

« Reply #27 on: April 07, 2009, 03:52:50 PM »
http://www.seagulls.co.uk/page/Home/

pic of Chris in the headlines section... anybody have any idea how he played?he got subbed in the 73rd
yeah
look the article with his picture which has a condensed game report
http://www.seagulls.co.uk/page/Latest/0,,10433~1616156,00.html
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 04:04:11 PM by Ishikawa »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #28 on: April 07, 2009, 04:02:33 PM »
and cyat Maturana take him off...allyuh see birch face ???

« Reply #29 on: April 07, 2009, 04:10:40 PM »
The team just signed an Irish midfielder by the name of Gary Dicker, so perhaps some more competition for Birchall.