September 11, 2024, 04:33:33 AM

Author Topic: Latapy: we won't stop trying to win.  (Read 4112 times)

Latapy: we won't stop trying to win.
« on: September 06, 2009, 06:16:36 AM »
Latapy: we won't stop trying to win.

National Senior Team head coach Russell Latapy maintained even in light of the heavy 4-1 defeat to Honduras which dampened the country’s 2010 World Cup chances that no fingers would be pointed and the “Soca Warriors” will continue to make every effort to finish the campaign on the highest possible note.

Latapy, who took T&T to its highest FIFA ranking since September 2006, #63 this month, was as disappointed as any other member of the team on Saturday night but refused to throw the towel in before Wednesday’s match against United States at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

“We know that coming to Honduras was always going to be a very difficult game. I must say congrats to Honduras. They made this Stadium a very difficult one to come to and well done to them,” Latapy said in the post game press conference. “

In my opinion, we gave away two very soft goals as well and these are the mistakes you need to avoid when you play matches like this. But again we will point no fingers and we will regroup and come again for the remainder of matches starting on Wednesday at home.”

One Honduran reporter spoke of his admiration for Latapy during his playing career and asked whether T&T was capable of producing more players like or similar to him.

“Thanks but to answer your question… we have a lot of our better players that are based in the foreign leagues and it’s always difficult to get them to come together much in advance before a game like a lot of other teams in the world.  You don’t have your players to work with as much as you would like. For instance for this game we had four training sessions since our last game against El Salvador.

“ I think at the international level you also need to work more with your experienced players as well and then you have a lot of young players who don’t always play at a very high level.. so you need the right balance and if we can do this then possibly we can find that type of player,” Latapy told the press gathering.

Looking ahead to Wednesday’s clash, Latapy added to TTFF Media, “As a national team you always go out to try and win all your matches and that is what we are going to do in our remaining three games.  Every time a player represent the country they must play to the best of their ability. We want to end up with as much points as we can. We are also changing generations as well so winning games brings confidence for the players so that means we are going to try and win as much games as possible,” Latapy added.

The streets of San Pedro Sula was in party mood hours after the victory as scores of Honduran fans lined the streets on the outskirts of the stadium and those leading to the Hilton Princess Hotel. Fans also pounded the T&T team bus shouting “Honduras en South Africa… Cuatro Cuatro” as others threw objects atthe bus as it inched its way through some parts of the traffic under police escort. There was also the occasional use of racial slurs.

The T&T team,which was captained by Marvin Andrews and saw Bolton Wanderers defender Jlloyd Samuel make his debut, will return home on Sunday night and resume training on Monday evening at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in preparation for  Wednesday's match against the United States which kicks off at 7:11pm.

T&T - 1.Clayton Ince; 2.Jlloyd Samuel; 11.Carlos Edwards, 4.Marvin Andrews (capt), 3.Radanfah Abu Bakr,  12.Keon Daniel (14.Kerry Baptiste 78th), 7.Densill Theobald (15.Lyndon Andrews 75th), 8.Trent Noel, 16.Silvio Spann (10.Hayden Tinto 46th); 13.Cornell Glen, 17.Kenwyne Jones.

HON - 18.Noel Valladares; 3.Maynor Figueroa, 5.Erick Norales, 12.Emilio Izaguirre, 16.Mauricio Sabillon; 7.Amado Guevara (capt) (15.Edgar Alvarez 70th), 4.Hendry Thomas, 17.Danilo Turcios (13.Melvin Valladares 76th), 11.Ramon Nunez; 8.Jerry Palacios (4.David Sauzo 59th), 9.Carlos Pavon.

T&T Yellow Card - Silvio Spann, Trent Noel.

Attendance :41,000

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/c0WQazbTxiU&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/c0WQazbTxiU&amp;</a>
« Last Edit: September 06, 2009, 08:02:07 AM by Trini _2014 »

Re: LATAPY: We won't stop trying to win
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2009, 06:46:31 AM »
LATAPY: we won't stop trying to win
By:Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

National Senior Team head coach Russell Latapy maintained even in light of the heavy 4-1 defeat to Honduras which dampened the country’s 2010 World Cup chances that no fingers would be pointed and the “Soca Warriors” will continue to make every effort to finish the campaign on the highest possible note.

Latapy, who took T&T to its highest FIFA ranking since September 2006, #63 this month, was as disappointed as any other member of the team on Saturday night but refused to throw the towel in before Wednesday’s match against United States at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

“We know that coming to Honduras was always going to be a very difficult game. I must say congrats to Honduras. They made this Stadium a very difficult one to come to and well done to them,” Latapy said in the post game press conference. “

The streets of San Pedro Sula was in party mood hours after the victory as scores of Honduran fans lined the streets on the outskirts of the stadium and those leading to the Hilton Princess Hotel. Fans also pounded the T&T team bus shouting “Honduras en South Africa… Cuatro Cuatro” as others threw objects atthe bus as it inched its way through some parts of the traffic under police escort. There was also the occasional use of racial slurs.

dem ppl good rub salt in a wound eh! steups

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2009, 06:57:11 AM »
LATAPY: we won't stop trying to win
By:Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

dem ppl good rub salt in a wound eh! steups

well Honduras has  black players  wnt ... 14 points would not do it for us head to head Honduras leads us the took up 4 of a possible 6 points we have one.. Honduras  plays mexico away usa at home and el salvador away .. USA would be comming here to wrap things up  we have to win this one by all means ... we  mathematically in it if we lorse to D USA the max we can get is 11 point and we out

Trinidad and El Salvador still has everything to play for
« Last Edit: September 06, 2009, 07:06:20 AM by Trini _2014 »

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2009, 07:00:46 AM »
AH WONDER IF WE GOH SE ZAMORA PLAY FOR THE TEAM NOW  :rotfl: THAT FAG.

« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2009, 07:21:12 AM »
AH WONDER IF WE GOH SE ZAMORA PLAY FOR THE TEAM NOW  THAT FAG.

Yuh see how some people bad mind....yuh know if Zamora did play...and we did collect d same 4 goals in we ass....yuh woulda be singing d same blasted song...how he aint ah good striker....

Poor Zamora...cant win...whether he in or out of d team..... ;D

Offline Born Again!

Russell Latapy and the 'Poisoned Chalice'
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2009, 07:22:18 AM »
As an expat I struggled to see or hear the game due to non existent and terrible live feeds and the very annoying 95.1 live commentary but as Soca Warriors fans we are all saddened by last night's result and what it means. The chance for qualification even if we won our remaining games is now not guaranteed some may say even improbable. We were outclassed last night and although we expected a patriotic 'blood and guts' performance what transpired was reminiscent of the two 3-0 beatings we have received in the USA lately. This is a very bitter pill to swallow and I have been reading all the posts and emotive comments made by fellow forumites. Some call for the head of Russell Latapy and they are not wrong to state their views. If his role was to get us to 2010 then it sees that failure is more a possibility than success.

It is also true to say that it seems that some of his chioces e.g. Theobald and Keon Daniel and ommisions e.g Collin Samuel dob 27/08/1981 and Hayden Tinto does rankle. Collin has the age to certainly be an asset to this 2010 campaign and scored in the Dwight Yorke stadium. Why is he ommited for one Keon Daniel who seems to lack end result and defensive gumption? Marvin Andrews has 100% commitment and spirit but has clearly lost yards of pace and needs pace as he never was a great thinker of the game but big on heart and passion. Same goes for Dennis Lawrence and the now forgotten Cyd Gray. What about Dwight Yorke, a masterclass of a player in his heyday, sold defensive midfielder in his twilight years but one who realised that 100% passion and commitment does not replace ageing legs and rightfully resigned. Even Russell tried to give his all at 40 years.

But what is my point? Allow me to ask a few questions surrounding RL's tenure as coach. Did he receive a poisoned chalice from our friend Jack Warner? How many quality practise games have been funded by our administration? How long did Russell Latapy have to gel with his charges in real game situations to find out what we all know now about certain players? Did he have a Gold Cup run to fine tune this team? Did he inherit a well oiled unit or a loose collective of aged warriors and young players who struggle to make the international grade? What about Jack Warner's blacklist? How long did Mr Austin Jack Warner strangle the lifeblood of our beloved Soca Warriors? Why does he have $400k tt to donate to Central Trinidad's Local Borough Council but had to call off Latapy's planned trip to Scotland where we would have had a few decent warm ups? Is it politics? It is a Dictatorship the TTFF? Is Mr Warner a Neocolonialist? A Robert Mugabe or an Adi Amin where no damn dog must bark? Are we men/women of reason or are we simply struggling to deal with our emotions?

My friends you are not wrong to ask for a coach to be fired for lack of results. This is international football not friends reunited. But if we are to ignore the other shortcomings surrounding the demise of T&T football and just keep switching coaches around without proper accountability, admin and support systems we are not men/women of reason but pawns and pawns are what every dictator needs to have a long and properous career.

Sincerely

Born again

'Remember we love we Football and we love we Warriors but your salvation is most precious'

Offline soccerrama

Re: Russell Latapy and the 'Poisoned Chalice'
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2009, 07:32:10 AM »
I am now more than ever convinced that Latapy was set up by JW. Come to think of it JW has been almost silent during Latapy's tenure so far. This is a JW who is always so vocal & making pronouncements that the team would make it to the WC eg 2006 but he eh making such pronouncements this time around. I am now awaiting to see what his comments (if any) will be after this loss last night. He now seems to be only concerned with the U20 (not that I mind).

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2009, 07:38:22 AM »
IF AJW was/is responsible for this "poison chalice" then y hasnt our "heroes" Latas & Yorke come out and say/done anything about it? -LET THE PUBLIC KNOW THE SCENE WITH THE AFFAIRS OF THE TEAM.  Otherwise take blame like maturana and the others.
I wanna know if allyuh feel jack pick the team from the available players last night?

« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2009, 07:38:47 AM »
nah, Latapy must have been hired for 2014

Sammy, AJW CONTROLS Football in TnT......players have to be very careful to watch what they do and say or Jack go heng dem...............for a very simple example think Black List....and them players just asked for monies promised.......there are many other examples of when AJW "Showed" players who the boss was
« Last Edit: September 06, 2009, 07:41:47 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2009, 07:53:22 AM »

Sammy, AJW CONTROLS Football in TnT......players have to be very careful to watch what they do and say or Jack go heng dem...............for a very simple example think Black List....and them players just asked for monies promised.......there are many other examples of when AJW "Showed" players who the boss was

I know/ understand that, but if these guys care about T&T football or realize themselves to be heroes of thousands/millions then why not try to start the change? Who better than latas and yorke to say/do something? They have the support of the people, and this is something Jack wants now as a politician so y not use that as their advantage? Unless these guys just lining up to follow in Jacks footsteps and be in it for the money.

Re: Latapy: we won't stop trying to win.
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2009, 07:54:02 AM »
lol lorse or win i doh wah him in the team. we qualify the last time without him when he thought
we wouldnt have made it so now he think we can he suddenly reappear  so now we lorse here
he go disappear again ....I think he is a B....... very nice gentleman lol

« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2009, 07:54:31 AM »
AH WONDER IF WE GOH SE ZAMORA PLAY FOR THE TEAM NOW  THAT FAG.

Yuh see how some people bad mind....yuh know if Zamora did play...and we did collect d same 4 goals in we ass....yuh woulda be singing d same blasted song...how he aint ah good striker....

Poor Zamora...cant win...whether he in or out of d team..... ;D

Here's the ting doh that same zamora making epl side easy which one of our players besides jones and mr olympus scotland would get ah call right now to play in the epl,boy yuh right zamora cyah see no love with this crowd....

« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2009, 08:00:01 AM »

I know/ understand that, but if these guys care about T&T football or realize themselves to be heroes of thousands/millions then why not try to start the change? Who better than latas and yorke to say/do something? They have the support of the people, and this is something Jack wants now as a politician so y not use that as their advantage? Unless these guys just lining up to follow in Jacks footsteps and be in it for the money.

Jack OWNS the FIFA franchise for TnT, is the President of Concacaf and CFU, and he is VP and the Money man for FIFA. (by Money man , I mean that he is deputy chair of the FIFA finance committee)
Seap Bladder ent doin NOTHING to him
he will have to kill Bladder self to get kick out of FIFA.........so until he gets kicked out of FIFA (which is the ONLY way for change in the TTFF) we have to do as we have done for so many years
« Last Edit: September 06, 2009, 08:04:23 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2009, 10:10:25 AM »
Thanks but to answer your question we have a lot of our better players that are based in the foreign leagues and its always difficult to get them to come together much in advance before a game like a lot of other teams in the world.  You don’t have your players to work with as much as you would like. For instance for this game we had four training sessions since our last game against El Salvador.

But Honduras have alot of players based foreign to, same with USA and how come they sccessful ?

Stop with the poor excuse Latapy and take some blame.

« Reply #14 on: September 06, 2009, 10:51:24 AM »
DAMN!  Theobald was on de field for 75 minutes.

So we play with 9 men dah whole time.  (cause Keon eh do anyting eedah)

And look who come on fuh Bleeder.  LOL!  Latas ketchin kicks on we.  I convince.

Oh well.

« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2009, 10:54:22 AM »
Thanks but to answer your question we have a lot of our better players that are based in the foreign leagues and its always difficult to get them to come together much in advance before a game like a lot of other teams in the world.  You don’t have your players to work with as much as you would like. For instance for this game we had four training sessions since our last game against El Salvador.

But Honduras have alot of players based foreign to, same with USA and how come they sccessful ?

Stop with the poor excuse Latapy and take some blame.
Same thing I was saying. No warm up games and he want to come and talk all this shit excuse

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2009, 11:01:13 AM »
Even if Zamora them show up what games he gonna get to play? it seems like we doh get no great friendlies all we got is caribbean cup and the gold cup which am sure we gonna used local base for, by time next world cup qualifiers come around them men 31,32 years old...

« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2009, 11:39:31 AM »
Even if Zamora them show up what games he gonna get to play? it seems like we doh get no great friendlies all we got is caribbean cup and the gold cup which am sure we gonna used local base for, by time next world cup qualifiers come around them men 31,32 years old...

31/32 with EPL experience is good age. That kind of experience needed in a team like T&T. Is not like we talking about 35/36. Just btw

« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2009, 08:31:11 PM »
U need 2 b strong mentally to do dat. Wed I go c how mentally strong dem fellas is.

« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2009, 08:35:08 PM »
We shoulda hire Yorke instead .....did we diss Yorke by not asking him first hmmm.

« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2009, 08:37:38 PM »
Latas accept d chalice wit both hands and he eyes wide open. He know what Jack give and still take d wuk. I :applause: him because I was not leavin meh life in Scotland 2 come home 2 wuk 4 JW. I also :salute: him.

« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2009, 08:43:14 PM »

Valid line of inquiry dey Sammy.