September 11, 2024, 04:41:16 AM

Author Topic: It's OFFICIAL - LATAPY APPOINTED INTERIM HEAD COACH  (Read 30654 times)

Re: It's OFFICIAL - LATAPY APPOINTED INTERIM HEAD COACH
« Reply #180 on: April 09, 2009, 03:45:34 PM »
LIL DAMO how many games you could honestly say that you saw from maturana's tenure as coach?

Bc you sound like yuh never seen one of his games at all! by saying, quote " for the most part he did an excellent job with tatics, subs and player selection. " what games were you watching ??

now let me just tell you how much i've seen, one live, and all the games that came on TV and the ones that was streamed over the net. the one live was against bermuda @ the marvin lee behind ah big cemetary.

it was like watching ah colleges league game, his tatics was flawed to sa the least.

the only quality on the pitch was stern, carlos , farrier, telesford, whitley, hyland, everyone else paled in comparison. the man failed tuh make one decent sub in such a vital game!

first he sub off hyland who was making some decent runs, for farrier, then he take off kareem smith and bring on steve david, well the whole stadium started tuh cuss, all the while leaving on scotty who i was told later on recently had stomarech surgery.

he left daryl on the bench , one of our major goal threats when we really needed a goal tuh play 2 men with simular styles(stern and scotty).

then the same trend continued! bad team selections over and over and over again, he left out player who are capable for inept players. i.e. the USA game in chicago, no lawrence , no avery no roberts, no stern, no birchall!

he continued down the same road with bad tatics and selection policy, every game is ah new face, ah new try out , players he's seen before and players who he know what they bring.

he was there for a whole yr and better but never settled on ah core of player! in other words, the man experimented for ah yrs and a half!!! what the fack bro!! this is not sane behavior!

and for your information, we have capable players, the mad fellow just didn't use them!

when did he evr pick this team.

ince/williams
                       carlos/ cyd              lawrence      james        avery

glenn          birchall            whitley/hyland/yorke            hyland/guerra

roberts/latas

KJ/ stern

the fool didn't have enough sense tuh even contemplate such ah squad!! the man is ah real dunce bredder. and another thing , experience beats youth all the time!                           positive.

Offline ChipChipSilver

• 'Let the Good Times Roll'
  • Do you feel like working today?
« Reply #181 on: April 09, 2009, 08:56:11 PM »
Congrats to Latas, once friendship out the way I see T&T doing good in the Hex.  

My only concern is that if things don't work out he will be chastised like Mats, a case of typical Trini mentality.  

So if things doh work out....wha should happen?

Expectation is a hell of a thing eh, watch Trinis start criticizing and speculating that he ain't good for the job.
In Everything, Give Thanks

« Reply #182 on: April 10, 2009, 08:06:22 AM »
LIL DAMO how many games you could honestly say that you saw from maturana's tenure as coach?

Bc you sound like yuh never seen one of his games at all! by saying, quote " for the most part he did an excellent job with tatics, subs and player selection. " what games were you watching ??

now let me just tell you how much i've seen, one live, and all the games that came on TV and the ones that was streamed over the net. the one live was against bermuda @ the marvin lee behind ah big cemetary.

it was like watching ah colleges league game, his tatics was flawed to sa the least.

the only quality on the pitch was stern, carlos , farrier, telesford, whitley, hyland, everyone else paled in comparison. the man failed tuh make one decent sub in such a vital game!

first he sub off hyland who was making some decent runs, for farrier, then he take off kareem smith and bring on steve david, well the whole stadium started tuh cuss, all the while leaving on scotty who i was told later on recently had stomarech surgery.

he left daryl on the bench , one of our major goal threats when we really needed a goal tuh play 2 men with simular styles(stern and scotty).

then the same trend continued! bad team selections over and over and over again, he left out player who are capable for inept players. i.e. the USA game in chicago, no lawrence , no avery no roberts, no stern, no birchall!

he continued down the same road with bad tatics and selection policy, every game is ah new face, ah new try out , players he's seen before and players who he know what they bring.

he was there for a whole yr and better but never settled on ah core of player! in other words, the man experimented for ah yrs and a half!!! what the fack bro!! this is not sane behavior!

and for your information, we have capable players, the mad fellow just didn't use them!

ince/williams

glenn          birchall            whitley/hyland/yorke            hyland/guerra

roberts/latas

KJ/ stern

the fool didn't have enough sense tuh even contemplate such ah squad!! the man is ah real dunce bredder. and another thing , experience beats youth all the time!                           positive.
WELL SAID Just Cool!!!! :applause: :applause: :applause:
Took the words right out of my mouth!!! Maturana was NOT the ONLY problem, but he certainly WAS a significant part of why we're in the mess we are now in, and BEST WISHES to Latas!!! I predict that both Dwight and Stern in PARTICULAR will play the game of their lives next match! Like Gally and Leo before him, Latas will inspire much confidence in the team and bring out the best out of the veterans who will REALLY PLAY for HIM. He wil also have 99% of the people behind him (I leave 1% for the doubters and haters, comprising mostly jealous men who want de wuk). Good Luck Latas, Jack say you could pick whoever you want both ON AND OFF the field, surround yourself with the right people and let's get back on track to SA!!!

« Reply #183 on: April 10, 2009, 01:58:47 PM »
Greetings to de massive and happy Easter to all. Well all yuh know my religion, well know ah not in de Easter thing, but I do respect each and everyone with what dey believe in. So wid dat said,happy Easter again.

There are so many different threads wid meh idol Latapy, ah didn't know which one tuh jump on and give meh congratulations and views. So firstly ah must say congratulations Latapy  :applause:. However, I have mixed feelings wid your appointment boss, firstly without a doubt I'm delighted dat you are given the opportunity to show your coaching knowledge. But knowing the love I have for you as a player, I am a bit scared dat you may fail, this is by no means being negative, it is reality. It will hurt each and every bone in my body to see you fail my brother. You was and still a great player, but 2 things (1) not all great players have successful coaching career and (2) you are thrown out there wid little coaching experience.

However, I must note, that I think you have one great advantage that I think no other coach will have, that is de support and effort you will get from de players on de field. Due to your experience, your tactic's may not be up there wid de other CONCACAF coaches, but the senior guys experience love, blood and sweat out there will make the world of difference, dat will work in your favor. I could only imagine the team spirit and effort from people like Yorke, Stern, Theobald, Edwards, Ince and de young lad (Hyland). People some how or the other, I just feel dat Latapy may surprise a lot people, including me. Wid no dis respect the coach given the job as his assistant, I would have prefred to see the Jabloteh coach assisting Latapy. Hey, but this is no time dwell and be negative, it is time to focus on de future and give Latapy and de warriors all de love and support dey need. All de best  Latapy  :praying:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2009, 02:09:07 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #184 on: April 10, 2009, 02:43:44 PM »
Wham Supa, no bullate for anybody today?

Offline Arazi

« Reply #185 on: April 10, 2009, 03:05:21 PM »

ince/williams

roberts/latas

KJ/ stern

amazing every player in that squad have played under maturana... adn that you're still harping on a bermuda game in which 5 of your experienced campaigners played...good luck to latas tho...he is everything we did not get from maturana already it seems..
the organisation of the team against guatemala both home and away were just flukes..as were the three times we drew with jamaica when we should have won at home and showed character to draw in jamaica...

maturana wasn't perfect, I could never say that because there are things he did i never agreed with, but to say he was the greatest cancer this team has ever known is absurd..
there were good things the man did that you and several other poster refuse to and will never give him credit for

« Reply #186 on: April 10, 2009, 03:08:02 PM »
Greetings to de massive and happy Easter to all. Well all yuh know my religion,

???
vybz kartholic?

« Reply #187 on: April 10, 2009, 03:17:16 PM »
Greetings to de massive and happy Easter to all. Well all yuh know my religion,

???
vybz kartholic?

Yuh like shyth eh  :rotfl:. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #188 on: April 10, 2009, 03:56:33 PM »

ince/williams

roberts/latas

KJ/ stern

amazing every player in that squad have played under maturana... adn that you're still harping on a bermuda game in which 5 of your experienced campaigners played...good luck to latas tho...he is everything we did not get from maturana already it seems..
the organisation of the team against guatemala both home and away were just flukes..as were the three times we drew with jamaica when we should have won at home and showed character to draw in jamaica...

maturana wasn't perfect, I could never say that because there are things he did i never agreed with, but to say he was the greatest cancer this team has ever known is absurd..
there were good things the man did that you and several other poster refuse to and will never give him credit for
And what's your point! did he ever select them all together, or on a consistant basis like the 14 i put together? NO! did he ever settle on ah core of player @ least after 6 months? NO! did he ever played the best players @ any  one time? NO! well that was my point!

90% of the members  agreed that the man's selection ploicy was abysmal tuh say the least, and his technical aspects of the game was outdated.

the man was out coached in all but 3 qualifying games!

tell me this . why select clyde leon who seem scared tuh even work the ball when we have whitley a vetran flowing with confidence, and ah proven midfielder? why use spann/wolf when we have a bonified right back in cyd gray/ osie telesford, why use aklie when we have avery a proven defender?

why use kenyo who broke down twice before in vital games wasting a sub when we have the likes of julius james who just came off a few concacaf champions games? why replace a full back wid ah cental defender in hislop? on the whole , why pick only 4 defenders for such vital matches?!!

you just trying tuh be difficult! the man is ah outdated clueless coach, if yuh could call him that.

Offline Arazi

« Reply #189 on: April 10, 2009, 06:58:03 PM »

ince/williams

roberts/latas

KJ/ stern

And what's your point! did he ever select them all together, or on a consistant basis like the 14 i put together? NO! did he ever settle on ah core of player @ least after 6 months? NO! did he ever played the best players @ any  one time? NO! well that was my point!

90% of the members  agreed that the man's selection ploicy was abysmal tuh say the least, and his technical aspects of the game was outdated.

tell me this . why select clyde leon who seem scared tuh even work the ball when we have whitley a vetran flowing with confidence, and ah proven midfielder? why use spann/wolf when we have a bonified right back in cyd gray/ osie telesford, why use aklie when we have avery a proven defender?

why use kenyo who broke down twice before in vital games wasting a sub when we have the likes of julius james who just came off a few concacaf champions games? why replace a full back wid ah cental defender in hislop? on the whole , why pick only 4 defenders for such vital matches?!!

you just trying tuh be difficult! the man is ah outdated clueless coach, if yuh could call him that.
few thing s wrong with ur post here..whitley was maturana's captain at one point no?
then he got injured..then he came back..played in the digicel cup..where we lost to grenada, barely beat barbados and drew wid jamaica...he din play very well and DID NOT have any real playing time with his local club..BUT he should play..word..mind u whitley is my favourite local player..
avery is proven defender..yes..find u have a point there..i think he should be in the squad still but i think akile is given a raw deal by people on this board..
are you certain cyd gray is the best right back we have? jabloteh didn't seem to think so....just a thought..

julius james is hailed by many on this board based on what they read..not what they have actually seen bcuz they few times i have seen him play he has been disappointing..btw he did play in that same digicel cup and looked ordinary...

darryl roberts has been given a raw deal..i agree..so too guerra

hyland was practically given his international career by maturana.. played well in an mostly local squad maturana assembled prior to the england game...became a prima donna.stopped training with any club or under 20 team and only started to play at international level after getting playing time in belgium

so am i really being difficult or are still being short sighted?

« Reply #190 on: April 10, 2009, 07:13:38 PM »

ince/williams

roberts/latas

KJ/ stern

few thing s wrong with ur post here..whitley was maturana's captain at one point no?
then he got injured..then he came back..played in the digicel cup..where we lost to grenada, barely beat barbados and drew wid jamaica...he din play very well and DID NOT have any real playing time with his local club..BUT he should play..word..mind u whitley is my favourite local player..
avery is proven defender..yes..find u have a point there..i think he should be in the squad still but i think akile is given a raw deal by people on this board..are you certain cyd gray is the best right back we have? jabloteh didn't seem to think so....just a thought..

julius james is hailed by many on this board based on what they read..not what they have actually seen bcuz they few times i have seen him play he has been disappointing..btw he did play in that same digicel cup and looked ordinary...

darryl roberts has been given a raw deal..i agree..so too guerra

hyland was practically given his international career by maturana.. played well in an mostly local squad maturana assembled prior to the england game...became a prima donna.stopped training with any club or under 20 team and only started to play at international level after getting playing time in belgium

so am i really being difficult or are still being short sighted?

How is Akile getting a raw deal. Who fault he can't make a 25 yard pass.

« Reply #191 on: April 10, 2009, 09:29:28 PM »
I think Latapy is making a mistake by taking the head coach position at this point.  He should have waited until this world cup qualifying campaign is over then take over when there is less pressure and build his program and team from scratch. 

Right now Latapy is jumping into a storm that he may not be able to calm.  The pressure is now on him to produce immediate results with a deficient team he does not have the luxury of time to experiment or make mistakes.  I hope Latapy succeeds in this endeavor because he has been dying to get to this position for a while now and he is the greatest footballer we have ever produced.  But I hope he realizes the the position he has accepted comes with lots of responsibility and lots of criticism.  If he does not get the results and the play of the team does not improve he will be called out for it.

So good luck mister magician.  I wish you nothing but success.  Hopefully the magic you were known for as a player will carry over into your coaching.
One thing i always hear Latas say during an interview when ever his age or on just him coming back to play for trinidad is, I ALWAYS WANTS WHAT IS BEST FOR MY COUNTRY AND I WILL DO ANYTHING TO HELP MY COUNTRY. So yuh cant blame the man for taking de wok because of the situation the team is in. And as it is now IF the man end up taking the team to SA or doing respectful and just falling short its still ah job well done. The man would not have taken the job i think if he know he could not have done better and not look like a total fool in the end...
Blessing....
Who Jah Bless No man Curse.... :beermug:

I not blaming Latapy for taking de job.  I just don't think this is the best set of circumstances for him to be making his head coaching debut.  I want to see Latas succeed as coach for many years to come but at this time the odds are stacked against him.  Like I said I wish him all the best and I will be rooting for his success.

I believe that Latas-Offence along with Zoran-Defence can coach this team to winning record if they understands the simple rules of the game.

1.   Offence starts with your Strikers. Your forwards players must have the capability to pressure the opposing defenses to force bad passes. Cornell Glenn, Daryl Roberts could be assigned to these duties.
2.   Midfield players must understand that if you are not willing to make tackles despite your skill level, you will sit on the bench.
3.   Defense must work together as a unit to break down opposing attacks. One player must make a tackle, not two or three never, it would leave an opposing player open. Man making is another problem, Wing backs must stay with your man, ball watching needs to be work on. To much of it is killing assignments on defence.
4.   Running off the ball is also another issue, to make room for easier attacking game. Low fitness level has alot to do with this lapsing.
5.   The Leadership on the field is another problem. More communication with one or two players on the field who are able to lead or encourage others. Hand signals assigned to change formations, based on opposing team formation or habits during a game from the coach.
6.   Being able to Motivate is a main characteristic one must possess to be a good coach.

Very good points.

« Reply #192 on: April 10, 2009, 10:15:55 PM »

ince/williams

roberts/latas

KJ/ stern

I know ah jumping een late but ah have to say something here ...you blaming Maturana for his team selection ...you may have a point there ...but what about those he selected ? You blaming him because Jones could not collect the ball properly ? that his second touch was also poor ? dat birchall cant yet pass the ball to someone on his team after all the hard work of winning it ? that unless he has a session with Spalk , Daniel eh go make it as an international player no matter how much talent they say he have ?
Dat Tallest and dem making schoolboy mistakes like dey never watch tapes dat does tell you you doh sell yourself as a defender , especially a last defender ? Dat you stay on your feet ?
You blaming de coach for how easy de man drag tallest , putting him on he bottom to sit up straight ?
Before you get to play for a national team you have to have certain basics ..like if you are a defender that you mark players on de opposing team ..and dat you kyah stand in one spot and hope de ball come dey ..ah national coach have to tell you dat ?
Waht about Stern and Scotty , players man was fighting down de coach to pick ? all of ah sudden is de coach fault for everyting ??? way Scotty do when he finally get another chance ? In my days if you come off half time and you playing forward de coach was bound to ask you how many attempts at goal you had ...you knew if the answer was none dat you wasn't  going back out dey ? Why should he send you back out ? ...you eh try nothing in 45 mins what you want him to do ?
dais why after 20 mins you done know dat you have to get een an attempt or you could be watching de next half from your rightful place on de bench ..you see if you wanted spectator role it was easy to get it then ... now man getting pick off ah newspaper, forum, and last year form and last world cup ratings ....
Ah hear dey even thinking bout bringing back Dog, Sancho and jack ....next ting dey go bring back  Leonsen  to partner Latapy in ah de area ???
On the question of selection you sounding like so many others .....it have a song for dat ..its called mambo no 5 ..ah little bit ah erica in my life, a little bit ah rita ..a little bit ah ..is what I need ..trinidadians eh really know what dey want.
We does call for de players who eh dey rather than call on de players who dey.When de team lorse is beacuse so and so eh play ...some ah dem names you call who shoudda play have me wondering if you ever see dem play .....
I say maturana have to go not because he eh ah good coach, but becuse he kyah get de best out ah dem fellas. dey eh no world beaters but they could play better than that !!! I therefore feel dat dem fellas have to take blame too ..we kyah just blame maturana and the fact that others should have played ..all ah dem names yuh call get dey chance and what did they do when  it came ? which player can say  dey were not given a chance to cement their place on the team .tell me who has done so ? ..maturana had a back in times policy only rivalled by Hurrican George ! All yuh eh fair at all !
One setta hype built up dem players ...now reality hit we want blood, anybody's blood we doh care whose ..
Ah shame to even respond to meh friends from de US ah just have to take it on de chin ...I eh giving dem players no bligh ......it was an utter disgrace and all ah dem should be ashamed to call themselves national footballers !!!!!!!

« Reply #193 on: April 10, 2009, 10:18:18 PM »
allyuh  tink latas wuda ever get another chance to coach d team? yuh tink if he turn down d post now, he wud ever get dis opportunity again? d man say is always his DREAM to coach T&T. which one ah allyuh wud turn down an open opportunity to follow allyuh dream? leave d blasted man alone, lewwe see wat he cud do FIRST.

bless!!

Offline WARRIORKING

• Deep into weaponry
« Reply #194 on: April 10, 2009, 10:58:58 PM »
i can't wait for all of allyuh fellas who think coaching was the problem. the problem is a bunch of lazy shit hongs who think they better tan what they really are. next game loss game after loss.
My lyrical tendency`s equivalent to a critical felony
Precise behind bars like a criminal`s penalty
Pinnacle definitely, hold so much jewels in my miracle memory
It`s like I`m a physical treasury
I was born with a difficult destiny, not your typical mentally
Givin my vision through treacheries

« Reply #195 on: April 11, 2009, 03:30:54 AM »
Arazi, captain or no captain the man was injured for a long time then he recovered a little and maturana picked him for the degicel, he was coming off an injury , how yuh expect him tuh perform?

right now whitley is in top shape , he's sweating for petrotrin regular and i gaining on the competition. yuh think clyde loen and daniel could lace up whitley's shoes!

as for cyd, beenhakker thought he was good enough, so who is shytesnake pancho to think other wise. sttuueeppsss.

bottom line, the man(pancho) was no good! he behaved like an escapee from ST ANN'S mental hospital!

« Reply #196 on: April 11, 2009, 03:40:48 AM »
Elan, the same men yuh talking bout who can't trap and pass, is the same men who held sweden to a 0-0 draw wid their best available players and we were short a man!!

it's the same men who put mother england in her place for 80 mins without ah bonified left back or right back.

yuh know why?? BC a good coach was @ the helm! believe it or not, it have coaches and then it have COACHES. beenhakker is ah COACH!and a good coach is the differance between winning and losing!!

let that mad man go bout he business yes!

« Reply #197 on: April 11, 2009, 06:17:46 AM »
Elan, the same men yuh talking bout who can't trap and pass, is the same men who held sweden to a 0-0 draw wid their best available players and we were short a man!!

it's the same men who put mother england in her place for 80 mins without ah bonified left back or right back.

yuh know why?? BC a good coach was @ the helm! believe it or not, it have coaches and then it have COACHES. beenhakker is ah COACH!and a good coach is the differance between winning and losing!!

:applause: :applause: Well said JC ....buh yuh wasting yuh time wid man like Elan ,dem fellas have axe tuh grind and does be impress by US college coaches .Everything yuh say above was dey for everyone tuh see, yet still ah certain few refuse tuh accept Beenie was de best coach EVER tuh pass thru TnT (doh mind ah still vex he eh give latas more sweat) Elan n dem wud never get it,NEVER,becuz dey feel dey know more bout de game dan anyone even though de extent ah dey coaching expierence is ah lil girls school team.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2009, 06:29:07 AM by berris »

« Reply #198 on: April 11, 2009, 10:50:50 AM »

Nah man, We had no players at the level Wolfe and Akile at. Stern was buzzing, Yorke was still doing his thing and we had competent people all over the field. That 06 team would have blown this team out the water.

« Reply #199 on: April 11, 2009, 10:58:09 AM »

:applause: :applause: Well said JC ....buh yuh wasting yuh time wid man like Elan ,dem fellas have axe tuh grind and does be impress by US college coaches .Everything yuh say above was dey for everyone tuh see, yet still ah certain few refuse tuh accept Beenie was de best coach EVER tuh pass thru TnT (doh mind ah still vex he eh give latas more sweat) Elan n dem wud never get it,NEVER,becuz dey feel dey know more bout de game dan anyone even though de extent ah dey coaching expierence is ah lil girls school team.

You need some Midol. Everyone agreed that a better coach can get the best out of the players, but you can only do so much with certain players. Take win nah you know more than everyone else.

« Reply #200 on: April 11, 2009, 07:14:49 PM »
i can't wait for all of allyuh fellas who think coaching was the problem. the problem is a bunch of lazy shit hongs who think they better tan what they really are. next game loss game after loss.

LOUDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD
STEUPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #201 on: April 15, 2009, 11:25:24 AM »
Wham Supa, no bullate for anybody today?

Nah, may be tomorrow  :rotfl:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2009, 12:18:20 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #202 on: September 06, 2009, 01:38:59 PM »
Has it been six months yet.

« Reply #203 on: September 06, 2009, 08:16:44 PM »
Has it been six months yet.

NO 6/12 is October so after d WCQ we will look 4 another fro.