April 26, 2024, 10:33:26 AM

Author Topic: WN Interviews Alvin Corneal after USA match  (Read 2298 times)

WN Interviews Alvin Corneal after USA match
« on: April 08, 2009, 12:48:06 PM »
Interview of Alvin Corneal conducted by WN members Royalian and Firebrand at post-match reception hosted by the TT Ambassador to the USA, Mrs. Glenda Morean-Philips.

<a href="http://tntingermany.com/player2/player.swf?soundFile=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tntingermany.com%2Fmp3%2F20090401-wn-alvincorneal.mp3" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://tntingermany.com/player2/player.swf?soundFile=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tntingermany.com%2Fmp3%2F20090401-wn-alvincorneal.mp3</a>

Re: WN Interviews Alvin Corneal after USA match
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 01:08:38 PM »
thanks eman.  most sense I ever hear alvin corneal talk. I ent agree with all of it, but very sensible opinion.

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2009, 01:15:13 PM »
Interview of Alvin Corneal conducted by WN members Royalian and Firebrand at post-match reception hosted by the TT Ambassador to the USA, Mrs. Glenda Morean-Philips.

<a href="http://tntingermany.com/player2/player.swf?soundFile=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tntingermany.com%2Fmp3%2F20090401-wn-alvincorneal.mp3" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://tntingermany.com/player2/player.swf?soundFile=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tntingermany.com%2Fmp3%2F20090401-wn-alvincorneal.mp3</a>

All yuh fellas real good 2 speak and not clout dat goat.

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2009, 01:36:00 PM »
I understand what d man saying though
I real laugh when he talk abotu watching the tape

« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2009, 01:52:31 PM »
He complaining bout foreign players, but then lobbying for Darryl Roberts and Hyland? Or he just mean de old foreign players?

« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2009, 01:57:23 PM »
He complaining bout foreign players, but then lobbying for Darryl Roberts and Hyland? Or he just mean de old foreign players?
I go have to listen again as some of what he says seems like "Parrot Talk" to me.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2009, 02:11:34 PM »
Cornmeal talk rell sense in troot doh. 

« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2009, 02:15:01 PM »
seriously
who scored the two goals against the usa
who made that great cross for ? (I go come back jezz now wid he name) to score
(partzheimers is ah hell of ah ting) :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2009, 02:16:46 PM »
seriously
who made that great cross for ? (I go come back jezz now wid he name) to score

Dat was ah mess :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2009, 02:24:02 PM »
seriously
who made that great cross for ? Hyland (I go come back jezz now wid he name) to score

Dat was ah mess :rotfl:
Hyland, ent
some of the locals are good but MOST of the foriegn are better

« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2009, 02:28:44 PM »
Alvin makes a lot of sense when he talks about the inconsistency of the coach selections and the lack of strategy.
1. Disagree: He seems to blame Dwight Yorke but Dwight Yorke did not play against the USA
2. Agree: Dwight should have taken the penalty in El Salvador
3. Agree: Keon should be taking all the free kicks.  He has proved himself.
4. Disagree: He seems reluctant to blame Maturana, but Maturana is the one who has displayed the inconsistency of selections and poor strategy.
5. Agree: It is time to give Akeem Adams another go, he can't do worse than Aklie Edwards.
6. Agree: It is time to drop some of the stars and work in younger players: Leston Paul, Atuallah Guerra, Trent Noel
7. Khaleem Hyland should be a permanent part of the team.

My opinion:  Change the coach now or forget about any chance of 2010!  His team selection and strategy have been proven inadequate.

« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2009, 02:30:04 PM »
some of the locals are good but MOST of the foriegn are better
Dis is my only problem with what he had to say. The rest of it was on point to me.

« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2009, 04:20:44 PM »
Very good interview fellas. Thank you.

A lot of what AC say make sense.

But he need to have some reality with this "give yute a chance ting."

The TTFF patiently allow Mats and he son to run with this policy until Bermuda beat we ass at home and then they made some wholesale changes.

There is a time to give young boys a chance to blood and is not in the middle of a WC experience. We nearly los out becz of that shit.

I understand youth must get blooded and there must be balance. There must also be some sense.

Welcome back Sancho?? :)

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2009, 04:38:40 PM »
Good interview, thanks guys

« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2009, 04:52:14 PM »
Take a look at the T&T lineup in the early games (bar Ash Wednesday 2008) under Maturana.

Now check who Alvin talkin bout should be tried in this interview

Also check Alvin's comments when Maturana was first appointed as head coach

Maybe when you factor in all of these compnents, you'll get an idea as to why he reluctant to blame the coach.

And yes....I agree with him....the coach doesn't play...players play.  But Mr Corneal often speaks out of both sides of he mout.

« Reply #15 on: April 08, 2009, 05:58:27 PM »
Alvin Corneal seems to have a very bad memory.  He forget that is because of the same local players we will be missing the gold cup this year.  He forget that Akeem Adams started quite a few games at left back until he was exposed in the first half of a friendly against Jamaica. 

He mentioned Edwards taking 4 and 5 touches of the ball before he makes a pass.  He forget to mention that most times Edwards have to take so many touches because he has no open teamates to pass the ball to.

He mentioned that players don't watch tapes of the games.  Part of coaching is having film sessions of previous games with the team to highlight positives and negatives and make adjustments.  So if nobody is watching game tape blame de coach.

I agree with him that in general we don't do enough to  mix younger players into the senior team. But this is  one area where Maturana excelled.  He gave many younger players a chance to shine but unfortunately most of them were not ready for the higher level of football.  I hope in a few years if players like Kaleem Hyland, Keon Daniel, Akile Edwards and Akeem Adams (to name a few) develop into good players we remember to give Maturana his credit for his role in their growth as players.

Corneal said that whenever Stern John gets a ball he cannot trap it properly and it keep running away from him.  I hope he meant to say Kenwyne Jones because for the most part Stern does not have that problem.

He was right about our players not giving 100%.  The coach cannot be blamed for that.  Our players do need an attitude adjustment because regardless of what a coach does if the players do not give their all the team will always fail.

« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2009, 07:57:51 PM »
Corneal have a short memory but ah think he was mostly on point.

One thing ah could reinforce is his ability to break down a game tape...segment by segment, stop the tape take questions, point out good and bad technique or good /bad  positional play... he is very thorough and can give you stats on how many bad passes, long ball, mis-controll ..etc etc. 

Offline Augi

« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2009, 09:52:43 PM »
good job fellas...thanks for the hard work!

« Reply #18 on: April 09, 2009, 09:42:54 AM »
Take a look at the T&T lineup in the early games (bar Ash Wednesday 2008) under Maturana.

Now check who Alvin talkin bout should be tried in this interview

Also check Alvin's comments when Maturana was first appointed as head coach

Maybe when you factor in all of these compnents, you'll get an idea as to why he reluctant to blame the coach.

And yes....I agree with him....the coach doesn't play...players play.  But Mr Corneal often speaks out of both sides of he mout.

D Xcoach eh have no guts u get d wuk because h cornmeal but u have 2 do d wuk