none sold out. first of all...since Mats reach, the team has often looked awful and we often overlooked it because we got the right result. so it's hypocritical to act like all of a sudden the players might have thrown a game. they finally buck up against a really competitive side and get rinse...actually...not true, semifinal round against the US was worst imo. and the team get rinse before that against worse teams
if anything, the players have proven they'd never purposefully sell out T&T. Too many playersget a lot of grief from their clubs for playing for T&T. We all know that KJ, Carlos, Yorke, Birchie, Scotland and many others are constantly pressured by their clubs to abandon the national team...and even with all the grief of the blacklist etc..they all want to come and rep during WC qualifiers. And it's not just foreign based..we know some local players are pressured by their clubs to turn their bakc on the national team. IN any case..out local players are probably aware they are one shte performance away from never wearing the national uniform again..so it most likely they fighting the matches the most..even if their actual performance was wanting.
The players who don't want to rep, rather make up an injury and hide behind their club (and clubs are more than willing to provide the smoke screen), or claim to be needed more in a more important club game than be a sub for T&T (Scotland in the FA Cup for Swansea for example). You see..imo, there are two types of players...those who are 100% team players, and those who are out for themselves. Neither type of player has any incentive to purposefully sell out a WCQ. No need to explain the former...for the latter, you just have to think of the potential personal benefits of qualifying for a WC. Noone's flying all the way across the Atlantic to purposefully sell-out a game, look like a shittong and risk being dropped for his troubles.
If anything, IF there was a falling out with Maturana, then he probably didn't get the most out of players. But not becasue they personally sabotaged the team..but because on some mental level, they didn't start the game with the righ level of belief in the team and their prospects and from there on it is easier to be frustrated, lose confidence etc...Kinda like any other job. If the office atmosphere is poor, you performance will not be as great as in an ideal work environment. You doh have to be trying to get the boss fired for that to happen