April 24, 2024, 12:10:05 AM

Author Topic: So What is d REAL Deal With Cornel Glenn and Kenwyne Jones Now  (Read 5009 times)

dat we have our golden child as head coach

Re: So What is d REAL Deal With Cornel Glenn and Kenwyne Jones Now
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2009, 08:48:26 AM »
Good question. I believe the former should be starting based on form.

The funny thing, we have nothing to base Glenn on - but we have plenty to base KJ performance on.
So do we go with the unexpected (re: vs. Sweden in WC06), or do we go with the expected (KJ Hex 09).

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2009, 08:48:38 AM »
dat we have our golden child as head coach

We will now start seeing both of them being used properly & to their strengths!

Glenn will now be back in the squad, in fact I believe both of them would be back in the squad for our next game in June!

Their form (as our other strikers) will be assessed in a couple of high profile friendies before our clash with Costa Rica in June!

We will need all our best players in top form and to have all guns firing to take 3 points against Coata Rica in June!

We will definitely need a marked improvement in our defence and the next move is to have our 2006 WC backline at least back in the squad if not all starting! We may need Sancho & Marvin back despite them being Jacklisted and that will be a major obstacle that Russell will need to iron out with JW! This will be Russell's major challenge to overcome, having access to the Jacklisted players as he sees required to strengthen the squad.

Once our defence is back up to standard we can concentrate on our midfield clicking and our strikers taking their chances and putting those goals away!

Lots of work to do but we can do it with the right players on the field in the right positions and everyone performing as a team!!  ;)
« Last Edit: April 09, 2009, 08:56:18 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2009, 09:28:31 AM »
Seeing that it was very clear that Maturana's preferred formation for the team was 4-5-1...in every competitive match prior to Latapy's ascension to the Asst Coach position, and then all of a sudden we playin 4-4-2 in de Hex, whose instructions allyuh REALLY feel de team was tryin to follow?

Yuh really think Maturana de one bring back Densil Theobald?

Seeing dat Maturana was de one who didn't even bring on a sub after halftime when we was 2-0 down against de USA in Chicago, yuh think was he who call fuh 3 strikers in de team?

Yuh really think is Maturana who drop Cornell Glen to have Jones, John, & Scotland as we 3 strikers?

And yuh think was Maturana who instruct Stern John to take de penalty against El Salvador?

Maturana do he shit yes but come nah man....ting starin yuh in yuh face and yuh playin yuh eh seein?

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2009, 09:30:36 AM »
All yuh give Latas a chance not 2 pick dem lawdddddddd fadderrrrrrrrrrrrr then u could ask dat ?

Offline iceberg

« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2009, 09:47:58 AM »
Ah ball aint kick yet under Latas as Head Coach and men done blazing him already.  You have to luv trini's, we could never be happy.  Bring back Maturana yes. Big Steups!!!!
If your heart is not in the game then your not a true footballer!!!

« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2009, 09:53:08 AM »
I don't believe Latapy picked a squad with only 4 defenders.

« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2009, 09:53:15 AM »
Ah ball aint kick yet under Latas as Head Coach and men done blazing him already.  You have to luv trini's, we could never be happy.  Bring back Maturana yes. Big Steups!!!!

Nah, nah bring back Wim!!... :devil:

« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2009, 09:59:23 AM »

The funny thing, we have nothing to base Glenn on - but we have plenty to base KJ performance on.
So do we go with the unexpected (re: vs. Sweden in WC06), or do we go with the expected (KJ Hex 09).

???

one of the most baffling posts i've seen in a while. If Glen should be starting based on form, then how can you say there is nothing to base him on  ??? And why is his game against Sweden 3 years ago being used as your measuring stick for Glenn....and if so....exactly how is that 'unexpected'. geezus.

« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2009, 10:08:38 AM »
I think we have a rude awakening to come.  Anybody notice Yorke his comments about Hyland after the USA game. To me he was genuinely surprised that the man could cut it. Yorke and Latas is padners. Latas didn't see Hyland play b4? Look out for a whole lot of the old guard.

The question should be what is the deal with Yorke now. He was toast in the second half of El Sal. He older and doesn't have match fitness. Sweating him is a guaranteed sub.

Avery, Cyd and Sancho probably not match fit either. Sorry to say but Latapy riding in on a blaze of glory seems like a fairy tale. He will be better than Mats tactically (I hope) but he still have lemons so we drinking lemonade.

« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2009, 10:09:21 AM »

???

one of the most baffling posts i've seen in a while. If Glen should be starting based on form, then how can you say there is nothing to base him on  ??? And why is his game against Sweden 3 years ago being used as your measuring stick for Glenn....and if so....exactly how is that 'unexpected'. geezus.

LOL. It was tongue in cheek and intended to be baffling. Such is the state of TT football.

Truth is, we have nothing recent to base Cornell Glen's current form on. Local PFL is not in season, so we have to base him on past performances - hence, the reference to the Sweden game, when he unexpectedly came off the bench after Avery's red card and immediately put Sweden on the backfoot with his brisk counter attacks. Couldve gone back to references in Argentina, but Sweden fit the purpose better.

KJ's performances can be expected because his form for club and country have been woeful. The latter, baffling and heart breaking. Seems like that is all we can expect from him these days as he gets more tired from battling Sunderland's relegtion problems.

Hence, do we go with the unexpected or the expected?

« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2009, 10:19:11 AM »

???

Did Glen not score 11 goals in 11 games with the National team leading up to and during the round of qualifying games? How is there nothing to base his performance on? Why go on tour and then it counts for zero. What is alyuh real deal?

« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2009, 10:21:00 AM »
Did Glen not score 11 goals in 11 games with the National team leading up to and during the round of qualifying games? How is there nothing to base his performance on? Why go on tour and then it counts for zero. What is alyuh real deal?

tell that to the men SELECTING the team.

Ent Latapy is coach? - and wasn't Latapy in Argentina?

At least he does speak English, so the answer can't be lost in translation this time.

« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2009, 10:47:34 AM »
Look out for a whole lot of the old guard.
My biggest BIGGEST concern.

« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2009, 10:52:15 AM »
Let us wait and see the composition of the squad against CR. Did anyone read that Jack has already given orders to play members of the Under 20's.
 Let us wish Latas well, his success is T&T success. This is also his dream come true.
 Who knows maybe he can work his magic as a coach.

« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2009, 11:00:55 AM »
Look out for a whole lot of the old guard.
My biggest BIGGEST concern.
cosign. imagine all the over 30. Carlos, Yorke, Lawrence, Ince, Stern, etc. only getting sweat and burn in the 2nd half like they did against El Salvador

« Reply #16 on: April 09, 2009, 11:09:07 AM »
Let us wait and see the composition of the squad against CR. Did anyone read that Jack has already given orders to play members of the Under 20's. Let us wish Latas well, his success is T&T success. This is also his dream come true.
 Who knows maybe he can work his magic as a coach.

I hope not and if this is true we will see if Latapy stand up to JW or just let him tell him what to do.

Offline jusbless

« Reply #17 on: April 09, 2009, 11:18:54 AM »
I cant believe some of these posters calling for cornell glen to be on the side .Let us judge glen performance he could not make the jabloteh starting line up for the second half of the season as Jerrol Forbes kept him out. It leads me to wonder if you ever say the highlights of the argentina trip or the games he played. Firstly all the sitters he missed , his inability to hold the ball up, his passing is atrocious and he is too predictable , he is like a wind up toy , he puts his head  down and run I think we need more than that and we have way better strikers than that.

Offline jusbless

« Reply #18 on: April 09, 2009, 11:24:13 AM »
Now lets deal with kenwyne jones he played the three games in the qualfying , firstly he did not have such a bad game as people are suggesting , he had a average game , if you look at the tapes see how many chances he created and see his input plus in every game he has been marked by more than one defenders which means he free up space for the other forwards , He is being crowded which is in fact a good thing for T&T but not a good thing for kenwyne as it leaves room for the other striker to take advantage of it , the problem is that the other striker has not been taking advantage of the defenders crowding kenwyne.

« Reply #19 on: April 09, 2009, 11:31:37 AM »
I cant believe some of these posters calling for cornell glen to be on the side .Let us judge glen performance he could not make the jabloteh starting line up for the second half of the season as Jerrol Forbes kept him out. It leads me to wonder if you ever say the highlights of the argentina trip or the games he played. Firstly all the sitters he missed , his inability to hold the ball up, his passing is atrocious and he is too predictable , he is like a wind up toy , he puts his head  down and run I think we need more than that and we have way better strikers than that.

What a laugh. Predictable you say.

Offline jusbless

« Reply #20 on: April 09, 2009, 11:43:03 AM »
So predictable that he not even going to be in the Top five in the PFL this season

« Reply #21 on: April 09, 2009, 11:56:17 AM »
Seeing that it was very clear that Maturana's preferred formation for the team was 4-5-1...in every competitive match prior to Latapy's ascension to the Asst Coach position, and then all of a sudden we playin 4-4-2 in de Hex, whose instructions allyuh REALLY feel de team was tryin to follow?

Yuh really think Maturana de one bring back Densil Theobald?

Seeing dat Maturana was de one who didn't even bring on a sub after halftime when we was 2-0 down against de USA in Chicago, yuh think was he who call fuh 3 strikers in de team?

Yuh really think is Maturana who drop Cornell Glen to have Jones, John, & Scotland as we 3 strikers?

And yuh think was Maturana who instruct Stern John to take de penalty against El Salvador?Maturana do he shit yes but come nah man....ting starin yuh in yuh face and yuh playin yuh eh seein?

Palos yuh beating ah dead horse ,so ah go tell yuh again fuh de 156,137,601,561,781 time and counting, no one 'instruct Stern John to take de penalty' ,no one had to, not Mats ,not Dwight ,not Latas ...NO ONE .De man  is a senoir player on the de team who is also TnT leading goal scorer he eh need permission or instructions tuh take ah penalty for TnT .If Dwight or Latas or Mats did not want him tuh take it they wud have said sumtin .HE DID IT ON HIS OWN ......buh if yuh prefer tuh believe asshole baptiste, fuh what ever reason, go ahead boss ..............dwell on .

« Reply #22 on: April 09, 2009, 12:15:22 PM »
Palos yuh beating ah dead horse ,so ah go tell yuh again fuh de 156,137,601,561,781 time and counting, no one 'instruct Stern John to take de penalty' ,no one had to, not Mats ,not Dwight ,not Latas ...NO ONE .De man  is a senoir player on the de team who is also TnT leading goal scorer he eh need permission or instructions tuh take ah penalty for TnT .If Dwight or Latas or Mats did not want him tuh take it they wud have said sumtin .HE DID IT ON HIS OWN ......buh if yuh prefer tuh believe asshole baptiste, fuh what ever reason, go ahead boss ..............dwell on .

And we go live or die by dat "senior member of de squad" mentality. 

Same senior member of de squad mentality dat have Keon Daniel not takin free kicks in favour of men who hardly ever score a free kick for T&T

What is de point of having practice matches against teams when de "senior players" not there...yuh have certain men performin certain roles in these games and in practice and then when de "senior players" come een, everyting dat was practiced get push by de wayside?

Live by de sword....die by de sword.  I real hopin we choose life.

« Reply #23 on: April 09, 2009, 12:33:07 PM »

Same senior member of de squad mentality dat have Keon Daniel not takin free kicks in favour of men who hardly ever score a free kick for T&T

What is de point of having practice matches against teams when de "senior players" not there...yuh have certain men performin certain roles in these games and in practice and then when de "senior players" come een, everyting dat was practiced get push by de wayside?

Is not ah matter ah 'senior member of de squad mentality' it is ah fact it have senior players and it have rookies . Come nah man yuh peltin curve ball left and right ,so when we overseas based players cyar come for 'practice matches' that mean we shud not use dem in real matches ? One ting I will agree with you on is Keon Daniel shud be taking every free kick we get outside de box ,but that is only if he show he deserve tuh be on the starting team and after de last 2 performances I see, he show he eh really ready as yet . Against ES he shudda take de free kick and not be brushed aside by DY and #14 ah give yuh dat .But not becuz he good in dead ball situations means he shud be on the pitch before Carlos Birchall ,Whitley, DY ,Hyland ,Spann even Bleeder show more poise than him and that is saying alot . 

« Reply #24 on: April 09, 2009, 12:43:00 PM »

Is not ah matter ah 'senior member of de squad mentality' it is ah fact it have senior players and it have rookies . Come nah man yuh peltin curve ball left and right ,so when we overseas based players cyar come for 'practice matches' that mean we shud not use dem in real matches ? One ting I will agree with you on is Keon Daniel shud be taking every free kick we get outside de box ,but that is only if he show he deserve tuh be on the starting team and after de last 2 performances I see, he show he eh really ready as yet . Against ES he shudda take de free kick and not be brushed aside by DY and #14 ah give yuh dat .But not becuz he good in dead ball situations means he shud be on the pitch before Carlos Birchall ,Whitley, DY ,Hyland ,Spann even Bleeder show more poise than him and that is saying alot . 

We best players should play, full agreement dey.  WHO we best players are is de question fuh de coach to decide.  I doh believe jes because yuh playin outside, yuh should jes waltz into de team 'by right".  I believe there should be competition for places.

I disagree with the notion that Daniel shouldn't be on de pitch before dem fellas.  Carlos for me is a must pick once fit.  Same with Yorke and same with Birchall.  Whitley IF fit would be a great pick but he was probably de worst player on de team in de GC qualifiers in Jamaica...yes admittedly coming back after injury.  Hyland, Spann and Bleeder do not play the same role as Daniel so comparin dem doh make sense to me.  Besides....Spann?  You serious bro?  And Bleeder?

« Reply #25 on: April 09, 2009, 12:48:01 PM »
We best players should play, full agreement dey.  WHO we best players are is de question fuh de coach to decide.  I doh believe jes because yuh playin outside, yuh should jes waltz into de team 'by right".  I believe there should be competition for places.
best ting I have heard you say all week ;D

and to add to that I still ascertain that some local players are good but most forren players are better.

and to be a devils advocate here
it must be very expensive to bring home ALL the better forren players for camps....eh jack?
cause if ALL our best players were playing in TnT, we would be a bit happier bunch :D
« Last Edit: April 09, 2009, 12:57:10 PM by Ishikawa »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #26 on: April 09, 2009, 12:57:57 PM »

I disagree with the notion that Daniel shouldn't be on de pitch before dem fellas.  Carlos for me is a must pick once fit.  Same with Yorke and same with Birchall.  Whitley IF fit would be a great pick but he was probably de worst player on de team in de GC qualifiers in Jamaica...yes admittedly coming back after injury.  Hyland, Spann and Bleeder do not play the same role as Daniel so comparin dem doh make sense to me.  Besides....Spann?  You serious bro?  And Bleeder?

Daniel have talent no doubt about dat ,but his play has been going down hill game after game and he seems not interested . A fit Dwarika will be more productive than him right now and ah dead serious . But we know that eh go happen ,so someone need tuh talk tuh this youth seriously and show him how important he really is to the team as far as play maker is concern becuz we have now one creating in de midfield and dais we major problem and reason we eh scoring goals.

p.s ah rite ah rite ah take back Bleeder but Spann shud be on the team who else score free kick like him ,besides Daniel ?
« Last Edit: April 09, 2009, 01:04:33 PM by berris »

« Reply #27 on: April 09, 2009, 01:38:35 PM »
Daniel have talent no doubt about dat ,but his play has been going down hill game after game and he seems not interested . A fit Dwarika will be more productive than him right now and ah dead serious . But we know that eh go happen ,so someone need tuh talk tuh this youth seriously and show him how important he really is to the team as far as play maker is concern becuz we have now one creating in de midfield and dais we major problem and reason we eh scoring goals.

p.s ah rite ah rite ah take back Bleeder but Spann shud be on the team who else score free kick like him ,besides Daniel ?

Yuh tork de trute dey....Keon hasn't been playing well these past few games, but up to that point, he was consistently one of our better players.  Whether he just goin thru a dip in form as all players do, or is because he not playin with a club (doh mind all de local players not playin right now as PFL eh start yet), or he not gellin wit de foreign based...me eh know.  And he shouldn't take ALL de free kicks outside de box.  We should mix it up.  But he shouldn't be takin none needah and he should be de first option.

We have dis way whey one man does take ALL de free kick and ALL de corners.  As if nobody else could deliver de ball.  Latas used to do it.  Yorke used to do it.  Dwarika used to do it.  Is dotishness.  And ah feel is dah same "senior player mentality" dat we have dat does cause it.  Mix it up....sometimes de opposition expeckin Yorke to take it and surprise surprise....is Kenwyne dat take de free kick.  Me eh know if people remember but Kenwyne have a very powerful shot.  He is not no finesse man.  And I personally find dat Birchy should be takin more corners and free kicks.  His technique is excellent but we doh get so see he in action because he not "senior" enough.  We should be oversin dem tings man.

« Reply #28 on: April 09, 2009, 01:44:11 PM »
So predictable that he not even going to be in the Top five in the PFL this season

When was the last time you see something unpredictable or different in the PFL? Glen is needed on the team, just his speed alone and willingness to take defenders on at speed would be a cause for concern to other teams.

« Reply #29 on: April 09, 2009, 03:57:10 PM »
I do believe that men have to wait till latas pick his next squad to make them kinda judgements men could make all kinda assumptions as to who picking the squad but as long as Maturana was the coach you cant make an assumption that latas was picking the squad ...you have to assume that matas was .....latas pick for his next game will determine if you could make those assumptions based on the similarites in choices ...... 
Men talking bout Glen form and such ...i've watched him ..he isnt the same player ...he has some pace but not as he used to ....and he is playing like a dunce but just for the difference that he brings as a striker compared to the others i'd try him because kj is woefully out of it and stern without any kind of service is at best ordinary right now on his present form....i'd go with glenn and scotland ... but i'd definitey call back darryl roberts for the kinda movement he gives as a forward because right now ourt forwards arent making any kind of runs ...pathetic  ...thas it for now man have to leave