March 29, 2024, 05:50:33 AM

Author Topic: Latas = Whitmore effect?  (Read 5428 times)

Latas = Whitmore effect?
« on: April 10, 2009, 07:53:50 AM »
I remember when Jamaica fired Simoes after they lost to Honduras in Honduras and placed Whitmore as Head coach in an interim basis. 

That move seemed to lift the Jamaican side.  Although Whitmore's CV was also thin, he still managed to lead Jamaica to three striaght wins over Mexico, Honduras and Canada.

I am hoping that Latas' appointment, with his limited coaching experience, can do the same.

Offline reggae-fan

Re: Latas = Whitmore effect?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2009, 08:05:47 AM »
I remember when Jamaica fired Simoes after they lost to Honduras in Honduras and placed Whitmore as Head coach in an interim basis. 

That move seemed to lift the Jamaican side.  Although Whitmore's CV was also thin, he still managed to lead Jamaica to three striaght wins over Mexico, Honduras and Canada.

I am hoping that Latas' appointment, with his limited coaching experience, can do the same.

In many ways, Latapy and Whitmore commands the same sort of respect among the players on the respective teams. Only difference here is that Whitmore had actually coached Jamaica in 2 friendly games prior to simoes dismissal (2-0 and 3-0 friendly victories over centra American opponents)

Whitmore selected the right players I believe, he recalled about 7 players that were previously ignored by Simoes...perhaps a similar situation will happen when Latapy takes the reigns.

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2009, 08:22:53 AM »

In many ways, Latapy and Whitmore commands the same sort of respect among the players on the respective teams. Only difference here is that Whitmore had actually coached Jamaica in 2 friendly games prior to simoes dismissal (2-0 and 3-0 friendly victories over centra American opponents)

Whitmore selected the right players I believe, he recalled about 7 players that were previously ignored by Simoes...perhaps a similar situation will happen when Latapy takes the reigns.

yuh see RF.. somtimes yuh does make alot of sence on this forum.... keep it up   ;D

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2009, 08:24:45 AM »
yuh see RF.. somtimes yuh does make alot of sence on this forum.... keep it up   ;D

Ent ah was jus tinkin de same ting, serious Jekyl and Hyde oui

« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2009, 08:27:38 AM »
lets hope so Andre

there is light at the end of the tunnel with RF ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2009, 08:31:59 AM »
Anybody who feel Latapy wasn't in charge of selections in de Hex?  Serious?

Anyway....we go soon find out.

« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2009, 08:42:51 AM »

Doh fool alyah self ,RF doh like compliments he enjoys being a prick .He ent go change .

« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2009, 08:43:52 AM »

That is what i was quarrelling last night on work!!

But as it goes........we do well because of Latapy and we play shit because of Maturana!

Some people on this site fail to realise that if Latas wanted Glen on de team, Glen would have been there.  But they talking about how Matas is ah shit hound for not picking Glen (who was playing shit by de way......lol)

« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2009, 08:45:27 AM »

so for ALL dem tings that Just Cool points out in his post here, we now have to switch out Mats name and insert Latas name?  :o
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2009, 08:51:01 AM »
Latapy to Soca Warriors to me is the same as Alan Shearer to New Castle ..........

Lets just hope the beginning isn't the same

« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2009, 08:52:25 AM »
whitmore best ja playa  i have seen

« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2009, 09:41:58 AM »
who de F#ck is Whitmore ???...never heard of him... is he from England??
somebody please help me here...

Offline lucky4life

« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2009, 09:54:42 AM »
haha haha very funny,whitemore is are use to be the interim coach of jamaica in the last round of the hex when we beat MEX,HON,CAN in jamaica

« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2009, 10:02:52 AM »
ok...thanks for the info Lucky...
why did they replace him for the HEX then ??

Offline lucky4life

« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2009, 10:07:09 AM »
the same reason why you all are replaceing MARTURANA or whatever is name is

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #15 on: April 10, 2009, 10:20:30 AM »
who de F#ck is Whitmore ???...never heard of him... is he from England??
somebody please help me here...

LOL. Let me refresh your memory:

Whitmore is the guy that scored two goals to propell Jamaica to its historic victory in its final group phase game at the World Cup finals held in France '98. The victory propelled the boyz to 3rd place behind Crotia(eventual Semi-finalist), and Argentina.

Now you know :)

« Reply #16 on: April 10, 2009, 10:23:23 AM »
i did always like 'tappa'...my favorite yardie player.    i am not sure about the effect latas will have on our players though.

« Reply #17 on: April 10, 2009, 10:32:47 AM »
Thanks RF... watched all the games of France 98...except the Jamaica games...
watched England instead...same anthem as yours

Offline LondonTrini LFC

• El mejor...
  • Rafa is Magic
« Reply #18 on: April 10, 2009, 10:41:59 AM »

:D :beermug:
Shut up Sven...

« Reply #19 on: April 10, 2009, 10:45:06 AM »

:D

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #20 on: April 10, 2009, 10:50:04 AM »

:D

Since when Whitmore play for England?

« Reply #21 on: April 10, 2009, 12:05:11 PM »

LOL

« Reply #22 on: April 10, 2009, 12:16:01 PM »

PRAM PRAM!!! LMAO!!!  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #23 on: April 10, 2009, 12:24:34 PM »
BM reading your posts dos make my day :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #24 on: April 10, 2009, 12:32:09 PM »
Only a blind and foolish man will argue that Latas (and Dwight's) finger prints were not all over the squads selected by Maturana. But therein lies the dilemma (or as Maturana would say the differing viewpoint with the TTFF), if de coach cannot independently select a squad and match a game plan to suit the players selected then why have him as the head coach.  As far as I am concerned the buck starts and ends with the head coach. Maturana lived in Trinidad for the majority of the time since his appointment as opposed to Dwight and Latas. This was not to enjoy all-inclusives but to evaluate talent and assist in player development.  Two tasks I believed he failed at.  Now, if he can't do it for whatever reason then he needs to go. Beenie showed one thing and that was: Beenie and only Beenie was in charge of the final player selection and the on field game strategy.

Blessing

« Reply #25 on: April 10, 2009, 01:08:38 PM »

But as it goes........we do well because of Latapy and we play shit because of Maturana!

Some people on this site fail to realise that if Latas wanted Glen on de team, Glen would have been there.  But they talking about how Matas is ah shit hound for not picking Glen (who was playing shit by de way......lol)

Exactly

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #26 on: April 10, 2009, 03:48:55 PM »

Exactly

There is no way Latas was picking squad for dem last few games. No way! Allyuh hear bout other head coaches that let assistants set them up against they will to lose big games? Or assistant coaches that know dey might get de job if de head coach get fired that stick dey neck out to help de head coach keep he job? Let we just wait to see what happens now because Latas is named officially as the decision maker now. Whoever advises him, or limits his options as far as players not responsible for Latapy's decisions as he was not responsible for Maturana's. If yuh not satisfied with the tools given to do yuh job , say so, or don't accept the job. HEAD COACH mean responsibility ultimately rests with you for final decisions!
Doh loss yuh head boss

Offline shatta

• JAMAICA TO DI WORLD!. WHERE BROOKLYN AT!
  • GANSTA FI LIFE
« Reply #27 on: April 10, 2009, 04:38:35 PM »
quote author=Big Magician link=topic=43337.msg554838#msg554838 date=1239381167]
[/quote]go suck yu mumma, batty boy. TT ship still a g sink :rotfl:. yu no have no were going, yu shit. hundouras a go drap 12 unda yu rass and mexico 26 :rotfl: USA could have put in another 4 :rotfl:.

« Last Edit: April 10, 2009, 04:55:44 PM by shatta »

« Reply #28 on: April 10, 2009, 05:01:32 PM »
I don't believe latas and yorke would pick 4 defenders for such important games, and to add insult leave out cyd and avery for wolf, and especially aklie who got murdered in chicago.

i don't believe that latas would used wolf in the first place further more endorse using hislop to replace wolf when we coulda put carlos in the full back position and use guerra as a winger which would be a better gamble, knowing that donovon and beasley was already smelling blood.

did anyone see when carlos switch to the left side after keon was subbed off? that's was to stop any more goals coming from the left side.

does anyone think that latas would use 3 forwards leaving the midfield porous, where most of the mistakes came from.

did anyone seen dwight's face in the post game interview? the man look like he wanted tuh cry! just like ah child who was about tuh drop dime to his parents on someone.

i think dwight told jack tuh get rid of this guy! @ least to me that's what it looked like.

if indeed it was latas and yorke who starred that ship in nashville, then allyuh forget about SA 2010! then again i have a premonition that them boys had very little say, and allyuh exaggerating much.

IMO all that shyte looked and smelled like pancho was the culprit all his own, or else jack would rid of latas just the same.

« Reply #29 on: April 10, 2009, 05:04:29 PM »

Haul he mudda c0nt ..still