April 23, 2024, 05:15:09 AM

Author Topic: Scotland at the double against Norwich  (Read 4994 times)

Scotland at the double against Norwich
« on: April 11, 2009, 12:18:21 PM »
Scotland at the double against Norwich
swanseacity.net

The Swans kept their play-off dreams alive with this hard fought victory over Norwich at the Liberty Stadium.

Roberto's side dominated early on and duly took the lead when Jason Scotland fired past David Marshall with a sweet left footed drive only for Alan Lee to level with a header just after the half-hour.

But the home fans only had to wait until five minutes into the second period for a second Swansea goal as Scotland picked himself up to convert a penalty to make it 2-1.

Despite an increased level of Norwich pressure the Swans held on to clinch a first victory since early March.

Roberto made three changes for the visit of Norwich City with Angel Rangel and Darren Pratley missing out through injury.

Full-back Rangel limped out of last Sunday's Welsh derby with a foot injury and was replaced by Fede Bessone while Joe Allen came in for Pratley who failed to overcome a stomach problem.

The final change was on the wing where Mark Gower dropped to the bench with Andrea Orlandi taking his place.

Swans: Dorus de Vries; Alan Tate, Garry Monk (C), Ashley Williams, Fede Bessone; Joe Allen, Leon Britton, Jordi Gomez, Nathan Dyer (Gorka Pintado, 85'), Andrea Orlandi (Shaun MacDonald, 67'); Jason Scotland.

Not Used: Mark Gower, Guillem Bauza, Albert Serran.

Norwich: David Marshall; Jon Otsemobor, Adam Drury (Lee Croft, 54'), Jason Shackell, Sammy Clingan, Gary Doherty, David Mooney, Simon Lappin (Cody McDonald, 78'), Darel Russell (Alan Gow, 85'), Ryan Bertrand, Alan Lee.

Not Used: Stuart Nelson (GK), Adrian Leijer.

Attendance: 15,783 Away: 692
Referee: G Salisbury

The Swans started this clash in typical fashion by keeping the ball for the first two minutes on a sunny day at the Liberty Stadium.

Once Norwich did get hold of it they weren't in possession long enough to cause the hosts any problems. And the first attempt at goal fell four minutes into the game as Jordi Gomez's free-kick was cleared, and four minutes later the winger turned provider from a left-sided corner.

His flag kick drifted over everyone in the box and fell to the feet of skipper Garry Monk, he took a touch and launched a powerful shot that beat 'keeper David Marshall but not the woodwork.

Top-scorer also got in on the act during a dominant first 15 minute spell for the home side as he struck twice past Marshall's right-hand post, the first from Fede Bessone's cross and the second after good build-up work along with Nathan Dyer.

Norwich had the home fans panicking for a moment on 27 minutes as Alan Lee outmuscled Ashley Williams whilst chasing Jason Shackell's long pass forward, the former Cardiff City striker got a toe to the ball and forced it past Dorus de Vries but, fortunately for the home side, it slid wide of the post.

But the Swans, however, switched the play around to go on the offensive and score a deserved opener. Play started right at the back with de Vries, found its way through the midfield and to the feet of Jason Scotland, he turned and fired a powerful strike beyond Marshall and into the corner of the net.

Returning midfielder Andrea Orlandi also came close to scoring a second a moment later but his curling effort was off target.

But the Canaries, who hadn't created anything of note during the first half-hour apart from Alan Lee's poke past the post, managed to find a surprise leveller on 33 minutes as the striker peeled away from Ashley Williams to head Adam Drury's cross into the corner of the net.

Scotland had a goal ruled out for offisde almost immediately after and just before the break the same player headed just over the top of goal from Andrea Orlandi's floating free-kick from the right.

Half-Time: Swans 1 Norwich 1

Both sides went all out at the start of the second period but the first chance fell to Scotland two minutes in when his turn and shot was scooped wide by Marshall.

And the Trinidadian front-man had a second chance to add to his tally when the hosts were awarded a 50th minute penalty. Joe Allen was the architect when he turned Jon Otsemobor on the left and fed Scotland inside the area, he turned and was brought down leaving the referee with no choice but to award the spot-kick.

Scotland placed the ball on the spot before sending the 'keeper the wrong way to score his 23rd of the campaign.

And he set-up Orlandi moments later inside the area but, instead of hitting the target, he shot high into the South Stand from six-yards out.

The Swans had to deal with some pressure from the Canaries for a spell which saw Bryan Gunn's side force two corners off skipper Garry Monk.

Roberto made his first change of the afternoon on 67 minutes when Shaun MacDonald replaced Andrea Orlandi, and the youngster was involved straight away as he and Scotland combined to set-up Gomez from close-range only for the Espanyol loanee to fire over the top.

The Wales Under-21 international had a chance of his own 15 minutes from the end when his curling effort floated over the top of Marshall but was inches off target while a break away by Leon Britton led to Jordi Gomez shooting just past the upright.

With five minutes remaining Gorka Pintado was thrown on for the impressive Nathan Dyer and El Toro dived straight into the action as he almost latched on to a neat touch by Scotland but lost his footing when he could have gone through on goal.

The striker also went on a solo run in the final minute before sending his effort straight at Marshall while the visitors continued with their extensive spells of pressure on Dorus de Vries' goal.

Jordi Gomez also sent his effort straight at the legs of the 'keeper in injury time while Scotland, one-on-one, fired over.

But a strong defensive display kept the Canaries at bay and the Swans returned to winning ways to keep those outside hopes of reaching the play-offs alive.

Re: Scotland at the double against Norwich
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2009, 12:53:37 PM »
one month with no victory.this keepin them from de playoffs.

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2009, 02:53:11 PM »
Scottie scored a double and Jones had 1 vs Man United. What about Stern, how much he score?

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2009, 03:25:49 PM »
Scottie scored a double and Jones had 1 vs Man United. What about Stern, how much he score?
He was on the bench for his club just like Cornell.

« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2009, 03:51:43 PM »
He was on the bench for his club just like Cornell.

Cornell? Glen?
What team he playing with?

« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2009, 06:51:01 PM »
Why we not startin Scottie more often. He should be a permanent fixture in our starting line up

« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2009, 07:04:49 PM »
Why we not startin Scottie more often. He should be a permanent fixture in our starting line up
Mystery of the year! We refuse to move on from the past.

« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2009, 07:37:36 PM »

He not ready, he could only score every else he play and scoring more than any forward we have now, but he eh ready. Remember the old man on USA run him down and win the ball (the only T&T forward USA had to run down).

Corbeaux

« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2009, 10:14:37 PM »
If Scotty is to start for us he needs a good support striker to play behind him because he is given no service on our team.

« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2009, 07:25:53 AM »
what the man needs is more than a few corbeaux sweats

He he get a consistent run yet

1 or 2 bad touches and men cryin him down or he gettin sub

« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2009, 07:37:42 AM »

He not ready, he could only score every else he play and scoring more than any forward we have now, but he eh ready. Remember the old man on USA run him down and win the ball (the only T&T forward USA had to run down).

elan yuh beat meh to it, i was all for Scottie starting (and ah still think he could be more productive than others eh), but yuh see after hedjuk ketch him easy, easy, easy, well sah me eh know nah.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2009, 07:39:16 AM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2009, 08:00:52 AM »

elan yuh beat meh to it, i was all for Scottie starting (and ah still think he could be more productive than others eh), but yuh see after hedjuk ketch him easy, easy, easy, well sah me eh know nah.
I think you missed the sarcasm.

« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2009, 08:12:02 AM »
Why every week we seeing Scotty scoring for his club and cyah score for TT?

Offline noize

« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2009, 09:40:09 AM »
 :devil: :devil:...yuh cah score if yuh cah get good service from the midfield :o

« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2009, 10:27:56 AM »
tell him do that for the national team and stop playing like a shithound

Offline masterblaster

« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2009, 10:30:33 AM »
It bordering on disgusting watching these men score for their club and cyar score for dey country.....And that not getting service ting is B.S!!!!.....I see all ah dem get good passes in the last game, to do something with it, and all ah dem look like little children who eh know how to control de ball or shoot de ball......we need to try all new forwards!!! dem men wastin time!!

« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2009, 10:34:49 AM »
tell him do that for the national team and stop playing like a shithound
First tell Keon to start playing like Jordi Gomez and Wolfe to start playing like Angel Rangel. Swansea is a side dat ship out Dennis, who couldn't even make their bench. Same Dennis who men here vex if he doh start.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2009, 10:37:46 AM by Cool Beans »

« Reply #17 on: April 12, 2009, 11:16:47 AM »
If allyuh feel our problem is in attack we missing the point. We score 2 against El Salvador and 1 against Honduras and we wasn't even playing that good. All six goals we conceded were ridiculous. It's quite clear to everybody in Concacaf that we have the weakest defence in the HEX. Against the USA we did not even come close to scoring. We could barely pass the ball in the game. So we can call Stern ,Scotland , KJ etc how much shit we want.We could shift one here move another there . According to the record we'll probably score but as it is now we'll probably concede more.

« Reply #18 on: April 12, 2009, 11:22:01 AM »
So when will Scotty be rady?  When he is 40?  All yuh talking s much trash on this site, it kills me.  So why does he score so many goals for Swansea (20 and counting).  What Hedjuk catching him have to do with scoring?  So all the Championship League guys slower than Hedjuk?  Is that why he scores in England.  All stupid nonsensical arguments.  With KJ's blinding sped, why isn't he scoring?  Different argument?  What the TT team need is a decent midfield to get the ball to the forwards.  Forwards should not have to track back to get the ball and then score as well.  We have no midfield of worth it's salt who could win the ball and then create for the forwards.  Until we solve our midfield problem with either a very creative player or good organization to control the play, there will be no goal scoring, except in some lucky moments as against El Salvador or Honduras.

« Reply #19 on: April 12, 2009, 01:27:54 PM »
So when will Scotty be rady?  When he is 40?  All yuh talking s much trash on this site, it kills me.  So why does he score so many goals for Swansea (20 and counting).  What Hedjuk catching him have to do with scoring?  So all the Championship League guys slower than Hedjuk?  Is that why he scores in England.  All stupid nonsensical arguments.  With KJ's blinding sped, why isn't he scoring?  Different argument?  What the TT team need is a decent midfield to get the ball to the forwards.  Forwards should not have to track back to get the ball and then score as well.  We have no midfield of worth it's salt who could win the ball and then create for the forwards.  Until we solve our midfield problem with either a very creative player or good organization to control the play, there will be no goal scoring, except in some lucky moments as against El Salvador or Honduras.

Thank you very much. When the final ball you recieving is in your half of the field, how you gonna score?

Scottie never got a good consistent run. Lil sweat here and there and expecting miracles, while other players playing whole game and not even troubling the defense.

Player eh producing for club or country and they is the best thing ever. So we have different levels of support for different players. And we wonder why we not organized.

« Reply #20 on: April 12, 2009, 03:51:45 PM »

Ask Mats, oh ah forget... he gone.  ;D

« Reply #21 on: April 12, 2009, 03:55:32 PM »
Why every week we seeing Scotty scoring for his club and cyah score for TT?

If they leave he on the pitch for ah whole game, that would score. He play some real nice football in the HCS and de Cobo take him off for KJ and leave on SJ. Now tell me who's de fool? Oh ah forget he gone.  ;D

« Reply #22 on: April 12, 2009, 05:37:56 PM »
I eh care if scottie score 10 goals innah game jes score one for me when you wearing  di red black and white fi mi

Offline iceberg

« Reply #23 on: April 12, 2009, 07:06:02 PM »
The bottom line is that Jason Scotland is our most informed striker hands down and he needs to play more for T&T.  If he was getting the service he receives at Swansea playing for Trinidad he will score goals. Everybody only fighting the man down.  If I was Latas that is the first man I putting down on my starting sheet before KJ.  GIve the man 90 mins with Keon Daniel playing in the mid (with yorke & birchall behind him) providing service and it will be a different ball game. 
If your heart is not in the game then your not a true footballer!!!

« Reply #24 on: April 12, 2009, 07:51:56 PM »
De goals:

<a href="http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/play?file=http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/B6cJKw2HYAeSUcflbWun/mov/1&amp;color=0x439D2A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/play?file=http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/B6cJKw2HYAeSUcflbWun/mov/1&amp;color=0x439D2A</a>

« Reply #25 on: April 12, 2009, 07:59:09 PM »
De goals:

<a href="http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/play?file=http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/B6cJKw2HYAeSUcflbWun/mov/1&amp;color=0x439D2A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/play?file=http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/B6cJKw2HYAeSUcflbWun/mov/1&amp;color=0x439D2A</a>
Beautiful foot work and spectacular 1st goal. :beermug:

Offline riodano1510

« Reply #26 on: April 12, 2009, 11:26:21 PM »

I think you missed the sarcasm.
HAHAHAHAHA...it was oer he head wa yuh go say...
The work goes on, the cause endures, the hope still lives and the dream shall never die.

Offline riodano1510

« Reply #27 on: April 12, 2009, 11:30:13 PM »
must keon daniel play ...we cah play a yorke birchie edwards and ...and...and...somebody else ah mean yorke is 37 and latas is 40 how old is anthony rougier ahahahaha seriously tho find somebody else besides this daniels fella na
The work goes on, the cause endures, the hope still lives and the dream shall never die.

« Reply #28 on: April 13, 2009, 05:02:18 AM »
must keon daniel play ...we cah play a yorke birchie edwards and ...and...and...somebody else ah mean yorke is 37 and latas is 40 how old is anthony rougier ahahahaha seriously tho find somebody else besides this daniels fella na

dat daniels fella help us out of the first round boss, but I would admit he needs a club, and he should be in the middle not on the left, he there because it apparently have no one else to fill dat spot ???

« Reply #29 on: April 13, 2009, 06:25:48 AM »
Men talking bout old man hedjuk run him down if my memory serves me right hedjuk was covering more ground in that entire game than anyone on the pitch on both his team and TT team ..... the man was one of the fitter and faster players ...