April 26, 2024, 05:11:11 AM

Author Topic: On a positive Note  (Read 2409 times)

On a positive Note
« on: March 28, 2005, 10:53:35 PM »
 BSC, We are creatures of habit, but change is possible if you have the desire. Motivation for self-improvement stems from caring about yourself and the TEAM. You can do it if you open up to the idea of change and stay focused on the positive end result. Here are tips to affect lasting change with our football team.

Know Yourself: When people make behavioural changes without identifying their motivations, behaviours are less likely to stick. Think about what we want to change and why. Write it down in the form of an affirmation and frequently say it out aloud. Keep the whole team in at break until all men could recite it by heart.

Make a Plan:
Outline incremental, achievable goals and build in rewards along the way. Everyman go get a mango and a sugar cake fuh doing the right thing. Measure your progress. "When it comes to tackling , one of the most effective methods is self-monitoring,. "Systematically observing and recording target behaviours, such as reduced  opposition tendencis. strategies,  helps you stay on course."

Create an environment for success: If you want to play better, rid your self of doubts, run an extra mile in training and keep healthy snacks on hand. To exercise more, make sure your workout gear is always clean and put it where you can see it. To facilitate self-monitoring, keep a journal and pens readily available.

Swap Bad for Good: Our bad habits fill a need. As you break old patterns you still need a way to meet these needs. Identify what the payoff is for the bad behaviour and find a positive way to meet it. If you party too much when you're tired or stressed out, try napping, meditating, or going for a walk instead. If you order high-calorie takeout to save time, prepare a healthy meal but use paper plates to cut down on cleanup. Or learn what you can order that won't throw you off track.

Join Forces: Numerous studies have shown that if you partner up with one or more people with similar goals, you're more likely to achieve them. Find friends on the Message Boards or at your meeting. Look for other opportunities, such as enlisting a friend for regular walks or trips to the gym.

Strategise for Relapses: If you have a plan for how to deal with failure, you'll spend less negative energy on the relapse and be able to get back on track.

What yuh think BSC; after all, anything might wuck fuh dis team. right? Because  it eh seem like we have a concrete plan so why not try this? yuh may even want tuh promise de boys some good Tobago 'tun tun' from Scarbrough.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2006, 09:01:40 AM by AlbertaTrini »

Elusive habits for success BSC.
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2005, 11:24:35 PM »
In the movie City Slickers, Jack Palance's character, Curly, holds up one finger portentously and tells Billy Crystal's character there is only one thing to know about the meaning of life.

"What's the one thing?" Crystal's character asks.

"That's what you've got to figure out," is the evasive answer.

In a world where coaches are overwhelmed by the many things they are expected to know, many wish there was just one thing they needed to achieve success -- and that, unlike City Slickers, somebody would supply the answer.

Researcher on coaching for succes, not only shares that enthusiasm for simplicity but believes that, beneath all complex phenomena lies a core concept that can be discovered.

The One Thing You Need To Know -- in fact,  are tied into three interlinked concepts, one for managing players, one for leading and one for sustained individual success:

Management: To excel as a coach, you must never forget that each of your players is unique and that your chief responsibility is not to eradicate this uniqueness but rather to arrange roles, responsibilities, and expectations so that you can capitalize on their strengths.

"The more you perfect this skill, the more effectively you will turn talents into performance," he advises.

Leadership: To excel as a coach requires the opposite skill. You must rally people toward a better future, which means tapping into the things that followers share: Discover what is universal and capitalize on it.

Common needs include security, community, authority and respect. But the most powerful universal need, he stresses, is for clarity.

"To transform our fear of the unknown into confidence in the future, you must discipline yourself to describe our joint future vividly and precisely," he says.

"As your skill grows, so will our confidence in you."

Sustained individual success: Discover what you don't like and stop doing it.

Your strengths -- be it your love of problem-solving, intuition, assertiveness or ability to deal with people --are your natural appetites.

When using them, you feel powerful, confident, authentic and challenged.

But inevitably after you have employed your strengths and achieved some initial success;  you will be offered new opportunities, assignments or roles that may not use those strengths.

"The secret to sustained success lies in knowing which engage your strengths and which do not, and in having the self-discipline to reject the latter

The critical skill in each of these roles, is not balance but intentional imbalance.

As a coach, you bet that success will come from magnifying, emphasizing and then capitalizing on each player's uniqueness.

As a coach, you come to a conclusion about your team's core beliefs, the organization's strengths and the right strategy and then, in the service of clarity, banish from your thoughts and conversation almost everything else.

Similarly, in seeking personal effectiveness, you ignore all the calls for balance and to improve your weaknesses, and remain resolute on fulfilling your strengths.

"Every minute you invest in an activity that grates on you is a poorly invested minute. It is a minute in which you will learn little and that will leave you weaker and less resilient for the next minute.

And ignore those who tell you only people who are already successful can have the luxury of cutting their dislikes from their job.

People are successful precisely because they were unwilling to tolerate aspects of their team training they didn't like.

It's an enjoyable excursion, nonetheless, and, unlike City Slickers, does leave you with an answer, or, to be more accurate BSC; I give you these insights freely.

Re: On a positive Note
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2005, 07:57:01 AM »
Albertatrini what you say makes complete sense, however, at an International level it is very difficult in todays setting to achieve the above. Mainly because of the time lines that are involved. Coaches at an International level have basically 5 days to prepare a team and individual contact with players is sporadic at best. Yes you try all those things but there are so many other factors that it becomes a task of manily Man management & Clarity. "Keep football simple" is one of those terms that is actually easier said than done. The more familiar player are with each other the simpler the task becomes. As an Example. When Wenger took control of Arsenal he inherited a backline that basically grew up together. On his own admission he did not have to worry about the defending aspects of his team. Today he struggles to find consistency with his team's defending. Why? Well the answer is in the above. Even when he had injury to one player the leadership of the other 3 allowed the individual stepping in to feel secure. All said sound advice to anyone in coaching

AH back On a positive Note
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2005, 01:09:22 PM »
We need to INTIMIDATE!!!! play physical and slow the speed of these Centeral Americans. YUh cah play 'saga Ball'' with them teams. They rely on speed but they eh like the physical going. The get too "hot tempered" Use that and tell them  about they " MADRE GATO"

Look as a man whose grad work is to study  cultures ah  believe very much that any sport is getting to the psyche of players and the opposition. Right now I am positive that the mood and focus on our team is very TIGHT. We really need to get back to  our style our flavour of football. Our players for too long has been forced into a style that has not yield success for them.

Think of Brazil= what picture or style come to mind? 

Think of England = what picture or style comes to mind?

Think of Germany/ Holland= what style comes to mind?

Now Think of TRINIDAD NTOBAGO=  WHAT STYLE COMES TO MIND?

Do we  put fear in teams when they play us? are teams coming to Trinidad witah a fear that they will be hurt or humiliated? These teams are coming in thinking  easy three points. Now this could work to our advantage, in that teams may be underestimating our talent, desire, abilities and strengths. If we could take this and turn it into a positive, we maybe able to surprise many teams. THERE IS NOTHING LIKE THE ADVERSITY OUR TEAM IS NOW FACING , TO RALLY PLAYERS AROUND A "CAUSE."

The humiliating defeat is no longer one about the country, each and every player must now take that personally and use that as a source from which to gain MOTIVAION, to prove the worth of themself a an individual, a player, and to restore public confidence and pride in our  National team.

I too have undergone the process commonly associated with "death and dying"   I WAS IN UTTER SHOCK of the results; ANGRY at evryone associated with the team and NOW  iam willing to let it go and direct some POSITIVE energy into making amends. I am sure there are players who would like nothing more than to make amends for the  showing aganiast Guatemala. Should they be given that opportuinity or should we use new players in the next contest. That is the tension which the so called team experts have to face. It is not easy, I warrant  to be in that situation and for a player to be playing where so much is at stake. We have the luxury of being on the sideline and calling the shots without the added stress or burden of decision making and playmaking.

I hope that I am ready to move on and have got over the anger and  disappoinment. From now on AlbertaTrini looking fuh positive solutions fuh the team. Ah back on board. dat 'babash" is a wonder drink yes.  Man  two straight days of dat and ah back tuh meh senses.

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2005, 07:52:53 PM »
WHA HAPPEN NO ONE WANT TUH BUY INTO SOME  POSITIVE VIBES?
ALL YUH STUCK IN SOME SERIOUS "TWOKNEES"

« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2005, 08:37:35 PM »
WHA HAPPEN NO ONE WANT TUH BUY INTO SOME  POSITIVE VIBES?
ALL YUH STUCK IN SOME SERIOUS "TWOKNEES"

Is not dat.  Is jes dat yuh movin Schizophrenic.  One minute yuh givin positive vibes...nex minute yuh sayin "Go Doormats Go".

Ah mean....is true de team playin enough tata to drive anybody mad but yuh eh have to tek it so literal... ;D

« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2005, 08:43:31 PM »
Is de Babash dat driving meh so; well a moving like de team.
Ah go send soem babash to Rhinna roti shop fuh yuh.

« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2005, 01:35:12 PM »
Let the countrdown begin...........GO WARRIORS GO............. AH CYAR WUK FOOTBALL ON MEH MIND.

« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2005, 05:20:35 PM »
we did not lose the game and we got a pt.

« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2005, 12:07:41 AM »
What do we have to look forward  for in this team in the next two months?

« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2005, 07:11:30 AM »
With the Spirit shown yesterday and a new Coach that can take us to a higher level. The sky is the limit.

Three points at home against Panama will bring the crowd out and will do wonders for the Team's confidence.

I think Jack should invite you to do a motivational session or two with the Team.

« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2005, 11:28:11 AM »
Yuh think he have some extra cash tuh pay meh? man all he have tuh do is send the plane ticket and  provide meh with some spending cash and ah go do the speech fuh free.

Like I said 95% of coaching is MOTIVATION.

« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2006, 09:01:01 AM »
Yuh know ah reading the board lately, and is one set ah vibes that eh too positive so ah thought leh meh see if ah could remind people as to why we are all here?

ent it is to ole talk, lime  get to know people and to supportTNT? young or old new or old we are all for TNT.