September 14, 2024, 11:44:08 PM

Author Topic: Question about the strike squad  (Read 2544 times)

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
Question about the strike squad
« on: April 13, 2009, 06:17:59 PM »
Lord help me I getting old.

I was trying to remember a certain play. Can't for the life of me remember the others involved only Latapy. But they did it in two games, think against Costa Rica and against Guatemala. And All I can remember is someone feeding the ball just in time to catch Latapy coming down the middle to send it straight into the net. I'm sure they must have done that move more than twice but all I remember is that the two games I'm thinking about, we really needed those goals and we ended up winning. Or else they did it twice in one game. But Sound rev or one of them groups featured that play over and over in a music video and it was in a set of commercials.

I want to say Kerry Jamerson was one of the others but I ent sure. Anybody remember this? Better yet anybody have a video clip?
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

Re: Question about the strike squad
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 06:26:31 PM »
yes...the play was latapy lay off for jamerson to score two right footed shots...Latapy did not score in that hex...nor yorke
the first goal was vz Guatemala away ( tnt 1  Guat 0) and the second here in tnt  Tnt 2  Guat 1... Philbert Jones scored the first...

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2009, 06:29:19 PM »
yes...the play was latapy lay off for jamerson to score two right footed shots...Latapy did not score in that hex...nor yorke
the first goal was vz Guatemala away ( tnt 1  Guat 0) and the second here in tnt  Tnt 2  Guat 1... Philbert Jones scored the first...

Philbert Jones, thats the man. I knew I would find the answer here.  And it was against guatemala both times? Thanks much  :beermug:
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2009, 09:26:38 PM »
KJ related to Philbert i think.   ;D

« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2009, 07:11:36 AM »
yes preacher...uncle and nephew

« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2009, 08:15:58 AM »

Philbert Jones, thats the man. I knew I would find the answer here.  And it was against guatemala both times? Thanks much  :beermug:

Just in case you misunderstood, the two goals that were similar were both Latapy lay-offs for Jamerson to score.
When Big Mag. say Jones scored the first he meant the first goal for us in the 2-1 win.
Jamerson's goal was the winner in that game.

I was fortunate enough to be there.
That was a come from behind win to boot.

« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2009, 09:01:39 AM »
thanks Peong

« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2009, 09:24:55 AM »
how did the strike squad get their name? i always took it 4 granted. who coined it?
« Last Edit: April 14, 2009, 09:26:33 AM by freakazoid »

« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2009, 10:04:58 AM »
how did the strike squad get their name? i always took it 4 granted. who coined it?
Lancelot Layne

« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2009, 10:07:33 AM »
Lancelot Layne

Lancelot Layne: Strike Squad, Target, Target...

<a href="http://tntingermany.com/player2/player.swf?soundFile=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tntingermany.com%2Fmp3%2Fmusic%2Flancelotlayne-target.mp3" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://tntingermany.com/player2/player.swf?soundFile=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tntingermany.com%2Fmp3%2Fmusic%2Flancelotlayne-target.mp3</a>

« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2009, 11:47:27 AM »
Lancelot Layne

Lancelot Layne: Strike Squad, Target, Target...

<a href="http://tntingermany.com/player2/player.swf?soundFile=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tntingermany.com%2Fmp3%2Fmusic%2Flancelotlayne-target.mp3" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://tntingermany.com/player2/player.swf?soundFile=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tntingermany.com%2Fmp3%2Fmusic%2Flancelotlayne-target.mp3</a>

E-Man:You bring back some memories dey. I've got a copy of that video clip every now and than ah does view it the good ole days.

« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2009, 12:53:43 PM »
always thought the name came b4 that song

« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2009, 01:07:52 PM »

E-Man:You bring back some memories dey. I've got a copy of that video clip every now and than ah does view it the good ole days.

so you have it too. I tried to get fidel2xl to digitize his vhs copy and get it online but was unsuccessful.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #13 on: April 14, 2009, 03:43:37 PM »

Just in case you misunderstood, the two goals that were similar were both Latapy lay-offs for Jamerson to score.
When Big Mag. say Jones scored the first he meant the first goal for us in the 2-1 win.
Jamerson's goal was the winner in that game.

I was fortunate enough to be there.
That was a come from behind win to boot.

I went to all those home games. Still have the ticket stubs in a scrapbook.  Anybody have video clips they could upload???

« Reply #14 on: April 14, 2009, 03:54:47 PM »
Dat video was a bomb