I haven't seen most of the games under Mats, so I have an honest question. Was the game against the US in Nashville the first time the team looked so poor? Based on comments I've read about previous games, it seems like the team has played like this quite often, but we were getting results. I mean Palos compared the Nashville game to the game in Guatemala. But I saw the game in against the US in Chicago before that Guatemala game, and that was far worse than this imo. I know the team was missing some big players then, but missing quality aside..there was an abject lack of any intensity, hustle and fight fro 90 minutes. We saw more fight in Nashville. I doh think the game in Chicago was an anomoly...sounds like this team has displayed that kinda performance long time now. Difference was the quality of the opposition.
Also, anyone think fatigue had anything to do with it? After all, it was 2 games in 4 days. T&T is not a side that plays anything resembling possession football. We are a team that is constantly chasing the ball and then giving it up too easily. That's ok against mediocre opponents over 90 minutes, but that level of inefficiency will come to haunt yuh against a hard running, physical team like the US, who far better at keeping possession as well...4 days after doing way more running than you would have if you'd played a half decent game on the ball. And the effects of travel on the foreign based had to be kicking in.
lastly..if some players did lose faith in Mats and some of their teammates, this could def. lead to players not giving their maximum as team chemsitry deteriorates. But I'd imagine this is more a result of increased frustration, lack of confidence, lowered ability to battle fatigue...in short..the palyers will give up on each other and themselves more easily, but not necessarily b/c they consciously want to do so. this is especially true when they are physically tired and the legs get heavy and mental lapses start multiplying. just a guess