April 29, 2024, 07:52:30 PM

Author Topic: Barbados' Bradley Ally faster than Phelps  (Read 1391 times)

Offline Swima

Barbados' Bradley Ally faster than Phelps
« on: March 27, 2009, 06:36:22 AM »
Not quite. Phelps never swam at NCAA's due his being professional since the age of 15 but, still a hell of an accomplishment. The third Caribbean NCAA champion after Trinis Mark Andrews and George Bovell. Shaun Fraser of the Cayman Islands was 5th in the same race. Last week, a couple of Bahamian girls made finals in the women's meet. Sadly, this year we have no Trinis at this meet.

COLLEGE STATION, Texas, March 26. IT is not every day that you can say you are better than Michael Phelps in an IM, but Florida's Bradley Ally can do just that after winning the 200-yard IM at NCAAs.

Ally blasted to an NCAA record time of 1:40.49, which is the second-fastest of all time. The mark beat the 1:40.55 set by Ryan Lochte back in 2006 for Florida, but also made the 1:40 club just two men. Phelps, who focuses on meters usually, is the third-fastest in the event with a 1:41.30.

The win is Florida's sixth in the event, putting them in a three-way tie with Auburn and Indiana. USC and Stanford are on top with eight each. Previous Florida 200 IM titlists were Martin Zubero (1991), Greg Burgess (1993, 1994) and Lochte (2005, 2006).

Michigan's Tyler Clary clocked a swift 1:41.67 for second that moved him ahead of Adam Ritter (1:41.72) for fourth fastest of all time. Texas' Ricky Berens completed the top three with a 1:41.92 to clip his previous best from prelims of a 1:41.98.
Success will never take you by surprise.

Re: Barbados' Bradley Ally faster than Phelps
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 08:59:53 AM »
well done Bradley.

so yards are the units for NCAA meets?  learn something new every day.

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2009, 11:44:22 PM »
Been following Bradley since he was much younger. Quite an accomplishment.

Swima, any insights? Wasn't checking for this!

BTW, when yuh discussing NCAA Caribbean Champions ... yuh eh have no love fuh Nesty?

Offline Swima

« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2009, 06:34:59 AM »
Been following Bradley since he was much younger. Quite an accomplishment.

Swima, any insights? Wasn't checking for this!

BTW, when yuh discussing NCAA Caribbean Champions ... yuh eh have no love fuh Nesty?

Haha true ssylum. A very embarrassing oversight on my part. Nesty should be considered Caribbean as Suriname competes at every Caribbean meet fom Carifta up to CCCAN. He is also Trini born.

Bradley has been swimming well and went to Ft. Lauderdale Swim Team at a time when they got their act together with their age-group programme and fully benefitted. After his performances in Beijing last year and how he has improved this year, I would not be surprised if he is a real medal prospect in London. Shaune Fraser ended up winning the 200 free and 200 fly last weekend and also looks really good. Swimmers from the region are slowly catching up to the rest of the world. Scary thing is we have somw age-groupers who are ahead of where both Bradley and Shaune were. The key down here is to fully develop them at least up to the time that they are ready for collegiate swimming.

Carifta is in 2 weeks. Hopefully I will come back and wow you with some of the performances.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2009, 08:35:49 AM »
Yeah man, eagerly awaiting de Carifta outcome.