April 25, 2024, 02:42:02 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the 5th Summit of the Americas.  (Read 33530 times)

Thread for the 5th Summit of the Americas.
« on: April 16, 2009, 11:22:00 AM »
All related news, videos and photos will be posted here.

Thanx.

RE: President Obama, along with 33 other leaders, will attend the Fifth Summit of the Americas April 17-19 - 2009 in Trinidad. ... Official Website
« Last Edit: April 16, 2009, 11:29:14 AM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the 5th Summit of the Americas.
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2009, 01:36:46 PM »
Baba, ya was busy busy :rotfl:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2009, 02:24:47 PM »
Baba, ya was busy busy :rotfl:
;D the search option works well

« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2009, 04:53:48 PM »
ah feel like we under some coup or someting. bus route shut down tmw, highway go be under tight restrictions. mankind cyah even do nuttin. only good ting is no work tmw.

« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2009, 04:57:27 PM »
So is it basically no body could come out they house tomorrow or the weekend ???
Or people allowed to walk around and maybe heng outside the buildings to get ah view of somebody 'important'

Cause the way how people talking about 'ya cyah pass dere, or ya cyah drive dere' OR 'no entry' OR 'school and businesses closed' is like really ah coup. Police and dem go shoot ya arse if ya put ya left toe over dey yellow line or something....

« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2009, 05:06:34 PM »
Dis summit done start with de kicks oui! All 2 weeks ago...yuh cyar find a vagrant nowhere in town...yuh hearing talk bout dem hiding and all kinda madness. De day before de summit all ah dem back out...sprawl out on de promenade....sleeping on pavement......and de subject of photos from foreign journalists. Oh boy!
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2009, 06:23:33 PM »
Dis summit done start with de kicks oui! All 2 weeks ago...yuh cyar find a vagrant nowhere in town...yuh hearing talk bout dem hiding and all kinda madness. De day before de summit all ah dem back out...sprawl out on de promenade....sleeping on pavement......and de subject of photos from foreign journalists. Oh boy!
:rotfl: :rotfl:i tell allyuh i see a vagrant with a cell phone. so dem calling one another when the police near , they does run and hide

« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2009, 06:32:26 PM »
Allyuh hafta remember that most vagrant/homeless people are intelligent people with degrees.
Education OR too much education sen' half of them up St Anns' in the first place.
Some lost everything including family, house and land and there job after spending' 2-3 years warded.

By the time they get discharged, they ain't have nothing and nowhere too go, but they still educated.

When you see them talking to themselves....macco and listen, you'll be surprised.
Don't think they don't read newspapers man.

« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2009, 06:43:09 PM »
Allyuh hafta remember that most vagrant/homeless people are intelligent people with degrees.
Education OR too much education sen' half of them up St Anns' in the first place.
Some lost everything including family, house and land and there job after spending' 2-3 years warded.

By the time they get discharged, they ain't have nothing and nowhere too go, but they still educated.

When you see them talking to themselves....macco and listen, you'll be surprised.

Yuh know...i was contemplating the University of Woodford Square at a point in time. De way school goin for me...if i join dem...i go do my doctorate dey and done.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2009, 04:09:06 AM »
Obama, Chavez arrive today
Massive security in place as summit opens
Francis Joseph (Trinidad Guardian).

17-April-2009 - After months of preparation, the Fifth Summit of the Americas gets going this evening at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Port-of-Spain. Most of the Caricom leaders arrived in Trinidad yesterday, in time for this morning’s meeting of Caribbean heads aboard the Caribbean Princess, starting at seven o’clock. The remainder of the heads will fly in today—among them US President Barack Obama and Venezuela’s President, Hugo Chavez.

US Secretary of State, Hilary Clinton, will also arrive this afternoon from Haiti, where she held talks yesterday with that island’s President, Pierre Preval. Obama flies into Trinidad aboard Air Force One around 4 pm, after a one-day visit to Mexico to discuss, among other things, the battle against the drug cartels. He will be driven in the “Beast,” straight to the Hyatt, in time for the opening ceremony at 6 pm.

Security will be tight as the “Beast” travels along the Churchill Roosevelt Highway to the Hyatt. Curious onlookers are expected to turn out in their numbers to see the high-security vehicle, although they will not be able to see Obama. The US President’s entourage will be huge, security officials told the T&T Guardian last night. Security officials were busy at Piarco International Airport yesterday, preparing for the arrival of heads and their delegations. From the Piarco intersection, soldiers and police officers kept watch on vehicles and pedestrians along BWIA Boulevard. Both the new and old terminal buildings were busy with activity.

Most of the Caricom leaders arrived on commercial flights at the new terminal building. Antigua’s Prime Minister Baldwin Spencer arrived on Wednesday night, while the others came in yesterday. At the refurbished old terminal building, members of the Special Anti-Crime Unit (SAUTT) conducted special searches on all vehicles involved in escorting heads of State and their delegations. These included the vehicles to carry the heads of states, the police escort vehicles, police motorcycles, and PTSC buses carrying members of delegations.

“It was a very tedious task, but we have to ensure that everything was in order and safe for the visitors,” one soldier told the T&T Guardian. At the Hyatt, there was heightened security for today’s official opening of the summit. Several people said they received invitations for the opening yesterday. One of them was Jack Warner, in his capacity as Fifa vice-president. He respectfully declined.

WHAT’S ON TODAY

Fifth Summit of the Americas, Caricom caucus
Start: 7.00 am
End: 9.00 am

Dialogue among ministers of foreign affairs with sectoral actors
Start: 9.00 am
End: 12.15 am

Lunch, hosted by Minister of Foreign Affairs, Paula Gopee-Scoon
Start 12.00 noon
End 2.00 pm

Fifth Summit of the Americas, opening ceremony
Start: 6.00 pm
End: 8:00 pm
Heads of state cocktail reception
Start: 8.00 pm
End: 9.30 pm

Cocktail reception for other invited guests
Location: Outside Hyatt Regency ballroom, pool deck, Caribbean Princess
Start: 8.00 pm
End: 9.30 pm

« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2009, 04:26:04 AM »
Trade Minister Mariano Browne was questioned about the cost of the event yesterday. He said, “It will always cost us a little bit more...” Browne said T&T did not have the required infrastructure support “so for us to put it on (host it) it would require us to do a bit more.”  Trinidad Guardian

Ah want to dead.....'cost us a little bit more'. I cyah wait to see that grocery bill.

Now Minister of Information or somebody asking the media to be on they bess behavior.

Media called on to 'demonstrate civility'
Friday, April 17th 2009
Trinidad Express   

The international and regional media have been called to "demonstrate civility" when covering this week's Fifth Summit of the Americas.

Vernetta Calvin-Smith, a member of the local protocol team, made the plea during a media briefing at the National Secretariat, which is located at Tower C of the International Financial Centre at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Centre, on Wednesday.

"This is where protocol comes in, protocol is a demonstration of a universal standard of quality behaviour," she said.

"Whichever country you go to in the world you know what quality behaviour is, and in that sense it is not necessarily cultural. It is a sense of good manners, respect, courtesy, consideration for the persons you come into contact with and a sense of professionalism."

She pleaded with the media to speak with the liaison officers instead of directly approaching any of the 34 Heads of State/Government.

"It will be right not to sort of just barrel through to them," Calvin-Smith added.

"For those of you involved in the spouses' programme, we ask that the photographers don't go up to the ladies and start trying to touch them and fix them. The liaison officers will be there to assist you in getting them in place, where you would like to have them."

During the briefing, the international media personnel, like the local media delegation during a briefing on Monday, raised questions about the pooling system being used for the Summit. Media Centre manager, Melanie Gibb, said she was still waiting on security to clarify how many people could be in the pools.

"The pools haven't been selected, the events that have pools in them, the media haven't been selected at all," explained Gibb.

"Each pool event will be announced on the electronic screens at least 12 hours or more in advance. The media pools will be chosen. Once you've been chosen you will be contacted, your names will be put up on the electronic notice boards, and we will also phone you and tell you the pool count for each event."

The list of liaison officers will be available to members of the media at the Media Centre, she said.

In other words, behave allyuh blasted self and make allyuh PM and country look nice and hunkdorry

« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2009, 04:41:38 AM »

In other words, behave allyuh blasted self and make allyuh PM and country look nice and hunkdorry

The only way this event will get any international media coverage is if something goes wrong. The only thing I've seen reported so far (here in England) is Chavez sayin he not signing up to some declaration (and somewhere deep in the article it mentioned that the conference was in Trinidad).

We coulda get more publicity than this whole conference is worth by renting a billboard in Times Square saying "Visit TnT".

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2009, 05:22:47 AM »

There are 2 brothers that was awarded the highest medals a Trini can get. Another brother was my teacher in Primary school, his nickname was "shakey". Highly educated family, but ah real mess.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

Tv6 live feed
« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2009, 06:16:13 AM »
http://www.tv6tnt.tv/

http://www.tv6tnt.com/

thought u guys should know its online now
« Last Edit: April 17, 2009, 10:36:40 AM by Die.Hard.Warrior »

Re: Tv6 live feed
« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2009, 07:17:01 AM »
Thank you, but is it live?.  And you feel obama and the summit is a waste? look they make  tv6 get off the but and improve themselve
« Last Edit: April 17, 2009, 07:22:03 AM by Babalawo »

« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2009, 07:46:12 AM »

The only way this event will get any international media coverage is if something goes wrong. The only thing I've seen reported so far (here in England) is Chavez sayin he not signing up to some declaration (and somewhere deep in the article it mentioned that the conference was in Trinidad).

We coulda get more publicity than this whole conference is worth by renting a billboard in Times Square saying "Visit TnT".

Disagree, here in the US it has been plastered all over CNN and other various networks all week regarding many issues (Cuba trade embargo, relations w/Venezuela being some of the main issues highlighted), I expect there will be some sort of coverage this weekend

« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2009, 08:08:59 AM »

Disagree, here in the US it has been plastered all over CNN and other various networks all week regarding many issues (Cuba trade embargo, relations w/Venezuela being some of the main issues highlighted), I expect there will be some sort of coverage this weekend

Glad to hear i'm wrong  :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2009, 08:23:51 AM »

Glad to hear i'm wrong  :beermug:

Blessins Ryan  :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2009, 10:42:02 AM »

If England was a member of the Americas I would have been concerned!

« Reply #20 on: April 17, 2009, 10:43:54 AM »

Go PNM  :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: April 17, 2009, 10:47:04 AM »

Go PNM  :beermug:

lol... Thank you....ignorance is Bliss ain't it?

« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2009, 12:46:40 PM »
I watching the Pappy Show...men sweating in the hot sun under protocol.

Jerry Lewis Narace greeting Dignitaries.

Men marching outta time.

Hear d greatest...colombia, Canada, Brazil all of them plane in traffic jam on the tarmac and they cyar disembark.

« Reply #23 on: April 17, 2009, 12:51:55 PM »
There are 2 brothers that was awarded the highest medals a Trini can get. Another brother was my teacher in Primary school, his nickname was "shakey". Highly educated family, but ah real mess.

You went St. Joseph Boys' RC?

« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2009, 01:13:02 PM »
The BOSS now touchdown

« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2009, 01:19:15 PM »
The BOSS now touchdown
I'm watching a stream from CTNT... painful at best...

« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2009, 01:36:19 PM »
wha bout the Canadian leader reach bout 45min to a hr ago...he cyar come out he plane...Obama pull up and out in 5 min.

Canada now disembarking.

But Obama really is a star boy...everybody walking out slow with a translator/aide/security, holding on to the railing.

He skip down the stairs fast by heself and button up he jacket...real swagger.

He give the crowd a wave and he hop in the beast.

He should be passing by the Beetham now.

« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2009, 01:37:52 PM »

Three great leaders of our time. A modern day Stalin, Churchill and Roosevelt. Leading the Americas to peace and prosperity.

« Reply #28 on: April 17, 2009, 01:39:25 PM »
Look I now see Obama rolling down the plane steps on CNN and MSNBC dey.
De Regiment looking sharp in White.

But now they talking about the one man who NOT at the conference - Castro.

« Reply #29 on: April 17, 2009, 01:54:34 PM »
we really is a pappy show in trute yes. tv6 now show obama passin on d beetham. some residents come out on d highway to wave. manning must be cussin bout dat, seein dat he was tryin to 'hide' dis section of d population.  :-\