March 28, 2024, 03:26:35 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the 5th Summit of the Americas.  (Read 33261 times)

Re: Thread for the 5th Summit of the Americas.
« Reply #60 on: April 17, 2009, 04:46:32 PM »
It is Patrick's day in the sun. Let him bask in his glory. I would not lie. I don't really care for the conference. But once there was no turning back with Patrick, I do want it go off fine.
agreed
I wonder how much of this is genunine ortega and chavez. But this man eh know that the  PR voted against full independence.
all he doing is venting, he not making any points.
I was thinking the same thing especially when he mentioned the wall
The USA has every right to minimise the influx of illegal immigrants

maybe is only now he getting to his points
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #61 on: April 17, 2009, 04:51:26 PM »
oh lord, dey doh have a time frame to speak? it have 3 more speakers to come after he. steups!

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #62 on: April 17, 2009, 04:52:50 PM »
Forgive my ignorance, but who call the shot not to invite Cuba. Since trinidad host could they not have invited Cuba or was Manning afraid Obama will not come if he did.

« Reply #63 on: April 17, 2009, 04:53:05 PM »
oh lord, dey doh have a time frame to speak? it have 3 more speakers to come after he. steups!

One disjointed speech, making good points but his structure is less than desirable, as for time frame, imagine if Fidel was speaking, that would be it for the night

« Reply #64 on: April 17, 2009, 04:54:41 PM »
http://www.tv6tnt.tv/

Check it out for dey whole summit....all weekend.
FREE :beermug:

how come all ah seeing is some bounce
from before carnival;

over on the right have a link: "CCN TV6 Live Stream". Click that.
You might need to install silverlight or switch to IE, firefox and Chrome doh like that page atall

« Reply #65 on: April 17, 2009, 04:56:29 PM »
Forgive my ignorance, but who call the shot not to invite Cuba. Since trinidad host could they not have invited Cuba or was Manning afraid Obama will not come if he did.

No seen, see attached, are part of OAS but since 62 excluded from official OAS mtgs

http://www.oas.org/documents/eng/memberstates.asp
« Last Edit: April 17, 2009, 04:58:20 PM by 100% Barataria »

« Reply #66 on: April 17, 2009, 04:57:30 PM »
I liked the Argentina speech. She pointed out issues past and present faced in the Americas, highlighting the Falkland "War" without mentioning it by name, and urged for the various heads of state/government to come together to build going forward.

Ortega has been a bit disjointed and scattered. It's making him seem like his personal grievances are more important than regional discussions.

Cuba is not a member state, which was part of the point of the Argentine President.

« Reply #67 on: April 17, 2009, 05:00:31 PM »
Oh lawd dis man eh goh done....is only Chavez and Obama I want to hear.....

« Reply #68 on: April 17, 2009, 05:06:43 PM »
Dis fella didnt say he was wrapping it up about 5 minutes ago?  :yapping:

« Reply #69 on: April 17, 2009, 05:07:27 PM »
Oh lawd dis man eh goh done....is only Chavez and Obama I want to hear.....

An he keep sayin " I have one more point"

An dat point (or points) eh done yet.

« Reply #70 on: April 17, 2009, 05:07:51 PM »

Seem like 15 mins ago, wouldn't be surprised if there are a few nodding heads

« Reply #71 on: April 17, 2009, 05:08:58 PM »
obama must be askin heself why d hell he waste he time an come to dis

« Reply #72 on: April 17, 2009, 05:09:38 PM »

He punishing everybody for making him sit down in de plane for 3 hours.... :devil:

« Reply #73 on: April 17, 2009, 05:10:03 PM »

Seem like 15 mins ago, wouldn't be surprised if there are a few nodding heads

nex time, patos need to make a rule dat only people wearin suits cud speak

« Reply #74 on: April 17, 2009, 05:11:16 PM »
Ah hope is not ALL ah dem going to speak 2nite.... ??? :-\

« Reply #75 on: April 17, 2009, 05:11:48 PM »
ˇFinalmente! El Presidente Ortega ha terminado de hablar.

« Reply #76 on: April 17, 2009, 05:41:47 PM »
barack talk bout kidnapping, drugs, environment, dealing with the youths...i hope patos listening

« Reply #77 on: April 17, 2009, 05:47:30 PM »

In other words, behave allyuh blasted self and make allyuh PM and country look nice and hunkdorry

The only way this event will get any international media coverage is if something goes wrong. The only thing I've seen reported so far (here in England) is Chavez sayin he not signing up to some declaration (and somewhere deep in the article it mentioned that the conference was in Trinidad).

We coulda get more publicity than this whole conference is worth by renting a billboard in Times Square saying "Visit TnT".

Disagree, here in the US it has been plastered all over CNN and other various networks all week regarding many issues (Cuba trade embargo, relations w/Venezuela being some of the main issues highlighted), I expect there will be some sort of coverage this weekend

Glad to hear i'm wrong  :beermug:

Blessins Ryan  :beermug:

International press liking d Cuban aspect

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/8004798.stm
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article6114442.ece
http://www.lemonde.fr/ameriques/article/2009/04/17/amorce-de-degel-entre-la-havane-et-washington_1182259_3222.html

« Reply #78 on: April 17, 2009, 05:51:45 PM »
manning talkin bout debe doubles yes...daz not d one dey find d shit in?

« Reply #79 on: April 17, 2009, 05:52:53 PM »
Ed Rollins on CNN. Summary:
Who Cuba is? What them doing for we?

Offline trinindian

« Reply #80 on: April 17, 2009, 05:53:46 PM »
manning talkin bout debe doubles yes...daz not d one dey find d shit in?

he need to offer the man soem channa punch, two refernces to obama in his speech.

« Reply #81 on: April 17, 2009, 05:55:05 PM »
Patos seems to have decided that "de" is the new "the"

« Reply #82 on: April 17, 2009, 05:56:32 PM »
i find he talkin kinda broad

« Reply #83 on: April 17, 2009, 05:57:33 PM »
no mo Bretton Woods  :applause:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #84 on: April 17, 2009, 06:00:11 PM »
ah manning speech eh go be a manning speech without him uttering the phrase ' my dear friends'. yuh hadda love uncle patos yes

« Reply #85 on: April 17, 2009, 06:00:48 PM »
ah manning speech eh go be a manning speech without him uttering the phrase ' my dear friends'. yuh hadda love uncle patos yes

girl hush nuh....is dey same blasted ting ah juss say... :rotfl:
ah count bout 7 already

Offline trinindian

« Reply #86 on: April 17, 2009, 06:01:30 PM »
Manining forget that he need to take some of the blame for the drug problem too, it is not jus usa and south america.

« Reply #87 on: April 17, 2009, 06:01:37 PM »

....or "ladies and gentlemen".......

« Reply #88 on: April 17, 2009, 06:03:14 PM »

girl hush nuh....is dey same blasted ting ah juss say... :rotfl:
ah count bout 7 already

two more now gone dey.  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline trinindian

« Reply #89 on: April 17, 2009, 06:04:40 PM »
Like the man looking to replace the smelter with the nuclear plant.
I say go ahead I will like to return home for job. As long as we could store the spent fuel in PM house.