April 27, 2024, 03:43:11 PM

Author Topic: T&T vs Costa Rica set for Dwight Yorke Stadium  (Read 27363 times)

T&T vs Costa Rica set for Dwight Yorke Stadium
« on: April 16, 2009, 12:37:41 PM »
T&T vs Costa Rica set for Dwight Yorke Stadium

Trinidad and Tobago’s next 2010 World Cup Qualifying encounter against Costa Rica on Saturday June 6,2009 will be staged at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Tobago at 6pm

This was announced by TTFF Special Adviser Jack Warner on Thursday after what he stated was a joint decision taken by the Football Federation and National Team Technical Staff in conjunction with the Tobago House of Assembly.

“That has been agreed by the Football Federation  and the Team’s technical staff and it was done in conjunction with the Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly Orville London at a meeting yesterday. He was advised and he agreed that Tobago is part of Trinidad and Tobago and therefore it is only fair that a game be played there. We also agreed that although the stadium holding 7,500 persons, some 15,000 less than the Hasely Crawford Stadium and while it is going to be a financial loss for the Federation, the Federation believes that with Dwight Yorke being back for that match and with the game being Russell Latapy’s first official World Cup match as head coach… Tobago shall have the honour of staging the event,” Warner told TTFF Media.

“It is being done in the national interest. Latapy at a meeting this morning was ecstatic over the decision. We will also make plans to ensure that as much Trinidadians be given the opportunity to be in the sister isle for the match.”

Warner added that tickets will be priced at $400 for covered, one hundred less than previous qualifying matches and $200 for uncovered. Warner went on to say that invitations have also been extended to President George Maxwell Richards, Prime Minister Patrick Manning, Minister of Sport Gary Hunt and Tobago House of Assembly Chief Secretary Orville London.

Warner stressed that Latapy has the fullest support of himself and the TTFF  as was made clear at a meeting with Latapy, Zoran Vranes and other technical team members on Thursday morning.

“This country has 1.3 million people and unfortunately we also have 1.3 million coaches and everybody knows what is best for the team. But what we have to make decisions  in the team’s best interest. And at this time we are totally committed to supporting Russell Latapy as head coach and Zoran Vranes as his assistant and which ever other person he decides to bring on board. This will be discussed at meeting arranged specifically for this purpose on Monday.

“We have to give him our support and we believe he can do it. Those who people who believe, even those who played with him and who are critical now of his appointment and thinks he doesn’t have enough experience… I want to say to them that you have to begin somewhere and where else can we begin than at home. Therefore everything we can do to give Russell a chance to succeed we shall do. I want to say today that the game against Costa Rica on June 6 we shall win and that will turn our chances around,” Warner added.

“We shall take that success and turn it around as far as our qualification for South Africa is concerned. It will not be easy I know this but we have to take match by match and use each one as if it is our last match. I feel very optimistic that we shall qualify. Times are tough especially financially but we will be putting our best foot forward. We are readily behind coach Latapy to ensure he has everything he needs to be successful in that game,” Warner ended.

Latapy will begin on field preparations later this month with home-based players and further information regarding the team’s build up to June 6 including warm up internationals will be revealed in due course.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
Re: T&T vs Costa Rica set for Dwight Yorke Stadium
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2009, 12:42:02 PM »
nice!

i in dat!

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2009, 12:42:19 PM »
F**king sweet....

« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2009, 12:43:20 PM »
Hmm...I hope our players start training across there as well...going to be hard if they training with their pro league team in the evening !

The devil is in the detail...

« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2009, 12:48:52 PM »
It's about time....JW sounding like ah change man oui...hope is not ah smoke screen...
 :applause: :thumbsup:

« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2009, 12:50:38 PM »
D last time d WCQ was set for Dwight Yorke all kind ah plans was made and nutten eh happen. So when I c wit meh 2 eye God give meh and d 2 Value Optical give meh dat u can get tickets for dat game at DY then and only then I go believe.

« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2009, 12:52:30 PM »
D last time d WCQ was set for Dwight Yorke all kind ah plans was made and nutten eh happen. So when I c wit meh 2 eye God give meh and d 2 Value Optical give meh dat u can get tickets for dat game at DY then and only then I go believe.
steeuuups ;D ;D
ya beat me to that sentiment Weary
i playin Thomas this match

But seriously: Jack this has got to be one of the best things that you have done for TTFF football in a long time :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: Thanks
« Last Edit: April 16, 2009, 01:32:50 PM by Pavlov »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2009, 12:57:04 PM »
As I stated earlier this morning when Ann3boys buss the story....

:party: :cheers: :cheers: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :party: :party: :party:

Lord ah still feeling to kiss Jackula!!!..(dat euphoria brought on by the news eh gone away yet.... ;D)

« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2009, 12:57:20 PM »
 :applause: :applause: :applause: Boooyaaaahaaaaa

« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2009, 01:01:30 PM »
Hmm....by far our biggest must-win match of the round and we're not playing in our natl stadium, but instead experimenting??!!

« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2009, 01:12:57 PM »
im proud and feel glad for tobago. bet they will be louder than the hcs last game.

« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2009, 01:13:17 PM »
Hmm....by far our biggest must-win match of the round and we're not playing in our natl stadium, but instead experimenting??!!

Yuh eh hear de team does do better on de road??...dis is as close to being on de road and staying home at the same time.... :devil: ;D

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2009, 01:14:52 PM »
As I stated earlier this morning when Ann3boys buss the story....

:party: :cheers: :cheers: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :party: :party: :party:

Lord ah still feeling to kiss Jackula!!!..(dat euphoria brought on by the news eh gone away yet.... ;D)

You happy ent??   ;D ;D ;D ;D

Ah well there goes my plans of making a quick in 'n out for the game. *sigh* Now I guess I will either fly in for the El Sal or the USA one :(

One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #13 on: April 16, 2009, 01:19:32 PM »
Girl and it gets better....I have an off day from work on Friday 5th.....is lime whooooolllleee weekend!!!....

« Reply #14 on: April 16, 2009, 01:21:12 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/EVHdhcGWseI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/EVHdhcGWseI</a>

« Reply #15 on: April 16, 2009, 01:23:28 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/EVHdhcGWseI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/EVHdhcGWseI</a>

eh eh Brown
look ya sugar daddy :devil: :devil:

easy......go real easy eh ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: April 16, 2009, 01:28:27 PM »
Boy yuh could tell mih anything, do mih anything right now....it doh matter ah in ah zone.... ;D

« Reply #17 on: April 16, 2009, 01:30:21 PM »
well done know i taking a weekend in bago then!
booking my boat ticket now!

« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2009, 01:35:01 PM »
Boy yuh could tell mih anything, do mih anything right now....it doh matter ah in ah zone.... ;D
you TINK i go fall fa dat....................right  :devil:
you tink I name RF :D :D

is about time the TTFF did this
« Last Edit: April 16, 2009, 01:39:10 PM by Pavlov »

« Reply #19 on: April 16, 2009, 01:37:09 PM »
why is tobago an experiment dey should spread it around, stadium size shouldn't matter, half ah d basted HCS does be reactionary waggonists anyway.........u might get livelier support in a 7500 DYS or even a MRS ;) ;)
« Last Edit: April 16, 2009, 01:48:06 PM by lefty »

Offline Victor

« Reply #20 on: April 16, 2009, 01:39:19 PM »
Well done Jack! Well done!

This must be done in Tobago and down South during every world cup campaign. Give all my brothers and sisters a taste; and build the local base. Next ting you know, some ah these people will be going out to watch local football again.

Now all you have to do is go back Dutch!! ;D Hire somebody like Mario Been, and we good to go brother.

« Reply #21 on: April 16, 2009, 01:42:55 PM »
I believe that is one of the better maintained pitches back home, right?

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #22 on: April 16, 2009, 01:49:19 PM »
Girl and it gets better....I have an off day from work on Friday 5th.....is lime whooooolllleee weekend!!!....

well make sure and fete and drink enuff for me too.

One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #23 on: April 16, 2009, 01:58:22 PM »
It's about time....JW sounding like ah change man oui...hope is not ah smoke screen...
 :applause: :thumbsup:

doh get carried away  ::) jack does sound like ah change man all the time until the mark buss ;D
All American

« Reply #24 on: April 16, 2009, 02:07:33 PM »
that nice...
hopefully the fans in Tobago will be more vocal than the ones in Trinidad....

« Reply #25 on: April 16, 2009, 02:15:46 PM »

Promise?  8)

« Reply #26 on: April 16, 2009, 02:34:07 PM »
Big move.  Ah want to be part of that!!!

Blessings

« Reply #27 on: April 16, 2009, 02:35:45 PM »
that nice...
hopefully the fans in Tobago will be more vocal than the ones in Trinidad....
saying the same thing but i wonder what the ticket prices would be. because if over $100, you might as well depend on more trinis coming over to fill the stadium.  

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #28 on: April 16, 2009, 02:53:12 PM »
Nice move. Hope this is a sign of good things to come.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #29 on: April 16, 2009, 02:53:26 PM »
Lemme move like a wet drawers here...

It's a wonderful PR spin, people in Tobago getting to see a match, the support might be different.

But I feel it have more to the story...

1)15,000 people less...less revenue...and tickets cheaper to boot...something wrong.

2) Do or die game...and we turn it into a "away" match...yes get vex but yuh know what I mean.

3) Everybody want to see Latapy in charge...do or die...last game was ram out...no question here..stadium was ramming out same way.

4) So the Oval, COE, and the other Stadia in TT couldnt be used instead.

5) How long before will the team go into camp and play games across there to get a feel of the pitch...practice game self.

6) Logistics for ticket etc...is still 800 Fans and go to COE or reach across in Bago and hope for the best. ( I am concerned about this one)

Me ent know...I ent mind Bago get a game...but yuh had a playoff and a semi-final round to give them one.
To come when is do or die time...something ent right.

Plus...TSTT, KFC, Blue Waters everybody hadda tote they spin and win and all they ting to Bago...how much pull do they have to say no.

Also let us not forget ferry and plane ticket to reach across there.

Oh well let us pray for victory over Costa Rica.

Come...lewwe go...to Tobago!