April 27, 2024, 02:27:49 AM

Author Topic: Congrats SH as head coach for Canada at the Gold Cup!  (Read 3501 times)

Offline Coach

Congrats SH as head coach for Canada at the Gold Cup!
« on: April 17, 2009, 11:03:34 AM »
If SH comes up with good a showing at the Gold Cup they should give him the head coach position. The last time at the Gold Cup he did well and it was his first time being a head coach at the senior international level.

There are few coaches from TT that came up in the old school system where soccer was like a religion just going and looking for a sweat 6 days of the week SH is one. SH brings something to coaching that few coaches possesses and that is being able to recognize strength and weakness in players overall game and this is something learn from playing 6 days of the week, no coaching course can teach you this.

HERE IS THE MEDIA PRESS RELEASE.

Association appoints Stephen Hart as interim head coach

The Canadian Soccer Association announced today that technical director Stephen Hart will assume, on an interim basis, the head coaching responsibilities for the Men’s Senior National Team, for the duration of the 2009 season. Mr. Hart will lead Canada’s men’s national team at the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup this summer, starting with the international friendly match in Larnaca against Cyprus on 30 May.

We are very happy to have Mr. Hart in this role for the upcoming CONCACAF Gold Cup,” said Canadian Soccer Association President Dr. Dominic Maestracci.

Canada’s 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup schedule opens 3 July against Jamaica in Los Angeles, CA. Canada then faces El Salvador on 7 July in Columbus, OH and Costa Rica on 10 July in Miami, FL. There are three groups of four teams, so eight of the 12 teams will advance to the quarter-final stage in Philadelphia, PA (18 July) and Dallas, TX (19 July). The tournament then moves to Chicago, IL for the semi-final on 23 July and New York, NY for the championship final on 26 July.

“The task in hand will be to lead Canada at the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup,” said Canadian Soccer Association Technical Director Stephen Hart.

Mr. Hart was named the Canadian Soccer Association’s Technical Director in March 2008. He heads the Association’s long-term player development plan, specifically the Wellness to World Cup campaign. He is also in charge of directing and monitoring the national development teams, the coaching education program, the National Training Centres, and the sports medicine program. With the national teams, he has most recently served as an assistant coach with the men’s national team. Two years ago as the team’s interim head coach, he led Canada to a semi-final finish at the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

« Last Edit: April 17, 2009, 11:07:30 AM by Coach »

Re: Congrats SH as head coach for Canada at the Gold Cup!
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2009, 11:18:17 AM »
shocks.....I was hoping he would have been part of Latas team.

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2009, 11:28:43 AM »

Ent !!!!!!

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2009, 12:05:38 PM »
SH well done,congrats,don't worry with nobody,you stay right there and do your thing,no Canadian gives you pressure and you still have the support of your people.

« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2009, 12:17:23 PM »
so ah guess I supporting Canada this gold cup
he the only trini contingent...
Go Canada!

« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2009, 12:23:27 PM »
Go Canada!

Probably not.

Defender Serioux and Midfielder Hutchinson are 2 Trinbagonians that immediately come to mind.

« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2009, 12:27:00 PM »
Go Canada!

Probably not.

Defender Serioux and Midfielder Hutchinson are 2 Trinbagonians that immediately come to mind.

I didn't know that thks,...just googled them and they both on Canada too; so even more of a reason for me to support the Canucks...

« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2009, 12:49:24 PM »
Congrats to SH...again.

I honsetly get e asense of Deja Vu when I read the title.

Hopefully they will stop the nonsense and give the man the job full time.

« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2009, 01:11:55 PM »
Dem doh pay this man enuff nah, dem only lucky we doh like weself and he's ah ball-jumbie  ;)

« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2009, 01:19:53 PM »
SH is the Varnes of Canada. he might have the record for most times as interim coach.

« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2009, 01:34:34 PM »
Congras to SH, I think its time for Canada to win the Gold Cup again!!  :challenge:
« Last Edit: April 17, 2009, 02:43:15 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2009, 01:59:50 PM »
When I saw SH, I was thinking Shaka Hislop yes.

« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2009, 02:04:46 PM »
all the best SH
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2009, 02:40:11 PM »
Congras to SH, I think ts time for Canada to win the Gold Cup!!  :challenge:

Canada won it back in 2000.

Beat us in the semis and beat Colombia in the finals.

« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2009, 02:42:55 PM »
Congras to SH, I think its time for Canada to win the Gold Cup again!!  :challenge:

Canada won it back in 2000.

Beat us in the semis and beat Colombia in the finals.

Yes that's true, I forgot, ammendment made!  8)

« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2009, 05:03:39 PM »
CONGRATS SH!!! And Good Luck in the Gold Cup!!!

« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2009, 05:47:00 PM »
Congrats dey pardna... I will be watching and observing yuh progress closely  :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2009, 07:02:05 PM »
Gigantic up yourself, SH.

« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2009, 08:55:43 PM »

I hear Ferguson, Benitez, Wenger and Klinsman will be Latapy understudy.  Stueps How the hell SH would with Latapy? Latapy have to work for SH.

« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2009, 09:05:28 PM »

I hear Ferguson, Benitez, Wenger and Klinsman will be Latapy understudy.  Stueps How the hell SH would with Latapy? Latapy have to work for SH.

Spmetimes I does wonder if you does talk shit so all de time or yuh does jes make a special effort for our amusement on this site?

While I am a great fan of SH, why yuh feel he so much more qualified than Latapy to lead T&T?

Next question, why anyone feels that SH will risk he nice life to deal with de TTFF, unless he get all he money up front/

next thing, I feel bertille do more at the National level with T&T than SH has done with Canada thus far with Canada.  mind you this is not a shot at SH,as I feel he is a boss, and very knowledgeable about the game, I am jes wondering ahy you willing to take a chance with him over Latapy/

Doh make no sense.

By the way.....SH, Gongrats and best wishes brother....
« Last Edit: April 17, 2009, 09:56:09 PM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #20 on: April 18, 2009, 12:16:45 AM »

Spmetimes I does wonder if you does talk shit so all de time or yuh does jes make a special effort for our amusement on this site?

While I am a great fan of SH, why yuh feel he so much more qualified than Latapy to lead T&T?

Next question, why anyone feels that SH will risk he nice life to deal with de TTFF, unless he get all he money up front/

next thing, I feel bertille do more at the National level with T&T than SH has done with Canada thus far with Canada.  mind you this is not a shot at SH,as I feel he is a boss, and very knowledgeable about the game, I am jes wondering ahy you willing to take a chance with him over Latapy/

Doh make no sense.

By the way.....SH, Gongrats and best wishes brother....

YOu have to be an Idiot. You read what you type? I feel alyuh like to hear alyuh self yes. You must be does talk to yuh self all the time.

What has Latas done as a coach ABSOLUTELY F@#KING NOTHING. Despute that. Why you okay with Latapy coaching just don't make any sense. What he play for Porto, and Zidane say is the best he ever see play? Give me a chance.

Latapy
Latapy began his coaching career in the 2006–07 season as an assistant to John Hughes at Falkirk, a position he held until he left the club in January 2009. He then became an assistant to Francisco Maturana for the Trinidad and Tobago national football team. After the resignation of Maturana, Latapy became the interim head coach on 9 April 2009.

SH
Coaching career
His duties include leading their long-term development as well as overseeing all their technical programs. Part of this involves helping young players come up the ranks with improved technical skills. Currently works as Assistant coach for the Canada and as Head Coach from Canada U-17 National Team .

In the past Hart has been a coach with Canada's youth and senior teams. He has recently been head coach of Canada's U-17 team and assistant coach to Canada's senior team. In 2007, he stepped in as the senior team's interim coach and led Canada to a semi-final spot in the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Hart was technical director of Soccer Nova Scotia from 1993 to 2001.

I am not calling for SH to be coach. I just find men overdoing the thing with all the coaches who have to be Latapy assistant.

Offline Peter

« Reply #21 on: April 18, 2009, 05:18:40 AM »
When I saw SH, I was thinking Shaka Hislop yes.

me too lol

« Reply #22 on: April 18, 2009, 07:37:27 AM »
Saw it on the news.. actually my wife brought it to my attention. Congrats Papa! lets hope you get full control and the support of the players. Seems you did last time around.

Will be supporting in full colors.

« Reply #23 on: April 18, 2009, 08:33:22 AM »
WHO IS HE?

« Last Edit: April 18, 2009, 09:34:23 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #25 on: April 19, 2009, 02:23:02 PM »
Saw it on the news.. actually my wife brought it to my attention. Congrats Papa! lets hope you get full control and the support of the players. Seems you did last time around.

Will be supporting in full colors.

I take it you mean the Red & White of Canada. ;)

« Reply #26 on: April 19, 2009, 06:03:32 PM »
congrats breddah :beermug: