April 29, 2024, 09:11:41 AM

Author Topic: Players who can't get a bligh  (Read 4239 times)

Players who can't get a bligh
« on: April 21, 2009, 11:38:08 PM »
I always wondered why Guti could not even make de Spanish bench.  15 International appearances since 1999.  Dey cyah even pick him for a friendly?  He is on the wrong side of 30 now by two years.  What a luxury to exclude players like this.  Posters, who are some of your favorite players who cyah get a bligh like Guti?

Offline Peter

Re: Players who can't get a bligh
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2009, 01:07:20 AM »
Jason Scotland!!!

Thats all I have to say for now.

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2009, 01:52:30 AM »
Jason Scotland!!!

SCOTTLAND?????????????????????? THE MAN JUST PLAYED IN THE LAST THREE GAMES IN THE HEX!!! and running out for swansea every week ! what bligh you talking bout??!!

maybe yuh mean't tuh say julius james,brent sancho, avery john, daryl roberts, cyd gray, and atullah guerra??!!

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2009, 04:37:36 AM »
The most glaring omission is Cornell Glen!

Glen was playing for my side before Scotland!

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2009, 06:36:22 AM »
Elber and Jardel used to be tearin up their leagues and couldn't get nutting from Brasil.
They had Romario/Ronaldo/Rivaldo to contend with.
I think Elber used to make a bench, so not as bad as Guti but still.

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2009, 06:43:56 AM »
Elber and Jardel used to be tearin up their leagues and couldn't get nutting from Brasil.

Edmundo... but he  was an ass also.

« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2009, 06:44:46 AM »
Anthony Sherwood for Strike Squad

Offline Swima

« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2009, 07:10:45 AM »

Add to that list Sonny Anderson.

For Euro 2000 Frank Rijkaard left Hasselbaink home, which I felt was a crime. He play one major competition and pop down and that was it for him.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2009, 07:12:14 AM »

Doh know about some ah dem picks...

Edmundo was really good and got his chances. Never took them and was disruptive in the dressing room everywhere he went. Part of WC 1998 squad and got a corbeaux. In hindsight, got more chances than he deserved given his failure to establish anything resembling world class form outside of Brazil and for being the worst teammate possible.

Jardel was good too. Also got a chance with Brazil and looked poor. He was a one trick pony who dominated in Portugal. His style just didn't suite Brazil..slow but deadly in the air. Considering what Brazil had available at the time, not surprised. Just sayin'  ;D

Is Brazil we talking about...you getting one or two chances and if you toots down yourslef, it have too much talent waiting in line.

Elber was the only one who was treated unfairly imo. But eventually made Brazil's squad for a Gold Cup and was prolific. Eventually earned a starting role during the WC 2002 qualifiers. Got injured and missed out on the finals when he was likely to play a supporting role after the return of Ronaldo to fitness. Played 15 times for Brazil and scored 7 goals over 3 years.

Guti is inconsistent. Not only that, he was never a regular starter for Madrid during his peak. He's also the type of player you'd have to build a team around. Building Spain around Guti is like building Argentina around a less talented version of Rqiuelme. Most coaches wouldn't do it. Brilliant on his day, but disappears too much.

My picks: Darryl Roberts (T&T), Sebastian Frey (France)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2009, 07:14:23 AM by Filho »

« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2009, 08:07:46 AM »
Matt Le tissier of Southampton....one of the most skillful England players of recent times, overlooked continously dispite being outstanding fuh years with a mediocre team. Made some squads, played as sub a few times but never got enough time to truely show his quality, even played in a 'B' international for England (with shaka I think) in a game against Russia where he scored a hattrick yet wasn't even named in the initial 30 man squad fuh France 98!

T&T

Andre Boucaud.....same league as Spann, consistent performer and regular starter (unlike Spann), no chances since 2005 (yet Spann still getting pick  ??? ).

« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2009, 08:14:33 AM »

Sherwood? He was u-20 then...Besides our midfield had Latas, Yorke providing creativity and Jamerson and Barber doign the dog work...it had not spot for a u-20 besides Yorke on that side.

Then after the injury he wasn't good again.

« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2009, 08:30:55 AM »

Sherwood? He was u-20 then...Besides our midfield had Latas, Yorke providing creativity and Jamerson and Barber doign the dog work...it had not spot for a u-20 besides Yorke on that side.

Then after the injury he wasn't good again.

he was a member of The Strike Squad, but never got a breakthrough in playing time.
Don't remember seeing him in Shell Cup, Warm Ups and WCQ.

why pick him on the side if Gally had no intentions of playing him?

« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2009, 08:34:28 AM »
Same reason he pick Dwarika in '92...for the experience so they will become better players later on.

He had one eye on the future at least, instead of now where we just want to recycle wholesale.

« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2009, 10:04:50 AM »
Collin Samuels

« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2009, 10:08:07 AM »
Kendall Jagdeosingh ....was the most inform guy on the Argentina tour before the last two games.

Offline football is life

« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2009, 10:27:54 AM »
colin samuel + nigel daniel

tevez- should be playin alot more for ManU

(all time) djalminha- i kno he was playin sametime as rivaldo but he was way too talented to be left out dat many times

if yuh live by d sword..yuh goin to die by d gun!!

« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2009, 10:40:48 AM »
darryl roberts

« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2009, 10:50:44 AM »
Kevin Phillips. never given a proper run for England.

« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2009, 10:54:02 AM »
Kendall Jagdeosingh ....was the most inform guy on the Argentina tour before the last two games.

So what was Cornell Glen then?  

« Reply #19 on: April 22, 2009, 10:58:10 AM »
daiz is true palos .

« Reply #20 on: April 22, 2009, 11:23:02 AM »
Kerwin Jemmott and Troy Marquis.

« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2009, 12:19:30 PM »
Kerwin Jemmott and Troy Marquis.

serious thing, yuh taking to make joke, go ahead....anyway, I going wid Jagdeosingh on dis!

« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2009, 12:32:14 PM »
I thought it had some Marvin Oliver and Irasto Knight fans on here.   ???

I agree Guti was inconsistent as a forward but once he had de playmaker role after Zidane left de game, he was playing extremely well at dat time.  Now I eh calling de man to start for Spain but not even de bench when he was in he prime?   
« Last Edit: April 23, 2009, 10:52:57 AM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #23 on: April 22, 2009, 12:35:13 PM »
Kevin Phillips. never given a proper run for England.
injury messed him up, I had liked his style of football.

« Reply #24 on: April 22, 2009, 12:37:24 PM »
I won't mind seeing kendall Jagdeosingh and some other local young winger. Somebody raw (fit with skills).

« Reply #25 on: April 22, 2009, 02:28:30 PM »
Matt Le tissier of Southampton....one of the most skillful England players of recent times, overlooked continously dispite being outstanding fuh years with a mediocre team. Made some squads, played as sub a few times but never got enough time to truely show his quality, even played in a 'B' international for England (with shaka I think) in a game against Russia where he scored a hattrick yet wasn't even named in the initial 30 man squad fuh France 98!

T&T

Andre Boucaud.....same league as Spann, consistent performer and regular starter (unlike Spann), no chances since 2005 (yet Spann still getting pick  ??? ).

I have to agree with Matt Le Tissier, he was extremely skillful and scored some of the most sublime goals you'll see. I think his problem was at the time in England, players of his size and strength were expected to be big target men to hold up th ball, which he wasn't.

On the local scene, it has to be Darryl Roberts. I would say he's playing on the same level (if not higher than some) of many of our foreign based and is doing reasonably well, yet still can't make a squad. I also think Scott Sealy hasn't really been given a proper run with the first team. He's one of those players I think will play much better with the senior players around him.

« Reply #26 on: April 22, 2009, 03:01:08 PM »

So what was Cornell Glen then?  

2nd most in form

« Reply #27 on: April 22, 2009, 07:07:46 PM »
Marcelina Carioca for Brazil back in is ay, one of the best free-kick specialists IN Brazil.

For T&T, Randi Patterson... came to T&T, won a man of the match and was never called back! Add to him, Micheal Edwards (Defence Force left-back), Daryll Roberts, Collin Samuel, Ancil Farrier and Radanfa Abu Bakr and favorable mention to my bwoy Scott Sealy

Offline Peter

« Reply #28 on: May 06, 2009, 02:09:03 AM »
Jason Scotland!!!

SCOTTLAND?????????????????????? THE MAN JUST PLAYED IN THE LAST THREE GAMES IN THE HEX!!! and running out for swansea every week ! what bligh you talking bout??!!

maybe yuh mean't tuh say julius james,brent sancho, avery john, daryl roberts, cyd gray, and atullah guerra??!!

lol Yeah thats true, but I find he still doesn't get enough minutes in matches for TNT.

« Reply #29 on: May 06, 2009, 06:38:37 AM »
Clichy & Darryl Roberts