March 28, 2024, 03:48:46 AM

Author Topic: This how they wreck cars in Trinidad now?  (Read 11866 times)

This how they wreck cars in Trinidad now?
« on: April 22, 2009, 01:33:52 PM »
Damn we need some ah that here in ny  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgLJ6XZeWyA

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/IgLJ6XZeWyA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/IgLJ6XZeWyA</a>

Re: This how they wreck cars in Trinidad now?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2009, 01:39:57 PM »
Ya ever see the wreckers down on south quay?
Toyota Landcruisers and they are just as fast :rotfl: :rotfl:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2009, 01:44:30 PM »
Ya ever see the wreckers down on south quay?
Toyota Landcruisers and they are just as fast :rotfl: :rotfl:
wow them no easy eh  :rotfl:

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2009, 01:53:57 PM »
That win... I never see that wrecker in operation. The fella reaction priceless. He can't catch himself yet.

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2009, 03:40:45 PM »
They are certainly very efficient. At least one dept of Gov't is working to earn their pay!!!!

Offline Saywha

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2009, 04:23:25 PM »
oh lorse that is some funny shit, i better doh get cetch or i wont be laughing so hard  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2009, 04:38:35 PM »
de police just stop to show he face  :rotfl:he eh really cater wuh de fella had to say

« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2009, 06:18:22 PM »
I does see that on the street outside my office building every day....is a new breed of wrecker guys out there....

« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2009, 06:20:51 PM »
so why they cant convert some of them wreckers into crime scene vehicles 

« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2009, 06:37:36 PM »

fuh wha?  to tote wey dead bodies?

« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2009, 06:41:05 PM »
dem wreckers is one sweet income stream for the national coffers ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

How to lose your car in 5 seconds
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2009, 10:32:49 PM »
Wrecking of a car at the front of CROBAR...AGAIN...! 

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ij752BZxeio" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ij752BZxeio</a>

Re: How to lose your car in 5 seconds
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2009, 10:40:11 PM »

« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2009, 10:48:09 PM »
i aint see that lol, ok well mods merge into that thread

Offline Pur_Trini

« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2009, 08:36:55 AM »
Doesn't the hand-brake operate on the rear wheels?  Unless in each case the hand-brake was not used, how could it be so easy for the tow truck to remove these cars? 
.........and may God bless our Nation.

« Reply #15 on: April 23, 2009, 08:42:47 AM »
Wrecking of a car at the front of CROBAR...AGAIN...! 

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ij752BZxeio" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ij752BZxeio</a>

dis one funnier by far

« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2009, 08:47:54 AM »
is troll dey jes trolling dat area?  Or somebody calling dem?

« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2009, 09:59:13 AM »
Doesn't the hand-brake operate on the rear wheels?  Unless in each case the hand-brake was not used, how could it be so easy for the tow truck to remove these cars? 

You really stop and think about that question before posting it?

Offline Johpants

« Reply #18 on: April 23, 2009, 10:17:49 AM »
Actually the revenue stream is not as free flowing as one would think. As I understand it, it is a TT$100  fee to get back the vehicle, 80 goes to the wrecker and 20 to the treasury.

« Reply #19 on: April 23, 2009, 10:58:21 AM »
Actually the revenue stream is not as free flowing as one would think. As I understand it, it is a TT$100  fee to get back the vehicle, 80 goes to the wrecker and 20 to the treasury.

Exactlyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2009, 11:31:50 AM »

Doh lie, dat real low!
I pay dat same fee about 10 years ago when I get tow from Edward St downtown.

« Reply #21 on: April 23, 2009, 12:35:17 PM »

You really stop and think about that question before posting it?

That is a legit question.

Most cars have the emergency brake applying some force to the rear wheels, though not as much as you would get if you pressed the pedal. Thus the brake could be applied and the car still towed, probably trashing your parking brake.

More than a fair number of people with automatic transmissions never use the parking brake, relying only on the locking mechanism on the transmission when you put the car in Park. Making towing a front wheel drive car as simple as it appears in these videos.

The fun starts if your car has a different arrangement. Some newer cars have an electric parking brake which applies a force directly to the calipers in the rear wheels. Others use a motor to operate the traditional cable system.  While it would still be possible to tow the car in all of these situations, it probably won't go as happily as these two in the videos.

Bottom line: if you going to park in front of crobar, keep the handbrake down, or resist the urge and park your A6 in a legal space.

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #22 on: April 23, 2009, 12:37:11 PM »
yeah but study yuh does hadda trek quite dong sea lots to get it back...yuh could lorse more dan yuh car on de way! :-[

« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2009, 12:48:09 PM »
yeah but study yuh does hadda trek quite dong sea lots to get it back...yuh could lorse more dan yuh car on de way! :-[

Depending on the time of the day and where the car is towed from they also use the paved area east of the "Grand Stand" in the savannah.

« Reply #24 on: April 23, 2009, 01:09:02 PM »

Depending on the time of the day and where the car is towed from they also use the paved area east of the "Grand Stand" in the savannah.

how yuh know where to collect yuh car then? I man woulda head straight down sea lots if my car get tow

« Reply #25 on: April 23, 2009, 01:15:11 PM »
three yaers ago I was parked on south quay waiting for ah pardna and there were using Toyota Landcruisers with a hitch and in 1/2 hour they towed theree cars and were hookin up the forth when I was driving away. I dont know if it was the same wrecker
« Last Edit: April 23, 2009, 01:21:42 PM by Werklmann »

« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2009, 01:19:52 PM »
I eh know if is true but I hear this is illegal.
The officer is supposed to come out and make an attempt to locate the driver....walk around the car at least.
Heard that from two sources.  But hardly anyone going to take it beyond quarelling with the officer before handing over the money.

« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2009, 01:39:22 PM »
The officer is supposed to come out and make an attempt to locate the driver....walk around the car at least.
Heard that from two sources.  But hardly anyone going to take it beyond quarelling with the officer before handing over the money.

U correck dey suppose 2 look 4 u but dat eh happenin

« Reply #28 on: April 23, 2009, 02:22:54 PM »
how yuh know where to collect yuh car then? I man woulda head straight down sea lots if my car get tow

Don't have a clue, I use a parking lot or some other authorised parking area when I am in P.O.S. or environs. Some places are more obvious (like the people who get towed on Keate St. should know to check the savannah and those near the promenade should check Sea Lots), but unless there's a notice out somewhere I figure the person would have to guess.

Hope those 2 sources are reliable. We does always "hear" something from someone who sounding confident this time is shit they spouting.

Offline Trin

« Reply #29 on: April 23, 2009, 02:31:05 PM »

This is true, it is illegal. The law actually states that the officer must try to locate the owner of the vehicle before it can be towed. Clearly this was not done in either of these cases