April 29, 2024, 02:40:56 AM

Author Topic: Sex before sports: can it help you score?  (Read 8769 times)

Sex before sports: can it help you score?
« on: August 10, 2005, 11:51:33 AM »
by Sherman M. Fridman

It's a scene that's been parodied in countless films and acted out in locker rooms across the country for decades: a rumpled coach addresses his team and concludes his remarks with a final piece of advice: "No sex before the game tomorrow."

For generations, men who engaged in athletic competition were led to believe that the rule of pre-game sexual abstinence was the Holy Grail of sports. But recent research has shown that self-denial before the big game may, in fact, be detrimental to athletic performance.

All about testosterone
The prohibition of pre-game physical intimacy is based upon the belief that having sex lowers a man's level of testosterone the hormone directly associated with increasing aggressiveness in men. Coaches want their male athletes to have a lot of testosterone in their bodies to enhance aggression as well as physical performance, and they believed that abstinence was the way to save it up.

Although testosterone is produced and replenished naturally in men (and to a lesser degree in women), it was thought that having sex too near the start of physical competition would not allow enough time for the body to restore its testosterone to normal levels.

Sharpening the competitive edge
New research findings are putting a smile on the faces of amateur and professional male athletes, as well as their partners. Italian researchers claim to have uncovered evidence that sex sharpens rather than dulls the competitive edge of top athletes.

Led by Emmanuele Jannini, a team of scientists from Italy's University of L'Aquila say they have found that men's testosterone levels rise with sexual activity; and the more sexual activity, the greater the increase in testosterone.

But there is one thing amorous athletes need to know about the study before heading for the sheets: the subjects of the Italian study were men who had been diagnosed as sexually dysfunctional and were being treated with psychological therapies, rather than with drug therapies. Plus, the men who took part in the study were not necessarily athletic.

What do the study results mean?
Jannini says that he believes men's bodies adjust testosterone levels to match the level of sexual activity. "It's an adaptive mechanism," he says. "If a man has sexual intercourse, testosterone causes him to desire the next sexual intercourse. So if a sportsman needs to be more aggressive, it's better to have sex." The same might also be said of women, he adds.

Just a form of exercise
The Italian findings come as no surprise to John Kowalczyk, DO, a board-certified surgical urologist practicing in Southern California, nor to American sprinter, Dennis Mitchell.

Kowalczyk says that moderate exercise, whether it's from running, sports, or sex, will increase the amount of testosterone in a man's body. But, the key word here is moderate. As with any form of exercise, you don't want to have done so much, and be left so physically drained, that it takes days to recover.

Mitchell, an Olympic bronze medallist, claims to have personally experienced the effect having sex had on his testosterone level. He was immediately banned from competition in 1998 after testing positive for having higher than normal levels of testosterone in his body an indication that he was supplementing his natural level by taking additional doses of the hormone in order to enhance his performance. Mitchell's defense, which prevailed on appeal, was that his positive drug test was the result of having had sex four times (and drinking five bottles of beer) the night before the test was administered.

Take it easy
A second reason for Kowalczyk's advice to engage in moderate exercise to stimulate the production of testosterone is that vigorous activity, including vigorous sexual activity, will deplete testosterone levels in male athletes.

Vincenzo De Leo, MD, and colleagues at Italy's University of Siena, measured testosterone levels in the blood of male marathon runners before and after they ran for 90 minutes. During the run, testosterone levels rose, but levels declined to below normal after the men stopped running. The exercise was repeated two days later with the same results.

How much is too much?
The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine and Science reports that there can be more serious consequences from over-exercising than just a temporary decline in testosterone levels. Researchers at the University of North Carolina have found that endurance training can result in dysfunction of the reproductive system of both males and females, with male endurance-trained athletes having abnormally low levels of testosterone. However, even these researchers have found that moderate exercise such as with sexual activity lasting 45 to 90 minutes, will result in an increase in a man's testosterone level.

Testosterone boosts in fans?
Another interesting finding from research on the relationship between testosterone and sports is that even inactive sport fans those who watch rather than play experience an increase in testosterone, even if they're only sitting on the couch.

About ten years ago, Theodore Kemper, PhD, a professor of sociology at St. John's University in New York, hypothesized that fans watching sporting events would have testosterone changes similar to those experienced by the athletes on the field. Recently, Paul Bernhardt, a doctoral candidate at the University of Utah, examined this theory and found that highly loyal male fans demonstrate a rise in testosterone just by anticipating a sporting event involving their favorite team. And, when their teams won, the testosterone levels of these ardent fans increased by about 20% the same amount that testosterone levels decreased in the committed fans of the losing teams.

RESOURCES:
SportScience
http://sportsci.org
A peer-reviewed site for sport research.

"Testosterone and Reproductive Dysfunction in Endurance-Trained Men," by Anthony C. Hockney. Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine and Science, Internet Society for Sport Science, September 20, 1998.

http://askmen.com/sports/fanatic/16_sports_fan.html
« Last Edit: October 04, 2005, 11:14:04 AM by Tallman »

Re: Sex before sports: can it help you score? Advice fuh Stern
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2005, 12:03:08 PM »
Sexuality & Health
by Sherman M. Fridman

Mitchell, an Olympic bronze medallist, claims to have personally experienced the effect having sex had on his testosterone level. He was immediately banned from competition in 1998 after testing positive for having higher than normal levels of testosterone in his body an indication that he was supplementing his natural level by taking additional doses of the hormone in order to enhance his performance. Mitchell's defense, which prevailed on appeal, was that his positive drug test was the result of having had sex four times (and drinking five bottles of beer) the night before the test was administered.

RESOURCES:
SportScience
http://sportsci.org
A peer-reviewed site for sport research.

"Testosterone and Reproductive Dysfunction in Endurance-Trained Men," by Anthony C. Hockney. Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine and Science, Internet Society for Sport Science, September 20, 1998.

http://askmen.com/sports/fanatic/16_sports_fan.html

Tallman/Flex check and see if this fella is a Trini, that is a great defense.

Leave it to the Italians to come up with this study, I understand that there is a study underway in Trini to determine the effects of liming and drinking till late the night before a big match...results pending.

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2005, 12:05:57 PM »
Mr.mac,
man ah want tuh see that Trini study hahahahahhaahah oh gosh.

ok ok seeing dat we into research studies; here is one from Florida State University: Remember all dis we giving tuh help out Stern; we still supporting.

This study will establish the optimal level of concentration among soccer players when faced with a goal scoring opportunity.  Concentration, or the ability to focus one’s attention on the task at hand, has been found to differentiate between expert and novice athletes (Moran, 1996; Nideffer, 1993b; Orlick, 1990).  Inexperienced (novice) athletes tend to differ from experienced athletes in their attentional focus, direction, and flexibility (Summers & Ford, 1995).

A soccer player who adopts a narrow attentional focus, more often misses relevant cues and thus important goal scoring opportunities.  A player who directs his or her attention to internal (versus external) sensations (e.g., hurt ankle, “butterflies in the stomach”) while shooting on goal, will likely miss the goal altogether or shoot directly at the goalkeeper.  A third problem may arise when a player receives a ball and cannot switch attention from one target (the ball) to another (the goal and position of the goalkeeper). In this instance, the player is likely to get “caught in possession”, or robbed of the ball by an opposing player.  Thus, it seems as if the ability to concentrate effectively is an important mental aspect in successful performance.

One would also expect that concentration will be related to self-efficicacy, which, in turn, should predict performance. Those with moderate concentration levels will be expected to feel more self-efficacious.

It is hoped that with this study, numerous soccer players will benefit from the results and be able to achieve that next, formerly unattainable, level.  It is further hoped that this study will enable coaches and sport psychologists to use this learned knowledge to help soccer players achieve this goal.

Conceptual Dependent Variables

1.  Performance -- “The observable attempt of an individual to produce a voluntary action” (score a goal in soccer, act in a Broadway play, shoot a free throw in basketball) (Shea, Fall 2000).

2.  Self-efficacy -- one’s belief about his or her ability to perform a certain task.

Conceptual Independent Variable

1.  Concentration -- the ability “to focus one’s attention on the task at hand and thereby not be disturbed or affected by irrelevant external and internal stimuli” (Schmid & Peper, 1993).

Conceptual Hypotheses

1.  The level of concentration for soccer players faced with goal scoring opportunities has a curvilinear relationship with performance, with the highest performance occurring at medium levels of concentration. This is a direct application of the effects of arousal on performance derived from several learning theories.

2. Concentration among soccer players in front of the goal has a direct, positive impact on one’s self-efficacy.

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2005, 12:23:52 PM »
I always find that I enjoy the game better, (whether ah playing or not), when ah get piece before said game, except when T&T playing - then it hasn't mattered. And whenever T&T win, sex after the game does be always good too....Players could fend for dehself oui
 ;)

« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2005, 01:29:16 PM »
If Marion Jones want tuh regain she form ah  volunteering!!tuh help she .

« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2005, 02:19:58 PM »
I go see about taking some before , during and after the game.  Meh wife could tell the results by:

If TNT win it go be a real busting out; if we draw ah go take a quickie; if we lose ah taking a real hard vengance on that and if  oh lawd if we win ah go take a real all nighter.

Athletes and S E X
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2005, 10:59:12 AM »
Ah home here under some pressah in anticipation ah de Panama game and wondering how much more tension dem fellas go be under in de build up to this game on saturday. What alyuh feel dem men could do to get dem jitters out dey system.

Ah was reading ah Tennis magazine de other day and they were saying that sex before competition can have good benefits and help an athlete take his mind off of the task at hand in lead up to performance on the field . As we all know sex and sport is considered taboo and athletes have been known to keep far from the opposite sex in fear of serious energy depletion after sexual intercourse.

They then had a few clips on the top athletes in the sport and intriging to say , some thought it was a green light on sex before their matches. Andre Agassi who is married to another great tennis celebrity, Steffi Graf , thought it was good to have a lil romp with the opposite sex the night before competition. He said it's not the sex that kills you but rather the staying up trying to find it that kills an athlete .

Medical experts are now saying that its ok to expend some prematch jitters through sex as long as it's not done under 10 or 12 hours before competition. What they saying is that making love two hours before could delay your recovery from exercise, but putting 10 hours between sex and exercise keeps everything steady.

The positives of sex before competition :

1. The body goes into a relax mode

2. It induces sleep causing an athlete to have a restful night

3. Boost of self confidence

4.Boost of energy

Dat might be de remedy for dem  boys to perform  :devil:

What alyuh think !!!      :D

« Last Edit: October 04, 2005, 11:05:50 AM by pass(10trini) »

Re: dem fellas need some......
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2005, 11:04:51 AM »
Sex does have no effects on them fellas.

When they play Shit like in the America Home game you know they was Brushing things the night before.

When they play good like in the Guatemala home game you know they was still brushing things the night before.

When these foreign based go back home win loose or draw is nuff brush passing before and after the game

Re: Athletes and S E X
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2005, 11:06:33 AM »
tell dem i say pelt a rounds and cool it nah

« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2005, 11:10:11 AM »
GIVE WE A COUPLE A PORN LINKS NAH SO WE CUD GET IT ON TO THEM U WA DEM PELT OFF OF MEMORY :rotfl: ???

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2005, 11:12:25 AM »
Nutten wrong with a little brush de night before to ease de tension as long as de source of de brush clean.

As palos does say..." de Best P----- is a next P----
well yes

Re: Sex before sports: can it help you score?
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2005, 11:18:48 AM »
ask de man in ethopia with 77 kids what he think bout this :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2005, 11:23:31 AM »
ask de man in ethopia with 77 kids what he think bout this

It different fuh he because sex is his sport.

« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2005, 11:24:40 AM »
and he seems to be in the lead

« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2005, 11:26:32 AM »
F..ck....... meh topic geh draf een with alberta.

how to get it back on the message board ?
« Last Edit: October 04, 2005, 12:28:59 PM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2005, 12:16:58 PM »
I think as long as yuh get a good night's rest, it doh matter if yuh brush the night before or not....If sex helps, it's probably psychological....If it hurts, it's probably cause you didn't get enough hours of sleep.....so the best bet is to brush early and still get your hours of rest.

When I played in College, I only used to sleep over by my gyul before home games, cause I didn't have to get up as early as I had to for the away games.....but it didn't make a difference...I was still roast after the first 15mins.... ;D

« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2005, 04:42:57 PM »
You have to let her do the work, then u cool.
U cah try to be no champion cuz then u'll be dead tired

« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2006, 09:20:09 AM »
Ah hope them men taking time out in Austria to enjoy the sights and the ......ummmm..
" we go mash dem up"

« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2006, 09:48:11 AM »
No wonder Yorke has had such an astounding career.

« Reply #20 on: May 21, 2006, 09:50:43 AM »
Actually masturbation is just as good,less energy expeled and it's the safest form of sex..........

Offline ndookie

« Reply #21 on: May 21, 2006, 09:59:09 AM »
Actually masturbation is just as good,less energy expeled and it's the safest form of sex..........

That is not sex !

Or so they say..

somebody should reffer this to the Trinidad and Tobago national team , Ato , yuh taking note ? lol
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #22 on: May 21, 2006, 10:03:00 AM »
I alway think that sex before a game is not good...i have hear this form players and coached....you not going to have the same performance

« Reply #23 on: May 21, 2006, 10:13:52 AM »
sex before a game to help you score?
if you have sex before a game in my opinion you already scored ;)

« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2006, 10:19:51 AM »
hmm.. ah wonder if dem fellahs in camp blazing anyting?

de other day i see the england side headed off to camp and is only wife, girlfriend, posh spice, colleen etc.. down to theo walcott gyul make de trip...

but like i ent see nobody rolling with de soca warriors..

« Reply #25 on: May 21, 2006, 11:18:07 AM »
sex before a game to help you score?
if you have sex before a game in my opinion you already scored ;)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hahahahha ah have tuh agree with yuh dey!!!! oh lawd ah looking for ah sweat!!!!! tuh score go be meh aim.

« Reply #26 on: May 21, 2006, 02:17:43 PM »
Man, I find dat if yuh fit, den it doh mater too much, it eh go kill yuh.  But if yuh outta shape, Padna, and yuh go een dat game after firing off a few rounds de night before?!? Well yuh does end up wheeezin' like a geriatric just durin' de damned WARM-UPS!!  :o

« Reply #27 on: May 21, 2006, 02:23:01 PM »

not sex but pelt a rounds and calm ur self down b4 a game..

« Reply #28 on: May 21, 2006, 04:13:21 PM »
Google this topic and u will see...I can personally vouch for it, though I didn't do it often.  One of my same day doubles was using this method....but I also had sense to take a cool bath after to have the muscles recover as well....

I think like the new findings about lactic acid and drinking water, this too will be a debunked myth that as early as the next generation will be common knowledge.

Bob Beamon's story about his 1968 night before he had one of the biggest HUMAN performances of all time?  You guessed it - brushing the night beflore!

He never jumped within a foot of that performance after that day.

« Reply #29 on: May 21, 2006, 04:33:51 PM »
Ato,
in regards to this article:

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=1100.msg6442#msg6442

Ah  even wonder about Bridget Foster the hurdler from JA...lawd yuh lucky yuh was in the circle for optimum sex!!!!!

Yuh know if Marion or Perez from France was ever up to testing this theory?

Doh answer  ah kicksing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!