March 29, 2024, 02:02:45 AM

Author Topic: Manchester United vs Arsenal. Champions League Semi Final, leg 2  (Read 16066 times)

Ferguson fires warning to Arsenal

Semi-final will go to the wire - Ferguson

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8026068.stm <--------Video Link

Sir Alex Ferguson has warned Arsenal they will struggle to stop Manchester United scoring in the second leg of the Champions League semi-final on Tuesday.

Boss Ferguson saw United win their home leg 1-0 but they squandered chances to make the scoreline more convincing.

"We played at a good high tempo and maybe we should have scored four goals but before the game I wanted to win without losing a goal," said Ferguson.

"We know we can go there and score and that is the big problem Arsenal have."

United dominated the game but only had John O'Shea's 18th-minute goal to show for their efforts.

Cristiano Ronaldo had a header saved and hit the bar with a second-half screamer, while Carlos Tevez saw a close-range effort brilliantly stopped by Gunners keeper Manuel Almunia.

"The bigger problem is if you don't make the chances. I believe they can make the chances again. We know we have goal threats," insisted Ferguson.

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger believes his players are capable of a much better performance at the Emirates Stadium and was relieved to emerge from the first leg with only a one-goal deficit to make up.

"I believe that we have a good chance to reverse the result," he said.

"I am convinced you will see a different Arsenal team at the Emirates.

"United can have regrets because they didn't score a second goal. It's down to us to make sure they regret they didn't score a second goal."

Wenger reserved special praise for Spanish keeper Almunia.

"He had a big game in a big game," he added.

"His saves were excellent, top class in every sense. His reading of the game, his decision-making, quality, sharpness. He was really top class."

Ferguson, meanwhile, chose to single out goalscorer O'Shea, whose only other goal this season was in the Carling Cup semi-final against Derby.

"He is a great professional. The boy never complains. He is happy to play anywhere," said the United manager.

"He has not always been a number one choice but he produces 30 performances a season and it is a contribution we are grateful for.

"At the present moment in time, he would be in the team if we got to the final."

However, Ferguson remains concerned that United's fixture list could hamper their bid to win four trophies this season.

He claimed that while Arsenal can afford to rest players in their Premier League game against Portsmouth on Saturday, he must pick a strong side for the early kick-off against Middlesbrough as United look to maintain their lead in the title race.

"Arsenal's big advantage is that they can play Pat Rice at right-back and Arsene himself at centre-forward on Saturday," quipped Ferguson.

"We have to play a team to win the game. We have a lunchtime kick-off at Middlesbrough and I do not think it is right."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/8020038.stm

Re: Manchester United vs Arsenal. Champions League Semi Final, leg 2
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 10:47:25 AM »
have to dig back up this thread again  :devil:

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 11:00:45 AM »
let's go united.

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 04:26:44 PM »
Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed that defenders Rio Ferdinand and Patrice Evra will start against Arsenal at Emirates Stadium on Tuesday.

Ferdinand missed the Middlesbrough win at the weekend after scans revealed he had bruised a lung in the UEFA Champions League semi-final first-leg against the Gunners at Old Trafford last week.

The England international trained at Carrington on Monday with the rest of the Manchester United squad and came through unscathed.

Meanwhile Patrice Evra is also expected to start despite sitting out training.

The Frenchman was on the end of a number of robust challenges at the Riverside on Saturday and was withdrawn as a precaution 12 minutes from time.

Wes Brown was also absent from Monday's session but he too is in contention for a place on the bench.
Concern

"My only concern last Wednesday was when he (Ferdinand) came off and when they spit blood you worry about that," Ferguson said.

"But fortunately it wasn't serious enough so that he won't miss any more games than he did so I am pleased with that.

"We are pleased they have all come through. When you are going into a game as important as tomorrow then you want everyone fit and we have got that."

United take a 1-0 lead to the Emirates with a John O'Shea goal the only thing separating the two teams in the tie.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_5279380,00.html

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2009, 04:28:46 PM »
Sir Alex Ferguson has no concerns over Wayne Rooney's discipline ahead of Manchester United's crunch clash with Arsenal.

A booking for Rooney in the semi-final, second leg at Emirates Stadium on Tuesday night would rule the striker out of the UEFA Champions League final should United complete the job.

Patrice Evra and Carlos Tevez are also a yellow card away from being forced to sit out the Rome showpiece on 27th May.

Rooney has had issues with his temperament in the past, but Ferguson has no plans to discuss the matter ahead of the tie, which United lead 1-0 from the first leg.
Mature

"I don't need to address it with Wayne," said Ferguson. "He knows the circumstances. I don't need to spell it out to him.

"He is a mature young man. He understands it perfectly well.

"He needs to be disciplined, but most of the time he is that way."

Indeed, Ferguson believes Italian referee Roberto Rosetti will handle the contest sympathetically, knowing one waft of his yellow card could condemn someone to suffer the kind of misery experienced by Roy Keane and Paul Scholes in 1999, when both were forced to watch from the stands as United overcame Bayern Munich in dramatic fashion.

"I have noticed a trend of the referees being very professional and tolerant in situations like this," said Ferguson.

"They know the seriousness of a player getting three bookings in the whole tournament and missing the final because of it.

"This guy is an Italian and is well up to handling the situation.

"Obviously if a player steps out of line there are definitely no excuses."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11667_5279743,00.html

I would hate to see any player miss a cup final through a yellow card offense...I hope the referee handles the game well..For United's 3 guys on yellows and Arsenal's 3 or 4 as well

« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2009, 04:30:44 PM »
Should be a great game... out of our hands so may the best team win

We should have taken a bigger lead but that's gone now... We are very capable of scoring at the Emirates and I have no doubt we will

Same team for me that started the 1st leg...high energy..high goal scoring ability with a solid back 4

Come on United!

« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2009, 06:22:15 PM »
Go Utd :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner

« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2009, 10:26:50 PM »
UNITED UNITED UNITED UNITED  :devil:  :wavetowel: :whip:

LICKS IN ALYUH ASS TOMOROW  :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2009, 07:41:18 AM »
Arsenal v Man Utd past clashes in photos

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8023617.stm

« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2009, 08:16:54 AM »
dais the striker that make me a Man Utd fan  :devil:

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2009, 09:13:55 AM »
Arsenal v Man Utd past clashes in photos

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8023617.stm

i remember that arsenal were understrength and that goal yorki escored with his knee on of his hatrick that day

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2009, 11:52:03 AM »
C'mon UNITED.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

Offline MarylandTrini

« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2009, 12:17:38 PM »
Arsenal: Almunia, Sagna, Toure, Djourou, Gibbs, Walcott, Fabregas, Song Billong, Nasri, Van Persie and Adebayor.

Subs from: Fabianski, Eboue, Silvestre, Diaby, Denilson, Vela and Bendtner.

Man Utd: Van der Sar, O'Shea, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra, Fletcher, Carrick, Anderson, Park, Ronaldo and Rooney. Subs from: Kuszczak, Rafael Da Silva, Evans, Giggs, Scholes, Berbatov and Tevez.

« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2009, 12:20:37 PM »
stream?

« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2009, 12:49:51 PM »
I fortel ah Cut Arse-nal :devil:

jk.......I doh care one way or the other...play allya fitball

well eh eh look ting
meh Boy, "Park" one in de back of the net ;D
« Last Edit: May 05, 2009, 12:53:58 PM by Werklmann »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: May 05, 2009, 12:54:35 PM »
 :flamethrower: 1 nil

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2009, 12:59:44 PM »
MEDIC!! MEDIC!!! OH GOD MEDIC!! RONALDO WITH A CRACKER OF A SHOT!!!! 2-0!!!!

« Reply #20 on: May 05, 2009, 01:01:53 PM »
wha happen, dem fellas in red runnin in mud or wha?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #21 on: May 05, 2009, 01:02:06 PM »
ah leave de game for 10 mnts and MU score 2 goals  :o

« Reply #22 on: May 05, 2009, 01:04:37 PM »
cheers for the streams fellas

« Reply #23 on: May 05, 2009, 01:05:19 PM »
c'mon united.onto rome.

« Reply #24 on: May 05, 2009, 01:12:17 PM »
Game DONE!!!!!!!

« Reply #26 on: May 05, 2009, 01:28:49 PM »
Game DONE!!!!!!!
fuh arsenal  ;D

Even after the first round of replays I didn't think that Almunia had set a wall and ah was cussin he ass, but after further review......a two-man wall, and the shot went over it.  This is one of crybaby's best free kicks he has ever taken.  Ah have no choice but to give credit to de gyul. 

« Reply #27 on: May 05, 2009, 01:33:28 PM »
Two words for you bastards...GLORY! GLORY!....GO MAN U!!!!!!!!!!! :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #29 on: May 05, 2009, 01:34:56 PM »
Two words for you bastards...GLORY! GLORY!....GO MAN U!!!!!!!!!!! :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
that is 5