April 17, 2024, 10:20:20 PM

Author Topic: Boyz can win Gold Cup - Miguel Trujillo  (Read 3356 times)

Offline reggae-fan

Boyz can win Gold Cup - Miguel Trujillo
« on: May 01, 2009, 08:49:08 AM »
Haitian football agent Miguel Trujillo believes Jamaica's Reggae Boyz could win this year's CONCACAF Gold Cup to be staged in the USA from July 3-26.
Jamaica's head coach John Barnes (left) and assistant, Theodore Whitmore.

Trujillo holds the view that Jamaica's overall talent level and the fact that many of the top teams of the confederation will be engaged in World Cup qualifiers present Jamaica "with a great chance of winning".

"I saw the way Jamaica played in the last set of games in the World Cup qualifiers... they proved that when they are at their best they are the team to beat. They were also very good in the Digicel Champions Cup which they won. This is a team with quality," said Trujillo from Florida yesterday.

He also noted that Jamaica will be a better team under the guidance of head coach John Barnes and assistant Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore.

"He (Barnes) understands the players and knows the system to play to bring out the best in them. It's not like the Brazilian (Rene) Simoes; Barnes has a different approach," he noted.

El Salvador and Jamaica are in Group A of the Gold Cup, along with Canada and Costa Rica; Group B comprises Haiti, USA, Honduras and Grenada, while Group C has Panama, Guadeloupe, Mexico and Nicaragua.

Jamaica, ranked 70th by FIFA, will face Haiti (119th) in a highly-anticipated friendly international match-up at Lockhart Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, on May 23, and Trujillo said Haiti will be fielding a strong team as both bragging rights and an opportunity to continue to fine-tune for the Gold Cup are at stake.

"We'll be coming with the best team for the game... we know Jamaica have very good players, so we're for our best," he said.

"Also, the game is very important as we prepare for the Gold Cup as we aim to make a good impression there," Trujillo added.

The Haitian, who runs the Florida-based sports agency firm Sponssports USA, said most of Haiti's foreign professionals will be available for the match.

He expects players plying their trade in Argentina, Greece and France to jet to Florida in time for the kick off and a weekend of celebration for Caribbean peoples.

And as Haiti step up preparation ahead of the Gold Cup, Trujillo disclosed that the French-speaking country has employed the services of two Colombian coaches - Jairo Rios and Jairo Ossa.

"They (coaches) have been working with the team over the past 15 days and that programme is going well," noted Trujillo.

He said the team has set a date with Panama on June 13 in Port-au-Prince and could visit Azerbaijan for another friendly on June 1.

Meanwhile, the Reggae Boyz will start a camp on May 18 for their three confirmed warm-up games before departing for the Gold Cup.

Apart from the Haiti encounter, the team has also secured games against El Salvador in Washington on May 30 and Panama at 'The Office' on June 7.

Haiti was the second Caribbean nation to go to the FIFA World Cup in 1972, while Jamaica was the first English-speaking country to make it to the big stage back in 1998. Cuba in 1938 was the first from the region to go to the World Cup, while Trinidad & Tobago did likewise in 2006.

Haiti and Jamaica first played each other in 1925 and their last meeting, according to eloratings.net, was back on October 1, 2006, where the Boyz were 2-0 winners at the National Stadium in a Digicel Caribbean Cup qualifier.

Re: Boyz can win Gold Cup - Miguel Trujillo
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2009, 09:06:56 AM »
Haiti aint learn from we mistakes by employing a Colombian as dey coach?? :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2009, 09:34:07 AM »
I believe Trinidad could win de world cup.  :mackdaddy:

« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2009, 09:56:15 AM »
HAWK TWO

« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2009, 10:10:18 AM »
Send more.... Haitian football agents   

« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2009, 03:15:17 PM »

Cosign

« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2009, 04:35:00 PM »
I remember you posting that he American U20 coach said that your reggaeboyz would be the most dangerous team and then he went right ahead and rest 3 of the best on you. You never recovered. Why allyuh does bite at bait so? I have never met a people who does get mamaguy straight in they face and they does take it as gospel. I can call it many names but simple-minded would be sufficient.

Offline vale

« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2009, 05:29:11 PM »
It would be nice for a Caribbean Team to win this cup for a change

« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2009, 05:41:55 PM »
I really believe jamaica could win, what so hard bout that! and one yr panama alsomst did?

remember JA doh ramp like trini does ! dem ppl is real patriotic folks, while we love tuh forkin show off on we ppl, them men doh lose in they yard/ office and they already beat mexico and honduras already , i believe only USA may stand in their way, but i wouldn't be suprise if they did! so forkin what!!! allyuh stop hating!

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2009, 03:49:10 AM »
I remember you posting that he American U20 coach said that your reggaeboyz would be the most dangerous team and then he went right ahead and rest 3 of the best on you. You never recovered. Why allyuh does bite at bait so? I have never met a people who does get mamaguy straight in they face and they does take it as gospel. I can call it many names but simple-minded would be sufficient.

Matter of Fact, I agree 100% with what Trujillo said....and most Jamaicans would perhaps share that view...

Regarding Jamaica's under-20's...the least said about them the better.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2009, 03:50:01 AM »

But before you win it....you must qualify for it. :mackdaddy:

« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2009, 04:22:07 AM »
Haiti is known for Vodoo, you never know....

Send more RF....

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2009, 10:10:42 AM »

But before you win it....you must qualify for it. :mackdaddy:
RF, Trinidad could indeed qualify  ::) and win the World Cup.  :praying:

Not Tobago. 8) :violin:
Jamaica winning the Gold Cup :thinking: Quite a  :challenge: But we will see starting July 4th, on Fox Soccer Channel Jamaica.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2009, 10:15:31 AM by jamaica2099 »
jjbrown

« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2009, 10:21:09 AM »
Jamaica cant even qualify for de HEX they go win de Gold Cup....

Send more Foreign Born...

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2009, 10:33:47 AM »
Jamaica cant even qualify for de HEX they go win de Gold Cup....

Send more Foreign Born...
What!!!!!  ??? ??? With 3 matches played and T&T at the bottom of the table.

I was expecting to hear "but T&T in the HEX" :rotfl: :rotfl:
jjbrown

« Reply #15 on: May 02, 2009, 11:28:52 AM »
HAWK TWO

« Reply #16 on: May 02, 2009, 01:37:47 PM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: good one Reggae-fan

« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2009, 10:45:15 PM »
Well if Jam win Gold Cup don't forget to rock this !!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JfFXKxSFmOo&feature=related