April 28, 2024, 10:31:46 PM

Author Topic: 'Borough Day' cops scared of US feters  (Read 1494 times)

'Borough Day' cops scared of US feters
« on: May 01, 2009, 03:45:44 PM »
Borough Day' cops scared of US feters

Nikita Braxton South Bureau

Friday, May 1st 2009

POLICE assigned to cover the Point Fortin Borough festivities this weekend are concerned that hundreds of returning residents, coming mostly from New York, USA, may be harbouring the deadly swine flu.

Assistant Commissioner of Police Fitzroy Frederick said he was waiting on a directive from the County medical officer of health.

As of noon yesterday, Frederick said, "We have not been alerted. There have, so far, been no threat and we are working with that."

Police from stations in the South Western Division are reassigned each year to provide security at the annual Point Fortin Borough week fete, which culminates this weekend with a jouvert jump-up. Frederick said the police had not received the masks that are being worn by millions in flu-infected countries, but if there was an alert, the gear would be given to police officers.

Re: 'Borough Day' cops scared of US feters
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2009, 05:48:16 PM »
I never realise so much ah point ppl does go home jus fuh dat

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2009, 06:33:54 PM »
pointman dun book he ticket ahready. ;D

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2009, 11:39:03 AM »
point ppl does real big up that fete...had a time i meet a fella on a basketball court in puerto rico and he was telling me that somebody tell he that borough's day (sic) was even bigger than carnival... kicksy too bad oui.

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2009, 02:44:30 PM »

Plenty ah dem does opt fuh dat instead ah Carnival.

« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2009, 04:32:40 PM »

Plenty ah dem does opt fuh dat instead ah Carnival.

Exactly

« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2009, 08:19:49 AM »
I remember the year I was leaving TnT I make sure to hit Borough day.

And I not even from Point

Big event for sure.