March 28, 2024, 09:39:19 AM

Author Topic: Player from U.S. 4th division to sign with Everton  (Read 4319 times)

Player from U.S. 4th division to sign with Everton
« on: May 02, 2009, 06:31:31 AM »
Toffees land US starlet

Everton have completed a deal for American midfielder Anton Peterlin.

The 22-year-old has been on trial at Goodison Park and has done enough to earn a permanent deal with The Toffees.

Peterlin currently plies his trade for Californian-based Ventura County Fusion - who play in the fourth tier of American football.

(continue)

Re: Player from U.S. 4th division to sign with Everton
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2009, 06:32:23 AM »
A life-changing trip

There were plenty of signs that Anton Peterlin had arrived at a Mecca of the game.

Like the soccer-mad taxi driver who gave him a tour of Liverpool, regaling him with stories of one of the greatest intracity rivalries in world sport.

Like the 40,000 singing supporters who piled into 117-year-old Goodison Park on Sunday afternoon for the F.A. Cup quarterfinal win over Middlesbrough. And then there was the parking lot at Finch Farm, Everton Football Club’s sparkling new training facility, which was chocked full of Range Rovers, Bentleys and Audi R8s.

(continue)

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2009, 07:25:54 AM »
Outstanding ....

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2009, 03:29:53 AM »
The improbable case of Anton Peterlin

You know the script all too well. American soccer player with foreign roots gets a chance of a lifetime and signs with a big English club. It is the basic premise behind the movie "Goal", but it is also the story of California native Anton Peterlin.

A defensive midfielder at Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo last fall, Peterlin scored a dream opportunity to train with English club Everton this spring and made the most of it, impressing Everton manager David Moyes enough to earn a contract offer he will sign this summer.

(continue)

Offline Israel

« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2009, 10:37:19 AM »
I'm guessing he doesnt have caps since he plays in the 4th Division....so how he got a work permit?
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2009, 10:40:44 AM »
I'm guessing he doesnt have caps since he plays in the 4th Division....so how he got a work permit?

steups yuh even bother reading the links?

his Danish passport meant signing wouldn't be a problem.

Offline Israel

« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2009, 10:41:42 AM »
tanx
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2009, 03:17:49 AM »
Yep, Danish mother.

« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2009, 06:46:59 AM »
How could a 22 year old player, who Everton clearly thinks is good enough to play in the Prem, only be playing in the 4th tier of US football? I can only just imagine how many players fall through the cracks.

« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2009, 07:05:19 AM »
Great story if it works out for him, but... how does a relative nobody even get a trial at Everton of all places?

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2009, 09:51:15 AM »
As we all know, there are quality players all over the place. In the same breath your hops bread might be my sweat bread
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2009, 03:36:10 AM »
How could a 22 year old player, who Everton clearly thinks is good enough to play in the Prem, only be playing in the 4th tier of US football? I can only just imagine how many players fall through the cracks.

Everton thinks he might be good enough to play in the Prem.

They're taking a chance on a player but have little to lose. If he turns out to be Premiership quality then it's a steal on their part. If he doesn't then they really won't have lost any money at all.

« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2009, 05:40:06 AM »
Didn't a certain 17 year old schoolboy and part time crab catcher get a chance at Aston Villa as well ? It happens.

« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2009, 05:56:25 AM »
Great story if it works out for him, but... how does a relative nobody even get a trial at Everton of all places?

Graham Smith, his coach at the Fusion, is a friend of Everton coach David Moyes. It's explained somewhat in the article of the 2nd post of this thread:

Peterlin earned the tryout with a spectacularly steady season last summer for the Ventura County Fusion, the local entry in the Premier Development League, the fourth tier of American soccer. He was recommended to Everton manager David Moyes by Fusion coach Graham Smith.

« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2009, 08:18:28 PM »
Didn't a certain 17 year old schoolboy and part time crab catcher get a chance at Aston Villa as well ? It happens.

Cosignnnnnnnnnnnnn

« Reply #15 on: May 20, 2009, 01:51:30 PM »
Peterlin talks about 'miracle' move

Newly signed Everton midfielder Anton Peterlin is living the dream of any young soccer professional, having made the astounding jump from the PDL to the Premiere League practically overnight.

YA recently caught up with Peterlin and his coach at the PDL's Ventura county Fusion, Graham Smith, to hear get the full story of what Peterlin himself called a 'miracle' move.

Peterlin explained that Smith, a well connected veteran of the EPL, was central to setting up a trial with the Toffees.

(continue)

« Reply #16 on: May 20, 2009, 02:00:09 PM »

He was an international player though. And he was discovered when he played against Villa. If that friendly had never happened, how different everythign would have been. We might still be trying to make a World Cup...or then again, he mighta stay here and give his all to the country and end up leading us to the World Cup in 94, onetime.

« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2009, 06:45:31 AM »
Everton FC signing Anton Peterlin is living the American dream

Hot news for frustrated Everton fans eagerly awaiting the Blues’ first signing of the summer. They’ve already made one! American midfielder Anton Peterlin flew into Merseyside this week to put pen to paper on a one year deal – two months after the Echo reported his signing following a 10-day trial.

And he’s both excited and thrilled by his big chance.

"I'm not sure how often such miracles happen, but I will not squander this opportunity," he declared.

Goodison was still gripped with FA Cup fever when the 22-year-old’s capture from Ventura County Fusion was announced – and largely overlooked.

(continue)

« Reply #18 on: July 06, 2009, 07:10:47 AM »
Goal 4 - Let's do it all again

« Reply #19 on: July 06, 2009, 07:00:07 PM »

That part time crab catcher was playing international football and was one goal away from the WC.

Big Big Big difference.

« Reply #20 on: July 10, 2009, 08:46:01 AM »
here's the kicker in the deal

Everton are set to sign Anton Peterlin from lower-league US side Ventura County Fusion. It seems an odd one as the 22-year-old has never played above USDL level and has no pedigree with the national team, although he has an EU passport and is available on a free.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #21 on: July 10, 2009, 10:03:37 AM »
Yep, Danish mother.
NO, danish father

« Reply #22 on: July 10, 2009, 10:04:56 AM »

He was an international player though. And he was discovered when he played against Villa. If that friendly had never happened, how different everythign would have been. We might still be trying to make a World Cup...or then again, he mighta stay here and give his all to the country and end up leading us to the World Cup in 94, onetime.

Horse the man gave his all for the country, got injured against jamaica and didn't hear from the ttff. That's what made him lock orf t&t football in the first place

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #23 on: July 10, 2009, 10:08:06 AM »
crab catcher went hengland and catch even more "crabs" even when the moon wasn't full.  :rotfl:
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #24 on: July 10, 2009, 02:11:28 PM »
Everton needs players on the bench for the reserves too you know.