March 28, 2024, 01:13:57 PM

Author Topic: UEFA CL 2L - Chelsea FC v FC Barcelona • 06 May 09  (Read 51183 times)

Re: UEFA CL 2L - Chelsea FC v FC Barcelona • 06 May 09
« Reply #240 on: May 06, 2009, 04:39:10 PM »
ballack more look like he was defending kobe.

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #241 on: May 06, 2009, 04:43:04 PM »

« Reply #242 on: May 06, 2009, 04:47:02 PM »

« Reply #243 on: May 06, 2009, 04:49:32 PM »
Anybody notice as Pep was tryin tuh celebrate the goal it look like Silvinho was reminding him about the time and makin subs?

« Reply #244 on: May 06, 2009, 04:55:04 PM »
Echoing a chelski player, "its a f**king disgrace" Platini is happy though! >:(

« Reply #245 on: May 06, 2009, 04:55:25 PM »
The worst piece ah reffing ah see in a long time. Hard luck Chelsea...looks like the men in RED will have to show you how the EPL does it. :beermug:

« Reply #246 on: May 06, 2009, 05:01:11 PM »

RATED R
u can hear drogba curse

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/I9h9AFTiHWo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/I9h9AFTiHWo</a>

« Reply #247 on: May 06, 2009, 05:01:30 PM »
have to agree with optimus ah bit . chelsea have the advantage over the 2 legs ah will  openly admit that. all that said we go take ah dive 4 drogba in the finals

ALlyuh does kill me yes.

« Reply #248 on: May 06, 2009, 05:03:47 PM »
as ah neutral man...

neutral? diaz some new flu a what? look Mango ketch it too....

« Reply #249 on: May 06, 2009, 05:07:57 PM »
Barca played their worst game of the season and had a bit of luck.  but ah go take it  one shot on target one goal. it was all we needed

i disagree. they met the first quality team of the season.

« Reply #250 on: May 06, 2009, 05:09:21 PM »
-No Puyol
-No Henry
-10 men for the last 30 minutes
-0-1 down after Chelsea's first meaningful possession
-Yaya playing in central defense for the first time in the 2nd leg of Champion's League sf on the road
-Starting a 20 year old who was making 35,000 Euros at the start of this season. (OK dem last 2 was for Sammy  :devil:)

With all that should anyone be surprised that Chelsea made Barca sweat today? They looked dangerous on the counter. That said, they fully deserved to get knocked out. They did make the better chances over the 90+minutes, but that was mostly from their tried and (not so) true strategy of putting 10 men behind the ball  and launching dangerous counters. I think for about 15 minutes after Essien scored, they actually outplayed Barca. Otherwise, Chelsea was pretty much a talented version of Greece at Euro 2004. Also, over the 180 minutes I remember Cech having to do a lot more than Valdez (after all the talk of Chelsea resolute defending in the 1st leg, Cech still had to save 3 one-on-ones and watch Bojan scoop a header in the 6 yard box over the bar, plus a handful of very competent saves). So whereas, Chelsea was excellent at neutralizing Barca and was very effective at making them uncomfortable on the break, I truly believe that Chelsea was a little too negative. Barca has a mf in central defense and Anelka didn't move from the right until Drogba came off. Only then did Anelka come alive. I believe he and Drogba woulda have been too much for that Barca defense to handle.

Yeah, Pique handball shoulda be a penalty, but say wha', Ballack shoulda get sent off in the 1st leg. You ride yuh luck when yuh get it.

But seriously..no matter how effective your tactics are, how you go let a side come in your back yard and have 71% of the possession? And funnliy enough the tide started to turn when Barca went down to 10 men. All of a sudden Dani Alves was free as a bird on the right to bring in cross after cross. Doh mind he cross like real toots. Messi actually got into game and started to probe the Chelsea defense. And that led to Iniesta's goal. All because Chelsea didn't change a thing when they went a man up. Sometimes fortune does favor the brave.

So lemme hear the fellas who say Barca can play only one formation, 4-3-3.
Lemme hear de Victor Valdez haters. Drogba go dream about him for a long time.

Great week to be a Barca fan. Treble still on!

« Reply #251 on: May 06, 2009, 05:15:27 PM »

Yeah, Pique handball shoulda be a penalty, but say wha', Ballack shoulda get sent off in the 1st leg. You ride yuh luck when yuh get it.

Not to mention, when they drag down Henry in the box in the first leg.

Iniesta's late heartbreaker

en-man Barcelona robbed Chelsea of a place in the Champions League final in the cruellest of fashions with a 93rd-minute away goal at Stamford Bridge.

A stunning first-half volley from Michael Essien looked to have earned Chelsea victory and set up a repeat of last year's Champions League final against Manchester United.

But Andres Iniesta beat Petr Cech in the third minute of added time to send the Spanish bench and their fans delirious and leave Guus Hiddink crestfallen.

At the final whistle, Chelsea's players confronted referee Tom Ovrebo, who had waved away at least four penalty appeals during the game.

The scenes descended into anger when Drogba emerged from the tunnel to confront the Norwegian official and was shown a yellow card.

Ovrebo had a poor game and was marshalled down to the tunnel by Chelsea stewards as Drogba continued to complain about his performance.

The Ivorian then vented his fury by shouting "it's a f***ing disgrace'' down the lens of a TV camera, and the fall-out from Drogba's behaviour may yet be met by a UEFA investigation.

It had all looked so promising for Chelsea when Essien, who missed six months of the season while he recovered from a serious knee ligament injury, despatched a 20-yard volley beyond the despairing Victor Valdes.

Chelsea's collective desire to reach the final once more was epitomised in the way they took the fire out of Barcelona's early football.

The Catalans, missing their two first-choice centre-backs through injury and suspension, played some neat, fast and accurate football in the first 20 minutes.

It was a perfect example of the beautiful game mastered by coach Pep Guardiola but it lacked the cutting edge in the absence of the injured Thierry Henry.

The Barca attack has shared more than 90 goals between them this season but Chelsea managed to prevent them scoring in 180 minutes of high-tempo football.

That Chelsea scored with their first real attack of the game would have left the Barca coach bitterly disappointed.

Frank Lampard's attempted cross cannoned off Yaya Toure and Essien despatched his volley into the net via the underside of the crossbar.

It sparked Chelsea into life and, for the remainder of the opening half, they bossed the game.

Lampard almost put Drogba through in the 22nd minute but Valdes managed to beat the Ivorian to the ball on the edge of the penalty area.

Barca were rocking now and a catalogue of fouls by Dani Alves was finally punished with a yellow card when he brought down Ashley Cole. It meant the full-back was out of the final.

But Ovrebo waved away penalty appeals from Chelsea when Drogba, a colossus in attack all night, was brought down by Eric Abidal.

The second half promised more drama and it did not disappoint. Drogba missed a gilt-edged chance when Florent Malouda and Anelka put the Ivorian clear in the 52nd minute.

Somehow, Valdes got a foot to his shot to keep Barca's hopes alive.

But the Catalans were in deep trouble in the 65th minute when Abidal brought down the free-running Anelka and, as the last defender, was shown the red card.

Chelsea continued to take the initiative as Barca were reduced to long-range shots.

In the 70th minute, Valdes saved Guardiola's side again when a Lampard shot took a wicked deflection.

But two minutes later Drogba was replaced by Juliano Belletti, much to the crowd's surprise and the Ivorian's clear disapproval.

As the clock ran down, Chelsea continued to pour forward in search of a decisive second to calm the nerves but, although they had made Barcelona look very ordinary, there was a sting in the tail.

Chelsea's heroes had fought for every ball as if their lives depended on it but they allowed Iniesta too much room and, when he beat Cech from 20 yards in the 93rd minute, chaos descended on Stamford Bridge.

But there was still time for more drama when Michael Ballack's goalbound effort seemed to hit a defender's arm only for Ovrebo to wave away more appeals.

Ballack was shown the yellow card for protesting and, when the final whistle sounded, Barca celebrated in unbridled fashion while Chelsea's players began their attacks on Ovrebo.

It was an unsavoury end to Chelsea's European campaign that may yet have further repercussions for the English side.

« Reply #252 on: May 06, 2009, 05:21:25 PM »

People don't waste time making those animations do they?

« Reply #253 on: May 06, 2009, 05:28:24 PM »
Interesting conspiracy on every football website and forum :

Referee and UEFA on the same wave length to avoid another EPL clash in the CL Final?

It sure looked so but UEFA arent that f**king stupid...they are pretty stupid but not that dumb...

It would suck to be a rent boy now but it's done

Onto a great final...May the best team win...Oh I like the way everyone will be expecting a Barca win... we like to prove people wrong..the situation suits us well..

Cant wait for Fergie to hit Pep with a mind game...YOUR JUST A SKINNY SPANISH WAITER! lol

« Reply #254 on: May 06, 2009, 05:29:09 PM »
them fellas blue boy. ;D

« Reply #255 on: May 06, 2009, 05:32:44 PM »
actually  i think manu are the favourites. barca still doesnt know who will play in their defense.

« Reply #256 on: May 06, 2009, 05:35:06 PM »

Referee and UEFA on the same wave length to avoid another EPL clash in the CL Final?

It sure looked so but UEFA arent that f**king stupid...they are pretty stupid but not that dumb...

Onto a great final...May the best team win...Oh I like the way everyone will be expecting a Barca win... we like to prove people wrong..the situation suits us well..

Cant wait for Fergie to hit Pep with a mind game...YOUR JUST A SKINNY SPANISH WAITER! lol

No left back, no right back and no central midfielder and we have Vidic to neutralize the messi!

Better for United!

« Reply #257 on: May 06, 2009, 05:38:06 PM »
i keep saying this. no one man in the world can mark messi. it takes 3. seriously it does. barca fan or not  chelsea  tried their best to get atleast 2 players close to him at all times

« Reply #258 on: May 06, 2009, 05:41:46 PM »

steups

Boy, nobody on ManU right now.

« Reply #259 on: May 06, 2009, 05:42:12 PM »
Another Chelski CL game where Drogba's will be most remembered for losing his head!

« Reply #260 on: May 06, 2009, 05:43:59 PM »

Dat is the most active I have seen Ballack in a Chelski uniform, man actually buss a sweat!

« Reply #261 on: May 06, 2009, 05:51:03 PM »

Small Mag if that is the case why send off a Barca player?? The ref was just poor all game very inconsistent. As a matter of fact I have been harping about the referees this entire season, about the referees deciding games.

On another note anyone notice Essien could have cleared the ball but he paniced, voop, and gave Messi a nice pass to set up the goal.

« Reply #262 on: May 06, 2009, 05:51:50 PM »

Dat is the most active I have seen Ballack in a Chelski uniform, man actually buss a sweat!

lol :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #263 on: May 06, 2009, 06:01:44 PM »
i keep saying this. no one man in the world can mark messi. it takes 3. seriously it does. barca fan or not  chelsea  tried their best to get atleast 2 players close to him at all times

I counted 3 on most possessions that he had and he was still not hustled off the ball.  Barca had to make alot of adjustments w/notable absences and though they had most of the possession, being pegged back early by Essien's beautiful strike and Chelsea being able to sit back and soak up their attacks lead to practically nothing in the final 1/3, coupled w/the fact that Alves truly looked like Evans Wise as someone pointed out earlier.  That said, big teams find ways to do it, tough luck on the no calls but as pointed out earlier as well the same can be said about the 1st leg, all roads lead to Rome, looking forward to an exciting final.

PS:  Curious to see who will slot in the RB and LB positions

« Reply #264 on: May 06, 2009, 06:06:10 PM »

Small Mag if that is the case why send off a Barca player?? The ref was just poor all game very inconsistent. As a matter of fact I have been harping about the referees this entire season, about the referees deciding games.

On another note anyone notice Essien could have cleared the ball but he paniced, voop, and gave Messi a nice pass to set up the goal.

I didnt make it up...i'm just saying it is a question being asked on every forum and website..it was even asked to Guus after the game

The ref was horrible...

Jamie Redknapp on the sky after show asked a brilliant question

The ref is from Norway...what game in Norway can compare to the massive nature of a CL Semi Final...he wants to know how UEFA could pick a guy who is not accustomed to these games...he was the ref for United vs Roma last season..we were up 2-0 on aggregate after winning in Rome( we know what it's like to win there  ;) ) and at Old Trafford he gave Roma a absolute bullshit penalty and thankfully De Rossi missed it

but maybe a top Ref from Italy could have done the game today? I'm just glad we didnt have that guy yesterday..Even though the ref made a mistake in sending off Fletch I would take him over that egg head anyday...

That egghead is gonna have at least 50 death threats by the time he reaches home... at least 22 from Drogba and 7 from Ballack

« Reply #265 on: May 06, 2009, 06:18:33 PM »
outside of the pique handball and the abidal redcard. i really didnt see the ref doing anything really wrong, that said that was 2 very cruical errors.

« Reply #266 on: May 06, 2009, 06:22:51 PM »

I didnt make it up...i'm just saying it is a question being asked on every forum and website..it was even asked to Guus after the game

The ref was horrible...

Jamie Redknapp on the sky after show asked a brilliant question

The ref is from Norway...what game in Norway can compare to the massive nature of a CL Semi Final...he wants to know how UEFA could pick a guy who is not accustomed to these games...he was the ref for United vs Roma last season..we were up 2-0 on aggregate after winning in Rome( we know what it's like to win there  ;) ) and at Old Trafford he gave Roma a absolute bullshit penalty and thankfully De Rossi missed it

but maybe a top Ref from Italy could have done the game today? I'm just glad we didnt have that guy yesterday..Even though the ref made a mistake in sending off Fletch I would take him over that egg head anyday...

That egghead is gonna have at least 50 death threats by the time he reaches home... at least 22 from Drogba and 7 from Ballack

When people say the same thing about the Trini ref who fuc*#ed up in the Spain vs Korea game in 2002. People from T&T lost their mind. How can you have refs from Surinam, T&T, St Vincent, Tunisia referee a World Cup game??

Offline Israel

« Reply #267 on: May 06, 2009, 06:38:39 PM »

I counted 3 on most possessions that he had and he was still not hustled off the ball.  Barca had to make alot of adjustments w/notable absences and though they had most of the possession, being pegged back early by Essien's beautiful strike and Chelsea being able to sit back and soak up their attacks lead to practically nothing in the final 1/3, coupled w/the fact that Alves truly looked like Evans Wise as someone pointed out earlier.  That said, big teams find ways to do it, tough luck on the no calls but as pointed out earlier as well the same can be said about the 1st leg, all roads lead to Rome, looking forward to an exciting final.

PS:  Curious to see who will slot in the RB and LB positions

I think Puyol will play RB and Sylvinho the LB...I would prefer Yaya going back in the midfield but I dont think it would be wise to put Caceres as the CB in the final. Busquets or Keita will compliment Iniesta and Xavi and Henry coming back as LF.......I wonder if Fergie is going to use the same strategy he used against us last yr?
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #268 on: May 06, 2009, 06:39:59 PM »

You could talk real shit when you ready. Yuh now post how 'everyone' find the ref and UEFA tief to get Barca in the final. And in the same post you go also write how 'everyone' expects Barca to win. 'everybody' is a schizophrenic or what. ah boy. And add that to an absolute masterclass yesterday to dispatch Arsenal, and ManU is the defending champs, and yuh still trying hard to play underdog. kix yes.

« Reply #269 on: May 06, 2009, 06:47:16 PM »

You could talk real shit when you ready. Yuh now post how 'everyone' find the ref and UEFA tief to get Barca in the final. And in the same post you go also write how 'everyone' expects Barca to win. 'everybody' is a schizophrenic or what. ah boy. And add that to an absolute masterclass yesterday to dispatch Arsenal, and ManU is the defending champs, and yuh still trying hard to play underdog. kix yes.

Barca's win was a f**king disgrace.... 3 clear penalties....not given... that Ref was definitely payed off! Sad day for football, when arguably the supposed best team in the world, with the messi player, have to get the ref to help them win. Echoing the Drogba "It's a f**kING" disgrace!