March 28, 2024, 08:16:03 PM

Author Topic: Fenwick questions Corneal's competence  (Read 11891 times)

Fenwick questions Corneal's competence
« on: May 08, 2009, 11:36:00 PM »
Fenwick questions Corneal's competence.
By: Lasana Liburd (T&T Express).

'TTFF need better youth coaches'

Former England World Cup player and CLICO San Juan Jabloteh technical director, Terry Fenwick, has slammed Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 coach Anton Corneal for his team's performance at the recently-concluded CONCACAF tournament in Mexico and urged the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) to overhaul their youth coaching programme.

The national Under-17 team were beaten 7-0 by hosts Mexico and 3-0 by Costa Rica and Guatemala, respectively, in Tijuana.

Corneal, in a recent television interview, blamed the poor results on the attitude of his players and the fact that he had two years, rather than four, to prepare the squad.

Fenwick, who is a strong candidate for the 2008 Pro League "Coach of the Year" after Jabloteh defended their League crown and picked up the Toyota Classic and Lucozade Big Six titles, suggested that Corneal should accept responsibility and be made to account for his team's embarrassing returns.

"It is quite clear that the head coach and his assistant (Ma Pau coach Michael McComie) were out of their depth," said Fenwick. "He was very public with his confidence in the team before the tournament but he has done a complete U-turn and it is not his fault but the players' since then...

"It is the coach's job to create a structure that enables the players to use their talents effectively to ensure the team is successful Sometimes you are playing teams who are better than you and you have to pull yourself together and make your team hard to beat.

"How often do you see a 7-0 result in international football? That tells me his team wasn't very well-organised and I think that comes down to competence."

Corneal took Trinidad and Tobago to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup two years ago, while Zoran Vranes successfully steered his teenaged squad to the Egypt 2009 Under-20 World Cup. But Fenwick is unconvinced that successive World Cup berths reflected the quality of either coach.

The former Tottenham captain pointed out that the Under-20 and Under-17 squads both lost more qualifying matches than they won.

The successful 2007 Under-17 crop won two matches, lost two and qualified with a minus-three goal differential, while Vranes' under-20 team won one match, drew one and lost two.

Fenwick suggested the influence of FIFA vice-president Jack Warner was more instrumental than the direction of the respective youth coaches.

"At present, we are qualifying for tournaments by coming fourth or fifth from eight teams," said Fenwick. "But when we get there, we are not competitive. We have the players to be much better than that but we won't be once our coaching remains as poor as it is.

"In Trinidad, it is unprecedented the amount of time (national) coaches get with their teams but clearly they are not using it properly. Corneal has not coached at any recognisable level other than the national team. How has he got that job and how is he able to keep it with such shocking results?"

Fenwick might be skeptical of the present national youth team coaches but he insisted that there are promising coaches within the local fraternity who deserve a chance.

He declared that Angus Eve, Anthony Streete, Ross Russell, Clint Marcelle, Reynold Carrington, Clayton Morris, Bertille St Clair and Gally Cummings were all better than the TTFF's present youth coaches.

"Grassroots coaches must be doing something right when you look at some of the young talent," said Fenwick. "It's the national coaches who are continually laying blame on others when they fall short.

"They had two years with that team and the bottom line is they were found wanting."
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 07:24:19 AM by Flex »

Re: TTFF Need Better Youth Coaches
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2009, 11:41:02 PM »
Lasana Liburd
Saturday, May 9th 2009

A question of competence: Terry Fenwick

Former England World Cup player and CLICO San Juan Jabloteh technical director, Terry Fenwick, has slammed Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 coach Anton Corneal for his team's performance at the recently-concluded CONCACAF tournament in Mexico and urged the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) to overhaul their youth coaching programme.

The national Under-17 team were beaten 7-0 by hosts Mexico and 3-0 by Costa Rica and Guatemala, respectively, in Tijuana.

Corneal, in a recent television interview, blamed the poor results on the attitude of his players and the fact that he had two years, rather than four, to prepare the squad.

Fenwick, who is a strong candidate for the 2008 Pro League "Coach of the Year" after Jabloteh defended their League crown and picked up the Toyota Classic and Lucozade Big Six titles, suggested that Corneal should accept responsibility and be made to account for his team's embarrassing returns.

"It is quite clear that the head coach and his assistant (Ma Pau coach Michael McComie) were out of their depth," said Fenwick. "He was very public with his confidence in the team before the tournament but he has done a complete U-turn and it is not his fault but the players' since then...

"It is the coach's job to create a structure that enables the players to use their talents effectively to ensure the team is successful Sometimes you are playing teams who are better than you and you have to pull yourself together and make your team hard to beat.

"How often do you see a 7-0 result in international football? That tells me his team wasn't very well-organised and I think that comes down to competence."

Corneal took Trinidad and Tobago to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup two years ago, while Zoran Vranes successfully steered his teenaged squad to the Egypt 2009 Under-20 World Cup. But Fenwick is unconvinced that successive World Cup berths reflected the quality of either coach.

The former Tottenham captain pointed out that the Under-20 and Under-17 squads both lost more qualifying matches than they won.

The successful 2007 Under-17 crop won two matches, lost two and qualified with a minus-three goal differential, while Vranes' under-20 team won one match, drew one and lost two.

Fenwick suggested the influence of FIFA vice-president Jack Warner was more instrumental than the direction of the respective youth coaches.

"At present, we are qualifying for tournaments by coming fourth or fifth from eight teams," said Fenwick. "But when we get there, we are not competitive. We have the players to be much better than that but we won't be once our coaching remains as poor as it is.

"In Trinidad, it is unprecedented the amount of time (national) coaches get with their teams but clearly they are not using it properly. Corneal has not coached at any recognisable level other than the national team. How has he got that job and how is he able to keep it with such shocking results?"

Fenwick might be skeptical of the present national youth team coaches but he insisted that there are promising coaches within the local fraternity who deserve a chance.

He declared that Angus Eve, Anthony Streete, Ross Russell, Clint Marcelle, Reynold Carrington, Clayton Morris, Bertille St Clair and Gally Cummings were all better than the TTFF's present youth coaches.

"Grassroots coaches must be doing something right when you look at some of the young talent," said Fenwick. "It's the national coaches who are continually laying blame on others when they fall short.

"They had two years with that team and the bottom line is they were found wanting."

well, well, well. i am beginning to like fenwick more and more. cornbread said he only had two years to coach d u17s and blames the cutarse on dese players attitudes. could somebody please fire this idiot.

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2009, 11:41:53 PM »
Let the choir say Amen?

« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2009, 11:44:50 PM »
Let the choir say Amen?

Cosign

So instead ah d swine flu dey pick up a bad attitute in Mexico because dey had 2 have no attitude problem prior 2 leaving. Because if dey cyah behave in TNT y dey go behave in Mexico

« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2009, 11:47:00 PM »

Dear Editor:

I am sceptical about the use of 'skeptical' in the Trinidad Express.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2009, 11:49:38 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2009, 12:08:59 AM »

Dear Editor:

So you are a sceptic skeptic ?

One is the English version and the other the US in word spell check. It's ok as long as you don't go Septic on us

« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2009, 12:17:24 AM »
Lasana Liburd
Saturday, May 9th 2009

A question of competence: Terry Fenwick

well, well, well. i am beginning to like fenwick more and more. cornbread said he only had two years to coach d u17s and blames the cutarse on dese players attitudes. could somebody please fire this idiot.

Fenwick talking a pack ah arse!  Corneal is right.  These players were given a sturdy platform to develop themselves, but instead, They played the fool!!  They didn't deserve to have qualified for Nigeria.
Before dat, it was the SSFL fault.  Ent, Mr. Corneal?
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 12:19:05 AM by Mango Chow! »

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2009, 12:49:13 AM »
lol like i said it was all wim last time

« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2009, 12:55:45 AM »

Dear Editor:

One is the English version and the other the US in word spell check. It's ok as long as you don't go Septic on us

Should I be surprised you missed the point?

« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2009, 06:22:19 AM »
That is why he is not liked in T&T. He speaks about mediocrity and excuse making and the cockroaches gone running and hiding only to regroup later and bad talk him. I will bet anything that people like Coops and his ilk will find the man talking shit. In T&T excellence is hardly ever rewarded but mediocrity is king. All hail king Corneal, Maturana, prince Mc comie and Emperor Jack.

« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2009, 06:25:47 AM »
why do men feel the need to quote the whole article???

« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2009, 06:49:43 AM »
Fenwick is right look you have britto and cato going to portsmouth the problem  is coaching and prep .. Question is will corneal be fired or will he keep his job ... Do we have an under 15 team now btw or has screeing started ? weary1969 can you say?
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 09:08:05 AM by Trini _2010 »

Re: Fenwick questions Corneal's competence
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2009, 07:38:38 AM »
like ive always said, cornmeal cant select a team nor coach it, hes a waste of time

Offline PIMP

« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2009, 07:57:41 AM »
Corneal is a waste of time....always making some excuse....
Two years is more than enough time to make a team competitive at least....
What a quack!!! Now blaming the players after saying, ' WE ARE READY!'

>:( >:(

« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2009, 08:04:30 AM »
Corneal is a waste of time....always making some excuse....
Two years is more than enough time to make a team competitive at least....
What a quack!!! Now blaming the players after saying, ' WE ARE READY!'

>:( >:(

also he stated that his team has been training 4 days a week for the past year ...

« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2009, 08:13:53 AM »
People i don't really care for Fenwick who like him or not....or  if he take over the U17 or not...but what he had to say about cormeal...is true....he SUCK...yet still the TTFF still sticking with this guy to run our youth program...Jack and the rest of TTFF really fell and bump dey head...yes

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2009, 08:24:34 AM »
give Fenwick the job... :whistling:

« Reply #17 on: May 09, 2009, 08:30:13 AM »
I can understand Corneal saying there was a lack of effort or the team didn't play to its potential but to say they had a bad attitude only turns the mirror on himself. At what point did they develop this attitude? At what point did he as coach notice it? and at what point did he try to rectify that attitude?

« Reply #18 on: May 09, 2009, 09:02:31 AM »
I did not read where Corneal blamed the preparation time or the player's attitude for the horrible display in Mexico. But if true it just goes to show what a punk he is. And I will include his family in this as well. This man and his family are a blight to T&T on a whole and to football in particular. I hope we never hear from them again on the national scene.

« Reply #19 on: May 09, 2009, 09:03:04 AM »
I totally agree with Fenwick on his views here,it's the socond article by him that i like because he is very straight forward and not mincing words.

Having said that anyone can see this is a desperate man looking for a job,his heart is in T&T and wants to stay here.(it's an application)  

« Reply #20 on: May 09, 2009, 09:19:43 AM »
I totally agree with Fenwick on his views here,it's the socond article by him that i like because he is very straight forward and not mincing words.

Having said that anyone can see this is a desperate man looking for a job,his heart is in T&T and wants to stay here.(it's an application)  

And coops, a dam good application at that. Imagine he dying to coach T&T and at the same time letting them know coaches in England dont last long with that type of results, so in order words, give Fenwick the job and a time and see what happens, not a bad request. He have the right attitude and he is very organised and will make a HUGH difference if Fenwick coaches T&T, I say give him a chance.

But after this article, I doubt the TTFF will even consider Fenwick as they dont like to hear the truth.

Michael McComie is a joke and Alvin Corneal needs to go back to school, one minute de under 17 team real good, de next they no good. 13 goals scored on them and they socre zero. Teams still getting 7-0... nah....

By the way Lasana, Ross Russell when with de under 17 team in Mexico.

Allyuh, Corneal know something about Jack Warner personally this is why Anton will never get fired.

« Reply #21 on: May 09, 2009, 09:55:28 AM »

Dear Editor:

Should I be surprised you missed the point?

Trinidad need to break loose of the colonial shackles... 'skeptical' has wider global currency.

As for the article... as much a supporter I am of Fenwick I think he needs to better pick and choose his battles.  He runs the risk of coming off as a naysayer constantly waiting in the wings to second-guess anything the local coaching contingency does.  There's a lot to be said for frankness, but so too for diplomacy... not everything needs to be said in the press.  His coziness with Liburd makes it that much more troubling.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 09:57:55 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #22 on: May 09, 2009, 09:57:58 AM »
And Fenwick knows he could get better results?  and Fenwick is  positioning for a job? therefore he has to endorse the current mediocrity as he sees it.

« Reply #23 on: May 09, 2009, 10:11:46 AM »

And coops, a dam good application at that. Imagine he dying to coach T&T and at the same time letting them know coaches in England dont last long with that type of results, so in order words, give Fenwick the job and a time and see what happens, not a bad request. He have the right attitude and he is very organised and will make a HUGH difference if Fenwick coaches T&T, I say give him a chance.

But after this article, I doubt the TTFF will even consider Fenwick as they dont like to hear the truth.

Michael McComie is a joke and Alvin Corneal needs to go back to school, one minute de under 17 team real good, de next they no good. 13 goals scored on them and they socre zero. Teams still getting 7-0... nah....

By the way Lasana, Ross Russell when with de under 17 team in Mexico.

Allyuh, Corneal know something about Jack Warner personally this is why Anton will never get fired.

ANTON..OR Alvin??? Although yuh might be onto something here, because anybody ELSE notice how QUIET Corneal SENIOR is...NOT A PEEP from him about the Under-17's dismal performance!!! Otherwise I too would like to see Terry be given a National Team job...it's a win-win for the TTFF because he will either succeed or if he does fail they can always say they did give him a shot and put that one to rest! We will have Olympic Qualifiers coming up from 2010 I believe....

« Reply #24 on: May 09, 2009, 10:14:53 AM »
Wow kids in trinidad real outa hand... Cornmeal could not contain dem 16 year old???

« Reply #25 on: May 09, 2009, 10:15:02 AM »
I do not like when coaches indulge in these types of discussions. How would he feel if another coach turn around and say "how could you be leading 5-2 in a CONCACAF CL versus Chicago Fire and blow the return game 4-0"

« Reply #26 on: May 09, 2009, 10:21:47 AM »
everybody's comment and questions about this particular article and the individuals involved is interesting and profound. i have to wonder myself just maybe cornbread doing this job for free, maybe cornbread knows how pinky and brain cook d books, dey still owe them fellas millions of dollars. i don't think fenwick will get the job of coaching the u17s or u20s for that matter, i don't know if he wants that job, because of the rift he and maccomeer had and as we all know maccomeer is the brains boy. stay tuned, dis is not over yet. you really have to wonder what is fenwick's angle.

« Reply #27 on: May 09, 2009, 10:23:38 AM »
I do not like when coaches indulge in these types of discussions. How would he feel if another coach turn around and say "how could you be leading 5-2 in a CONCACAF CL versus Chicago Fire and blow the return game 4-0"

I am sure he wont feel badly since it was Ricky that had control of that team. But on the real note discussions like these are the things needed for improvement in any and all facets of society. A person should be held publicly accountable for publicly held positions. All criticism is fair. The louder the better.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 10:25:16 AM by sub1 »

« Reply #28 on: May 09, 2009, 10:43:03 AM »
go fenwich. give him some mouth cutarse.  im surprise corneal not fired

Offline Peter

« Reply #29 on: May 09, 2009, 10:45:55 AM »
That is why he is not liked in T&T. He speaks about mediocrity and excuse making and the cockroaches gone running and hiding only to regroup later and bad talk him. I will bet anything that people like Coops and his ilk will find the man talking shit. In T&T excellence is hardly ever rewarded but mediocrity is king. All hail king Corneal, Maturana, prince Mc comie and Emperor Jack.

COSIGN!! You've stated my words there sub, mediocrity and haphazardness is the name of the game here. Simply, Corneal and others doing shit and getting away with it & too cowardly to admit their errors- imagine they blaming the kids now!! That's just friggin low.

I like Terry Fenwick even more now. He isn't a timid Trini, and isn't accustomed to all the sh*t that goes on here, so he must speak strongly against it. Too bad we don't have much trini people who can do that, a man have to come from the UK to call out crap that goes on here, and the thing is that trini people so accustomed to and accepting of mediocrity, timidity and shit that they'll want to hold him to fault for this, just like they did to Wim(not like he gave a sh*t anyway, he was probably relieved to get out of this backwater, crapped up-place, just like Beenhackker). This blasted country, it does look hopeless sometimes. We need some more damn honest straight talk like this.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 10:48:54 AM by Peter »