April 19, 2024, 11:43:00 AM

Author Topic: Dwight Yorke warns Tevez and Ronaldo  (Read 4063 times)

Dwight Yorke warns Tevez and Ronaldo
« on: May 12, 2009, 06:53:12 AM »
Dwight Yorke Warns Manchester United Pair: Solksjaer Wasn't Happy On The Bench Either
By Alan Dawson (goal.com)

Cristiano Ronaldo and Carlos Tevez need realise quickly that they are not bigger than the club, and that Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has long known how best to utilise a squad that is as big as it is talented, according to one of the club's former servants, Dwight Yorke.

Both Ronaldo and Tevez were perceived to be fed-up - either with being brought off the field of play when the team were flying high, or left to warm the bench until being utilised as a substitute.

But Yorke has offered wise words of advice to the disgruntled pair.

The ex-United striker told The Sun, "The problem is that Carlos has arrived at a time when Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo are flying. Ole Solskjaer used to come in and score goals and when crunch games came he could be back on the bench.

"Ole was not happy but he accepted it and, when he was called up, he was ready to go. The boss doesn’t think,‘Poor lad, let’s give him a game’. It has to be justified and fit into his planning. The club is always going to be bigger than one individual — Ronaldo and Tevez need to understand that," Yorke concluded.

Yorke constituted one half of a formidable striking duo. He was bought by Ferguson, from Aston Villa, to partner unhappy Andy Cole, and Yorke - who was always smiling - began to have a positive effect on Cole both on and off the field.

Together they were imperious in front of goal, and were at their net-bulging zenith during the turn of the millenium when they, along with Teddy Sheringham and super-sub Solksjaer, fired United to a Champions League trophy in 1999, completing the third leg of a dazzling treble that season.

Re: Dwight Yorke warns Tevez and Ronaldo
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2009, 11:20:04 AM »
Wonder how in light of this advice Yorke could explain the decision to let Stern take dat penalty ?

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2009, 11:24:17 AM »
Yorke conveniently forgettin his own reaction on being subbed in a game playing for Blackburn with Souness as manager.

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2009, 11:25:50 AM »
Wonder how in light of this advice Yorke could explain the decision to let Stern take dat penalty ?

Nobody else was on form, in his eyes, and a fit and firing Stern John will be a big plus to the national team.

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2009, 11:26:29 AM »
Yorke conveniently forgettin his own reaction on being subbed in a game playing for Blackburn with Souness as manager.

Tha's cause Souness is an ass and a failure while Fergie is a boss and a proven winner!

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2009, 11:32:28 AM »
how stern john get involve with this?

« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2009, 11:48:09 AM »

Nobody else was on form, in his eyes, and a fit and firing Stern John will be a big plus to the national team.

Dat excuse MIGHTA wuk...

EXCEPT

T&T had a penalty earlier in the game that was successfuly converted by Dwight Yorke.

Come better dan dat wit a excuse.

« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2009, 11:49:58 AM »

I would be dam vex too if I get subbed in a game for freakin Blackburn  ;D

Offline Coach

« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2009, 12:16:03 PM »
There are so many games in one season to play in the Premier League that players don't understand the duty of a coach is to try and keep his players from being burnt-out.

But as a player you don't care about being burnt-out you just want to play every game.

Players coming off the bench in the Premier League are just like a starter to the coach, he will get his fair share of playing time but once again players don't see it that way, they just want to play.

« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2009, 12:30:43 PM »

Dat excuse MIGHTA wuk...

EXCEPT

T&T had a penalty earlier in the game that was successfuly converted by Dwight Yorke.

Dwight not THAT selfless. At 1-0, we were not in control and it was early in the game. At 2-0 and El Salvador were starting to implode, he thought the lead was comfortable enough now to help out he padna. Wrong call...but i understand the reasoning behind it.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2009, 01:49:15 PM by spideybuff »

« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2009, 01:12:58 PM »
Yorke need tuh worry about he own affairs... end talk.

« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2009, 01:28:49 PM »

Dat excuse MIGHTA wuk...

EXCEPT

Dwight not THAT selfless. At 1-0, we were not in control and it was early in the game. At 2-0 and El Salvador were starting to implode, he thought the lead was comfortable enough now to help out he padna. Wrong call...but i understand the reasoning behind it.

It have no padna ting in World Cup football.

Far less World Cup Qualifying football

Yorke is not a rookie.  He is T&T's most experienced player EVER.

They say a 2-0 lead in football is themost dangerous.  Yorke himself knows that back in 99 when dey played Juventus in Turin in de CL and Man U went down 2-0 and came back to win the tie and proceed onto the final.

It have no excusin, no understandin de reason, nutting...to explain dat decision.

He forked up...ROYALLY!  End of story.

« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2009, 01:31:29 PM »
I wonder if Yorke said any of the above

« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2009, 01:48:06 PM »

Palos, ah know yuh know much better dan dat, how long ago was dat? I'm also sure dat you are fully aware, that people make mistakes, but as dey get older, most of dem get wiser. Yorke and Latapy had their short comings, but do you think as much more mature individuals, leaders, coach, etc. Do you think Latapy will encourage any playboy behavior or advising his players dat smoking cigarettes and going tuh ah party de night before ah game is alright? Hell no. Dem breddahs made their mistakes along the way, and so long as they are not making the same mistakes presently, dey are absolutely correct in advising the yutes correctly  8). HIGHLY BLESSED. 
« Last Edit: May 12, 2009, 02:35:38 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2009, 02:28:25 PM »
how stern john get involve with this?

He like Manning he name easy 2 call

« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2009, 02:59:33 PM »

What de fack dat have tuh do with dis topic  ??? ..Steuppppsss ,pure ignorance nutten more nutten less .

« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2009, 03:04:49 PM »

Dat excuse MIGHTA wuk...

EXCEPT

They say a 2-0 lead in football is themost dangerous.  Yorke himself knows that back in 99 when dey played Juventus in Turin in de CL and Man U went down 2-0 and came back to win the tie and proceed onto the final.

It have no excusin, no understandin de reason, nutting...to explain dat decision.

Yiu still beating dah dead horse 'padna ting' eh ,after yuh fully well know it was not ,buh say wha if dat excuse is ah comfurt tuh yuh play yuh self bro .

« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2009, 03:18:14 PM »

Dat excuse MIGHTA wuk...

EXCEPT

Yiu still beating dah dead horse 'padna ting' eh ,after yuh fully well know it was not ,buh say wha if dat excuse is ah comfurt tuh yuh play yuh self bro .

Yorke is de penalty taker on de team bro once he fit and on de field.

He was neither unfit nor off de field when de penalty was awarded.

Whether Stern John is a senior player or not, he is NOT the penalty taker for the side and as such, if what you sayin is accurate i.e. Stern John take de penalty without bein told to do so and de justification is he is a senior player, Yorke AS CAPTAIN shoulda run he tail and taken de penalty himself!

« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2009, 03:25:36 PM »

Palos, ah know yuh know much better dan dat, how long ago was dat? I'm also sure dat you are fully aware, that people make mistakes, but as dey get older, most of dem get wiser. Yorke and Latapy had their short comings, but do you think as much more mature individuals, leaders, coach, etc. Do you think Latapy will encourage any playboy behavior or advising his players dat smoking cigarettes and going tuh ah party de night before ah game is alright? Hell no. Dem breddahs made their mistakes along the way, and so long as they are not making the same mistakes presently, dey are absolutely correct in advising the yutes correctly  8). HIGHLY BLESSED. 

I eh sayin dat Yorke not right in tryin to advise dese fellas.  But when yuh givin advice, is good to remember yuh own experiences.  Yorke's statement that was quoted only showed criticism of Tevex and Ronaldo.  Yorke's own petulance was on display as recent as 5 years ago with Blackburn Rovers.  He was hardly a yute den.  Nutting wrong wit givin advice or even criticisin, but when you yuhself guilty of de same, yuh should at least acknowledge dat fact when yuh doin yuh criticisin.

Rspeck.

« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2009, 03:39:47 PM »

Dat excuse MIGHTA wuk...

EXCEPT

Whether Stern John is a senior player or not, he is NOT the penalty taker for the side and as such, if what you sayin is accurate i.e. Stern John take de penalty without bein told to do so and de justification is he is a senior player, Yorke AS CAPTAIN shoulda run he tail and taken de penalty himself!

Stern was never told he is 'NOT' de penalty taker ,never told by the coach or ANYONE on the coaching staff or team . DY takes de penalties becuz he was one of the players other dan Stern or Latas that have no fear in taking it ,while de rest of the team want NO PART  of that responsiability .It had no 'padna ting' against Mexico in de last hex when he miss de penalty and again it had no 'padna ting' against ES . If yuh want tuh say DY was wrong dais yuh opinion but I telling yuh as FACT and ah very 'accurate' with meh facts ,Stern do not have tuh ask anyone tuh take a penalty for TnT ,now weather dais right or wrong is another question but dais how it is ,or at least was before de ES game .

« Reply #20 on: May 12, 2009, 04:00:32 PM »

Dat excuse MIGHTA wuk...

EXCEPT

Stern was never told he is 'NOT' de penalty taker ,never told by the coach or ANYONE on the coaching staff or team . DY takes de penalties becuz he was one of the players other dan Stern or Latas that have no fear in taking it ,while de rest of the team want NO PART  of that responsiability .It had no 'padna ting' against Mexico in de last hex when he miss de penalty and again it had no 'padna ting' against ES . If yuh want tuh say DY was wrong dais yuh opinion but I telling yuh as FACT and ah very 'accurate' with meh facts ,Stern do not have tuh ask anyone tuh take a penalty for TnT ,now weather dais right or wrong is another question but dais how it is ,or at least was before de ES game .

I cyah doubt yuh because you is a man who would know.  But I find it strnge dat a team, especially a national team doh have a established penalty kicker and those who take free kicks for that matter.

Maybe daz why we does have de situation where DY takin ALL de free kicks and corners which is dotishness.  Men jes doin wha dey want based on seniority?  Dat means de coachin staff eh have no plan oddah dan Dwight you take all de free kick and corner.

No wonder dey run Keon Daniel from takin free kick.  He eh have enough seniority doh mind he better dan all a dem at it.  Mus be a Union team we have... ;D

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

« Reply #21 on: May 12, 2009, 04:13:42 PM »
Some sensible advice from Yorke there...

« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2009, 04:20:07 PM »

Dat excuse MIGHTA wuk...

EXCEPT

I cyah doubt yuh because you is a man who would know.  But I find it strnge dat a team, especially a national team doh have a established penalty kicker and those who take free kicks for that matter.

Maybe daz why we does have de situation where DY takin ALL de free kicks and corners which is dotishness.  Men jes doin wha dey want based on seniority?  Dat means de coachin staff eh have no plan oddah dan Dwight you take all de free kick and corner.

No wonder dey run Keon Daniel from takin free kick.  He eh have enough seniority doh mind he better dan all a dem at it.  Mus be a Union team we have... ;D

EXACTLY ....is nutten but pure fackeries, imagine KD on de pitch and he gehin run way from de ball like he eh have ah clue when he is ah better dead ball taker dan both SJ and DY .As for penalties I doh see why we cyar have at least 2 or 3 starters practising penalties on ah regular basis so we it eh have no guessing when de situation arises .This I blame on YOUR  coach Maturana  ...just kiddin bro  ;D But in all seriousness I doh blame DY or SJ ,I blame de coaching staff for not taking de dead ball situations seriously .

« Reply #23 on: May 12, 2009, 04:44:02 PM »
EXACTLY ....is nutten but pure fackeries, imagine KD on de pitch and he gehin run way from de ball like he eh have ah clue when he is ah better dead ball taker dan both SJ and DY .As for penalties I doh see why we cyar have at least 2 or 3 starters practising penalties on ah regular basis so we it eh have no guessing when de situation arises .This I blame on YOUR  coach Maturana  ...just kiddin bro  ;D But in all seriousness I doh blame DY or SJ ,I blame de coaching staff for not taking de dead ball situations seriously .

Agreed.  And dat goin back to Beenie too eh.  Cause is under Beenie dat DY take every dead ball known to mankind (except de penalty against Mexico) in every match.  Jeezan.  Yuh would think Birchall cyah take a corner.

Offline Peter

« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2009, 12:19:14 AM »
I seeing men using this as a opportunity to bad mouth Dwight and thing, all yuh have to sit up and look at the amazingly bright side- that in this small and in many cases backwater nation, we have a man who is hailed as a legend and that has contributed n is part of the amazing success and story of arguably the biggest and most succesful club in the world now.His opinions and comments and are trumpeted and held in high regard and respected by football media the world over. He can comment with authority on the biggest football issues and players,and he isn't viewed as some smallman, but it makes headlines. Seriously, that's what I though of as I read this story, it reminded me of the amazing success Dwight has achieved against all odds, and gaining worldwide recognition, it made me feel proud and roused some patriotism in me to see someone from T&T held in such high regard and having been recognised one of the top in his profession, not in the caribbean, or even americas, but in the WORLD. Who else from T&T can we say that about?? Thank you Dwight.

Instead of discussing the blasted topic, the only thing people could do is to pull any recent negatives they can think of about Dwight and throw it in his face, men even bring in Stern into this. When I see that, I know a certain person was due to arrive, and surely,  Berris come and put allyuh in allyuh place about that one, lol. Seriously, I think the man has learnt his lesson, no need to continue to rub the penalty miss in his face, simply, that won't do him or the team any good.

ALso, I agree with Dwight's comments on Tevez n Ron. Tevez is being treated like shit, but his situation is complicated, but I really sympathize with him and wish whatever's best for his career n happiness is what happens.

On Ronaldo, he will regret it to the end of his career if he leaves ManU and goes to that cursed club in Madrid. His development will stagnate, or possibly regress, he'll win almost nothing, and his wish to be the greatest player ever will be a terrible joke, I think it'll be like how it is when he's playing for portugal- hopeless, he's the type of player that needs top players around him to shine, and a team that's gelled and oiled, which won't happen at Madrid as they change managers like drauws. I can see him developing into the greatest ever at united, based on the pace he's going at and his amazing developments already and his amazing accomplishments already, but I don't think he's seeing this situation clearly for what it is, and he won't stay much longer, he's delusional, and he'll regret it when his career is over and he looks back with 2020 hindsight, and sees that he could he was steadily on course to become the greatest player ever, because of numerous things at United makes it the perfect atmosphere to foster his rapid development as has been shown so far, but couldn't he see it and ruined it for himself, so he's simply remembered as an exceptionally good player- like numerous others, n that's it. I really hope he proves me wrong, cause my football appetite wants to see the impossibly good(and he's crazy good already at 24, definitely the best in the world,yes messi is better at dribbling, but he's better at everything else, and can do many things messi can't full stop) footballer he'll be with 2-3 more years developing at his present rate at united, that'll be a sight to see.

« Reply #25 on: May 13, 2009, 07:37:17 AM »

Agreed.  And dat goin back to Beenie too eh.  Cause is under Beenie dat DY take every dead ball known to mankind (except de penalty against Mexico) in every match.  Jeezan.  Yuh would think Birchall cyah take a corner.

Birchall took corners at times.  In the Mexico game in Mexico, and in the Guatemala game in T&T, I distinctly remember him taking corners...

« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2009, 09:07:52 AM »
I seeing men using this as a opportunity to bad mouth Dwight and thing, all yuh have to sit up and look at the amazingly bright side- that in this small and in many cases backwater nation, we have a man who is hailed as a legend and that has contributed n is part of the amazing success and story of arguably the biggest and most succesful club in the world now.His opinions and comments and are trumpeted and held in high regard and respected by football media the world over. He can comment with authority on the biggest football issues and players,and he isn't viewed as some smallman, but it makes headlines. Seriously, that's what I though of as I read this story, it reminded me of the amazing success Dwight has achieved against all odds, and gaining worldwide recognition, it made me feel proud and roused some patriotism in me to see someone from T&T held in such high regard and having been recognised one of the top in his profession, not in the caribbean, or even americas, but in the WORLD. Who else from T&T can we say that about?? Thank you Dwight.

Instead of discussing the blasted topic, the only thing people could do is to pull any recent negatives they can think of about Dwight and throw it in his face, men even bring in Stern into this. When I see that, I know a certain person was due to arrive, and surely,  Berris come and put allyuh in allyuh place about that one, lol. Seriously, I think the man has learnt his lesson, no need to continue to rub the penalty miss in his face, simply, that won't do him or the team any good.

ALso, I agree with Dwight's comments on Tevez n Ron. Tevez is being treated like shit, but his situation is complicated, but I really sympathize with him and wish whatever's best for his career n happiness is what happens.

On Ronaldo, he will regret it to the end of his career if he leaves ManU and goes to that cursed club in Madrid. His development will stagnate, or possibly regress, he'll win almost nothing, and his wish to be the greatest player ever will be a terrible joke, I think it'll be like how it is when he's playing for portugal- hopeless, he's the type of player that needs top players around him to shine, and a team that's gelled and oiled, which won't happen at Madrid as they change managers like drauws. I can see him developing into the greatest ever at united, based on the pace he's going at and his amazing developments already and his amazing accomplishments already, but I don't think he's seeing this situation clearly for what it is, and he won't stay much longer, he's delusional, and he'll regret it when his career is over and he looks back with 2020 hindsight, and sees that he could he was steadily on course to become the greatest player ever, because of numerous things at United makes it the perfect atmosphere to foster his rapid development as has been shown so far, but couldn't he see it and ruined it for himself, so he's simply remembered as an exceptionally good player- like numerous others, n that's it. I really hope he proves me wrong, cause my football appetite wants to see the impossibly good(and he's crazy good already at 24, definitely the best in the world,yes messi is better at dribbling, but he's better at everything else, and can do many things messi can't full stop) footballer he'll be with 2-3 more years developing at his present rate at united, that'll be a sight to see.

Wait peter wait !

Ah hope yuh realise yuh doing just what you accuse  others of doing ? ...How Messi come into this ?
But since you raised it , you have an opinion about Ronaldo and Messi , which is not shared by the majority of football experts by the way , and that is your opinion. I dont agree, but you are entitled to yours ,.....but yours is not a fact ..not by a long shot...but we eh discussing Messi right ?

You made this comment about Dwight "Dwight has achieved against all odds, and gaining worldwide recognition, it made me feel proud and roused some patriotism in me to see someone from T&T held in such high regard and having been recognised one of the top in his profession, not in the caribbean, or even americas, but in the WORLD. Who else from T&T can we say that about?? Thank you Dwight"..You serious bro ?

You follow other sports ? You saw the olympics ? You been following cricket ? ..You follow athletics ? ever heard of Brandon Bailey, Hasley Crawford, Roger Gibbon....I could write a whole page more ..but ah go leave right dey for you to reflect on ...

In fact let me quote ah song ...

Roger Gibbon champ in cycling hip hip ..hip hip hooray
Gittens and Bailey for weight lifting ..hip hip hip hip hooray
Yearwood tried de 800 and he flop , but in de relay get back on top
with Mottley Roberts and Kent bernard ..he make history for Trinidad !...

You must be just born to believe your statement " who else can we say that about ?? "

But back to de topic you must understand ...that much is expected from those to whom much is given .....when a world famous player makes a statement we all listen ..dont we ? If you or I say something we wont create quite the stir would we ?

In this light Dwight's actions  and statements would also come under scrutiny more than ours ..wouldn't you say ? So when he offers advice with his advantage of a long and illustrious career , people will ask the question ...how in the light of the advice you are giving you recently did or said X ??

That obvious question is not meant to take away what Dwight has done, one cannot do that anymore than than one can in the case of Claude Noel or Diego Maradona. What they say however could always be contested especially in light of their actions recent or past...

Dwight I am sure regrets actions that he committed in the past , remember the video episode ? ...and should realise that when you point a finger at someone , there are usually four pointing back at you ...dais all ..

..by the way ..you may feel Trinidad and tobago is a "backwater nation" but i dont !! ..but ah go leave dat dere !