April 30, 2024, 04:28:49 AM

Author Topic: Confrontation in Laventille  (Read 26148 times)

Re: CNC News • May 12th
« Reply #30 on: May 13, 2009, 07:40:42 PM »
I now watch it on jumptv.com, didnt get any audio but a good quality video.  Them popo really looking like they scared of the people. And the people look like they know it too. I hadda agree with Touches, it look like Hati or one of them places in Africa

They need to get some rubber bullets and fire a couple rounds. Perhaps Martial Law or something like that in these areas might be needed. Or they could have accidentally fired a shot into the blimp that was hovering over the air at the time. Problem solved one time.

Yes I know that is a tad bit extreme but desperate times call for desperate measures. And that clip, the popo look real desperate.

more than a month now cnc3 on jumptv have no volume, rel shit stueps

« Reply #31 on: May 13, 2009, 08:03:26 PM »
Gayelle have a whole show on it airing now.

Interviewing the mother, she now say he have a gun charge that he get when he was 16.

People need to call up Gayelle and take them to task for the behavior of that reporter... police shoulda buss she f**king face.
ent. them picking up for the same people who toting illegal guns and bringing down the name of laventille and the nation. The main issue is why them fellas having guns and the whole neighbourhood hiding them.  When this reporter get a stray bullet in she shin, she go start to bawl and scream for police to help she and go and lock everyman in laventille after.  

News Update: the boy will be free on bail tomorrow. Now what kind of criminal system going on in TnT ??  He should be put in a youth correctional facility for atleast months to help his wrong mentality.  Betcha he going to get a brand new gun from he gang tomorrow.

He 18 and 4 who say d police was scared woulda  b bawling brutality. as 4 d 100 peeps who eh wukin dey could walk 2 d Laventille Technology Centre. I PERSONALLY FED UP OF DEM GHETTO PEEPS

« Reply #32 on: May 13, 2009, 08:35:54 PM »
but wait,, despite postin he gorgon over the world wide web

sampson naton still have a wukk as a legitimate journalist?

Buh how yuh mean. De man love pushing he mic in people face in front a camera.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #33 on: May 13, 2009, 08:39:59 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/c5Ee506Qpwk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/c5Ee506Qpwk</a>

« Reply #34 on: May 13, 2009, 09:00:01 PM »
first of all, if was up to me that reporter should be in cuffs with she face grinding on the pavement for exacerbating an already hostile situation.. tings was looking like it coulda get outta hand and she woulda have a big part in it if somebody had get shoot..

secondly, what sadden me de most is dem children coming down to the end of the video who cant be no more than 8 and 10, and in the mix opposing officers..

but before dey mother send dem inside they screaming down the place when tings start to get outta hand.. bout, "it have children in de rooad".. why de ass yuh eh carry dem to f*** home?

de police wutless too.. is just ah sad state ah affairs all round..

« Reply #35 on: May 13, 2009, 09:39:21 PM »
ahhhhhhh...now allyuh see how dat bitch named Marcia Henville and she compatriot Inshan does get on in de morning radio show..is only anti-government ...she inciting shit....dat ugly bitch!

« Reply #36 on: May 13, 2009, 11:54:45 PM »
Call for peace

An uneasy calm settled over Picton, Laventille, yesterday as clusters of residents sat along the pavements, voicing concern about what they claimed were increasing incidents of “police attacks.” In recent days, they claimed, contingents of heavily-armed police officers have been detaining young men in the area, seeking to find the location of illegal arms and ammunition.

Amidst the angry and anxious voices, community elder Cecil Gulston raised his hands in the air, appealing for a cease-fire between warring factions. The 58-year-old man said the arrest of 18-year-old Trevlon Harry by members of the Inter Agency Task Force (IATF) on Tuesday had sparked a sense of resentment in an area where there was little trust of law enforcement officers. Harry’s arrest resulted in scores of residents burning debris and demanding answers to claims that Harry was dropped in “enemy territory” at Block Eight to be beaten. Gulston, also known as “Abu” said the approach by the police was too brutal.

He described the situation in Laventille as already volatile, where residents were forced to carefully choose what cars they travelled in. “I have to make sure that the car I taking not going Beverly Hills and Block Eight, just for my safety,” Gulston said. He said the desire to extract information was changing the manner in which the police operated. “We don’t want any war in the community. Is a little bit of people that getting on stupid.

“We need the police but they have to do their work in the right manner. “They cannot expect the people to work with them if they moving in that manner,” Gulston said. He said as long as police acted with unnecessary force, people would continue to oppose them.

Social ills

From the vantage point of a resident’s backyard at Picton, the pristine Hyatt Regency Hotel was easily visible. It stood like a majestic tower against a backdrop of crudely constructed houses and latrines. “The problem in Laventille is really a social problem,” Gulston theorised, adding, “We could see the Hyatt as plain as day. We so close to it and we still using latrine. It have latrine in Port-of-Spain.” He said the presence of Member of Parliament Donna Cox was non-existent. “We never vote nobody else than the PNM. “People in Laventille love the PNM so much that the PNM done understand that they don’t have to do nothing for Laventille people,” Gulston added.

Call for peace

A narrow stretch of Plaisance Road in Laventille separates John John from Block Eight. These two areas have been branded “war zones” by residents. With the sound of gunshots being a common occurrence, Gulston lamented that the lives of young men were constantly wasted. He called for young men of other crime-infested areas, including Sea Lots and Beetham to call a truce. “It is about time all these communities come together because is only a lot of young men involved. “We need to get together and solve we social problem.”

UNC’s response

Leader of the UNC Basdeo Panday, in a news release, expressed concern about the tactics used by police officers to disperse protesting residents. “It looks like the police are preparing to go to war with citizens,” a release said yesterday, in reference to the use of tear gas by police on Tuesday. “Whether you agree or not with the reason why a community chooses to protest, it is their right. “And with increasing frequency, people are being denied permission to protest and to express their feelings on the conduct of the Government and the state of society.”

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #37 on: May 14, 2009, 12:56:50 AM »
Panday is ah shameless c**t.  Did he NOT see the video of the so-called "protest"?  Dem lucky police was as restrained as they were.

« Reply #38 on: May 14, 2009, 05:09:52 AM »
Media Release

Panday on Laventille Clash:

LEADER of the United National Congress Basdeo Panday says yesterday’s confrontation between police and Laventille residents proves that the $80 million paid to the Mastrofski team was wasted.

Mr Panday said yesterday’s events identified four main issues: “There is the question of the alleged police brutality, the proliferation of criminal gangs, the partnership between rogue policemen and the gangs, and the level of force used against the protesting residents.”

The Couva North MP said he preferred to reserve comment on the alleged ‘police kidnap’ of 18-year-old Trevlyn Harry until an ongoing investigation into the claim is concluded. However, he noted, “The PNM has spent over $21 billion on crime. The Mastrofski team was given $80 million to transform the police service. The government said crime would reduce but the reality is that the situation continues to get worse every day.

“It is a fact that there are some corrupt policemen who are in league with the criminals but nothing is happening to cleanse the service so that the honest, diligent ones can do their jobs.

“But the core problem is that criminal gangs are continuing to grow and the gang-culture is sucking in youths from an early age. People are fleeing entire communities to escape the slaughter. The gang territories are growing and the violence is claiming more victims every day. Why is the government taking so long to remedy this gang problem?”

Mr Panday said he was very concerned about the tactics being used against protesting residents such as tear gassing.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #39 on: May 14, 2009, 05:52:18 AM »

Are most of the people living there squatters?
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #40 on: May 14, 2009, 06:04:05 AM »
More News dey

TENSE: Police officers monitor the situation at Picton Road, Laventille, on Tuesday afternoon after residents staged fiery protests and even confronted officers. -Photo: ANISTO ALVES

RESIDENTS of Picton Road, Laventille, were yesterday divided over Tuesday afternoon's fiery stand-off between some residents of the area and the police.

While there are those who believe the police acted horribly, others said they were so fed-up with the crime in the area that they were glad things were being done, no matter how.

So de real question is....who was wrong? De police for how they chose to deal with the man who allegedly had a gun and weed stash.....or the residents?

« Reply #41 on: May 14, 2009, 07:28:17 AM »
Marcia on radio power 102 fm now defending her shitty behavior

« Reply #42 on: May 14, 2009, 07:44:04 AM »

on watchin d video...marcia put d officers at risk by distractin them...u kno d firepower dat some of dem yutes does carry?..i talkin AK's...coulda easily pick out dem officers while dey attention shiff to marcia...an d community woulda jes hide dem..

« Reply #43 on: May 14, 2009, 09:00:38 AM »
I have tickets for a Mariel boatlift ... dey at de printery now, buh soon reach ... bad man hold tight.

« Reply #44 on: May 14, 2009, 10:29:43 AM »

on watchin d video...marcia put d officers at risk by distractin them...u kno d firepower dat some of dem yutes does carry?..i talkin AK's...coulda easily pick out dem officers while dey attention shiff to marcia...an d community woulda jes hide dem..

she was very unprofessional and acted on emotions before thinking about the tv station and people around.  An most of all the way she was dressed was not very professional. She had no right with going up in the police face with the camera and tampering with evidence as the bullet shells.  Now she should save her unbias reputation by doing a fair program with spending a day with a police patrol and show that side of the law after...
On the other side these police officers need to be equiped with Bullhorns more than tear gas. Their communication and handling of citizens is very untrained. Using bullhorns to announce and warn those people to get back  would of calm down the situation rather than escalating it by firing shots in the air. Most of all prevent an event like this to escalate again. every developed nation police are equipped and trained with one. why not tnt? who could by 300 cars for delegates for the summit

« Reply #45 on: May 14, 2009, 10:32:30 AM »
Panday is ah shameless c**t.  Did he NOT see the video of the so-called "protest"?  Dem lucky police was as restrained as they were.
I agree with every single word you type here.

« Reply #46 on: May 14, 2009, 11:15:52 AM »
Laventille residents call for peace

An uneasy calm settled over Picton, Laventille, yesterday as clusters of residents sat along the pavements, voicing concern about what they claimed were increasing incidents of “police attacks.” In recent days, they claimed, contingents of heavily-armed police officers have been detaining young men in the area, seeking to find the location of illegal arms and ammunition.

Amidst the angry and anxious voices, community elder Cecil Gulston raised his hands in the air, appealing for a cease-fire between warring factions. The 58-year-old man said the arrest of 18-year-old Trevlon Harry by members of the Inter Agency Task Force (IATF) on Tuesday had sparked a sense of resentment in an area where there was little trust of law enforcement officers. Harry’s arrest resulted in scores of residents burning debris and demanding answers to claims that Harry was dropped in “enemy territory” at Block Eight to be beaten. Gulston, also known as “Abu” said the approach by the police was too brutal.

He described the situation in Laventille as already volatile, where residents were forced to carefully choose what cars they travelled in. “I have to make sure that the car I taking not going Beverly Hills and Block Eight, just for my safety,” Gulston said. He said the desire to extract information was changing the manner in which the police operated. “We don’t want any war in the community. Is a little bit of people that getting on stupid.

“We need the police but they have to do their work in the right manner. “They cannot expect the people to work with them if they moving in that manner,” Gulston said. He said as long as police acted with unnecessary force, people would continue to oppose them.

Social ills

From the vantage point of a resident’s backyard at Picton, the pristine Hyatt Regency Hotel was easily visible. It stood like a majestic tower against a backdrop of crudely constructed houses and latrines. “The problem in Laventille is really a social problem,” Gulston theorised, adding, “We could see the Hyatt as plain as day. We so close to it and we still using latrine. It have latrine in Port-of-Spain.” He said the presence of Member of Parliament Donna Cox was non-existent. “We never vote nobody else than the PNM. “People in Laventille love the PNM so much that the PNM done understand that they don’t have to do nothing for Laventille people,” Gulston added.

Call for peace

A narrow stretch of Plaisance Road in Laventille separates John John from Block Eight. These two areas have been branded “war zones” by residents. With the sound of gunshots being a common occurrence, Gulston lamented that the lives of young men were constantly wasted. He called for young men of other crime-infested areas, including Sea Lots and Beetham to call a truce. “It is about time all these communities come together because is only a lot of young men involved. “We need to get together and solve we social problem.”

UNC’s response

Leader of the UNC Basdeo Panday, in a news release, expressed concern about the tactics used by police officers to disperse protesting residents. “It looks like the police are preparing to go to war with citizens,” a release said yesterday, in reference to the use of tear gas by police on Tuesday. “Whether you agree or not with the reason why a community chooses to protest, it is their right. “And with increasing frequency, people are being denied permission to protest and to express their feelings on the conduct of the Government and the state of society.”

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009/05/13/laventille-residents-call-peace

« Reply #47 on: May 14, 2009, 12:24:37 PM »
Marcia Henville reason number 2 I stop watchin Gayelle.

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #48 on: May 14, 2009, 12:32:17 PM »
is only a matter of time before that place explodes into something worse.

residents sees the popo as enemy
popo see the residents as enemy
ress of the country blames everything on the residents of the hill. nesting ground for criminals.

As far as I see from that video.. them popo showed real restraint.

"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #49 on: May 14, 2009, 12:43:16 PM »
I wonder if it would help if the Commisioner of Police calls a meeting with the residents or community leaders
Because something has to be done to bring back Trust
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #50 on: May 14, 2009, 12:59:32 PM »

she was very unprofessional and acted on emotions before thinking about the tv station and people around.  An most of all the way she was dressed was not very professional. She had no right with going up in the police face with the camera and tampering with evidence as the bullet shells.  Now she should save her unbias reputation by doing a fair program with spending a day with a police patrol and show that side of the law after...
On the other side these police officers need to be equiped with Bullhorns more than tear gas. Their communication and handling of citizens is very untrained. Using bullhorns to announce and warn those people to get back  would of calm down the situation rather than escalating it by firing shots in the air. Most of all prevent an event like this to escalate again. every developed nation police are equipped and trained with one. why not tnt? who could by 300 cars for delegates for the summit

You need bullhorn to talk tuh ah man who right up in yuh face pushing he chest agains yuh gun barrel daring yuh tuh shoot?

Come better nah man... bullhorn wasn't going to make one fart ah difference.

« Reply #51 on: May 14, 2009, 01:15:21 PM »
all dem f**kin babbylon  in tnt is bandits in uniform.. i hate dem I wish di bad man dem start turn dey guns on babbylon instead of one another!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #52 on: May 14, 2009, 01:25:54 PM »
I had to watch it a few times...

I ent blame the popo one bit in this situation. I had to agree with those who say they showed tremendous restraint given the circumstances.

And miss lady with she nightcap on need to take herself and her children in side and read a book or something.

And that reporter .... somebody give the woman a black hairpiece or something, that gold weave was blinding meh eyes
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

« Reply #53 on: May 14, 2009, 01:32:31 PM »
ah fellah from foreign ah show , say she does look like a crack whore  ::)

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #54 on: May 14, 2009, 01:33:14 PM »
Ms Henville would have done well to ask the esteemed residents of Lavantille how they were so well aquainted with exactly what type of casings were on the floor.

« Reply #55 on: May 14, 2009, 01:41:16 PM »

Social ills

From the vantage point of a resident’s backyard at Picton, the pristine Hyatt Regency Hotel was easily visible. It stood like a majestic tower against a backdrop of crudely constructed houses and latrines. “The problem in Laventille is really a social problem,” Gulston theorised, adding, “We could see the Hyatt as plain as day. We so close to it and we still using latrine. It have latrine in Port-of-Spain.”

Call for peace

fella correck. it is a social problem with political consequences. but dey eh getting dis set ah yutes to call truce - unless is like de truce de natives make with de white man.

« Reply #56 on: May 14, 2009, 01:42:42 PM »
Ms Henville would have done well to ask the esteemed residents of Lavantille how they were so well aquainted with exactly what type of casings were on the floor.

as far as i know, the police were carrying MP5 sub machine guns, which uses standard 9mm rounds. which 9MM handguns being used by anyone can fire, correct me if i wrong. that can be a defense the police can use

MP5A5 with stock collapsed
« Last Edit: May 14, 2009, 01:50:02 PM by Die.Hard.Warrior »

« Reply #57 on: May 14, 2009, 02:01:05 PM »

as far as i know, the police were carrying MP5 sub machine guns, which uses standard 9mm rounds. which 9MM handguns being used by anyone can fire, correct me if i wrong. that can be a defense the police can use

according to this post they using galils...

« Reply #58 on: May 14, 2009, 02:24:14 PM »

according to this post they using galils...

LOL that rel funny because the one who allegedly shoot had a mp5 in he hand, the one marcia was talking too, if yuh scroll up on the youtube vid i post u go see the SMG on the pic. I WILL PRESENT MY EVIDENCE SOON LOL  :D
« Last Edit: May 14, 2009, 02:27:38 PM by Die.Hard.Warrior »

« Reply #59 on: May 14, 2009, 02:24:36 PM »
I wonder if it would help if the Commisioner of Police calls a meeting with the residents or community leaders
Because something has to be done to bring back Trust

Dem peeps like d mess dey in. I ready do like do do like d days of Sodom and Gomorah. Seek d good people safe dema nd destroy d rest. I born on Pashley Street and does do nuff community work in Morvant so doh accuse meh of eh caring. I am totally fed up of dem black hen chicken. It have free education from nursery to tertiary. Yuh gettin books/breakfast/lunch/bus ticket. Dey payin maxi in areas where bus eh running. Yet nuff ah dem chirren home.

I blame Manning because nobody eh get lock up for keepin dey chirren home from school.