April 28, 2024, 06:00:33 AM

Author Topic: Cornell Glen on trial with San Jose Earthquakes  (Read 3542 times)

Cornell Glen on trial with San Jose Earthquakes
« on: May 13, 2009, 04:54:43 PM »
Cornell Glen training with Quakes
By Jeff Carlisle (centerlinesoccer.com)

Remember back in preseason when San Jose was supposedly interested in Trinidad & Tobago striker Cornell Glen? Well in light of the Quakes’ recent struggles it appears that interest has been rekindled.

Glen was in town on Monday and participated in what appeared to be a brutal session full of physically demanding work. San Jose manager Frank Yallop indicated that per the Quakes’ custom, Glen would practice with the club for the rest of the week, at which point a decision on whether or not to sign him would be made.

“He’s been training in Trinidad,” said Yallop of Glen. “We had some interest in him the beginning of the year, but he wasn’t quite sure what he was going to do. Now I think…we want to see what he’s all about, so we’ve brought him in for this week.”

Yallop indicated that the Quakes do have a discovery claim on Glen, so the Quakes can take their time in assessing his ability without worrying about another club coming in and stealing him away.

Glen spent the 2008 T&T Pro League season with San Juan Jabloteh, where he scored three goals. According to the T&T Guardian, the clubs financial woes saw many senior players depart for other domestic clubs, with Glen signing on for United Petrotrin. Whether that means the Quakes will need to pay a transfer fee in order to acquire Glen isn’t known at the moment.

Glen spent parts of three seasons in MLS beginning in 2004. He spent time with New York, Dallas, Columbus, Colorado, and Los Angeles, where an injury sidelined him for the last half of the 2006 season.

Glen has scored 21 goals in 54 appearances for the T&T national team.

Re: Cornell Glen on trial with San Jose Earthquakes
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2009, 05:13:35 PM »

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2009, 05:14:08 PM »
nice,,, the speedster on a comeback from the injuries

best of luck..or hard work, whichever come first

« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2009, 05:16:56 PM »
ah glad for him.

I was thinking of him just yesterday.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2009, 06:15:16 PM »

« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2009, 06:18:05 PM »
The fans aren't impressed: http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1029667

It go b nice 2 impress dem but mgmt mas importante

« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2009, 06:31:17 PM »
...is about time!

« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2009, 06:40:18 PM »
Good luck, Cornel!!!!!!

« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2009, 06:46:58 PM »
The fans aren't impressed: http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1029667

MLS fans doh rate Caribbean players... DC fans say basically de same thing about Avery.

« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2009, 06:49:25 PM »
On a positive note, L.A. fans well excited bout Birchall.

« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2009, 07:52:41 PM »
I think anyone could make the San Jose team. Good luck Cornell

« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2009, 08:59:06 PM »
We players forever on trail..... Hope this one works out

« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2009, 05:12:07 AM »

MLS fans doh rate Caribbean players... DC fans say basically de same thing about Avery.

Why dey doh hush??....steups!!...

« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2009, 12:17:30 PM »

As I does say wake meh up when u sign.

« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2009, 02:04:41 PM »
Timing is everything

Cornell Glen thought he was coming in for a trial. Instead he arrived smack in the middle of Frank Yallop’s Mid-season Boot Camp.

CLS caught up with Glen earlier this week, and the demands of training have made an instant impression.

“I picked a bad time to come here, you know,” said Glen with an easy laugh. “But I need the work. I’m not 100% fit. I just have to work hard and get fit and see if I can impress the coach.”

The T&T international also cleared up his contract status. Following his departure from San Juan Jabloteh due to the team’s financial problems, Glen had been training with United Petrotrin, but has not signed a contract, rendering him a free agent.

As for how Glen’s performed, Yallop didn’t have much to say other than “He looks good.”

My impressions? There is some rust, but I also think Glen offers something different than what the Quakes have already. He has a good blend of strength and pace. The pertinent questions are 1) Can the Quakes do better, and 2) Does “better” require waiting until July when the transfer window reopens?

Given that Glen and Yallop have worked together before when the two were in L.A., I think that is a point in Glen’s favor. I’m heading to practice later on Friday and I’ll give an update on the T&T striker’s performance.

« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2009, 05:09:45 PM »
All the best Cornell...show them what you can do. :beermug:

Online sjahrain

« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2009, 07:08:24 PM »
Until we start putting some hurt on the US senior team,that respect will not come

« Reply #17 on: May 15, 2009, 07:19:54 PM »
Until we start putting some hurt on the US senior team,that respect will not come

Cosign

« Reply #18 on: May 15, 2009, 08:15:13 PM »
What he doing being not quite fit?  A A buh wah trouble is dis? Dem fellas ain't serious about . . . leh meh bite meh toungue, eh.

« Reply #19 on: May 15, 2009, 10:35:11 PM »
Exactly my sentiments, and we will not beat their A team until jack and jill stop meddling with the player selection and a proper uninterrupted coaching staff.

« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2009, 10:45:43 PM »
What he doing being not quite fit?  A A buh wah trouble is dis? Dem fellas ain't serious about . . . leh meh bite meh toungue, eh.
dais why sterb john and some other over seas players does get vex with some locals who dont keep their condition to the best they should

Offline #8

« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2009, 09:52:32 AM »
From a reliable source...he's a San Jose player till the end of the season. They have a bye this weekend and should be suiting up against JJ's team (Houston's Dynamo) next week.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2009, 11:25:06 AM by #8 »

« Reply #22 on: May 16, 2009, 10:05:23 AM »
From a reliable source...he's officially a San Jose player till the end of the season. They have a bye this weekend so he should be suiting up against JJ's team (Houston's Dynamo) next week.

good news...

hope the beanch warming minutes are kept at a min..
« Last Edit: May 16, 2009, 12:40:56 PM by Tallman »

Glen to continue trial through next week
« Reply #23 on: May 16, 2009, 10:40:26 AM »
Glen to continue trial through next week

The Quakes moved their practice to West Valley College today, and by the time I found out, it was too late to jet over there, so there will be no update on how Cornell Glen looked today.

I did catch up with San Jose manager Frank Yallop, who indicated that Glen would continue to train with the team through next week. I will try to get out to practice early next week to give everyone an update on how he looked.

Re: Glen to continue trial through next week
« Reply #24 on: May 16, 2009, 02:34:34 PM »

The Quakes moved their practice to West Valley College today, and by the time I found out, it was too late to jet over there, so there will be no update on how Cornell Glen looked today.

So that's where they went, I drove by the usual practice grounds at lunch yesterday and didn't see anything.

Re: Glen to continue trial through next week
« Reply #25 on: May 16, 2009, 04:16:56 PM »

So that's where they went, I drove by the usual practice grounds at lunch yesterday and didn't see anything.

Yeoman service dey Eman

« Reply #26 on: May 16, 2009, 06:30:17 PM »

As I does say wake meh up when u sign.
Weary wake the hell up .