24 (42.1%)
Not me
8 (14%)
Only If certain things change
24 (42.1%)
Other
1 (1.8%)

Total Members Voted: 54

Author Topic: Will you return home to live ?  (Read 84872 times)

Re: Will you return home to live ?
« Reply #390 on: March 15, 2010, 06:56:09 PM »
just cool not here to debate or argue with your posts but most of the indentured workers (indians you referring to in yuh last post) did not come to T&T with "money" (like you said)..

they even worked for minimum wages in the cane fields and settled in the most rural parts of of Trinidad..
Bredder, if yuh don't have money, then yuh cyar buy nothing! east indians came here as indentured workers, in other words, they worked and got paid however little it was.

have you ever read the history of trinidad and tobago? well i did! black ppl was even allowed reparations, but never recieved it up till this day. indians and chinese on the other hand after leaving the barracks were given land tuh settle on.

most african left the plantations after the abolition and came to urban areas seeking employment, while most indians on the other hand stayed in rural areas BC they had land tuh farm that was afforded them by the crown.

very few black ppl owned land, and very few black ppl were given any compensation( reparation) that's why there are some well to do blacks, while most have struggled to survive.

« Reply #391 on: March 15, 2010, 07:03:19 PM »
just cool not here to debate or argue with your posts but most of the indentured workers (indians you referring to in yuh last post) did not come to T&T with "money" (like you said)..

they even worked for minimum wages in the cane fields and settled in the most rural parts of of Trinidad..
Bredder, if yuh don't have money, then yuh cyar buy nothing! east indians came here as indentured workers, in other words, they worked and got paid however little it was.

have you ever read the history of trinidad and tobago? well i did! black ppl was even allowed reparations, but never recieved it up till this day. indians and chinese on the other hand after leaving the barracks were given land tuh settle on.

That is not what you said in your last post. and I am not debating anything about Black, or Chinese or white so i didnt read the rest. You probably just did not write what you meant correctly in your last post..You said indians and chinese came to T&T with "money"..and that is what i corrected..(specifically about indians)
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 07:26:38 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #392 on: March 15, 2010, 07:06:14 PM »

My grandmother said that her father was not allowed to have a hindi wedding. Back in the day it was illegal . Most indentured workers were treated very badly. and they had very little money.

I know..Trinis who know their country history well, would know the hardships that different races in T&T had to endure back in those colonist times..but obviously we have progressed and hopefully we can progress further as Trinbagonians. I dont mind talking and learning about different aspects/elements/cultural blends that made my country unique today..
Then get ah copy of the history of the ppl of TNT by DR eric williams, also british historians and the west indies, both by dr williams.  

BTW breds, no body eh saying indians had it easy, it's just that africans were rendered cultureless, landless languageless, pennyless and structureless, in other words, we were up sh!t creek without ah canoe, fack ah paddle.

« Reply #393 on: March 15, 2010, 07:08:46 PM »

My grandmother said that her father was not allowed to have a hindi wedding. Back in the day it was illegal . Most indentured workers were treated very badly. and they had very little money.

I know..Trinis who know their country history well, would know the hardships that different races in T&T had to endure back in those colonist times..but obviously we have progressed and hopefully we can progress further as Trinbagonians. I dont mind talking and learning about different aspects/elements/cultural blends that made my country unique today..
Then get ah copy of the history of the ppl of TNT by DR eric williams, also british historians and the west indies, both by dr williams.  

BTW breds, no body eh saying indians had it easy, it's just that africans were rendered cultureless, landless languageless, pennyless and structureless, in other words, we were up sh!t creek without ah canoe, fack ah paddle.

.where did you get all this in any of my posts ??..and when did I mention anything about africans or even whites when correcting you ?? you are a confusing individual..do you think someone is competing "for who had it worse" prize ??
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 07:16:00 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #394 on: March 15, 2010, 07:35:25 PM »

have you ever read the history of trinidad and tobago? well i did! black ppl was even allowed reparations, but never received it up till this day. indians and chinese on the other hand after leaving the barracks were given land tuh settle on.

That is not what you said in your last post. and I am not debating anything about Black, or Chinese or white so i didnt read the rest. You probably just did not write what you meant correctly in your last post..You said indians and chinese came to T&T with "money"..and that is what i corrected..
Well read the rest nah, before yuh jump out the window! as for me saying indians and chinese came here with money, you must be drinking pinesol?? i said and i quote" don't forget, indians and chinese ppl came here with their culture," commer! my next statement was " they also had money to buy land no matter how little it was" end quote! didn't they work for money in the canefields? so yeh they got paid for their labor , and they bought land, plus land was afforded them by the crown. what part of that didn't you understand!

BTW , yuh can't in ah million yrs compare the african experience with the indian, chinese or portuguese experience! we were stolen and forced to work for free for almost 400 yrs, talk about being treated badly, what! yuh think the british was giving us preferential treatment while indians was dumped on.

did indians get licks tuh work in the hot sun, was your names taken away for english names? did they sell indians from up under their parents like puppies ? was indian men and women banned from having families? all this talk about not being able tuh have ah hindi wedding, we were not even allowed tuh marry. all other ppls came here on their own, they got paid, and coulda leave and go back to their homeland anytime they wanted.

« Reply #395 on: March 15, 2010, 07:39:07 PM »

.where did you get all this in any of my posts ??..and when did I mention anything about africans or even whites when correcting you ?? you are a confusing individual..do you think someone is competing "for who had it worse" prize ??
So with that i dun the talk wid you mister. have ah nice night.                         positive.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 07:41:44 PM by just cool »

« Reply #396 on: March 15, 2010, 07:49:05 PM »

have you ever read the history of trinidad and tobago? well i did! black ppl was even allowed reparations, but never received it up till this day. indians and chinese on the other hand after leaving the barracks were given land tuh settle on.

That is not what you said in your last post. and I am not debating anything about Black, or Chinese or white so i didnt read the rest. You probably just did not write what you meant correctly in your last post..You said indians and chinese came to T&T with "money"..and that is what i corrected..
Well read the rest nah, before yuh jump out the window! as for me saying indians and chinese came here with money, you must be drinking pinesol?? i said and i quote" don't forget, indians and chinese ppl came here with their culture," commer! my next statement was " they also had money to buy land no matter how little it was" end quote! didn't they work for money in the canefields? so yeh they got paid for their labor , and they bought land, plus land was afforded them by the crown. what part of that didn't you understand!

BTW , yuh can't in ah million yrs compare the african experience with the indian, chinese or portuguese experience! we were stolen and forced to work for free for almost 400 yrs, talk about being treated badly, what! yuh think the british was giving us preferential treatment while indians was dumped on.

did indians get licks tuh work in the hot sun, was your names taken away for english names? did they sell indians from up under their parents like puppies ? was indian men and women banned from having families? all this talk about not being able tuh have ah hindi wedding, we were not even allowed tuh marry. all other ppls came here on their own, they got paid, and coulda leave and go back to their homeland anytime they wanted.

you can continue going in circle breds..and you can quit comparing..like you running down some of "who had it worse" prize..I know about my african Trini history...so you not telling me anything new.. I specifically corrected you when you said "indians came here with money" which is an untrue statement..now you trying to twist it with land that was bought with money that was earned after they arrived...however you seem to take my correction personal and then tried to compare it with black Trini history..and i still dont understand why..but go brave bredda  continue to fight it  :beermug:
BATTY HOLE!! I NEVER SAID INDAINS CAME HERE WID MONEY!! I SAID THEY CAME HERE WID THEIR CULTURE!!!! THE NEXT LINE WAS MISSUNDERSTOOD BY YOU AND WHOEVER, SO FACK YUSELVES IF YUH MISSUNDERSTAND ME! I DID USE AH COMER, SO WHAT YUH WANT FROM ME?

AFTER ALL, THAT'S YOUR FAULT FOR NOT UNDERSTANDING ENGLISH PROPERLY!! NOW ALLYUH FACK OFF AND LOWE ME WID THE SMALL TALK! I WAS TALKING TUH TRINITY CROSS AND NOT ALLYUH ANY WAY!!

« Reply #397 on: March 15, 2010, 07:50:40 PM »
 :rotfl: ok Just cool dont kill yuhself..maybe i misunderstood you 
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 08:22:22 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #398 on: March 15, 2010, 08:16:21 PM »
for what its worth i interpret it exactly how jus cool explain it

but dat is not even the main point.... ppl lewee doh miss the forest for the trees

« Reply #399 on: March 15, 2010, 08:53:53 PM »
But JC, Indians were marginalized for long periods of our History, and Hindu's in particular were discriminated against.

I remember growing up, the bottom of the ladder were where the indians were!  And firmly so too!

I remember people referring to dem as ole coolies and living in tapia houses made with gobar (cow shit).

How come dem rise to the top, getting all the scholarships etc.

And if all the cultural innovations came from the black areas, that suggests that a new cultural identity was being formed...so why as I asked are there so many black people killing each otehr in the most improvished areas of T&T?

Indians coming doctors, lawyers, engineers, bankers etc, and black people coming killers.

« Reply #400 on: March 15, 2010, 09:05:54 PM »
Holders....one is ah Architect and one is ah Actor/Dancer
Griffith...skin specialist
SIR Henry Pierre.......Doctor.......I believe he was the first Doctor knighted in the commonwealth outside Hengland
Eric Williams.....Phd from Oxford
Karl Hudson-Phillips.......educated in Europe
and many many others that I cant recall at this time

It is a sad situation that so much violence is present in some parts of TnT

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #401 on: March 15, 2010, 09:20:22 PM »
As I said, Indians were once the mud sill of our society. largely uneducated, cutting cane and drinking puncheon rum, while Blacks were the elite...the names you call are just justification of my assertion and they are well known to me.

Blacks controlled MOST governmental posts and after 1970 many more doors were opened when black power (a term coined by the Trinidad express by the way) crushed a lot of the colonial vestiges that still existed, Country club, Pigeon Point in Tobago bank jobs etc.

« Reply #402 on: March 15, 2010, 09:25:25 PM »
But JC, Indians were marginalized for long periods of our History, and Hindu's in particular were discriminated against.

I remember growing up, the bottom of the ladder were where the indians were!  And firmly so too!

I remember people referring to dem as ole coolies and living in tapia houses made with gobar (cow shit).

And if all the cultural innovations came from the black areas, that suggests that a new cultural identity was being formed...so why as I asked are there so many black people killing each otehr in the most improvished areas of T&T?

Indians coming doctors, lawyers, engineers, bankers etc, and black people coming killers.

That's a whole different topic bro. yuh ask ah question, and i gave the most logical sensable answer. the only other explanination would be ah genetic pre disposition to crime (bad seed), and as yuh dun know the black kids in federation park and valsyane  eh committing no kinda crime, so that will be ah serious flaw to that argument.

and as ah matter of fact, it have black lawyers, doctors, engineers, politicians, and highly skilled proffessionals. hek, we even have ah black chief justice!

the fact iz, yuh need tuh @ least scratch the surface tuh get any where near the the cause.

« Reply #403 on: March 15, 2010, 09:27:08 PM »
And West Coast, I did not intend to suggest that presently there are no black lawyers, teachers, doctors etc emerging, I was talking proportionally.

JC from your posting above, the uninitiated may come to the conclusion that Portuguese, the FRENCH, Chinese and THE INDIANS did not play crucial roles in developing T&T Culture.  I am sure that was not your intention though

« Reply #404 on: March 15, 2010, 09:28:36 PM »

That's a whole different topic bro. yuh ask ah question, and i gave the most logical sensable answer. the only other explanination would be ah genetic pre disposition to crime (bad seed), and as yuh dun know the black kids in federation park and valsyane  eh committing no kinda crime, so that will be ah serious flaw to that argument.

and as ah matter of fact, it have black lawyers, doctors, engineers, politicians, and highly skilled proffessionals. hek, we even have ah black chief justice!

the fact iz, yuh need tuh @ least scratch the surface tuh get any where near the the cause.

Could it be that crime is causing poverty and not poverty causing crime?

I remember when Trinidad was MUCH poorer and we had so little crime.

Maybe we need more macos, with everyone watching everyone, crime should decrease.

« Reply #405 on: March 15, 2010, 09:29:57 PM »
As I said, Indians were once the mud sill of our society. largely uneducated, cutting cane and drinking puncheon rum, while Blacks were the elite...the names you call are just justification of my assertion and they are well known to me.

Blacks controlled MOST governmental posts and after 1970 many more doors were opened when black power (a term coined by the Trinidad express by the way) crushed a lot of the colonial vestiges that still existed, Country club, Pigeon Point in Tobago bank jobs etc.
In every former slave society had black elites, that's not the issue here! the majority of blacks were poor, and as yuh know, the ppl behind the bridge was worst off than the indians. they were watchmen and five chiling ah week maids and labourers, hek , even dr williams mudda was ah 5 chiling ah wek maid, and she was from sackville st, which was not considered behind the bridge.

« Reply #406 on: March 15, 2010, 09:32:45 PM »

Could it be that crime is causing poverty and not poverty causing crime?

I remember when Trinidad was MUCH poorer and we had so little crime.

Maybe we need more macos, with everyone watching everyone, crime should decrease.
That's BC the british was on top of things! did you ever here about mr norman swift. well that ernglish man used tuh hang ppl every month without cease, so fellas stayed in line.

« Reply #407 on: March 15, 2010, 09:35:43 PM »
wait nuh allya ent see the movie
Gangs of New York...........? seems that other countries have had troubling times
so having said that
could this era in TnT be a sort of "growing pains" time that has to sorted out one way or the other
that these "Leaders" who run things just flexing their muscles and will eventually bore of this type of behaviour
like getting into a more legal type of business
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #408 on: March 15, 2010, 10:01:03 PM »

In every former slave society had black elites, that's not the issue here! the majority of blacks were poor, and as yuh know, the ppl behind the bridge was worst off than the indians. they were watchmen and five chiling ah week maids and labourers, hek , even dr williams mudda was ah 5 chiling ah wek maid, and she was from sackville st, which was not considered behind the bridge.

But if the seats of government were all attended by blacks, why not do something to alleviate the poverty?

« Reply #409 on: March 15, 2010, 10:04:33 PM »
Gangs of New York...........? seems that other countries have had troubling times
so having said that
could this era in TnT be a sort of "growing pains" time that has to sorted out one way or the other
that these "Leaders" who run things just flexing their muscles and will eventually bore of this type of behaviour

What you talking about. T&T must remain the same and if it must grow it must grow without any struggles whatsoever. Look at the US, they reach where they are smoothly and only take 234 years on they own to acheive this utopic state. We 48 years old and cannot get it right.

« Reply #410 on: March 15, 2010, 10:12:31 PM »
so having said that

What you talking about. T&T must remain the same and if it must grow it must grow without any struggles whatsoever. Look at the US, they reach where they are smoothly and only take 234 years on they own to acheive this utopic state. We 48 years old and cannot get it right.

Fella, why can't we use History as a guide and see ALL the mistakes the others made to their utopia state?

Why we have to invent new troubles and copy old ones?  Yuh talking shit!

Growing pains is one thing, rampant crime, inept governance, and malfeasance is another.  The USA copied much of what was good in England and France, then adapted it to their scenario.

We taking much of what was bad and improving it...lol

« Reply #411 on: March 15, 2010, 10:19:22 PM »

But if the seats of government were all attended by blacks, why not do something to alleviate the poverty?
i should ask you that since yuhs ah PNM. BTW Breds, them iz white men in black skin. i used tuh see my great aunt and dem breakin they neck tuh vote for PMN, while the indian and the upity white folks was voting for ULF and ONR, yet under the PNM, those same EDR poor ppl never progressed, instead iz the indians and the whites who got all the government contracts tuh build roads and government housing.

yes mutilal munan, amar, raymond, and wimpey give all their sub contracts to indians and whites, while the poorpers in the ghetto still voted PMN BC they get 10 days gangs tuh run in the hood, and that's about all they got.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 10:27:02 PM by just cool »

« Reply #412 on: March 15, 2010, 10:23:55 PM »
NJAC was the only party that did anything for black ppl , after the black power up rising , poor less educated black ppl started tuh get better jobs, but before that, poor black was relegated tuh menial jobs.

iz old ppl i used tuh hang with when i was home and i learned a lot of what the island was like before, so if i lying, then is after them, BC i got it directly from the horses mouth.

« Reply #413 on: March 15, 2010, 10:25:16 PM »
so having said that

so wait the "Civil War" was a game of HopScotch or wha?

That is the most destructive situation that a country can go through
It splits a country, splits communities and splits families
That was NOT an easy time for the us atall

whoops....me thinks you were being sarcastic :D
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 10:33:42 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #414 on: March 15, 2010, 10:28:11 PM »
so having said that

Fella, why can't we use History as a guide and see ALL the mistakes the others made to their utopia state?

Why we have to invent new troubles and copy old ones?  Yuh talking shit!

Growing pains is one thing, rampant crime, inept governance, and malfeasance is another.  The USA copied much of what was good in England and France, then adapted it to their scenario.

We taking much of what was bad and improving it...lol

What if that's our growing pains. NOt everyone grows the same. I not saying it is just took up on a different angle that WC put out there. This is how problem are solved no. Different inputs with different ideas. NO? What you say there might be as real as what WC say. Who knows for sure.

« Reply #415 on: March 15, 2010, 10:30:37 PM »
so having said that

That is the most insipid situation that a country can go through

Would the Civil war, the montgomery street protests, or the KKK undertakings be considered crimes on society?

« Reply #416 on: March 15, 2010, 10:34:16 PM »
PMN always saying the children of today are the leaders of tomorrow ,doh blame them nobody didnt listen.I doh think this could get better for atleast another 2 generations.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 10:36:33 PM by Quags »

« Reply #417 on: March 15, 2010, 10:36:24 PM »
so having said that

That is the most insipid situation that a country can go through

Would the Civil war, the montgomery street protests, or the KKK undertakings be considered crimes on society?
Tout bageye :D
they ALL have an affect/effect(boat ah dem) (good or bad) on a Society ;D
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 10:41:49 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #418 on: March 15, 2010, 11:03:36 PM »
NJAC was the only party that did anything for black ppl , after the black power up rising , poor less educated black ppl started tuh get better jobs, but before that, poor black was relegated tuh menial jobs.

iz old ppl i used tuh hang with when i was home and i learned a lot of what the island was like before, so if i lying, then is after them, BC i got it directly from the horses mouth.

So JC with one fell swoop you just negating the legacy of Eric Williams?   Poor blacks today are still not doing menial jobs alongside poor indians?

Mootilal Moonan and Sammy etc, did have ll the road building contracts wrapped up in &T, but they is the oes who bring in big equipment to do the job, den Neal &Massey did after.

In Trinidad the government and many posteers here too, makes it out that a victim of crime must somehow have been related to crime and so excuses it, rather that tryng to eliminate it. Crime can only survive in Trinidad, the richest country in the region, because the government does not take it seriously enough but tries to excuse it.

Black men mostly to blame for not developing family structures....the drugs and easy money makes the chirren vulnerable to criminal elements

« Reply #419 on: March 16, 2010, 03:16:59 AM »

So JC with one fell swoop you just negating the legacy of Eric Williams?   Poor blacks today are still not doing menial jobs alongside poor indians?

Mootilal Moonan and Sammy etc, did have ll the road building contracts wrapped up in &T, but they is the oes who bring in big equipment to do the job, den Neal &Massey did after.

In Trinidad the government and many posteers here too, makes it out that a victim of crime must somehow have been related to crime and so excuses it, rather that tryng to eliminate it. Crime can only survive in Trinidad, the richest country in the region, because the government does not take it seriously enough but tries to excuse it.

Black men mostly to blame for not developing family structures....the drugs and easy money makes the chirren vulnerable to criminal elements

True dat, but who bringin the stuff from columbia and venezuela, not the rich fellas with money tuh bun and contacts up the yingyang? tell meh, if i well tuh do and have paper, would i bother selling drugs on the retail market tuh get caught and imprisoned? breds , is only ah set ah desperate poor ppl selling drugs!

ppl who are highly skilled have no interest in selling drugs on the retail level, they may finance it , but as far as selling it on the streets, that's poor n!gger and spanish from the hood doing dat! not tuh exonerate it , but in order for drugs tuh sell, yuh need desperate ppl wid no viable income and sub standard education.