April 19, 2024, 09:20:48 AM

Author Topic: 2009 Western Conf. Final Denver Nuggets V Los Angeles Lakers  (Read 14649 times)

Re: 2009 Western Conf. Final Denver Nuggets V Los Angeles Lakers
« Reply #30 on: May 20, 2009, 10:27:08 PM »
LA get lucky lastnite.denver takin game 2.

Dat is d best u could come up with after 24 hrs. :( very  :(
u is one maco.man wukkin hard all day.reach home,hit de shower,buss ah eat and log on.next time i'll respond earlier.

U priorities in this order kiss d wife and chile then log on

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #31 on: May 21, 2009, 05:02:22 PM »
IN CHAUNCEY & MELO WE TRUSS!!! LEHWE TAKE GAME TWO FELLAZ!!
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #32 on: May 21, 2009, 06:18:46 PM »
i say so. :beermug:

« Reply #33 on: May 21, 2009, 07:03:39 PM »

We does deal wit paper we doh truss. Kobe Bills

Offline breezers

« Reply #34 on: May 21, 2009, 07:47:51 PM »

;D cool nah man...game young  ;D
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #35 on: May 21, 2009, 07:59:34 PM »

Me eh even know d score

Offline breezers

« Reply #36 on: May 21, 2009, 08:04:38 PM »

Me eh even know d score

LAL: 51 - DN: 38 with 2:40 mins remainin in d 2nd....LAL causin problems and Nuggets lookin sluggish but we'll get it together!!

http://www.justin.tv/mundanetv/popout

55-54 LAL half time lead...we comin back!! ;D
« Last Edit: May 21, 2009, 08:19:43 PM by breezers »
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #37 on: May 21, 2009, 08:36:10 PM »

Me eh even know d score

LAL: 51 - DN: 38 with 2:40 mins remainin in d 2nd....LAL causin problems and Nuggets lookin sluggish but we'll get it together!!

Thanks 4 d info

Offline breezers

« Reply #38 on: May 21, 2009, 08:41:51 PM »

Me eh even know d score

Thanks 4 d info

de nada!! :beermug:
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #39 on: May 21, 2009, 09:53:57 PM »
denver take game 2 106-103.series tied.

« Reply #40 on: May 21, 2009, 09:55:17 PM »
big game by melo and billups.ah say b4 LA get lucky in game 1.

Offline breezers

« Reply #41 on: May 21, 2009, 09:55:52 PM »

GOOD WIN GOOD WIN!!!
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #42 on: May 21, 2009, 10:25:55 PM »

GOOD WIN GOOD WIN!!!

What good bout it.

Offline breezers

« Reply #43 on: May 21, 2009, 10:41:10 PM »

GOOD WIN GOOD WIN!!!

What good bout it.

Ah road victory is alwayz ah big win!! So now we hatta handle business back home...so it's all goin as planned!  ;D
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #44 on: May 23, 2009, 07:13:15 PM »
Lakers center Bynum, coach Phil Jackson at odds
By ARNIE STAPLETON, AP Sports Writer
2 hours, 9 minutes ago

Buzz up!244 votes PrintDENVER (AP)—Andrew Bynum(notes) wants to play more minutes, and Los Angeles Lakers coach Phil Jackson has just the solution: Play better defense.

“If he plays well, he’ll have more time,” Jackson said Saturday, several hours before Game 3 of the Western Conference finals against the Denver Nuggets.

Bynum criticized the Lakers’ defensive scheme after getting yanked from Game 2 early in the second half for his lackadaisical play that led to an easy bucket for Denver.

Jackson was displeased that Bynum didn’t hustle downcourt after failing to get a pass in the post, which allowed Nuggets center Nene to make a layup and draw a foul from Kobe Bryant(notes). So, Bynum took a seat with 7:14 left in the third quarter and never returned, finishing with nine points, two rebounds, one foul and no turnovers in the Lakers’ 106-103 loss that evened the series at 1-1.

Bynum bristled Friday when asked about Denver’s frontcourt prowess in this series.

“They’re getting their stuff because of our defensive scheme. They’re just driving to the basket and nobody’s bumping them,” Bynum said, according to The Los Angeles Times.

Before Game 3, Bynum said he hadn’t discussed his criticism with his coach but he alternately stuck by his assertion and backed away from it.

“Yeah, and I think we went over some different things today, changed it up a little bit,” Bynum said of the defensive philosophies.

So, what exactly was wrong with the defensive scheme?

“Not the scheme is the problem. We’re just not executing it,” Bynum said. “You’ve got to take away that middle pass. They’re throwing it into the middle and just getting too much penetration.”

Bynum insisted there’s no friction between him and Jackson.

“No, definitely not. Like I said, the scheme is fine. We’re not executing it,” he said.

Does that mean Bynum’s not executing it?

“Everybody,” he said. “Nobody’s doing what we need to do correctly.”

Bynum, who missed a chunk of the season for the second straight year after tearing a ligament in his right knee Jan. 31, has been inconsistent in the playoffs. He went scoreless three times against Houston in the semifinals. Bynum said he’s feeling fine and guessed his knee was at 85 to 90 percent.

He brushed aside a suggestion that having missed so much time, he’s playing at a slower speed in the playoffs than his opponents.

“The only part that’s tough is not knowing when you’re going to be called upon,” Bynum said. “Because you get tight and you get stiff.”

Jackson said the way to stay on the court was playing better. But he added that this dispute with his 21-year-old center was overblown.

“I think he’s doing fine. I think there’s just way too much focus. This is a guy who hasn’t even played a lot of minutes,” Jackson said. “To sustain the effort for Andrew is a big deal. He can run for three, four minutes on the court and then he tires. … So, we’re just looking for short bursts from him and opportunities for him to go in there and help us.”

« Reply #45 on: May 23, 2009, 07:15:04 PM »
denver goin up 2-1

« Reply #46 on: May 23, 2009, 07:42:51 PM »
series gettin physical,tempers startin to flare.

« Reply #47 on: May 23, 2009, 08:27:56 PM »
Nuggets rise to occasion to square series
By Johnny Ludden, Yahoo! Sports
May 22, 8:46 am EDT

LOS ANGELES – Another lead was slipping away, another opportunity about to skirt past the Denver Nuggets. Chauncey Billups(notes) felt the nightmare happening all over again. The Los Angeles Lakers had rushed by the Nuggets in the closing minutes two nights earlier, and now they were doing so again.

No more, Billups vowed as he took his place in Denver’s huddle. No easy baskets, he barked. Get tough. Make the Lakers pay for coming into the lane.

Make. Them. Pay.

Finally, for once in their cursed playoff history with the Lakers, the Nuggets shoved back. On this night, even Kobe Bryant(notes) fell at their feet. Derek Fisher’s(notes) last-gasp 3-pointer dropped woefully short of the rim, and the Nuggets walked off the court with a 106-103 victory, having squared the Western Conference finals at a game apiece.

Some 30 minutes later, Kenyon Martin(notes) stood in front of his locker and delivered another pointed message to Laker Nation. Anyone who’s looking forward to watching Kobe duel LeBron in the NBA Finals might want to make a contingency plan.

“Y’all can go home and play NBA Live or something,” K-Mart grunted, “if y’all want to see that matchup.”

Nike can keep putting on its Kobe & LeBron puppet shows. Let David Stern and his comrades at Disney drool over this season’s dream Finals matchup. If the league has already anointed the Lakers and Cleveland Cavaliers as its conference champions, the Nuggets didn’t pay attention.

“They got a fight on their hand over here,” Martin said. “And Cleveland got a fight on their hand, as well. It ain’t just going to be us and Orlando lay down, so they can play in two weeks.

“That ain’t going to happen. I’m going to make sure it don’t.”

K-Mart made sure, for one night, at least. His layup with 29.6 seconds left put the Nuggets ahead to stay, ending an 11-game playoff losing streak to the Lakers that dated to the 1985 conference finals. The Lakers swept the Nuggets out of the first round a year ago, and the popular feeling was that they had already absorbed the Nuggets’ best shot in this series after rallying past Denver in the opener.

So when the Nuggets quickly gave back a seven-point lead in the fourth quarter? Everyone knew what was coming next. Just another mile-high collapse. Hadn’t the Nuggets advanced through the first two rounds of the playoffs too easily? Even Houston Rockets forward Shane Battier(notes) questioned the Nuggets’ ability to stare down adversity, and he wasn’t alone.

“So-called experts thought we were going to fold?” Martin said. “Nobody in this locker room did, man.”

That’s the difference between these Nuggets and those of years past. As Martin also said: “We believe.”

Billups, more than anyone else, has given Denver its faith. He’s steadied the Nuggets throughout the season and he did so again on Thursday after the Lakers ran out to a 13-point lead with less than 2½ minutes left in the second quarter.

“They had us in a bad place,” said Billups, who followed a 3-pointer by Linas Kleiza(notes) with one of his own, then added a pair of free throws.

As the Nuggets tried to inbound under their basket on the final play of the quarter, Bryant inexplicably turned his back on Billups. Billups threw the ball off Bryant’s jersey, caught the carom, then darted baseline for a layup to send the Nuggets into halftime down only a point.

“Last year, the lead probably would have went from 10 to 20,” Nuggets forward Carmelo Anthony(notes) said. “I’d be sitting here talking to you about a loss last year, where this year our team is so much mentally tougher.”

That includes Anthony himself. He has raised his game in these playoffs to a level where only the elite reside. After scoring 39 points in the series’ opener, he went for 34 in Game 2 and defended Bryant credibly in the final quarter – all while playing on a tender ankle.

“It seems like his confidence then kind of spread to the other guys on the team,” Fisher said.

In truth, George Karl might have been the only Nugget in need of a self-esteem check after the team’s disheartening loss on Tuesday. As Karl sat in the coach’s office, door open, after that game, he looked like a beaten man. His morose attitude carried over to the post-game news conference, prompting, he said, a couple friends to call and question whether his children had died.

“I was kind of in shock, I think,” Karl said. “…We were one rebound, one free throw, one jump ball away from probably having the biggest win in Nuggets history.”

The Nuggets, fortunately, have learned to ignore their coach’s occasional pity parade. To show just how much they’ve grown from last season, Karl kept the Nuggets here after Thursday’s game. A year ago, he didn’t trust his players to police themselves and forced the team to jet home between its two games in L.A.

The Nuggets simmered over that edict. Now, to disrespect these Nuggets is to embolden them. Even after the Lakers struggled against the Rockets, Billups scoffed at the suggestion that anyone actually thought Denver could win the West finals.

“People have picked us because it’s just boring to just say the Lakers are going to win,” Billups said. “Before the playoffs even started, we were supposed to lose to New Orleans. We haven’t forgotten that.”

The underdog role suits them well, and the Nuggets now return to Denver with the one victory they sought. They’ll play the next two games in high altitude, and already there are questions whether the Lakers remain fatigued from their long series with the Rockets. The Lakers’ big men have disappeared once again, unable to exploit their size advantage against the smaller Nuggets. Lakers coach Phil Jackson also said he needed to give Bryant a “mental break” in Game 2, which could explain why neither Bryant nor Pau Gasol(notes) bothered to watch Billups on that costly inbounds play.

The Lakers still have time to find their legs and heads, though the sooner they do, the better. LeBron can wait. Win or lose, Kobe and his Lakers have discovered this much: They’ve got another fight on their hands.

« Reply #48 on: May 23, 2009, 09:06:47 PM »
This game playing like a east coast game. Denver like they don't want to win this one though. 

« Reply #49 on: May 23, 2009, 09:23:35 PM »
I can't believe the Knicks trade Ariza for Steve Francis.

« Reply #50 on: May 23, 2009, 09:28:32 PM »

« Reply #51 on: May 23, 2009, 09:29:43 PM »

D WHOOOOOOOOOO. It still have a team call dat?

« Reply #52 on: May 23, 2009, 09:32:12 PM »
103-97... I love it!

« Reply #53 on: May 23, 2009, 09:33:38 PM »

yeah man.  you might know them as the 2011 NBA champs.

« Reply #54 on: May 23, 2009, 09:37:10 PM »

yeah man.  you might know them as the 2011 NBA champs.

So u givin dem 2 yrs 2 turn it around.

« Reply #55 on: May 23, 2009, 09:40:30 PM »
Sung to Biggie's "Going back to Cali"

When the LA LA hits yuh

Yuh jump shot fails yuh

Yuh block attempt fails yuh

because we are neither with yuh but against yuh

jus call us slayers

talkin about the showtime inventor

Spel his name right it's K-O-B-E

See nobody does it better

Coming to watch LA strictly for the ball play, best closer in the game

What's your name, f'Denver, Cavs, Magic, LA great team to win it

I am watching watching play play KOBE KOBE...

« Reply #56 on: May 24, 2009, 07:12:36 AM »
Allyuh does get into this thing deep boy.

Denver give away this one. Series should be 3-0 Denver. Them men come out looking disinterested. This one going 7 games. Look for the refs to tief for the Lakers in LA.

« Reply #57 on: May 24, 2009, 11:01:39 PM »
denver in 7.

« Reply #58 on: May 24, 2009, 11:31:12 PM »
denver in 7.

One ting yuh consistant. Consistantly wrong but consistant.

« Reply #59 on: May 24, 2009, 11:32:54 PM »
denver in 7.

One ting yuh consistant. Consistantly wrong but consistant.
:rotfl:wait and see mama.