April 25, 2024, 07:31:44 AM

Author Topic: The Official Transfer Thread (2009-2010 season) players & coaches.  (Read 103474 times)

Re: The Official Transfer Thread (2009-2010 season) players & coaches.
« Reply #420 on: July 14, 2009, 11:59:42 AM »
At the end of the day, in the highly levered capitalist society that we live in, the market will compensate at the rate that is determined by market forces, and available methods of financing...according to that philosophy there is no such thing as overpaid & underpaid...

But then you have the anomalies of $100M+ and $80M+ offers from Real Madrid that skew the market. These weren't really determined by market forces per se, hence the reluctance of the same team to shell out >$50M for Ribery.

Those professionals mentioned deserve their pay as much as any of these athletes, esp. given the fact that the vast majority of their salaries are performance-based bonuses whereas the performance-based portion of footballers' salaries are tiny fractions of their total pay. Footballers can sh*t down themselves (Sheva anyone?) and still pull in real cash. If a professional (banker, trader) has a bad year they are shown the door.

But in the grand scheme of professional athletes, footballers aren't really as well paid as say Basketball players and baseball players

« Reply #421 on: July 14, 2009, 12:07:44 PM »
I doubt any of the professionals you listed consistently earn those wages or anything close.  In fact in many instances they would have had to pay lots of dues before being recognized on such a scale to earn exorbidant figures.  The lawyers who earn the most are corporate lawyers not criminal.  Criminal lawyers make pittance for years upon years before they can earn a good amount and it's usually by virtue of representing (other) people with money (often celebrities).  The specialists Docs often spend more money on education than me or you might spend in food throughout our lifetime.  So no matter what the healthcare system picture they are reaping the rewards of their dedication.  Finance industry is not even comparable as you'll often find only a select few make major money, the rest live far beyond their means often to impress other people with money to work with them.  You can't drive a Lancer but want to manage a billionaire's money, he will laugh at yuh and find the next broker whippin de most exotic car that gives the appearance of doing well.

Personally I think players salaries in all sports should be incentive/ bonus based.  And they should get a % of merchandising directly related to their contribution.  I imagine a player who turned himself into a brand would earn even more than some of these figures, but at least it could be seen as fairly earned based on the contribution.  I wouldn't buy Jordans but I have great respect for the man because he learn to play the sport then the game after.  Far too often players are paid based on projections and potential.  How often have we seen those projections stop way short of the mark.  Take KJ (I rell happy fuh him) but I don't think it was great business sense how Sunderland moved with that extension.  He didn't earn that in my eyes, he was rewarded based on what they believe he can do but not based on what he has done.  Look at RM they spent about 200M pounds in transfers alone (we eh even know what the salaries will be yet) and with those players come added excitement, but it eh guarantreed to make a difference.  What if it fails?  Then it looks like overpayment for underachieving.  Now if incentive based then it seems more justified if the get ridiculous wages based on success.

Now doh get tie up an feel I vex wit dem men fuh what dey makin eh.  It eh dem fault that these sports clubs pay so much for their signatures so power to the players.

Alot of what you say is accurate, so I guess we could chalk it up to opportunity cost.
Going back to the doctors - they pay a premium and dedicate years of their life to study, examinations, high pressure situations and constant refresher courses. They are well compensated for that - but don't think that it takes years to reap the benefits after they start practicing. Doctors out of specialist residency will gross 7 digits in their first year, and that is not inclusive of those who are paid a premium to moonlight.
Conversely, footballers hone their skills from childhood and make personal sacrifices, family time, personal preferences and in many cases such as many Brasilian stars, work their way out of abject poverty to play football. Many of them have to depend on family members to make sacrifices so that they can have the chance to be seen or to attend tryouts.
Just think locally of Brian Lara - he didn't come from wealth and the sacrifices his family had to make for him to attend Harvard cricket, as well as making the sacrifice to go to Fatima and then having to live with another family. None of that can be easy on any child - so when they are compensated for their sacrifices I believe that they should make as much as they possibly can, because if they don't take the money - someone else will.

I'd argue for the finance industry to be considered because you don't get to the upper echelon by attending community college (not trying to knock anyone), but it's as simple as that. Take the firm McKinsey & Co. that only hires you if you're coming out of an Ivy League school. 4 years at any one of them, or private reputable schools will cost at least $50k per year x 4 years = $200k. Then add a reputable Masters Program and you're adding another $100k ... then count the 18 hour days, and having to incur the high cost of living associated with living in the financial capitals of the world like NYC, London, Paris - and then having to wine and dine clients, brokers, analysts, traders, etc at $125 per entree restaurants and $500 bottles of wine - and many of these guys don't even have a Lancer - they have a metrocard and use the 6 train. It's also not only a select few that make money in finance. You'll be surprised to see who and how many people make in the high 6 figures and low 7s .... and after taxes for everyone, their disposable isn't that far off many footballers.

Kinda glad that you brought up how Sunderland dealt with KJ. Imagine his valuation dropped 7M quid in 6 months,  and yet he's still commanding a reasonably hefty wage. Should he be giving back some of that to Sunderland now that he hasn't lived up to reputation? You can parlay that to AIG execs who's funds didn't perform, yet commanded high salaries and higher bonuses - but how many of us are capable or trained to deal with the tasks that KJ or AIG execs undertake?

On your suggestion about setting up a "commission" based incentivized reward system - I've always believed it would be appropriate for Windies Cricket, especially since these players aren't kept together year round like footballers. However, while goals win matches and the only performances that matter are the results on gameday, remember that footballers train daily, and are monitored year round by their clubs. They are mandated to attend social events to represent the club and perform many non-footballing tasks - in essence, they go to work everyday and some days are harder than others. Their vacation is also limited, and like many of us - if they take too many sick days, they get a reputation like Michael Owen (and look at what he earns on the list, and what he ended up signing for recently).

« Reply #422 on: July 14, 2009, 12:08:38 PM »
I mean what can you buy with 280k pounds a week that you cant buy with 140k pounds a week?

2 of everyting you were buying when you were earning 140K i.e. 2 fridge, 2 stove, 2 house, 2 car, 2 girls etc...

« Reply #423 on: July 14, 2009, 12:09:14 PM »
if man city get the other players they want, tevez may find himself coming off d bench again. now that will b very funny

Santa Cruz go get pine and he will run a 433 with Robinho left, Tevez on the right and Eto'o in the middle. Should the deal happen.

Is more like Bellamy might be the odd man out.

« Reply #424 on: July 14, 2009, 12:49:41 PM »
if man city get the other players they want, tevez may find himself coming off d bench again. now that will b very funny

Santa Cruz go get pine and he will run a 433 with Robinho left, Tevez on the right and Eto'o in the middle. Should the deal happen.

Is more like Bellamy might be the odd man out.

Given what they spent on him they might be more willing to have him start if healthy I feel.

acb no argument about the sacrifices etc, that is all understandable.  I think my biggest grouse with salaries in sports is the fact that it is far too often potential based.  Take CR for instance, I can't be mad at RM despite the bullshit they do to the market.  Why, because to this point CR has eleveated to being one of the top 2 footballers in the world (#1 depending on perspective)  He has earned the mega payday even at this early stage in his career.  I will say this though, of all sports with high salaries footbaal still attempts to pay players based on skill and performance.  It is extremely rare for other high profile sports for a non superstar to have his contract adjusted before the final year. 
The American sports are the worst offenders in that when traded you still maintain the original salary as opposed to getting a new contract.  Imagine Scotty would still earn whatever small money he earned at Swansea while playing for Wigan in the new season if the same model were followed.  So for that even though it isn't a perfect system I still prefer this structure overall.  Oh and ivy league schools cost more than $50G a semester, think more $80-100 per.

« Reply #425 on: July 14, 2009, 02:19:59 PM »
The way I see it right now, man city paid 18m pounds to put Roque Santa Cruz on their bench.. and that's insane.

i don't see how else he fitting into their projected lineup.. The way I see it, its either a 4-3-3 lineup with 3 forwards and no wingers as in:

Adebayor

Robinho                      Tevez

Barry                        Ireland
                  De Jong

Bridge    Dunne   Richards    Onuoha

Given

... or a lineup with wingers and a single defensive midfielder:

Tevez     Adebayor

Robinho    Ireland    Barry       SWP

Bridge    Dunne   Kompany    Richards

Given

NB: (Defence subject to refinancing)

« Reply #426 on: July 14, 2009, 02:40:19 PM »
Man City might need a new coach- getting the feeling that Hughes isn't up to that kinda responsibility they're putting on his shoulders.  Hughes strikes me as the type of coach that can bring the best out of a squad of unskilled, battling journeymen...not a big side like the one they're trying to manufacture for next season.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2009, 03:00:11 PM by kicker »

« Reply #427 on: July 14, 2009, 02:50:36 PM »
Man City might need a new coach- getting the feeling that Hughes is up to that kinda responsibility they're putting on his shoulders.  Hughes strikes me as the type of coach that can bring the best out of a squad of unskilled, battling journeymen...not a big side like the one they're trying to manufacture for next season.

i getting that same feeling, not sure he can deal with the egos of them extremely wealthy superstars next season.

look at how he handle robinho last year. let de man do wha he want.

imo sven was doing a better job with that side.

« Reply #428 on: July 14, 2009, 03:02:50 PM »
Man City might need a new coach- getting the feeling that Hughes is up to that kinda responsibility they're putting on his shoulders.  Hughes strikes me as the type of coach that can bring the best out of a squad of unskilled, battling journeymen...not a big side like the one they're trying to manufacture for next season.

i getting that same feeling, not sure he can deal with the egos of them extremely wealthy superstars next season.

Bellamy go make him shit he pants.  Bellamy is done ah friggin head case when he ready, imagine him healthy and sitting.  He will be one expensive bench warmer (slithly cheaper than Santa Cruz)

« Reply #429 on: July 14, 2009, 03:03:40 PM »

If Man City isn't in the top 5 or 6 (within CL striking distance points-wise) in January he will lose his job.  

Put Rijkaard on speed dial....or maybe Big Phil might get a 2nd bite at the EPL apple. 
« Last Edit: July 14, 2009, 03:07:44 PM by kicker »

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #430 on: July 14, 2009, 03:08:13 PM »
why do people think that these salaries are overkill?

A player making 100k quid per week is only making 5.2M quid per year - then tax that in half.

If you draw comparisons to any company, these human resources are the most valuable assets to the club that create wealth and are in many cases the main sources of revenue for the club - so why not compensate them well?

Their compensation packages actually pale in comparison to traders, analysts, bankers, high level salespersons and executives who direct, create and manage wealth for their respective firms.

If anything, many of these players are underpaid.

The last figures I saw Ambramovich has pumped £2 Million a week of his own money into the club since he took it over, Chelsea's loss last year was bigger than 2/3rd of the EPL teams turnover. 

Only a couple of clubs can sustain those wages, they are simply overpaid.  The real problem isn't what teh superstars are paid however its the raft of mediorce players that make £20/30/40/50 thousand a week that are vastly overpaid.

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
Its all About The Money
« Reply #431 on: July 15, 2009, 07:32:34 AM »
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/football/jim-white/article/9828/

It's all about the money

Emmanuel Adebayor (pictured) looks likely to join Carlos Tevez at Manchester City this week, becoming another member of that exclusive group of players seeking a fresh challenge at the City of Manchester Stadium. And that challenge is: how can they spend all that money?

It is easy to be cynical about Mark Hughes's summer recruitment drive. But that shouldn't necessarily stop us. Here are two players well established at Champions League clubs joining an outfit whose access to Europe this coming season will be confined to the occasional booze cruise. At Eastlands they will meet up with Gareth Barry, a man who last summer said he needed to leave Aston Villa for Liverpool because playing regularly in the Champions League was his "best way of solidifying" his England place, only to head for a club not even in the Europa League 12 months later.

And the three of them may well be joined soon by John Terry, who is being tempted northwards by a wad reckoned to be in excess of £200,000 a week. Hughes claimed that the decision Terry has to make about moving from Chelsea is about "reigniting his career". It is most definitely "not about money". Which must rank as the most disingenuous statement of this most disingenuous of transfer seasons. "Not about money"? Sure, just as Andrew Strauss's dispatch of the physio to treat a clearly fully fit and functioning James Anderson during the last session of Sunday's extraordinary Ashes test was "not about time-wasting".

It is all about money. But then it always is. When Antonio Valencia joined Manchester United from Wigan it was accepted by most fans that he was doing so, as he said, to further his ambition. He was arriving at the Premier League champions, he would be playing in the Champions League, alongside some of the country's most accomplished professionals. But we can all agree the chances of him taking a pay cut in order to do so are minimal. The fact is, Valencia's salary will have gone up in direct correlation to his ambition.

And yet we fans seem not to see that. Distraught Wigan followers apart, we accept Valencia's need for self-improvement while at the same time mocking Adebayor and Tevez's talk of leading the City revolution as little more than a flimsy cover for their greed. You imagine that Barry's return to Villa Park with City on October 5 will be soundtracked by something a little more pointed than a happy acknowledgment that his career needed the impetus of the move.

But think of it this way. If - for instance - we accept that the only legitimate transfer for a decent player is to go to a Champions League club, because that is the only way we can be sure he is achieving his aim of self-improvement, then the cosy quartet at the top of the Premier League are safe; they will be the only clubs able to hoover up the talent. How else can a club like City expect to break into that cartel except by attracting the best players? And when they have nothing to offer except money in order to do so, what else can they do but to proffer it in huge quantities? As Vito Corleone demonstrated, you can go a long way by making an offer they can't refuse.

As it happens, I think it takes more than that and that Mark Hughes is playing a blinder this summer. Despite what we bitter and impoverished cynics might think, attracting players capable of playing anywhere in the world is not easy when all you have to sell is an increase to their bank balance, if for no other reason than because all of them are capable of increasing their money wherever they head. Hughes is clearly a good salesman as well as a good buyer. With his squad now boasting five serious forwards (though the rumour is one of them - Craig Bellamy - may already be on his way to Sunderland), a couple of good midfielders and a solid keeper, should he add Terry to his defence, he will have some team.

There is every chance, if his recruitment drive continues along this path, that next season will belong to City. The summer is already theirs.
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #432 on: July 15, 2009, 08:54:00 AM »

If Man City isn't in the top 5 or 6 (within CL striking distance points-wise) in January he will lose his job.  

Put Rijkaard on speed dial....or maybe Big Phil might get a 2nd bite at the EPL apple. 

Totally agree. They need a big name coach. I also think they need more balance in their acqusiitions.
Big Phil cah speak English and that hurting him

« Reply #433 on: July 15, 2009, 08:58:08 AM »
why do people think that these salaries are overkill?

A player making 100k quid per week is only making 5.2M quid per year - then tax that in half.

If you draw comparisons to any company, these human resources are the most valuable assets to the club that create wealth and are in many cases the main sources of revenue for the club - so why not compensate them well?

Their compensation packages actually pale in comparison to traders, analysts, bankers, high level salespersons and executives who direct, create and manage wealth for their respective firms.

If anything, many of these players are underpaid.

The last figures I saw Ambramovich has pumped £2 Million a week of his own money into the club since he took it over, Chelsea's loss last year was bigger than 2/3rd of the EPL teams turnover. 

Only a couple of clubs can sustain those wages, they are simply overpaid.  The real problem isn't what teh superstars are paid however its the raft of mediorce players that make £20/30/40/50 thousand a week that are vastly overpaid.
I like this logic, but the problem lies in the fact that you can't instill a 'team' ethos with the idea that you have 15 grunts on a team and one or possibly two megastars. Every league is going to look like the MLS, with the LA galaxy being the alpha prime offender.

When you're working in any company, you are aware that you're in a hierarchical structure, where the fella above you who calling your shots is entitled to earn more than you.

On a football team, you are theoretically in a horinzontally interlocking structure, the fella who calling the shots (the star) not going to get much of anything done if the 10 grunts around him don't do their work. If you don't get the pass in to him, chances are he not going to be able to work his magic. If you don't pull defenders away from him, he not going to get free to get shots off. If you don't win the ball away from the other team, he's hardly likely to get a chance to lead an attack etc etc etc

While its 'normal' to have extremely inflated salaries for the star players, the baseline salary level for a starter on the same team in the same league cannot be reduced to the level that you are insinuating it should, even for 'mediocre' players.

The comparison works a lot better in individual sports, but then these tend to be mostly performance based salaries anyway...

« Reply #434 on: July 15, 2009, 02:11:29 PM »
 After weeks of waiting it appears that Barça have made their first signing of the summer. According to the club's website an agreement has been reached with Inter Milan for the purchace of Brazilian left back Maxwell Scherrer Cabelino Andrade. Barça will pay €4.5 million with a possible further €0.5 million for variables and Maxwell will sign until 2014. Maxwell will be 28 in August and before joining Inter he played for Cruziero and Ajax.

The option of buying Filipe Luis from Deportivo was deemed to expensive, so it is Maxwell who will replace Sylvinho and now compete with Eric Abidal for the left back position. While we may all have been hoping for a bigger name like Villa or Ribery we should remember that so far only Sylvinho has left the club so...

« Reply #435 on: July 16, 2009, 07:42:52 AM »
big signing!

Brazil defender Lucio moves to Inter Milan

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/9813854/Brazil-defender-Lucio-moves-to-Inter-Milan

MUNICH (AP) - Brazil defender Lucio is leaving Bayern Munich for Italian champion Inter Milan, where he is expected to sign a three-year contract.

Bayern agreed Thursday to release Lucio from his contract, which had another year to run, ending weeks of speculation over the 31-year-old's future.

Bayern manager Uli Hoeness said Bayern agreed "through gritted teeth" to accept Lucio's wish to leave. Lucio will sign a three-year deal with Inter, subject to a medical, he said.

The German club said both sides agreed not to disclose the transfer fee for Lucio, who captained the Brazil team that won the Confederations Cup in South Africa.

Lucio said during that tournament that he wanted to play a few more years in Europe but was unsure whether he would remain with Bayern Munich following reported criticism from new coach Louis Van Gaal.

Club president Franz Beckenbauer said that was based on "misunderstandings" and argued that Bayern should keep Lucio, but speculation persisted.

Lucio joined Bayern in 2004 from German rival Bayer Leverkusen. He has played 144 Bundesliga games for the club, winning three league and German Cup doubles.

Bayern has made several major signings for the new season, including Croatia forward Ivica Olic and Germany striker Mario Gomez.

Alongside the Lucio saga, Bayern also has spent recent weeks fending off interest in France winger Franck Ribery from Real Madrid.

Hoeness said an internal club deadline for any Ribery transfer expired on Wednesday.

"It has been clearly determined that Franck is staying with us," Hoeness said.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #437 on: July 16, 2009, 08:31:20 AM »
big signing!

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/9813854/Brazil-defender-Lucio-moves-to-Inter-Milan

MY LAWD!!!!! :o

Better fit.  I think he would have been exposed for lack of pace in the EPL.  Serie A suits him fine.

« Reply #438 on: July 16, 2009, 08:49:20 AM »
big signing!

Better fit.  I think he would have been exposed for lack of pace in the EPL.  Serie A suits him fine.

Lack of pace you say dey

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4ufOk_XRnow" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/4ufOk_XRnow</a>

« Reply #439 on: July 16, 2009, 09:00:26 AM »
big signing!

On the contrary, many EPL central defenders are quite slow compared to the corner defenders.  Lucio faster than Ferdinand and Terry and they are top 5/10 defenders

« Reply #440 on: July 16, 2009, 12:26:56 PM »
big signing!

Lack of pace you say dey

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4ufOk_XRnow" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/4ufOk_XRnow</a>
That's why he's going to an italian clun ;D
« Last Edit: July 16, 2009, 02:34:58 PM by triniairman »

« Reply #441 on: July 16, 2009, 02:31:03 PM »
Downing joins Villa in £12m move

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/aston_villa/8151447.stm

Aston Villa have signed England winger Stewart Downing for £12 million on a four-year deal from Middlesbrough.

The 24-year-old agreed personal terms and passed a medical at Villa Park on Thursday and becomes manager Martin O'Neill's first signing of the summer.

Downing told the Villa website: "I wanted to come as soon as I met Martin so I'm delighted it's now sorted out.

"As an outsider looking in, it was obvious Villa are a club on the up. I want to be part of that."

Downing made 181 League appearances for home-town club Middlesbrough after making his debut in 2002.

He injured his foot, ironically against Villa, in the last game of the season and following surgery is likely to be out of action until October at the earliest.

His future at Boro had been the subject of much speculation since the club's relegation to the Championship in May.

Downing signed a new five-year deal at the Riverside Stadium in February 2008 and although he had a written transfer request rejected in January chairman Steve Gibson said he would not stand in the way of a move if the club went down.

Downing told Middlesbrough's website: "I want to play at next year's World Cup so that's my aim - to get back to full fitness, get back playing and get myself in the England team for the World Cup.

"I loved the last World Cup, but I want to play a bigger part this time. I have to be with a good Premier League side if I want to do that."

Downing insisted he was sad to leave Middlesbrough, where he came through the junior ranks.

"I hope the fans understand that I'm ambitious and want to win things and this move gives me a chance of that. But I'll always be a Boro fan," he added.

« Reply #442 on: July 16, 2009, 02:51:49 PM »

You're kidding right? 

« Reply #443 on: July 16, 2009, 03:30:03 PM »

You're kidding right? 

lol. I think he miss the Confed Cup.

« Reply #444 on: July 16, 2009, 05:09:10 PM »
Barcelona fail again with bid for Valencia's Villa

By Soccernet staff

July 16, 2009

* Comment
    * Email
    * Print

Valencia president Manuel Llorente has revealed the club have turned down another offer from Barcelona for star striker David Villa.

GettyImages

David Villa: Wants his future sorted

Barca have long been linked to the Spain international but have yet to produce the "scandalous" offer Llorente has demanded and the Valencia president revealed his Barca counterpart Joan Laporta put in another bid on Wednesday night believed to be €42m.

"Laporta called me and I repeated to him that we are not willing to sell the footballer," Llorente told AS.

Reports in Spain suggest Villa himself is ready to pay the €7m difference between Barca's bid and the €50m Valencia want in order to secure a move to the Nou Camp.

The 27-year-old could relinquish part of his salary he is said to already have agreed with the treble winners to fund the deal.

Meanwhile, Barcelona ace Andres Iniesta insists his best is yet to come.

"I think that everything can be surpassed," he told Catalan radio station RAC1. "This year I lost two or three months in total because of injuries. I am 25 years old, I like how I am at the moment and I think the best is still to come.
"

Arch rivals Real Madrid have already splashed out over 200m euros on Cristiano Ronaldo, Kaka, Karim Benzema and Raul Albiol as they look to build a squad capable of challenging Pep Guardiola's men.

Things have been much quieter at the Nou Camp where Maxwell is set to become Barca's first summer signing. However, Iniesta is unperturbed by the lack of reinforcements.

"People should continue having confidence in the team," he said. "There is still time left in the transfer market and I assume the club is working on it.

"But I think that there are players of a very high level in the team at the moment and I don't think we have to be jealous of anyone. (Kaka and Ronaldo) are players of a very high level.

"We have to see how they get on but we shouldn't forget that we have to look at ourselves and no-one else. We have shown that when Barca is good we don't have to pay attention to the rest."

i said it once i said it b4. iniesta is barca's danger man. once u cant stop him, game over

« Reply #445 on: July 16, 2009, 05:26:02 PM »

Barcelona fail again with bid for Valencia's Villa

By Soccernet staff

July 16, 2009

* Comment
    * Email
    * Print

Valencia president Manuel Llorente has revealed the club have turned down another offer from Barcelona for star striker David Villa.

GettyImages

David Villa: Wants his future sorted

Barca have long been linked to the Spain international but have yet to produce the "scandalous" offer Llorente has demanded and the Valencia president revealed his Barca counterpart Joan Laporta put in another bid on Wednesday night believed to be €42m.

"Laporta called me and I repeated to him that we are not willing to sell the footballer," Llorente told AS.

Reports in Spain suggest Villa himself is ready to pay the €7m difference between Barca's bid and the €50m Valencia want in order to secure a move to the Nou Camp.

The 27-year-old could relinquish part of his salary he is said to already have agreed with the treble winners to fund the deal.

Meanwhile, Barcelona ace Andres Iniesta insists his best is yet to come.

"I think that everything can be surpassed," he told Catalan radio station RAC1. "This year I lost two or three months in total because of injuries. I am 25 years old, I like how I am at the moment and I think the best is still to come.
"

Arch rivals Real Madrid have already splashed out over 200m euros on Cristiano Ronaldo, Kaka, Karim Benzema and Raul Albiol as they look to build a squad capable of challenging Pep Guardiola's men.

Things have been much quieter at the Nou Camp where Maxwell is set to become Barca's first summer signing. However, Iniesta is unperturbed by the lack of reinforcements.

"People should continue having confidence in the team," he said. "There is still time left in the transfer market and I assume the club is working on it.

"But I think that there are players of a very high level in the team at the moment and I don't think we have to be jealous of anyone. (Kaka and Ronaldo) are players of a very high level.

"We have to see how they get on but we shouldn't forget that we have to look at ourselves and no-one else. We have shown that when Barca is good we don't have to pay attention to the rest."

i said it once i said it b4. iniesta is barca's danger man. once u cant stop him, game over

He looks so much older that 25, must be the skinny legs and gaunt features.

« Reply #446 on: July 16, 2009, 07:12:26 PM »
Interesting take, and as a fan of the club - I don't want to see JT go, especially to any other EPL side, but I'm also of the belief that every not for sale player has their price, as we have seen with Kaka and C. Ronaldo so far this summer.

An argument can be made that Terry is the center piece of Chelsea (vs Lampard), as well as less expendable - so if Chelsea were going to part ways with Terry because both parties wanted to cash in on the offer than Man City is making, then what should be the going price for the Captain of England?

I saw one report yesterday that listed him at £50M but there's no reason why I don't think that if Man City wants him that badly that at least £65M wouldn't easily be met.

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/16072009/2/terry-sale-price-chelsea.html

Terry not for sale at any price - Chelsea
Thu 16 Jul, 02:42 PM

Chelsea captain John Terry will be leading the Premier League club for years to come no matter how much Manchester City offer for him, chief executive Peter Kenyon said on Wednesday.
"We're not going to sell John, so from that point of view it's really irrelevant what another club will offer," Kenyon told Sky News.
He added: "I don't know what they (City) are offering but I'm confident that John is going to remain with us. John is a talisman, he's the heart of Chelsea."
City, who signed Argentine forward Carlos Tevez on Tuesday for a reported 25.5 million pounds, had an offer for the 28-year-old England captain rejected at the beginning of July after originally making contact in January.
"He's too important to us and we're very confident that he'll be leading us forward in the years to come," Kenyon said of Terry.
The signings of Tevez and Roque Santa Cruz have boosted City's forward line and manager Mark Hughes must now strengthen his defence in preparation for a bid for Champions League qualification next season.
Kenyon also added that rather than sell, the west London club could look to sign ahead of next season.
"You're always looking to bring in a bit of freshness and this season is no different. The coach himself would probably like to influence the way we play with another player."
(Additional reporting by Michael Holden; Editing by Kevin Fylan)

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #447 on: July 16, 2009, 08:03:33 PM »
The way I see it right now, man city paid 18m pounds to put Roque Santa Cruz on their bench.. and that's insane.

i don't see how else he fitting into their projected lineup.. The way I see it, its either a 4-3-3 lineup with 3 forwards and no wingers as in:

Adebayor

Robinho                      Tevez

Barry                        Ireland
                  De Jong

Bridge    Dunne   Richards    Onuoha

Given

... or a lineup with wingers and a single defensive midfielder:

Tevez     Adebayor

Robinho    Ireland    Barry       SWP

Bridge    Dunne   Kompany    Richards

Given

NB: (Defence subject to refinancing)

hoss u mad awa? santa cruz better than ade-wheredgoal? i doh tink any top coach wud start ade over roque if given the choice.

Offline kingdavid

« Reply #448 on: July 16, 2009, 08:44:56 PM »
wait na wat d hell DY doin i sure hope he kickin ball somewhere cause everybody in pre-season training and like he not doin nothing, and den latapy go pick he in d squad.

« Reply #449 on: July 16, 2009, 09:04:11 PM »
aston villa  really seems to go after english born players  as 1st option