March 28, 2024, 04:47:56 PM

Author Topic: Hope USA win. - USA vs Costa Rica.  (Read 28894 times)

Re: USA vs Costa Rica...wed 9:00 on espn2
« Reply #180 on: June 03, 2009, 10:16:26 PM »
ahh gyad... US shittin themselves

Is we does make dem look like a bigggggggggg teammmmmmmmmmm

HOPEFULLY this game exposes them for the tooz side they are and the players would actually play against them w/ some confidence next time we meet
Breds don't be bias. america is the best team in concacaf period! they just had ah bad night, hey sh!t happens.

« Reply #181 on: June 03, 2009, 10:34:44 PM »
BM wey yuh?

BE BEATING COSTA RICA

We just need to handle we business, beat CR and BEAT Mexico and Beat Honduras.  We should have been on flicking 8 at least 5.  scheuups.  Let's go T&T do your own wuk!!!!

« Reply #182 on: June 03, 2009, 10:37:39 PM »
Costa Rica beats U.S. 3-1 in World Cup qualifier

Associated Press

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica (AP) - Alvaro Saborio scored 79 seconds in, the second-fastest goal against the United States in a World Cup qualifier, and Costa Rica coasted to a 3-1 victory Wednesday night.

Celso Borges added a goal in the 13th minute, and Pablo Herrera sealed the victory for 41st-ranked Costa Rica when he made it 3-0 in the 69th.

Landon Donovan scored the U.S. goal when he converted a penalty kick in the second minute of stoppage time.

The Ticos shredded the defense of the region's top-ranked team on the artificial turf of Saprissa Stadium, and the United States stumbled for the second straight time in Central America.

« Reply #183 on: June 03, 2009, 10:44:36 PM »
Very impressive perfomance by costa rica, they made the U.S. look like T&T in nashville.

ah wish latas luck......he has his work cut out for him.

« Reply #184 on: June 03, 2009, 10:48:07 PM »
Questions

1) Is that an artificial field? YES

2) What led to the PK? A FOUL :)

3) How we beating them on Saturday? With great difficulty

« Reply #185 on: June 03, 2009, 10:58:23 PM »
what will it take to get a FOOTBALL ONLY STADIUM like that Costa Rica have in trinidad. Something like Jack Warners M.L.stadium but grass and more capacity.  That get the fans great views and spirit into the game while intimidated the visiting team. t and t needs that right now and the future.  them athletic tracks are kill joys and keep the spectator view too far away from the pitch action.   

« Reply #186 on: June 04, 2009, 12:54:39 AM »
WE BEATING COSTA RICA

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #187 on: June 04, 2009, 01:07:45 AM »
WE BEATING COSTA RICA

We need more ah dat!! Cuz once we could handle we business..we eh hatta depend on nobody fuh nuttin! Dependin on ppl is recipe fuh failure! So istead of we wastin we prayers on dis one tuh beat dah one...lehwe be stingy and give we Warriors all d prayers....blessings!
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

Offline legal alien

« Reply #188 on: June 04, 2009, 01:10:19 AM »
i watchged it from35 minutes in.I was shocked that they were down 2-0.Amerirca give up that game in the second half.Look how they let that 3rd goal score.
Still I  optinistic we getting a victory satuday against the costa ricans.The concacaf table will be level

« Reply #189 on: June 04, 2009, 02:05:29 AM »
Jack: bbb...Brizan  gi..gi..gi give dem Costa RRican  de..de defenders cards to..to..tonight
yo..yo hear wah ah tellin yuh

« Reply #190 on: June 04, 2009, 05:23:20 AM »
what will it take to get a FOOTBALL ONLY STADIUM like that Costa Rica have in trinidad. Something like Jack Warners M.L.stadium but grass and more capacity.  That get the fans great views and spirit into the game while intimidated the visiting team. t and t needs that right now and the future.  them athletic tracks are kill joys and keep the spectator view too far away from the pitch action.  
Costa Rica stadium is not football only. They does use it just like Hasely Crawford.

« Reply #191 on: June 04, 2009, 05:58:15 AM »
Costa Rica stadium is not football only. They does use it just like Hasely Crawford.

Astro-turf is shit and it is the Antichrist of football!

« Reply #192 on: June 04, 2009, 06:06:11 AM »

Agree it should never be used.....

« Reply #193 on: June 04, 2009, 08:22:18 AM »

It's not astroturf.

« Reply #194 on: June 04, 2009, 08:46:50 AM »
Imagine USA made T&T look like babies and now Costa Rica did the same to USA... allyuh, do de math !!!!

We beating Guyana Costa Rica....

Match: United States vs. Costa Rica
Date: June 3, 2009
Competition: FIFA World Cup Qualifying; Final Round
Venue: Estadio Ricardo Saprissa; San Jose, Costa Rica
Kickoff: 8:06 p.m. MT
Attendance: 19,200
Weather: Partly cloudy, 70 degrees

Scoring Summary:    1    2    F
USA                               0    1    1
CRC                              2    1    3

CRC – Alvaro Saborio (Andy Herron)            2nd minute
CRC – Celso Borges (Esteban Sirias)        13
CRC – Pablo Herrera (Walter Centeno)      69
USA – Landon Donovan (penalty kick)         92+

Lineups:

USA: 1-Tim Howard; 6-Marvell Wynne, 5-Oguchi Onyewu, 3-Carlos Bocanegra (capt.), 7-DaMarcus Beasley; 4-Pablo Mastroeni (11-Freddy Adu, 63), 12-Michael Bradley, 9-José Francisco Torres (16-Sacha Kljestan, 46); 8-Clint Dempsey (15-Charlie Davies, 80), 10-Landon Donovan, 17-Jozy Altidore

Subs not used: 18-Brad Guzan, 2-Ricardo Clark, 13-Jonathan Bornstein, 14-Jay DeMerit

Head Coach: Bob Bradley

CRC:  1-Keylor Navas; 15-Harold Wallace (2-Pablo Herrera, 56), 4-Michael Umana, 3-Freddy Fernandez, 17-Junior Diaz; 7-Andy Herron (6-Cristian Bolanos, 72), 5-Celso Borges, 10-Walter Centeno, 8-Esteban Sirias; 11-Bryan Ruiz, 9-Alvaro Saborio (16-Carlos Hernandez, 77)

Subs not used: 18-Ricardo Gonzalez, 12-Andy Furtado, 13-Gonzalo Segares, 14-Armando Alonso

Head Coach: Rodrigo Kenton

Stats Summary: USA / CRC
Shots: 11 / 8
Shots on Goal: 2 / 6
Saves: 3 / 1
Corner Kicks: 3 / 5
Fouls: 14 / 15
Offside: 0 / 3

Misconduct Summary:

CRC – Freddy Fernandez (caution)         30th minute
USA - Michael Bradley (caution)               54
USA – Sacha Kljestan (caution)               66
CRC – Pablo Herrera (caution)                67
CRC – Junior Diaz (caution)                     91+

« Reply #195 on: June 04, 2009, 08:48:59 AM »

It's not astroturf.

Correct. Astroturf is a whole other beast with a completely different bounce - and you definitely wouldn't see any sane person making slide tackles. What they were playing on is a hybrid most likely, or probably just straight up synthetic grass ... don't know why ESPN commentators were making such a fuss. When the Eagles stadium opened, AC Milan, Celtic and Manchester United were amongst the first teams to use it - and their review and approval was through the roof.

US got outclassed, and it's just a convenient excuse.... nobody says anything when they're playing on a field demarked with American Football lines - of course that is totally acceptable.

Re: Hope USA win. - USA vs Costa Rica.
« Reply #196 on: June 04, 2009, 09:02:52 AM »
Freddy should be getting a start the next game. Bench Donovan.

Bradley (M) needs to be brought back down to earth.

« Reply #197 on: June 04, 2009, 09:18:31 AM »

It's not astroturf.

Correct. Astroturf is a whole other beast with a completely different bounce - and you definitely wouldn't see any sane person making slide tackles. What they were playing on is a hybrid most likely, or probably just straight up synthetic grass ... don't know why ESPN commentators were making such a fuss. When the Eagles stadium opened, AC Milan, Celtic and Manchester United were amongst the first teams to use it - and their review and approval was through the roof.

US got outclassed, and it's just a convenient excuse.... nobody says anything when they're playing on a field demarked with American Football lines - of course that is totally acceptable.

This is certified 1 star by FIFA and worn from years of use, but apparently still good until Oct 2010.

Marvin Lee is also 1 star.

How they can allow competitive matches on it, I don't know but for prelim they allow it. FIFA says:
The FIFA RECOMMENDED 1 Star is mainly for recreational, community and municipal use; however, it still has to go through a series of stringent tests before the highly respected FIFA certificate is issued. Indeed, there are only 50 pitches around the globe which carry this mark.

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #198 on: June 04, 2009, 09:42:35 AM »
Both teams played on the surface so there should be no excuses. I would admit though having coached a Division I College team on this type of surface, it affects players who are not the greatest technically on the ball. Other teams use to hate playing on our surface. As you all have alluded many times on this blog, the hall mark of the US men's team is their fitness organization speed and commitment to work hard. Never do they get high marks for their technique under pressure. The more skillful/technical Costa Rican players who obviously spend more time on this surface were more equipped to deal with it. They dealt with the bounces and handle their stories

I can assure you its not the easiest of surfaces to play on. Added to that they have never won in Costa Rica in 6 tries, the intimidating environment, giving Costa Rica too much room and just being totally outplayed both on the attacking and defensive side of the ball was their undoing. So in essence the US suffered a good home grown ass kicking. These are the sort of things home teams should present for visiting teams. The goal should be to make them feel very uncomfortable. So well done Costa Rica. In spite of their performance I am of the opinion that Tobago will be a different kettle of fish. Ah hope trini creates an environment to make them feel very uncomfortable as well
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

« Reply #199 on: June 04, 2009, 09:46:35 AM »

:applause: :applause: :banginghead: I hate that shit. Football on that surface does not resemble football

« Reply #200 on: June 04, 2009, 09:50:59 AM »
U.S. team overwhelmed in every facet by Costa Rica

When the U.S. national team's lineup versus Costa Rica was first revealed Wednesday night, it was easy to think the Americans were ready to attack and try to deliver their first-ever victory in a World Cup qualifier played in Costa Rica.

A three-forward formation coupled with a pair of superfast fullbacks gave the impression the U.S. team would attempt to overwhelm Costa Rica with pace and attack down the flanks.

Instead of being overwhelming, the U.S. national team was overpowered by a fast, inspired, skillful and organized Costa Rican team that took full advantage of the worst U.S. national team performance in years. The result was a 3-1 World Cup qualifying victory for Costa Rica, and a defeat that has the U.S. team asking a lot of questions about several positions.

(continue)

« Reply #201 on: June 04, 2009, 09:51:40 AM »
This is football. Did we see the Game where ah Big side/Cock get beat by average side/chicken last week. lol No fear!
11 vs 11, the ball is round. Who want it more will win the game.  8)

« Reply #202 on: June 04, 2009, 10:09:40 AM »
It's not so much that the U.S. was out classed, but rather every one protecting their home advantage.

usa beat mexico 2-0 = @ home in ohio, costa rica defeat honduras 2-0 = @ home sapprissa. mexico deafeat costa rica 2-0 = @ home azteca. hunduras defeat mexico 3-1 @ home estadio olympico. costa rica defeat U.S. 3-1 = @ home saprissa. so it's almost even, every body won their home games so far. it's only El salvador and us who didn't protect their home field advantage.

we have tuh beat costa rica tuh stay in the race and get a point in mexico tuh even out.

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #203 on: June 04, 2009, 10:43:25 AM »
Deserved win for CR... USA didnt show up... early 2 goals proved that... pitch was fast and exhausting(hopefully CR get a lil bun in this game)

#9 the 1st goal scorer is their danger man.... their wingplay is quick as well

allyuh acting like they are Spain... relax..they are home..they are hostile..they are quick ...they use an artificial pitch to their advantage.. USA has a terrible record there..USA had some key defensive injuries...USA had a poor game

They will be nowhere that quick and good on Saturday... we have to be loud and hostile and once our boys up for it  they cannot beat us

we have to attack them so they do not attack us...

In Latas we Trust

that is it attack them so they dont attack us,some of alluh acting like is we going to Costa Rica & play,let them come Tobago & deal with the MAGIC

« Reply #204 on: June 04, 2009, 11:17:59 AM »
U.S. team overwhelmed in every facet by Costa Rica

When the U.S. national team's lineup versus Costa Rica was first revealed Wednesday night, it was easy to think the Americans were ready to attack and try to deliver their first-ever victory in a World Cup qualifier played in Costa Rica.

A three-forward formation coupled with a pair of superfast fullbacks gave the impression the U.S. team would attempt to overwhelm Costa Rica with pace and attack down the flanks.

Instead of being overwhelming, the U.S. national team was overpowered by a fast, inspired, skillful and organized Costa Rican team that took full advantage of the worst U.S. national team performance in years. The result was a 3-1 World Cup qualifying victory for Costa Rica, and a defeat that has the U.S. team asking a lot of questions about several positions.

(continue)

Zeppo, again, biased and convinient analysis. NO way Sacha had a better game than Freddy. Did not call out Dempsey and Landon, who did nothing to assist the team. Howard was absolutely horrendous (guess he still pinning from Lampard strike). This analysis take away and gave everything back to the USA. Useless.

« Reply #205 on: June 04, 2009, 11:18:18 AM »
3) How we beating them on Saturday?

Their defender Junior Diaz missing the match.  How can we possibly lose?

« Reply #206 on: June 04, 2009, 11:28:12 AM »
3) How we beating them on Saturday?

Their defender Junior Diaz missing the match.  How can we possibly lose?
how many of their players will miss the game against us? I saw that they had 3 yellow cards.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #207 on: June 04, 2009, 12:01:20 PM »
WE BEATING COSTA RICA

sure hope so... latas only have a couple games to prove himself. the thing on his side is that he probably know these CONCACAF teams inside out since he tired play against them. some national sides play the same style for years and take long to adapt otherwise

« Reply #208 on: June 04, 2009, 12:11:19 PM »
WE BEATING COSTA RICA

sure hope so... latas only have a couple games to prove himself. the thing on his side is that he probably know these CONCACAF teams inside out since he tired play against them. some national sides play the same style for years and take long to adapt otherwise

Agreed.
We playing s&*@ long time and ent adapt yet.

Offline sweetiepaper

« Reply #209 on: June 04, 2009, 12:57:02 PM »
WE BEATING COSTA RICA

And the hard part is - the couple games to prove himself are Mexixo & Coata Rica.
But somehow, Ah getting BM vibes "We beating Costa Rica"
"Sweetiepaper does be all over de place"