April 19, 2024, 04:16:31 AM

Author Topic: Remembering the victory against Honduras in Oct2001  (Read 4191 times)

Offline StoreBayLimer

Remembering the victory against Honduras in Oct2001
« on: October 06, 2005, 10:26:15 PM »

Some analysts here have stated that Panama has nothing to play for and so they will not necessarily fight.  On the other hand a  few fellaz  raised the point that a team that doesn’t have much to play for can still do a lot of damage, and they correctly point to the 2002 campaign when T&T beat Honduras  1-0 on 7Oct2001.

The  haunting memory of that  match has not faded as much as it should given the  time that has passed.  I was rooting for Honduras; T&T was already eliminated, and Hon had beaten the USA in Washington, and were well on their way to eliminating Mexico.   During that week Mickey Trotman tragically passed away in an accident.  Stern scored. And he said that it  was one of his best goals ever, especially since he was playing with a heavy heart, and the team was playing for Mickey.  It was a beautiful goal, but it was painful,  pain all around.

When some of us from the Caribbean step outside and meet our brother and sisters from Nicaragua, Honduras, Panama etc, it induces a different view, a different feel. The  related consciousness of the other becomes evident 
 http://www.satglobal.com/afro_carib.htm

If T&T beats Panama on Oct 8, some may argue that among the factors one should include cultural  and social orientation. Or more simply it has a little to do with Marcus Garvey. If we lose  I know that many Panamanians will be experiencing our pain.

Re: Remembering the victory against Honduras in Oct2001
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2005, 06:44:37 AM »
bro yu talkin rell sh&t ..Panama dun upset 2 teams innah the final rounds ..How much team yu want dem to upset..Usually a shitty team upset 1 team ..well Panama upset 2 teams  one was a shitty teams so dat though count ..Then dey upset Mexico..Panama a upsetting nothin again .. Panama good for 3 come staurday..war sey so..
Note.. "T&T didnt upset Honduras de post upset dem"
warmonga..

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2013, 08:30:19 PM »
October 7, 2001 is considered to be the saddest day in Honduran football.

Highlights of de Honduran heartache, and de legend that is Stern John.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/j3-glndr3cA?start=235" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/j3-glndr3cA?start=235</a>

« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2013, 09:44:43 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/j3-glndr3cA?start=235" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/j3-glndr3cA?start=235</a>

;D ;D this commentator is ah real kicksman oui...he say how Caribbean goalkeepers real superstitious and put obeah(pichingo he call it) on the goalpost which is why dey couldn't score.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2013, 11:13:00 AM by Pointman »

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2013, 05:52:27 AM »

LEGEND 14

« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2013, 08:19:48 AM »

;D ;D this commentator is ah real kicksman uoi...he say how Caribbean goalkeepers real superstitious and put obeah(pichingo he call it) on the goalpost which is why dey couldn't score.

Not sure about superstition, but the players swore that Mickey Trotman was in that goal that night and they were never going to score.

« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2013, 11:18:56 AM »

;D ;D this commentator is ah real kicksman uoi...he say how Caribbean goalkeepers real superstitious and put obeah(pichingo he call it) on the goalpost which is why dey couldn't score.

Not sure about superstition, but the players swore that Mickey Trotman was in that goal that night and they were never going to score.
good looking out Mickey :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2013, 04:56:51 PM »

Makes one a baliever....was a very sad day in our football and more importantly for the family

« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2013, 06:55:08 AM »
Ey that has to be our biggest away result after Bahrain.
The Honduran crowd had to have been large and rowdy.
Stern left foot sweet too bad!

My Honduran neighbour say he cry haha.

« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2013, 11:21:53 AM »
Honduras 1989.

I watch that live. After the game the coach get Pelt.

« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2013, 11:31:56 AM »
Honduras 1989.

ah tink yuh have yuh dates confused 2001 he get pelt...........unless yuh talkin about 1988/9 when we went through on away goals, buh wait I was 11, I tort u young or yuh see ah video ???

« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2013, 11:32:01 AM »
Is that the only time at the senior level that we have won in Central America against one of: Mex, CR, Hon?

Re: Re: Remembering the victory against Honduras in Oct2001
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2013, 11:53:47 AM »
Honduras 1989.

ah tink yuh have yuh dates confused 2001 he get pelt...........unless yuh talkin about 1988/9 when we went through on away goals, buh wait I was 11, I tort u young or yuh see ah video ???

No boy I mean the equivalent of our 1989.

I saw the game in 01. I have no idea what I was doing in 1989. Must be watching cartoon while everybody crying.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2013, 11:58:52 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2013, 12:23:06 PM »
Is that the only time at the senior level that we have won in Central America against one of: Mex, CR, Hon?

Yes. We did beat Guatemala 1-0 in Guatemala in 1989 and we beat Panama 1-0 in Panama in 2005.

« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2013, 12:28:13 PM »

Yes. We did beat Guatemala 1-0 in Guatemala in 1989 and we beat Panama 1-0 in Panama in 2005.

Thanks TM, thought so, real hard to travel to CA and get a +ve result even against Guat and Pan (though Pan is no easy pickings anymore)

« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2013, 02:47:47 PM »
Honduras 1989.

No boy I mean the equivalent of our 1989.

I saw the game in 01. I have no idea what I was doing in 1989. Must be watching cartoon while everybody crying.

ah ok :D

« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2013, 04:05:06 PM »
They weren't happy with Carlos Pavon after the match.