April 25, 2024, 10:20:59 AM

Author Topic: Warner banishes Burrell's CONCACAF challenger  (Read 2897 times)

Warner banishes Burrell's CONCACAF challenger
« on: June 04, 2009, 07:55:32 AM »
How dare you!
By: Sean Williams (Jamaica Observer).

...Warner banishes Burrell's CONCACAF challenger

NASSAU, Bahamas - Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and CONCACAF boss, Austin 'Jack' Warner, has ordered that St Kitts and Nevis' Peter Jenkins be banished "from all commissions of both organisations" and into the football wilderness.

Warner, in a widely circulated letter to the Kittian, said he has instructed the general secretaries of both football organisations to expel Jenkins, who is deemed to have attempted to disunite the Caribbean football family in his failed quest to unseat Jamaica's Captain Horace Burrell as the regional representative of the CONCACAF Executive Committee.

"In your (Jenkins') case, on the advice of the committee of the CFU, I have instructed the general secretary of both the CFU and the CONCACAF to remove you forthwith," said Warner's frank letter to the former president of the St Kitts and Nevis Football Federation.

Jenkins, who staged the challenge to Burrell with only the "support of two Caribbean members" in Grenada and Antigua/Barbuda, used as his campaign rhetoric that the CFU is split into "small countries and big countries" and this position earned the ire of Warner and the "remainder of the Caribbean football family".

Also, his unilateral position to mount the challenge to the Jamaica Football Federation president was said to have contravened "the political conventions" of the CFU.

Jenkins' challenge of a fellow member of the CFU for office was said to have gone against tradition of an organisation unified in purpose and mission.

At a CFU meeting here on Sunday, Warner urged the CFU membership "not to support" Jenkins. "I was very critical of the fact that Caribbean football is split over a candidate, which is unprecedented, and this is what we have fought against over the years," said Warner, who is also vice-president of FIFA.

Also, the two nations - Grenada and Antigua/Barbuda - that initially backed Jenkins' bid will be written to by the CFU hierarchy to decide the course of action for them in their role "in attempting to fracture the unity" of the union.

"I do wish to advise you (Jenkins) that, at the meeting of the Caribbean countries on Sunday, May 31, 2009, it was decided that the Antigua/Barbuda and Grenada (two members who were absent at the said meeting) should be written to and be asked to submit reasons why disciplinary action should not be taken against them for their attempts to destabilise Caribbean football and Caribbean solidarity within the CFU," Warner noted in his letter to Jenkins.

"If their explanations are not satisfactory, disciplinary proceedings shall be instituted against both countries," the correspondence continued.

Jenkins, citing that there was no support to stand among the members of North and Central America and the Caribbean, withdrew his candidacy a day prior to the June 1 CONCACAF Congress at the Atlantis resort in the Bahamas where the 59th FIFA Congress was held.

Warner also chided Jenkins for the reasons given for his withdrawal. "It was therefore very disingenuous of you to try and implicate the St Kitts/Nevis delegation as one of the reasons for your withdrawal, the reasons for so doing best known to you," said the Trinidadian, a servant of football at all levels.

If Jenkins' candidacy had to gone to a vote, it is said that he would have been decimated 2-37 by the one-sided support for Burrell, who was returned for another four-year term on the eight-man CONCACAF Executive Committee.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2009, 09:25:22 AM by E-man »

Re: Warner banishes Burrell's CONCACAF challenger
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2009, 07:58:51 AM »
How dare you!
...Warner banishes Burrell's CONCACAF challenger

SEAN Williams @ the FIFA CONGRESS in The Bahamas
Thursday, June 04, 2009

Also, the two nations - Grenada and Antigua/Barbuda - that initially backed Jenkins' bid will be written to by the CFU hierarchy to decide the course of action for them in their role "in attempting to fracture the unity" of the union.

"I do wish to advise you (Jenkins) that, at the meeting of the Caribbean countries on Sunday, May 31, 2009, it was decided that the Antigua/Barbuda and Grenada (two members who were absent at the said meeting) should be written to and be asked to submit reasons why disciplinary action should not be taken against them for their attempts to destabilise Caribbean football and Caribbean solidarity within the CFU," Warner noted in his letter to Jenkins.

boy the things he does to hold on to power eh  :-\

« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2009, 08:00:55 AM »
d brain throwing stones and he living in the biggest glass house. things to make you go "hhmmmmm".

« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2009, 09:19:15 AM »
d brain throwing stones and he living in the biggest glass house. things to make you go "hhmmmmm".

imagine  kick some out for challenging them .. Warner  rules with an iron fist

« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2009, 10:45:39 AM »
Wow...that is extreme dictatorship. That is the handiwork of a tyrant. And I am sure he really does see it as "being for the good and keeping unity", then again, I guess they all do.

« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2009, 01:11:22 PM »
why can't the man challenge Burrell?

Offline PIMP

« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2009, 01:32:20 PM »
As far I as see the guy has a right to challenge if he has a different ideology......
This is crap!!!!
Warner, actions like this does have ppl wondering.....

« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2009, 01:33:11 PM »
why can't the man challenge Burrell?

Next thing someone dares to challenge Jack... one thing  could lead to another!!

Jack just letting them men know that no one should even think of challenging him before he dies or becomes the T&T PM or else be prepared to face the rest of their Caribbean football administrative life in the wilderness!!  :-X

« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2009, 01:37:21 PM »
Jenkins, citing that there was no support to stand among the members of North and Central America and the Caribbean, withdrew his candidacy a day prior to the June 1 CONCACAF Congress at the Atlantis resort in the Bahamas where the 59th FIFA Congress was held.

Warner also chided Jenkins for the reasons given for his withdrawal. "It was therefore very disingenuous of you to try and implicate the St Kitts/Nevis delegation as one of the reasons for your withdrawal, the reasons for so doing best known to you," said the Trinidadian, a servant of football at all levels.

If Jenkins' candidacy had to gone to a vote, it is said that he would have been decimated 2-37 by the one-sided support for Burrell, who was returned for another four-year term on the eight-man CONCACAF Executive Committee.

He should be thanking JW for saving himself the embarassment.
Members of the Opposition in TT should also take note, because when they go up against the big bad PM - he will treat dem the same way Jack does treat his opponents. 6 of one, half dozen of the other.

« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2009, 02:04:16 PM »
I guess democracy is limited in the CFU :-)

« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2009, 02:19:14 PM »
Starts at the source:  FIFA operates like a true mafia.  Dis and yuh go see.  Only Uefa countries really oppose Fifa, cause that is where the big money is, so Fifa has to give to receive.

« Reply #11 on: June 04, 2009, 02:21:57 PM »
allya sounding surprised by AJW reaction
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #12 on: June 04, 2009, 02:25:26 PM »
No we are NOT!!!!!!

« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2009, 03:16:44 PM »
WE BEATING BURRELL

« Reply #15 on: June 04, 2009, 03:58:08 PM »
Remember Warner was a History teacher.he know all about ruling with a iron fist.

Mr Jack Warner's worrying stance
« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2009, 08:01:09 AM »
Mr Jack Warner's worrying stance.
Jamaica Observer Editorial.

Captain Horace Burrell, the president of the Jamaica Football Federation, is a great servant of football. His contribution has long been recognised and appreciated all across the CONCACAF (Caribbean, North America and Central American) region.

As such, it would have come as no surprise that a recent attempt by Mr Peter Jenkins to unseat Captain Burrell as regional representative of the CONCACAF Executive Committee petered out.

What has shocked this newspaper is the news that Mr Jack Warner, a vice president of FIFA and head of CONCACAF as well as the Caribbean Football Union (CFU), has ordered that Mr Jenkins and those who gave him support be punished for daring to challenge Captain Burrell.

According to Thursday's report, Mr Warner has given instructions that Mr Jenkins be banished "from all commissions" of CONCACAF and the CFU.

Said Mr Warner in a letter to Mr Jenkins: "In your case, on the advice of the committee of the CFU, I have instructed the general secretary of both the CFU and the CONCACAF to remove you forthwith."

Mr Warner has accused Mr Jenkins, a former president of the St Kitts and Nevis Football Association, of contravening "the political conventions" of the CFU by his decision to contest the post held by Captain Burrell.

Exactly what those "political conventions" of the CFU are, we do not know. Though we suspect they are rooted in the belief that CFU members should stick together regardless of the circumstances.

What we do know is that - from this distance at least - the entire episode bears no resemblance to well-established democratic practice. On the contrary, it sounds suspiciously like Mr Warner is running a dictatorship.

It gets worse. Mr Warner, in his letter to Mr Jenkins, warned that the two countries that initially supported him - Antigua and Barbuda, and Grenada - would be written to and asked to explain their positions, which Mr Warner classifies as attempts to "fracture the unity" of the CFU.

"If their explanations are not satisfactory, disciplinary proceedings shall be instituted against both countries," declares Mr Warner.

We are appalled. We shudder to think what would happen if an ambitious CFU association president ever challenges Mr Warner for his top post.

The situation has left us with more questions than answers.

Surely, this is not how business is conducted in FIFA and its other confederations?

We trust that a sane voice - perhaps from the upper echelons of world football's governing body - will whisper in Mr Warner's ear.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2009, 11:02:19 AM by E-man »

Re: Mr Jack Warner's worrying stance
« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2009, 08:34:56 AM »
The situation has left us with more questions than answers.

Surely, this is not how business is conducted in FIFA and its other confederations?

We trust that a sane voice - perhaps from the upper echelons of world football's governing body - will whisper in Mr Warner's ear.
FIFA is the MOST CORRUPT sports Organisation in the World
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2009, 09:03:58 AM »
Are yardies really dat dotish...dat they have no clue about Warner.....then again I used yardies and dotish in the same sentence...sorry about the redundancy....

« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2009, 11:37:28 AM »
Captain Horace Burrell and his wife in the bakery business. Well bread truly making "bread", because he have house in Miami and his own helicopter all from the sale of hops. yeah right!  ;D

« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2009, 11:54:19 AM »
Warner takes political advice from Obama's strategic planning team - and what issue is more politicized worldwide than football?

... so if he act on the advice of Obama's team in dealing with a rogue force within the conventions of Caribbean politics - isn't he right? He only following the steps of the West's hot new trend for the moment.