March 28, 2024, 10:36:09 AM

Author Topic: T&T vs Costa Rica Players Performances.  (Read 20570 times)

Re: T&T vs Costa Rica Players Performances.
« Reply #60 on: June 07, 2009, 07:08:11 AM »
I think Noel and Tinto played well yesterday.  Both were lively and they both help out defensively unlike Keon Daniel. 

The way we played yesterday reminds me of the way we played under Bertille during his first tenure as coach.  We looked good in attack but defensively we were poor.

People keep talking about positive vibes and while I saw some positive vibes yesterday we still have to be realistic.  The age of our team is being exposed.  The altitude of Azteca will be brutal for older players like Yorke, Andrews, Avery John and Dennis Lawrence.  Mexico have only three points from 4 games.  They know that if they don't win on Wednesday they will be crucified.  Mexico will not only be trying to win, they will be trying to destroy us in order to impress their fans.  So far in the hex we have proven that we cannot hold a lead.  We were leading 2-0 in El Salvador and blew the game.  We gave up three goals away to the US.  We had a lead yesterday and couldn't win at home.  We gave up three goals.  What is going to change between now and Wednesday for us to win in arguably the most difficult place to play in Concacaf?  Getting a result is not impossible because anything can happen in any day in football but the only way I see us getting a result in Azteca is by pure luck.

11 vs 11 and the ball round.   ;D

« Reply #61 on: June 07, 2009, 07:22:54 AM »
All I have to say is if this ass hole of a coach we have had play a friendly or two he would have gotten a few answers instead of going into a game clueless.

Yorke legs cant hold up for 90 mins even though he is the best passer of the ball going forward.

Ince is a problem child, easy goals scoring on him and all he do is whine.

Scotland played decent he just couldn't score. He took over Stern John position, got nuff opportunities and miss them all. International football just wasn't cut out for some people.

Lawrence is a liability. I am surprise, because I like him and I know he can do better.

Jones played better than he normally do.

Glad Keon Daniel didn't play, he needs a reality check.

The rest of the team played well.

I was really pleased with Noel, Glen, Tinto, Edwards and Spann.

Avery was our best defender.

Why didn't Latapy sub Scotland at half time for Glen.

Why did he sub Tinto when Tinto was drawing 2 defenders on him and getting foul alot.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2009, 07:32:58 AM by Sam »

« Reply #62 on: June 07, 2009, 07:32:24 AM »
All I have to say is if this ass hole of a coach we have had play a friendly or two he would have gotten a few answers instead of going into a game clueless.

Yorke legs cant hold up for 90 mins even though he is the best passer of the ball going forward.

Scotland played decent he just couldn't score. He took over Stern John position, got nuff opportunities and miss them all. International football just wasn't cut out for some people.

Lawrence is a liability. I am surprise, because I like him and I know he can do better.

Glad Keon Daniel didn't play, he needs a reality check.

Why did he sub Tinto when Tinto was drawing 2 defenders on him and getting foul alot.

That is what I was asking people since yesterday. Why did he take off tha man? That was one of his biggest mistakes, if he had leave him on, Tinto would have made a big difference to us conceding on a goal or two more.  Tinto is my new favorite player.  :) Look for teams to start hounding him very soon.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2009, 07:34:22 AM by Flex »

« Reply #63 on: June 07, 2009, 08:25:59 AM »

Agree.  Yorke brings a calming influence to the team and distributes the ball well but defensively he has become a liability.  He also got caught in posession a few times in dangerous areas yesterday too.

So far in de hex the only goal we can blame Ince for is the third goal against the US.

I like Lawrence too but his decreasing speed is becoming a problem.  He looked even worse playing next to Andrews.  I hope I never see Andrews in a T&T uniform again.  Dog has been a true patriot and warrior for us over the years but it's time for him to retire from international football.

I agree with you on this too.  When people were bashing Spann after the USA and El Salvador games I kept saying that his problem is lack of confidence.  Yesterday he looked like he is starting to regain that confidence.

The selection of Tinto and Noel shows that we do have good players locally.  Both players played with confidence.  They were not tentative and their work rate was very high.  I think one of the problems we have on our national team is the "automatic pick policy" where many players seem to have an automatic starting spot on the team.  I would like to see players earn their place.  Keon Daniel performances had been on a steady decline for quite a few matches well but he was never benched.  Did anyone miss him yesterday?  We persist with Jones up front even though he has not been effective.  We have another big man that holds the ball up very well and scores too.  His ball control is way better than Kenwyne Jones.  His name is Errol MacFarlane.  He was our most consistent player in the Digicel cup.  Darryl Roberts languishing in exile while Scotland and Jones get chance after chance.  We need to start have true competition for selection.  When players know someone else is waiting to take away their spot they will work harder on the field.

« Reply #64 on: June 07, 2009, 08:57:44 AM »
ah find no one is rating latapy's performance. believe it or not . or strength in that game was our midfield so reverting to  3 men in d middle when we down not too bad, but after getting the equaliser why did we still play 433 with one of the midfielders being yorke ,who was a spent force after 65mins. that gave the costa ricans all the space they wanted and  i really believe they could have scored another goal if they needed to.

and tinto can only get better, scotland can never play as poorly as he did last nite again. trent u is ah beast. u shoulda atleast score 1 goal. avery had a good game made some bad passes though but i find his teammates were picking him out 4 ah ear full far too often when he wasnt the only one making mistakes. hmmmm like he is ah softie.

or formation against costa rica suggests that we were fully prepared for them. carlos at right back to counter their speedy #2. 2 of the goals came from crosses from his side though( but i chalk them up to poor defending in the 18 yard)
« Last Edit: June 07, 2009, 09:05:49 AM by freakazoid »

« Reply #65 on: June 07, 2009, 09:03:20 AM »
After taking deep breath,

I think about our warriors playing in the dreaded eardrum-busting Azteca stadium.
We will need some defensive formations that sap up pressure without expending too much energy in the thin oxygen depleted air. Probably more zone defenseneeded instead of running wild (english style) all over the midfield chasing the small goal style of the Mexicans. I feel skilled and fast players will help us to keep Mexico off balance and vulnerable and fearful of committing too much in attack to overwhelm us.

Fellahs, we can do it, but serious tactical savviness will be required and guess what, it seems that we have it once again. This eh no romantic gloriication of Latas eh, I really seeing brains in de mans tactics and recognition of good foootballers.

Yuh know how long Tinto has been there for coaches to see but they jess wouldn't pick him. Latas is the first coach since me eh no how long, to reclaim players will skill and tricks as vital. He has departed from the Dunga-type philosophy of seeing just European type workhorses without too much flair as useful. Just because Tinto was tiny nobody felt that they could go with him. Welll Latas was a li'l midget himself when he came into the high-school and national scene and look how he has done. So he has deep understanding of this.

At the same time he has been very pragmatic and seems to have resisted bowng to the pressure of the masses. His selections and subs were very brave. Tobago boy and free kick specialist Daniel not selected. Correct decision. Yorkie played from the beginning and right through. Correct decision in retrospect as Yorkie was vital in the midfield, even if his legs were a little tired later on. Did you see that defense splitting pass he gave Scotland in de second half. Goodness gracious! Yorkie has Teflon whenever the Ricans rush him, he jess shakes them off and they retreat in respect after he teaches them how to shield a ball. Yorkie was always a mildfielder who was so good at striking that he was made a forward in England. Yuh cyah replace that. Latas knows what he can do. To me the other brilliant move was Carlos at right back. He was excellent and dat boy could run and overlap dread.

Furthermore, Latas understands secrecy and the element of suprise. He has not yet used Baptiste, Daniel and soon he will select Guera into the team after mentoring him some more, when there is less pressure on de li'l volatile youth.

I normally feel a kinda depressing sickness after losses like this, but there was something different about this last game. Iz like it was a new dawn in T&T football beginning to peek through. Anyting is possible with visionary leadership so I look forward to Mexico despite the dangers. If Jackula play de ass wit' Latas this time and fires him after Mexico and puts Vranes, then I will call it a day with the Socawarriors, because enough is enough, Have you noticed that Latas is the only coach to defy Jackula and bring back blacklisted players Samuel, Avery. And watch meh, Sancho and Jack, the 2 most hated and despised players by Jackula will slowly be brought back by Latas, if they reach good fitness. And also note that the court case was adjourned till June so that Jackula could time his manipulations of vulnerable players seeking spots for World Cup qualifiers but Latas eh takin' he on. Coop's ... take note eh.

So all 'n all, things looking positive
« Last Edit: June 07, 2009, 09:10:50 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #66 on: June 07, 2009, 09:03:56 AM »
ah find no one is rating latapy's performance. believe it or not . or strength in that game was our midfield so reverting to  3 men in d middle when we down not too bad, but after getting the equaliser why did we still play 433 with one of the midfielders being yorke ,who was a spent force after 65mins. that gave the costa ricans all the space they wanted and  i really believe they could have scored another goal if they needed to

Cosign

WE BEATING MEXICO IN DE AZTECA

get real fellah

« Reply #68 on: June 07, 2009, 09:14:17 AM »

The selection of Tinto and Noel shows that we do have good players locally.  Both players played with confidence.  They were not tentative and their work rate was very high.  I think one of the problems we have on our national team is the "automatic pick policy" where many players seem to have an automatic starting spot on the team.  I would like to see players earn their place.  Keon Daniel performances had been on a steady decline for quite a few matches well but he was never benched.  Did anyone miss him yesterday?  We persist with Jones up front even though he has not been effective.  We have another big man that holds the ball up very well and scores too.  His ball control is way better than Kenwyne Jones.  His name is Errol MacFarlane.  He was our most consistent player in the Digicel cup.  Darryl Roberts languishing in exile while Scotland and Jones get chance after chance.  We need to start have true competition for selection.  When players know someone else is waiting to take away their spot they will work harder on the field.

:applause: :applause:

« Reply #69 on: June 07, 2009, 09:15:08 AM »
WE BEATING MEXICO IN DE AZTECA

Papi is so early in de morning yuh does start smoking?

« Reply #70 on: June 07, 2009, 09:15:42 AM »

These 2 players were used during d blacklist era in fact Trent was captin. But apperentkly when 1 blacklist was lifted another was instituted.

Offline Patterson

« Reply #71 on: June 07, 2009, 09:34:42 AM »
some highlights.... trying to embed it but not getting thru

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Md3LIIIFdgM

« Reply #72 on: June 07, 2009, 09:39:52 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Md3LIIIFdgM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Md3LIIIFdgM</a>

« Reply #73 on: June 07, 2009, 09:45:38 AM »
Dreamer,

Latas eh defy no jackula and bring back samuel and avery, the corneals doh like dem men plus dey have ah agenda.

Maturana was coach but anton was calling de shots because they tryin to get caps for some men so dey could get foreign contracts.

But yuh right, jack still have ah say in picking de team but it not ah blacklist scene, jes jack like to be in control.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2009, 09:50:22 AM by Nightmare »

« Reply #74 on: June 07, 2009, 09:54:41 AM »
Nightmare,

Cornmeals, Jackula, Horace Burrell, Camps and the same perpetually recycled folks are one "family" of incestuous corruption and protection. Follow de scene

« Reply #75 on: June 07, 2009, 09:55:23 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Md3LIIIFdgM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Md3LIIIFdgM</a>
Ok, ah putting that 3rd goal on Trent. Stand up and watching de ball while a man ghosting into de area behind him to set up de goal.

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #76 on: June 07, 2009, 09:58:10 AM »
and by watching da alyuh go tell me imps save good he is rel shit he coulda get all dem goals it pass rite tru he hands he is rel shit
bajanscout

« Reply #77 on: June 07, 2009, 10:00:15 AM »
and by watching da alyuh go tell me imps save good he is rel shit he coulda get all dem goals it pass rite tru he hands he is rel shit
You and truetrini should go out for ice cream sometime. Show each other allyuh picture books.

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #78 on: June 07, 2009, 10:07:15 AM »
imps is shit he aint even making ah effort to get d ball get rid ah him he letting to much easy goal score every game like he doing it for spite
bajanscout

Offline Arazi

« Reply #79 on: June 07, 2009, 10:14:26 AM »
Ok, ah putting that 3rd goal on Trent. Stand up and watching de ball while a man ghosting into de area behind him to set up de goal.
I was now coming to point that out..he rel let the man get up run and take up postion in the penalty area while he was collecting he popcorn and dressing he hot dog and chips for the show...

tough on latas but the defensive problems that have plagued every coach except beenhakker ( and even him ) are still there..

people are saying this is best they've seen in a while..and they are correct..
what impressed me most was the work of or midfielders off the ball in the first half...we were pressuring and trying to win the ball back..as the game went on.. we started doing it less and less (altho credit must be given to costa rica changing tempo of the game to combat our play)

but they've been several times we played well in the past year and lost the game due to these same lapses..the fact is
We need to learn how to kill off a game..

We had guatemala beaten at home under maturana ( we let equalise late )
We had el salvador down 2-0  and we saw what happened
he had several chances to put away CR yday..what happened?
I still think we can get fourth
i think mexico being in the position they are can help us...
and bajanscout is partly correct..though not at faut for many goals..we need a better keeper than ince..his howlers are increasing...

« Reply #80 on: June 07, 2009, 10:21:10 AM »
defense has been a problem but we have problems all over the field (midfield, attack) but i will stick with the topic of defending.

the difference between beenie and the rest is beenie pick his back four, stuck with it and had the team play as a unit.  He had the midfield provide support to the defence which explains why latapy didnt get much playing time in the WC, beenie was only playing men who were committed to his defensive game plan.

« Reply #81 on: June 07, 2009, 10:43:12 AM »

yuh clapping, ent yuh god Wim did say we DID NOT have good players locally/

steeeeeeeeereeeeps

« Reply #82 on: June 07, 2009, 10:45:23 AM »

steeeeeeeeereeeeps

when wim said that?

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #83 on: June 07, 2009, 10:48:00 AM »
why alyuh aint seeing imps is d problem brazil ha no defence but there keeper keep them in d game so is real madrid imps is shit d man conceed more than he save
bajanscout

« Reply #84 on: June 07, 2009, 10:51:31 AM »
Who else seing this man is ah troll .Do we just have to just stomach him for the next 48 hours ,or can Tallman suspend him for 48 hrs till his blood lust cools .

« Reply #85 on: June 07, 2009, 10:54:35 AM »

steeeeeeeeereeeeps

when wim said that?
You'll wait forever for him to come back with that quote.

« Reply #86 on: June 07, 2009, 10:55:29 AM »
Who else seing this man is ah troll .Do we just have to just stomach him for the next 48 hours ,or can Tallman suspend him for 48 hrs till his blood lust cools .
He neck and neck wit de annoying Scotty posts, though. Ent yuh was giggling at those?

« Reply #87 on: June 07, 2009, 10:58:04 AM »
Giggle ? yah mean like u is do when Scotty dangling he balls on yah nose ?

« Reply #88 on: June 07, 2009, 11:02:08 AM »
Giggle ? yah mean like u is do when Scotty dangling he balls on yah nose ?
Clever.

« Reply #89 on: June 07, 2009, 11:05:11 AM »
See yah in the funny pages .