April 27, 2024, 08:10:30 AM

Author Topic: Foreign-based College Players Thread  (Read 97602 times)

Offline Fantastic

Re: End of season honours for US-based T&T college players
« Reply #120 on: December 04, 2005, 10:59:57 PM »
Joel Bailey playing indoor ball in Baltimore. Even though Lincoln and dem men aware of de talented Trini players in de indoor league in de states, dey refuse to give de men respect and even take a look at dem. Bailey, Boney, Regis, Rique in indoor and quite a few outdoor, but we doh seem to scout US based players well enough. Allyuh please send a scout to look at these players fuh real. From what i've heard these guys are interested but because they don't play for outdoor teams and can't be viewed in action on tapes, they have no other avenue to show their skills other than pay their way to come home and try to catch a few practices here and there. Don't waste de talent Beenie, check out these guys

Allyuh fellas remember also that college ball in de states is amateur and de players really should not be compared to professional players even in de states. Remember a certain midfielder(Rahim) play for  college champion Uconn a few years back and was de midfield maestro who can't even make we roster now.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2005, 06:34:07 AM by Tallman »
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #121 on: December 04, 2005, 11:17:40 PM »
 Point well taken Fantastic...I think Bailey should try and play Professional outdoor or even PFL just for one year and if something doesn't pop up then he should go back to what he doing...He probably have other commitments to look after but he is a great talent...Ent it had two Riques who used to play for under 20?

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #122 on: December 05, 2005, 12:36:27 AM »
Good day to you all. I am very happy to see all these players being appreciated for their work in the US especially Anthony Noreiga and Ateba McKnight. These two players, if well groomed will become great additions to the soca warriors. McKnight has to be the deadliest striker to grace secondary school football in the past 10 years when he played for my school, naparima college. Noreiga started of has a striker for Pleasantville Senior Comp but was converted to a defender at Princess Town.
I will like to know what became of Joel Bailey a good friend of mine at naps. Boy could he play
deadliest striker in d past 10 years i doubt it....probably the deadliest in his zone or in the years when marco elcock...cornell glen.....scott sealy...where NOT there
mcknight is a big BIG PLAYER THO...i have tons of respect for him wud luv to see him reach far....one of the few surviving top class strikers in the last 10 yrs

« Reply #123 on: December 05, 2005, 06:47:42 AM »
Even though Lincoln and dem men aware of de talented Trini players in de indoor league in de states, dey refuse to give de men respect and even take a look at dem. Bailey, Boney, Regis, Rique in indoor and quite a few outdoor...

I have tuh question de wisdom of playing in an indoor league if yuh seriously trying tuh get considered fuh ah national team. It jes doh make sense tuh me.

Bailey was called up by St. Clair fuh training last year, but dat was when he was playing fuh de Montreal Impact.

Addae Rique earned a solitary cap when he represented T&T against Barbados in 1997. I doh understand why he leave Southern Illinois University Edwardsville tuh go and play fuh St. Louis Steamers in de indoor league. I believe he still has one year of college remaining.

Shawn Boney is 34 years old and according tuh Bally, he said dat he has been playing indoor football so long dat he is unable tuh deal properly wit outdoor football. Now back in de day, he should have had ah longer national career, but me eh know what happen. He was drafted by de LA Galaxy after college.

Wendell Regis is 35 years old, end of story.

« Reply #124 on: December 05, 2005, 11:08:08 AM »
indoor has no credibility

last year i won the golden boot in my competition

and the mvp in the final, still no callup

this season i am in the lead with 32 goals and second place has 21

indoor iz just ah sweat in my book

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #125 on: December 05, 2005, 03:57:01 PM »
These players make more money than any locally based pro in Trinidad and most in de a-league. Dat is de reason for playing indoor or futsal type ball in de states. Quality is quality anyway and we should have someone take a look. Boney not up to it physically, Rique may not have de experience, but Bailey is a definite threat on de ball and Regis is a very good wingback. These two have outdoor experience in de a-league. Ask Sancho and  Avery, dey will tell yuh.   ;D  By de way Morvantman these indoor players are professionals who make at least $3000 US a month, dis is not small goal on yuh blasted block
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #126 on: December 05, 2005, 04:11:39 PM »
Boney not up to it physically, Rique may not have de experience, but Bailey is a definite threat on de ball and Regis is a very good wingback. These two have outdoor experience in de a-league.
Regis last played in de A-League 6 years ago fuh de Hershey Wildcats. As ah said, Bailey get call up, but he eh make de side, plus he eh currently playing outdoor ball.

... these indoor players are professionals who make at least $3000 US a month, dis is not small goal on yuh blasted block
Yes, I'm aware dat dey make some decent money, but yuh cyar have it both ways, yuh should be playing outdoor ball if yuh want tuh make it at dat level. It would interesting tuh know how many players in de Indoor league does currently play fuh dey national team.

« Reply #127 on: December 05, 2005, 04:20:17 PM »
man have to eat.  it's a money thing, way to make a decent living especially if you ain't no spring chicken. Or  Maybe them fellas ain't cater, get sour with TTFF over the yrs and overs the national team.   the indoor game way harder than it look.
a boney -stern combo up front-wha all yuh say? deadly or not.

« Reply #128 on: December 05, 2005, 04:26:58 PM »
man have to eat.  it's a money thing, way to make a decent living especially if you ain't no spring chicken. Or  Maybe them fellas ain't cater, get sour with TTFF over the yrs and overs the national team.   the indoor game way harder than it look.
Me eh have no problem wit dey choices, but is ah different game wit different requirements.

« Reply #129 on: December 05, 2005, 06:21:51 PM »
These players make more money than any locally based pro in Trinidad and most in de a-league. Dat is de reason for playing indoor or futsal type ball in de states. Quality is quality anyway and we should have someone take a look. Boney not up to it physically, Rique may not have de experience, but Bailey is a definite threat on de ball and Regis is a very good wingback. These two have outdoor experience in de a-league. Ask Sancho and  Avery, dey will tell yuh.   ;D  By de way Morvantman these indoor players are professionals who make at least $3000 US a month, dis is not small goal on yuh blasted block

on meh blasted block

you could play fuh 5mins on my blasted block. my blasted block produced some of the most skillful players trini ever saw. irasto knights iz just one name i would mention
$3000 ah month iz small change. i making that in just per diem in almost any country i go to.
cause ah man name morvantman allyuh does feel he broken and stupid. and oh yeah indoor iz ah sweat. i playing in 2 indoor leagues right now. i on sunday and 1 on tuesday nights

stupessssssssssssssssss

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #130 on: December 05, 2005, 07:06:49 PM »
Ah sure you and yuh alleged air spanner does pay to go and play in de people and dem indoor leagues to advantage some 67 year old guatemalan claiming dey from brazil. It have one professional indoor soccer league in de states and ah didn't see no MORVANTMAN on de rosters. Look it up under misl.net. If you making 3000 us dollars in per diem you must be on de miami heat or orlando magic. Ah wonder how much of dem 10 thousand posts of yours have any kinda truth in dem. Anyhow ah come in peace eh because ah touch quite a few morvant tings with powder on dey neck and name belt ah meet on de promenade, so vibes it up!! ;D
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #131 on: December 05, 2005, 08:29:42 PM »
fantastic fuh your information morvantman iz ah forum name arsehole

secondly i am in the military and per diem iz like 100$ a day so $3000 ah month iz small money pardna

small timer :rotfl:

« Reply #132 on: December 05, 2005, 10:28:18 PM »
fantastic fuh your information morvantman iz ah forum name arsehole

secondly i am in the military and per diem iz like 100$ a day so $3000 ah month iz small money pardna

small timer :rotfl:
Bailey and dem have degrees(i think) but they young and that ok for a youth man...They could save and come home and live decent after a while

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #133 on: December 06, 2005, 12:30:47 AM »
Pinocchio, ah mean morvantman, if yuh army per diem coming up to $3000 dollars a month, and yuh ent even talking salary, you must be doing well boss. Wonder why more people not flocking to de military to have $100 a day to eat and make merry while dey salary going straight to de bank.  Work on yuh air spanner instead ah coming online to lie nah boss. Anyway, dis is a football site so ah will drop dat. once again ah come in peace.  ;)
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #134 on: December 06, 2005, 02:53:58 AM »
Actually Per diem in a temporary duty is $105.00 a day.
BAS for food is aprox.. $265.00
Pay E-5 $2300.00 up
BAH housing is married $600.00up

Why people don't flock to it is because it is hard work. If you never been there don't try to degrade it. You may never work that hard in your life while puting yourself in danger.

MOV..is not lying to you I am retired. He left out a lot of info that is too much to say here. We don't make that everyday.(per Diem) But the money is good here. Just the cowards show when it is time to Deploy.

Fantastic don't speak on what you don't know of......
Movantman keep up the good job and ensure you prepare your self for when you get out... Education is everything

« Reply #135 on: December 06, 2005, 03:44:01 AM »
EDUCATION AINT EVERYTHING MY BRO. its important but it aint everything the more u read and know bout d life of successful ppl the more u realise that

« Reply #136 on: December 06, 2005, 04:12:20 AM »
In the  US military it is... Can't go further without it.

« Reply #137 on: December 06, 2005, 11:12:09 AM »
fantastic i done with you breds

and yes i have my degree also and working on my BA right now

do you want me to prove it to you

send me a pm my know it all ;D

eh em as i said before

indoor iz ah small sweat :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #138 on: December 06, 2005, 03:28:45 PM »
Friday, i not disrespecting military man no matter how much money dey make cause is a honorable wuk. Just dis lying morvantman need a father figure to guide him. Wha degree yuh have m..man? yuh working on yuh BA which is a 1st college degree, so wey yuh get de other one from? probably from de same high school dat Barry Swift play for until he was 21. Either dat or Malick. Anyway, as usual, i come in peace. I ent vex with yuh, next year miami carnival ah go ha to look fuh yuh to roll one through yuh legs and show yuh dat is is a shithound.

vibes it up!!! ;D
Doh loss yuh head boss

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #139 on: December 06, 2005, 05:07:45 PM »
Well done to all dem ballers, especially to meh Tobago brothers.

Akil Jordan (San Fernando, Trinidad)
« Reply #140 on: January 26, 2006, 10:10:10 PM »
Nine Men’s Soccer Players Named MAAC All-Academic
gogriffs.com

The Canisius College men's soccer team led all schools with nine players on the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference All-Academic Team.

Junior Brian Brehm (Lancaster, N.Y.), junior Curtis Campbell (Cincinnatus, N.Y.), senior David Carpenter (Lockport, N.Y.), senior Mike Farrell (Tonawanda, N.Y.), junior Matt Houghton (Holmes, N.Y.), senior Akil Jordan (San Fernando, Trinidad), sophomore James McKenna (Spencer, N.Y.), sophomore Ryan Miller (Tonawanda, N.Y.) and junior Patrick Owcarz (Clarence, N.Y.) earned the honor.

Brehm (right) played in 16 games this season and netted one goal, and Campbell saw action in 15 contests. Carpenter played in eight games, while Farrell played in 17 contests and finished third on the team in scoring with two goals and two assists.

Houghton, a goalkeeper, played in 15 games and registered a 1.96 goals against average and a .795 save percentage. Jordan netted a goal and an assist and played in all 18 contests, while McKenna posted two assists in 13 games. Miller played in five games before an injury forced him out of action, and Owcarz, a goalkeeper, made 13 saves in five contests.

To be eligible for the MAAC All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must complete two semesters at their institution, be a starter or significant reserve and hold a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 on a 4.0 scale.

Andre Cooper ?
« Reply #141 on: March 26, 2006, 04:39:39 AM »
thats seems to happen to most of our footballers who get schols to usa colleges they jus stop playing serious ball. i wonder r those US schols a blessing or a curse to our football development

Offline rastafari

Andre Cooper ?
« Reply #142 on: March 26, 2006, 06:36:30 AM »
thats seems to happen to most of our footballers who get schols to usa colleges they jus stop playing serious ball. i wonder r those US schols a blessing or a curse to our football development

I have been saying that USA football does kill our footballers, yuh have to remember that  USA is not a traditional football country, so when the players finish their degree there is no competitive football for them to carry on their development, unless they are the outstanding players in their divisions.

The better option in terms of  education and football development is the United Kingdom.

Their chances of playing in the lower leagues are much more better than the USA due to the exposure they can get with several football clubs.
In the USA their are restrictions on players who may want to play club football while they are at University.

The education is also very good in British universities.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Andre Cooper ?
« Reply #143 on: March 26, 2006, 09:17:54 AM »
[/I have been saying that USA football does kill our footballers, yuh have to remember that  USA is not a traditional football country, so when the players finish their degree there is no competitive football for them to carry on their development, unless they are the outstanding players in their divisions.

The better option in terms of  education and football development is the United Kingdom.

Their chances of playing in the lower leagues are much more better than the USA due to the exposure they can get with several football clubs.
In the USA their are restrictions on players who may want to play club football while they are at University.

quote]

I couldn't disagree with you more.  It's not that the US development does kill our playeres.  The problem is that we have too many talkers and non-players on this site.

When men come to the US, reality hits that:
1. Men older and more mature
2. You understand and start preparing for life outside of football

I can't speak for others but I know that I improved tremendously in the US more so than I did in trini, however, some people are late bloomers.  It just so happens that not everyone wants to play pro ball.

Does anyone consider the fact that less than 1% of athletes make it to the professional ranks?  When men start adding up the $, they figure with a degree they can make a substantial amount of money and don't necessarily want to chase dreams that may never materialize.

Just food for thought!

Andre Cooper ?
« Reply #144 on: March 26, 2006, 09:35:13 AM »

I have been saying that USA football does kill our footballers, yuh have to remember that  USA is not a traditional football country, so when the players finish their degree there is no competitive football for them to carry on their development, unless they are the outstanding players in their divisions.

I have friends who have gone thought the system in england at Uni and going though it now and Football in British Unis is crap. not very organised wid matches are organised by students at alot of unis, training etc you'll get decent football or athletics at bath or Loughborough(decent athletics at Brunel) apart from that thumbs down. Ive even learnt about the the system in Physical ED. One of the major topics is comparing France,UK & US and the UK comes off worse.

If you mean Non-League 7th/8th Tier Football yes they could get into team but that aint good theres only been one player thats come from Uni to Pro in recent years and he didnt get picked up from a uni side. Professional Clubs are not looking to pick up players from Unis.

There are plans to improve the system but these plans have been on the table for 2 years now.

I agree with you on the education part British Education is very good. Alot of WI people come england for Education then Tear afterwards.

Andre Cooper ?
« Reply #145 on: March 26, 2006, 09:36:13 AM »
[/I have been saying that USA football does kill our footballers, yuh have to remember that  USA is not a traditional football country, so when the players finish their degree there is no competitive football for them to carry on their development, unless they are the outstanding players in their divisions.

quote]

I couldn't disagree with you more.  It's not that the US development does kill our playeres.  The problem is that we have too many talkers and non-players on this site.

When men come to the US, reality hits that:
1. Men older and more mature
2. You understand and start preparing for life outside of football

I can't speak for others but I know that I improved tremendously in the US more so than I did in trini, however, some people are late bloomers.  It just so happens that not everyone wants to play pro ball.

Does anyone consider the fact that less than 1% of athletes make it to the professional ranks?  When men start adding up the $, they figure with a degree they can make a substantial amount of money and don't necessarily want to chase dreams that may never materialize.

Just food for thought!

Good Post

Andre Cooper ?
« Reply #146 on: March 26, 2006, 09:38:41 AM »

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

UK schools don't offer football schols to trinis and from what i heard their football at that level is not organized...so the US is the best option for our players.

Andre Cooper ?
« Reply #147 on: March 26, 2006, 09:47:20 AM »

UK schools don't offer football schols to trinis and from what i heard their football at that level is not organized...so the US is the best option for our players.
what you saying about UK Universities(you must mean) dont offer to Trinis is bullsh*t. They dont offer Football Scholaships at all!!!!

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
Andre Cooper ?
« Reply #148 on: March 26, 2006, 09:50:40 AM »
Some of them do. London Met, Loughborough...The big name sports unis.
-be the change you wish to see-

Andre Cooper ?
« Reply #149 on: March 26, 2006, 09:59:16 AM »

what you saying about UK Universities(you must mean) dont offer to Trinis is bullsh*t. They dont offer Football Scholaships at all!!!!

Calm yuhself..i could only talk about trinis..i not living in england so I don't know what goes on there ...so watch yuhself...i am not yuh son...