April 28, 2024, 07:19:02 AM

Author Topic: George Foreman's son wins pro debut  (Read 2341 times)

George Foreman's son wins pro debut
« on: June 07, 2009, 09:42:30 PM »
KINDER, Louisiana (AP) - George Foreman III won his professional debut on Saturday, stopping Clyde Weaver at 1:16 of the first round.

Foreman, the 26-year-old son of two-time world heavyweight champion George Foreman, floored Weaver with a left hook to the chin. Earlier, the 6-foot-5, 236-pound Foreman knocked Weaver (0-2) down with a left hook to the body.

"It feels good to know all the torture my father put me through paid off," Forman said.

The elder Foreman, who is his son's manager and trainer, didn't watch the fight, choosing to let his hand-picked corner team guide his son. After the fight was stopped, the father went into the arena to see his son.

"You never know. This guy surprised me. A guy can train in the gym and look real good. But then they get in the ring and is a flop," the elder Foreman said. "Now I know he's a fighter."

When the opening bell rang, Foreman ran straight ahead to meet the unheralded Weaver and began to throw jabs and hooks. Less than 30 seconds into the fight, Foreman threw a left hook that landed on Weaver's chin, forcing him to the canvas.

Weaver got up, but landed back on the mat again when Foreman hit him with a left hook to the body.

"I'm happy to make my debut. The goal was to have my first fight," Foreman said. "The hardest thing going into the fight was waiting for the undercard to end."

Re: George Foreman's son wins pro debut
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 09:56:02 AM »
One fight against a shithong and he's a fighter? Papayo!

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 04:15:15 PM »
One fight against a shithong and he's a fighter? Papayo!
when boxers turn pro don't they need to work their way up to contender status.yuh have to earn to chance to fight klithcko and them sorts.

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 05:05:10 PM »
I was reading something about him in the run-up to the bout.  He just start boxing in the last year or so.  He claims that he tried to have a few amateur bouts but people keep cancelling: he couldn't find any amateurs willing to fight a George Foreman.

Generally, title shots are given according to the rankings +/- some politics.  He eh going to be ranked for a while but the PR machine really can't turn down the opportunity.

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 05:18:17 PM »
George 'Monk' Foreman III set for boxing debut
By STEVE CAMPBELL Copyright 2009 Houston Chronicle
June 3, 2009, 11:23PM

Photos by Michael Paulsen: Chronicle

George Foreman III received one day’s notice that his day of reckoning was arriving. George Foreman the original, the former heavyweight boxing champion of the world, walked into the steamy gym nearly a year ago and said, “We’re going to spar tomorrow.”

Sweet dreams, son.

The genial giant of a man who had been so generous with his fatherly advice showed up the next day at the George Foreman Youth Center with a menacing glower. He didn’t smile at the son he’d nicknamed Monk, didn’t offer any coaching or even polite chit-chat. He just put on his headgear, stepped in the ring and tried to beat his son to a pulp. They went at it for three days, with Monk offering this verdict: “He just pulverized me.”

The father saw those sparring sessions a lot differently, which helps explain why he has given his blessing to Monk embarking on a career in professional boxing. Monk will make his professional debut Saturday night at the Coushatta Casino Resort in Kinder, La., taking on Clyde Weaver in a four-round heavyweight fight.

“He scared me,” said George Foreman the original, who won 76 of 81 professional fights. “I was trying to hit him with that big jab of mine. He’d jump back, and he kept jumping up like, ‘I’m going to hit you.’ I thought, ‘I don’t think I’m going to be doing this much. I don’t want to be hit in the head anymore.’ He had that (air) like, ‘Any time I want, I can hit you.’ Now I know if he really wants to do something, he can do it.”

A late start

Monk is 26 and has a business degree from Rice. He is the business manager of the George Foreman empire, which sells everything from grills to cookbooks to guides to life. He likes the television cameras, and the cameras have liked him back in a couple of reality shows. He stands 6-5, weighs 240 pounds, drives a Bentley and has what his father describes as a “silk-pajamas” existence.

And yet, Monk insists he is ready to climb into a ring and get in harm’s way.

“How about for $200 million and stardom?” veteran promoter Ron Weathers said. “You think that’s a pretty good motivation? A couple hundred million and being a superstar — not to mention all the other stuff that goes with it. That’s where he’s headed.”

The Foreman family — in all its fruitful, multiplying glory, with George the original having fathered 10 children that include five sons named George — is well aware of the face of boxing. George Foreman the original won the heavyweight title with a 1973 knockout of Joe Frazier, only to lose the 1974 rumble in the jungle with Muhammad Ali. Twenty years later, at age 45, Foreman became the oldest heavyweight champion in history.

“I thought I was done seeing the black eyes, the puffy faces,” said one of Monk’s sisters, Natalie Foreman. “Monk, he’s a beautiful dude. He’s got that smooth, chocolate skin. I just don’t want anybody to hit him. He’s too pretty.”

Monk was the second of the five Foreman sons named George. The father got tagged with the nickname “Monkey” by his siblings. He passed along that nickname to George Foreman III. As much as George Foreman could, he steered his children to as close to a monk’s existence as he could.

“The one thing about me and boxing is I didn’t even discuss it or hint about it until I had my college degree,” Monk said.

An unlikely fighter?

As a boy, Monk watched his father train. He sat at ringside when his father did color analysis of fights and had blood splatter in his face. Boxing, he said, was always in the back of his mind. Some five years ago while attending Pepperdine, Monk popped into a gym one day and did some sparring. He didn’t go back, afraid his father would find out what he’d done.

On the surface, at least, Monk was the least likely of the five Georges to get into the fight game

“My other brothers, I’ve seen them lose their temper, and I’ve thought, ‘My God, there’s a beast in there,’” Natalie Foreman said. “With him, I never saw him lose his temper. He was so kind. But as he has gotten older … I think still waters run deep.”

Monk began training two Augusts ago. His regimen includes what he calls the “torture chamber” of his father’s ranch. Like father, Monk drags trucks as far as he can, digs holes, chops wood and runs until he’s sure he’ll drop — and then runs some more. Once Monk passed muster in the sparring sessions with his father, following the Foreman footsteps became more a matter of when than if.

“His feet are bigger than mine,” George Foreman said. “He’s doing it for the right reason. He loves it. He wants to be a part of it. I did it for vain reasons. He can do more than me because the first time around all I cared about was the fame and fortune and really trying to hurt someone.”

Ready for tough training

The way Monk figures it, genetics give him a good two decades — if necessary — to complete his quest of becoming heavyweight champion of the world. In one breath, Monk describes his style as “an impersonation of George Foreman impersonating Sugar Ray Robinson.” In another breath, Monk said he’s not sure if he could beat his 60-year-old father but added, “I’m sure if I got my brothers we could whip him pretty good.”

“My view of boxing has always been the hours of training,” Monk said. “The hours of sparring. Denying your body of things you really like. Being away from your family. The dedication and sacrifices that you have to make. So when I decided to get into boxing, believe me, there were no surprises at all.”

In two days, Monk Foreman will find out for sure what it’s like to fight under the lights in front of a crowd that wants to see destruction.

“Without boxing, there would be no George Foreman Grill today,” Monk Foreman said. “So how could you talk bad about boxing?

steve.campbell@chron.com

« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2009, 05:27:24 PM »
look like he fadder in his younger days....This is all Pay Per View want to charge $ 39.95 for one of his bout..

« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2009, 09:04:17 AM »
when boxers turn pro don't they need to work their way up to contender status.yuh have to earn to chance to fight klithcko and them sorts.

"You never know. This guy surprised me. A guy can train in the gym and look real good. But then they get in the ring and is a flop," the elder Foreman said. "Now I know he's a fighter."

As I said, one fight against a shithong he's a fighter?

« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2009, 05:13:13 PM »

As I said, one fight against a shithong he's a fighter?

Yep one fight makes you a fighter.

Look at shittongs Cooney beat and they called him a fighter.

Nobody say he great, nobody say he's a contender. But he is a professional boxer.

Look at Giselle Salandy in her first 12 odd bouts she fight shittong after shittong and she was a "world Champ."

I guarantee you the first 12 fighter didn't have 15 wins put together and surely had more than 15 losses.

He's a fighter. Now, well get to see how good he is.

Peace,

« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2009, 07:53:07 AM »
I'm still not talking about how good he is. What happens if he flops and does nothing right in his next fight? Is he still a fighter then? One performance proves nothing. It's the ability to do certain things every time that will make you. He can't be a fighter after one fight. The part about being good, legendary, etc. is a different discussion and that is not what am I asking about.

« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2009, 02:07:37 PM »
You asked if he is a fighter, the answer is yes.

Giselle performed vs 12 shittongs in a row and was considered a fighter.

He could lose his next fight, doesn't mean he's not a fighter, just means we have to wait and see.

Mike Weaver and Alexis Arguello are two fighters who lost their pro debut but they turned out alright.

Hearns son just lost by KO but he is still considered a fighter.

You could be a fighter - just a shitty one.

« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2009, 09:59:35 AM »
I'm still not talking about how good he is. What happens if he flops and does nothing right in his next fight? Is he still a fighter then? One performance proves nothing. It's the ability to do certain things every time that will make you. He can't be a fighter after one fight. The part about being good, legendary, etc. is a different discussion and that is not what am I asking about.

is your definition of a fighter someone who wins all their fights or someone who is very good?  my definition of a fighter or to be more accurate a boxer is someone who gets into the ring and box (aka fight).

« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2009, 12:52:09 PM »
Fair enough VB. Nightmare, if you've been reading what I said you'd have the answer to your own question.