April 28, 2024, 02:05:12 PM

Author Topic: Warriors—better than before but same results  (Read 5439 times)

Warriors—better than before but same results
« on: June 08, 2009, 08:31:51 PM »
Warriors—better than before but same results
By Alvin Corneal (T&T Guardian)

It has always been my belief that a match analysis should be done a day or two after the actual performance, in order to allow for all the emotions to settle down before taking a close look into the actualities of the match itself. Interestingly enough, my first observation as the players entered the field for the start was the uptempo beat of their warm-up session which implied an attitude of positivity in their body language.

This was a good sign to my mind and it allowed most of the 10,000 fans to raise their hopes for a better display than the Nashville disaster some seven weeks ago. The message in that pre-match presentation brought kudos to the new coach Russell Latapy, whose charismatic personality would have been responsible for the players being willing to go the extra mile. The second phase of analysis was the selection of the starting team which, as far as I am concerned, had to be based upon the coach’s choice after viewing performances over the past five weeks in charge. The names of Hayden Tinto, Marvin Andrews and Trent Noel would certainly have raised some eyebrows, when the reserve bench showed up names like Chris Birchall, Colin Samuel, Keyeno Thomas and Keon Daniel.

Actually, my biggest surprise was that Andrews had not played at this level for at least two years and even on his best days, was noted only for his aggressiveness in the air and on the ground, features which kept us unaware of his extremely weak capability to distribute the ball. Many fans, including myself, expected that Silvio Spann would be chosen to fill the right back position, seeing that the first call by previous performances of Cyd Gray did not give him the right to challenge for or defend the position which he held so successfully since World Cup 2006 Germany. I understood Latapy’s attraction to Tinto, as the youngster has good skill, fighting spirit and speed, all ingredients of what this game needed.

But my thoughts of Daniel, a regular starter in previous teams, a dead-ball specialist, and a born Tobagonian playing in front of his friends and family, had options which few would have ignored. Having made these observations, I still gave full support to Latapy’s choice in my mind and felt that what I had seen in the pre-match period, had given me hope for much improvement from the last match.

New coach, new ideas
The structure of the players on the field was not customary, but a new coach must bring new ideas, hence the reason why it has to be acceptable. Now to the game itself. For ten minutes, T&T appeared to be a group that meant business, playing and moving faster than their opponents, who struggled to understand what they were up against. A couple of quick chances showed up for Noel, Scotland and Jones, who failed to capitalise, leaving it to a Carlos Edwards free kick which skidded off the wet surface and lodged itself into the right hand corner of the Costa Rican net.

The goal brought a vast change to Edwards’ mindset which was originally to defend against a potent Costa Rican left-sided attack. He changed that responsibility quickly and charaded down the flanks without caution, leaving the space on the flank for the talented Sirias to rush to the byline ahead of the late returning Edwards and the approaching Andrews.This created a comfortable goal-scoring opportunity for Saborio, whose presence eight metres from the goal centre, immediately exposed the lack of defensive understanding between our central defenders.

Nevertheless, the energetic momentum by the warriors continued and had it not been for Scotland’s failure to score simple chances created by Jones and Yorke, Costa Rica would have had to produce much better performances for their three points. Half time discussions should have corrected the defensive problems and moved towards a more productive display. It did not, and my impression was that there was insufficient information tactically to rectify the absolute diabolical process of communication among the defence line.

The second half
It was painful to see the slow second half start that brought to the Ticos a gift goal from T&T, courtesy a dormant left side of defence. Once again, we saw the Latapy influence—the fighting spirit which was evident in the first ten minutes—culminated by a rapid run towards goal by Samuel and a power shot from a horrible angle. Goalkeeper Navas decided to return the gift goal to the Warriors. It is at that point in time when the strategy should have been to get an upbeat commitment from the midfield, with Birchall (quite rightly brought on) to work with Samuel and skipper Yorke. Unfortunately, this did not occur and even the home fans in Tobago were calling for the substitution of the veteran Manchester United superstar of the past, because he seemed fully jaded, had lost his desire for much challenge and could not provide much in terms of midfield playmaking.

Costa Rica recognised that our steam had been reduced and our attacks were no longer planned. Jones and Scotland vacated their positive central attacking positions, causing the coach to try with Cornell Glenn’s speed and guile. The Ticos decided to play it safe and placed emphasis upon tightening their defence. However, a counter attack and a simple crossed ball from the T&T right side through the vacancy left by the attacking Edwards saw Sirias once again sending a cross. It was headed comfortably by Dennis Lawrence, but accurately onto the feet of Borges, who, before saying thanks, collected and slotted it past Ince for the go ahead goal. Actually, coach Rodrigo Fenton admitted that he was not really happy with his team, but was happy to have utilised the chances offered them. He was about to regret that he had rested three key players from the USA game. But the means satisfied the end result.

Re: Warriors—better than before but same results
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 08:45:39 PM »
It has always been my belief that a match analysis should be done a day or two after the actual performance, in order to allow for all the emotions to settle down before taking a close look into the actualities of the match itself.

I guess the emotions from the U-17's hasn't settle down yet.

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 08:48:11 PM »
It has always been my belief that a match analysis should be done a day or two after the actual performance, in order to allow for all the emotions to settle down before taking a close look into the actualities of the match itself.

;)

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 09:09:57 PM »

What in particular are you in disagreement with?

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 09:21:17 PM »
:o
is this ah Onomatopoetic
like woosh
you ent kno that he shoulda rip ah new arsehole for he offspring in a similar article
« Last Edit: June 08, 2009, 09:32:52 PM by Werklmann »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2009, 09:40:51 PM »

Alvin has NEVER commented on the DISMAL performance of our Under -17 team which returned from Mexico almost 2 months ago...a team coached by his SON Anton... For someone who's always willing to share his opinion on all matters of Football, his silence is deafening!

« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2009, 09:44:39 PM »

Alvin has NEVER commented on the DISMAL performance of our Under -17 team which returned from Mexico almost 2 months ago...a team coached by his SON Anton... For someone who's always willing to share his opinion on all matters of Football, his silence is deafening!

COSIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2009, 09:57:42 PM »

that is what I was taking note of, in an off-handed kind of a way.

« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2009, 10:09:12 PM »

That is very true Patriot.

It doesn't invalidate the veracity of his article here.  He's on point.  Alvin may be many things but he does know his foootball.

Try separate the message from the messenger....as hard as it may be....and recognise dat he speaketh the truth here.

And yes...I too eagerly await his post mortem on the U 17's in Mexico.  I suspect I will never see it but I still eagerly await it nonetheless.

« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2009, 11:12:32 PM »
good stuff Alvin

Offline shatta

• JAMAICA TO DI WORLD!. WHERE BROOKLYN AT!
  • GANSTA FI LIFE
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2009, 11:17:23 PM »
O! a roun yah so unnu dahy :devil:

« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2009, 11:46:21 PM »

:devil: When Anton is coach of the senior team he might go years without saying a word or just trash the players when the coach tactics fail.

I enjoy reading Alvin's assessments, but Trinidad and Tobago is a small place; he has tried on too many hats and let his opinions be known, and that for me and probably many others  seriously limits his credibility. And no amount of sound analysis on everybody BUT Anton will fix that. 

« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2009, 11:59:19 PM »
Alvin is an embarrassment to journalism and football. he only jelous bad minded and angry that a yute like latas did ah better job than his columbian friend, plus JW musta said ," boy alvin , look how yuh set meh up tuh fail wid dis dunce columbian, plus yuh retarded son cost meh millions in endorsments! your wowoword iiiis nononot bobobobond agaaaain fufufufuh meeee nah!!"

jack probably kicking himself in the arse BC alvin set him up, on his recomendations. so my guess is , alvin is probably in the dog house eating gravy train mixed wid salt water. :devil:

Offline Peter

« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2009, 03:49:42 AM »
O! a roun yah so unnu dahy :devil:

translation please somebody.

Even though Alvin Corneal is very annoying among other things, very good and honest article anyhow.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2009, 03:59:35 AM by Peter »

« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2009, 05:50:54 AM »
As much as men on the forum are quite indifferent to Alvin, he did pretty analysis of game played last Saturday. Like someone said separate the message from the messenger.

« Reply #15 on: June 09, 2009, 05:59:36 AM »
Sometimes we have to go beyond the personality and look at the message. I think this is a very good analysis of the game. I am surprised that even the Tobago crowd  was asking for Dwight to be substituted. Not too sure about his problem with Carlos- In modern day football when your wing back is in the atttack, the midfield provides the cover a la Cole for Chelsea and Brazil . Maybe we can now see the wisdom of a serious friendly that would have ironed out these communication problems. I also feel that he is right about leaving out Daniel for Noel.

« Reply #16 on: June 09, 2009, 06:16:40 AM »
Alvin is an embarrassment to journalism and football. he only jelous bad minded and angry that a yute like latas did ah better job than his columbian friend, plus JW musta said ," boy alvin , look how yuh set meh up tuh fail wid dis dunce columbian, plus yuh retarded son cost meh millions in endorsments! your wowoword iiiis nononot bobobobond agaaaain fufufufuh meeee nah!!"

jack probably kicking himself in the arse BC alvin set him up, on his recomendations. so my guess is , alvin is probably in the dog house eating gravy train mixed wid salt water. :devil:

Ah could tell yuh the dentist wasn't Alvin's friend....after the game in the US me and some partners spoke with Alvin and he wasn't speaking very highly of his, thus, I would disagree there.

In all honestly, this piece is one of the best that I have read from Corneal in a while.  I think he was honest, specific and to the point.  We have to come away with the message and ignore the messenger....

« Reply #17 on: June 09, 2009, 06:20:58 AM »
I detect in Cornmeal's article that he is reading this forum and choosing his words in a nuanced way to avoid appearing a saboteur of Latas, knowing that crowning Latas the real deal will shut his li'l Anton out from parasiting from the senior team for severeal years (unless Jackulito stages a coup ;))
« Last Edit: June 09, 2009, 06:25:51 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #18 on: June 09, 2009, 06:22:55 AM »
I also think that they should have played a friendly especially with Dog playing. As good as he is , he had not played a serious international in quite a while. But as they say  hindsight is 20/20 or 50/50(whatever it is). But like I said before, let's give Latas the room to coach this team, even if it means making reservations for Brazil!!!!

« Reply #19 on: June 09, 2009, 06:27:44 AM »
I see nothing wrong with the article. Much of it echos the sentiments on the board.

My one question would be this line concerning Keon Daniel "born Tobagonian playing in front of his friends and family," what difference does it make if Keon Daniel was playing at home in front of family and friends. T&T is one country and this is International football, not Sunday morning football. The best players for that particular game through their efforts in training should play, FULL STOP.

« Reply #20 on: June 09, 2009, 06:55:12 AM »
Observer,
                  Ditto!!!!

« Reply #21 on: June 09, 2009, 07:55:45 AM »
I see nothing wrong with the article. Much of it echos the sentiments on the board.

My one question would be this line concerning Keon Daniel "born Tobagonian playing in front of his friends and family," what difference does it make if Keon Daniel was playing at home in front of family and friends. T&T is one country and this is International football, not Sunday morning football. The best players for that particular game through their efforts in training should play, FULL STOP.

My take on that comment is that he may have been highlighting Daniel's motivation for that game...wanting desperately to do well in front his "home crowd".  Is like a man who playin for his country on the ground where he plays his club football.  Just that extra added little sumting as motivation.  I saw no harm in the stataement.  It would have been the same for Yorke or Makan Hislop.

Offline trini warrior

« Reply #22 on: June 09, 2009, 08:18:34 AM »
good reading.

this is football though - if chances were put away carlos would be praised as having the game of his life & latas would of been hailed as a genius. corneal knows this all too well

« Reply #23 on: June 09, 2009, 09:03:29 AM »

My take on that comment is that he may have been highlighting Daniel's motivation for that game...wanting desperately to do well in front his "home crowd".  Is like a man who playin for his country on the ground where he plays his club football.  Just that extra added little sumting as motivation.  I saw no harm in the stataement.  It would have been the same for Yorke or Makan Hislop.

then Keon should have been performing real hard in training/practice - on home soil, in front of family and friends,- and try to cement his position on the field....unless he did and still get left out....but we only get a lot of reports on Baptiste, not more than average of anyone else.

« Reply #24 on: June 09, 2009, 09:38:37 AM »

then Keon should have been performing real hard in training/practice - on home soil, in front of family and friends,- and try to cement his position on the field....unless he did and still get left out....but we only get a lot of reports on Baptiste, not more than average of anyone else.

Maybe he did.  Maybe he didn't.  Alvin thinks highly of Daniel, mentioned him in his article & suggested he might have been played.  Nothing wrong with that.  He didn't criticize the coach for not playing him. 

« Reply #25 on: June 09, 2009, 10:38:35 AM »

Maybe he did.  Maybe he didn't.  Alvin thinks highly of Daniel, mentioned him in his article & suggested he might have been played.  Nothing wrong with that.  He didn't criticize the coach for not playing him. 

Correct! He did not criticise the coach directly, but the fact that he made the statement in the article would lead one to read between the lines as a slight on the none selection.

Offline nazeko

« Reply #26 on: June 09, 2009, 11:09:06 AM »
I agree with observer Alvin intended for us to read between the lines with respect to Keon Daniel, even though I think it was good decision by Latas to leave him out ( not really impressed with keon for the past few games loses the ball too easily)
Also I dont agree with his critiscism of carlos, he should have gotten better cover from midfield when making his forward runs.
Good analysis of the game regardless of the source.

Offline christiano

« Reply #27 on: June 09, 2009, 11:20:09 AM »
why forumites dont use valuable assessment to further educate themselves of different opinions about the game of football ?

No two coaches or pundits agree on everything in football.

On this forum alone ask yourself , was maturana right ????

Because all of a sudden people calling for "young" players to be playing rather than the same "old" players that every monday morning men calling for Maturana to pick ...otherwise he is a dunce ...

Question : Was Maturana not doing what was best for our football ??
Question : Was Latapy right to bring back the "forum" players ?

« Reply #28 on: June 09, 2009, 11:46:28 AM »
Alvin Corneal you stinking mudder Cunny... I hate you...

f00ck off forever.... you blight....

Anton Corneal is a pussy...

Offline loyalist

« Reply #29 on: June 09, 2009, 09:39:43 PM »
Alvin Corneal you stinking mudder Cunny... I hate you...

f00ck off forever.... you blight....

Anton Corneal is a pussy...
cosign........