March 29, 2024, 07:08:58 AM

Author Topic: How do strikers practice their finishing?  (Read 7515 times)

How do strikers practice their finishing?
« on: June 09, 2009, 03:41:22 PM »
Question 4 D experts.  How do strikers practice their finishing?

Years ago ah saw a documentary showcasing how David Beckham practiced his crosses. He tied an automobile's tire to the "V" of the goalpost and took shots from midfield area.

Scorers on a professional basketball team would shoot hundreds of baskets to develop and sharpen their shooting skills.

Does KJ and them have a similar practice?

« Last Edit: June 09, 2009, 04:02:18 PM by Cocorite »

Re: How do strikers practice their finishing?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2009, 03:46:45 PM »

Years ago ah saw a documentary showcasing how David Beckham practiced his crosses. He tied an automobile's tire to the "V" of the goalpost and took shots from midfield area.

Scoers on a professional basketball team would shoot hundreds of baskets to develop and sharpen their shooting skills.

B4 D blacklist when d team came back after d WC Birch remain practicin d shot. So was not shock dat he lego 1 on d Vincey heat.

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2009, 03:59:32 PM »
b

Scoers on a professional basketball team would shoot hundreds of baskets to develop and sharpen their shooting skills.

Good question Cocorite. Ah like how yuh say "Question 4 D experts." yuh going and get all kinda replies and all might have some merit....i also wonder if we have specific drills we does practice, at de end ah de day though is all about having dat poise and composure in game situations.

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2009, 04:09:15 PM »
Does anybody know of any of our strikers finishing practice habits? I know the foward position entails more than finishing but finishing is one of the areas where we struggle. They created quite a few chances but. . .

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2009, 04:40:04 PM »
What dey need 2 learn is 2 all defend in mass.

« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2009, 04:45:29 PM »

True talk dey, Weary.  They need to do both zonal and man tuh man marking.

Buh I really curious as to how they work on finishing? I've had this question for a while now and keep forgetting to ask the forumites.  ;D

« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2009, 04:49:45 PM »

Church eh helpin dem fellas.

Offline jimmel14

« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2009, 04:52:17 PM »
hmm I find dey need to get a Tiger or something for then strikers.... give them d ball and have em under pressure from the tiger to score.. enabling them to score from all over.. LOL  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: but u see dey skills and agility improve

« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2009, 04:53:22 PM »

Church eh helpin dem fellas.

U is d worseeeeeeeeeee  :rotfl:. Doh tell meh boi Dog dat he believeeeeeeeeeeeeee

« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2009, 07:05:48 PM »
Scotland does aim for de stars

« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2009, 07:22:31 PM »

Arrow strikes again!!

« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2009, 07:32:43 PM »

He used 2 listen 2 Casey keep yuh feeet on d ground ank keep reachin 4 d stars

« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2009, 07:47:11 PM »

I hear Uzbekistan does use dis method:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/Dv7gwoAUky4&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/Dv7gwoAUky4&amp;</a>
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2009, 09:08:29 PM »
pALOS..hear nah...you is ah real ass yes...oh god...ey

Offline Augi

« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2009, 09:30:15 PM »
Maybe Stern could hold a clinic???

« Reply #15 on: June 09, 2009, 10:04:50 PM »

What, in how to throw way 5 before scoring 1 but making more chances for yoursef to score rather than waiting for other players to supply you with your chances?  8)

« Reply #16 on: June 09, 2009, 10:07:56 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/Dv7gwoAUky4&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/Dv7gwoAUky4&amp;</a>

Wow!

« Reply #17 on: June 09, 2009, 10:13:22 PM »

What, in how to throw way 5 before scoring 1 but making more chances for yoursef to score rather than waiting for other players to supply you with your chances?  8)
All that and will still score more than any other forward with a T&T passport. That and he could teach them how to trap and pass  too.

« Reply #18 on: June 09, 2009, 10:21:10 PM »

Wow!
All dat and they still can't make it to the world cup.

Offline Augi

« Reply #19 on: June 09, 2009, 10:38:00 PM »

All that and will still score more than any other forward with a T&T passport. That and he could teach them how to trap and pass  too.

Jah Goal thanks for answering this man for me...Personally I tired of arguing back and forth over Stern with these ingrates!

« Reply #20 on: June 09, 2009, 11:12:38 PM »

As i tell a man yesterday when he cussing scotland and jones....allyuh does want to cuss stern....buh...we strikers blind...and stern have one eye.

And ize not no stern fan.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2009, 07:18:28 AM »
 How do strikers practice their finishing?

Watch #14 ....if yuh eh learn nutten change yuh sport tuh ping pong.

« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2009, 08:06:32 AM »
Trinidad strikers does go Zen and 51 in slippers and hat and drink scotch ¶ champagne till the wee hours of the morning. Before and after a match.

That is all the practice they need.

« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2009, 08:19:23 AM »
Me ent know what kinda football alyuh men does play...but that what them fellas doing in that video is real 4kin skill.

That is a driven shot from the 1/2 line to the 18 and the target is just a lil bigger than the circumference of the ball. the man that miss come like he hit the post.

Plus the ball rolling too...men ent sure too much men on we national team could do that.

But to answer the original question...A strikers wuk or training does really begin at the end of the training session when he bun...or when he doing shuttles and hard sprint. Is one thing to score when yuh fresh and under no pressure...is a totally different ting to score when yuh bun and have a man on yuh.

Sometimes they will line up the balls and have you hitting bullet, when you ready to drop down while doing shuttles or they will place cones in the post and have you aim for that..or they does put a defender on yuh back and tell the defender stop him using any means.

Shearer and Owen used to hit 100 placed shots into the goalpost corners both right and left foot after every training. They had a documentary about that online on BBC sport.

Is repetition, muscle memory, habit, grit and determination.

Scoring goal is a art...you either have it or you dont and composure and luck is a big factor. The ability to get into a goal scoring position is another art plenty men ent have.

« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2009, 08:24:23 AM »
Watch meh the man bend down and put he head in the hole to collect that bullet...shit  :rotfl: :devil:

Dais the kinda penance Latapy hadda rest on them fellas who playing the arse on the field.

« Reply #25 on: June 10, 2009, 08:32:05 AM »
you self touches...

you cant see that is CGI? fake ting like the video with ronaldinho passing to himself off the crossbar..

in any case, which uzbek player u feel could hit that target with any kinda regularity?? Bahrain mash dem up.. steups

« Reply #26 on: June 10, 2009, 08:37:05 AM »
Boy me ent know bout no CGI, if the men and them could do that then they good.

I get ketch with the ronaldinho ting and I must be get ketch here too.

BTW..I sure ronaldinho ping the bar at least once in that video

Offline Mackie

« Reply #27 on: June 10, 2009, 08:54:33 AM »

The "one" chance he does always score carry us germany and have us in the hex though ! How much KJ and Scottie score?

« Reply #28 on: June 10, 2009, 11:05:38 AM »
Me ent know what kinda football alyuh men does play...but that what them fellas doing in that video is real 4kin skill.

That is a driven shot from the 1/2 line to the 18 and the target is just a lil bigger than the circumference of the ball. the man that miss come like he hit the post.

Plus the ball rolling too...men ent sure too much men on we national team could do that.

But to answer the original question...A strikers wuk or training does really begin at the end of the training session when he bun...or when he doing shuttles and hard sprint. Is one thing to score when yuh fresh and under no pressure...is a totally different ting to score when yuh bun and have a man on yuh.

Sometimes they will line up the balls and have you hitting bullet, when you ready to drop down while doing shuttles or they will place cones in the post and have you aim for that..or they does put a defender on yuh back and tell the defender stop him using any means.

Shearer and Owen used to hit 100 placed shots into the goalpost corners both right and left foot after every training. They had a documentary about that online on BBC sport.

Is repetition, muscle memory, habit, grit and determination.

Scoring goal is a art...you either have it or you dont and composure and luck is a big factor. The ability to get into a goal scoring position is another art plenty men ent have.

Interesting! Thanks Touches

« Reply #29 on: June 10, 2009, 11:22:17 AM »
Finishing is ingrained in you from young. Look at the U-17s WC and you can see all the guys can finish consistently. As a pro you work on different ways to refine your finishing. Your example of owens, is part, but the technique in finishing will more often be worked on when the player is fresh rather than fatigued.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/pv-LNGg94fc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/pv-LNGg94fc</a>