March 29, 2024, 08:53:17 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (09-Sept-2009).  (Read 80554 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (09-Sept-2009).
« Reply #30 on: September 02, 2009, 10:21:11 AM »

But we? We hospitable and nice so teams know they could come in we yard and beat we when they feel like. How u could expect respect when a man know he could walk in your yard and oppose u and walk back out safe, safe...? We welcome everybody with open arms and expect the team to do all d work on the field.

We need a certain type of crowd ...

« Reply #31 on: September 02, 2009, 11:02:29 AM »
BM...still no statement ???

« Reply #32 on: September 02, 2009, 11:05:46 AM »
we beating usa.

Offline kingdavid

« Reply #33 on: September 02, 2009, 01:23:55 PM »
why is it we does always call 3 keepers???

« Reply #34 on: September 02, 2009, 01:25:47 PM »

If 1 gets injured in training or warm up before the game they will have one on standby for the bench

think it out next time

« Reply #35 on: September 02, 2009, 01:38:50 PM »

If 1 gets injured in training or warm up before the game they will have one on standby for the bench

think it out next time

« Reply #36 on: September 02, 2009, 01:49:28 PM »
TOO CLOSE FOR COMFORT
Brent Latham (yanks-abroad.com)

This is a bit of an internet no-no, but Yanks Abroad's boss is out of the country, and there's no time to get the programmers to work on this.

So I'm going to suggest you go to the Spanish-language soccer site mediotiempo.com, and click on the little blue sub-title that says "simulador hexagonal." (Make sure to open a new window in your browser, and don't forget to come back to finish reading.)

You can play around prognosticating the potential outcomes of the remaining four dates of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying, and the table will calculate the final outcome given your changing assumptions.

OK, you're back? Yeah, it's pretty cool. No need to thank me.

Anyway, there's an important lesson here. Try to pick a combination – a reasonable one – that gets the Yanks through comfortably among the top three (that is, by three or four points and with a game to spare).

Yes, this hexagonal is officially too close for comfort. If the Americans want to avoid a November home and home playoff against South America's fifth place team, they've got their work cut out for them.

It has already been pointed out that the fifth place South American team could be super-talented Argentina or Uruguay. Or it could be an Ecuador team that plays its home games at a stadium some two thousand feet higher than El Azteca. Think Landon Donovan and company had trouble breathing in Mexico City?

FIFA has already determined that the CONCACAF team will host the first leg of the series, meaning the all-important second leg will be in South America. Prefer to try to beat Colombia or perennial power Paraguay in that scenario? Or maybe an away match in Venezuela that will make the anti-American atmosphere in Mexico City last month seem more like Des Moines on the 4th of July?

So, we can agree that the fourth place option doesn't really offer much margin for error this year.

What does that mean for the upcoming games against El Salvador and Trinidad & Tobago? It may not seem like it, but they are both absolute must wins for Bob Bradley's team.

As our simulator shows, barring unusual circumstances, teams will need to accumulate at least seventeen points to get through the hex in the top three. There's even a reasonably likely scenario in which the four contenders – the US, Mexico, Costa Rica, and Honduras - all end up tied on nineteen.

All four teams have two home games left, and one game remaining against each of the also-rans, El Salvador and Trinidad & Tobago. The difference between direct qualification and that treacherous fourth place spot is likely to be the ability to hold serve at home, and beat El Salvador or Trinidad & Tobago in the corresponding road match.

Which puts the US at a slight disadvantage. Despite displaying an admirable amount of fight, both teams at the bottom of the table are just about out of the race for any of the four spots at this point. Unfortunately for the US, the Americans get both teams when they still have some mathematical possibilities left, meaning they'll still be fighting hard, with their first teams.

As each of those teams plays out the string against the remaining competitors, their motivation to win, and to call in their best players, will be gradually diminishing.

Besides the home games and the bottom of the table matches, also key will be the two match-ups between the top four teams in which the supposed regional powers, Mexico and the US, make visits to Central America. If Mexico can escape San Jose with a point on Saturday, or particularly if the US can manage a tie or better in its mid-October visit to Honduras, the dynamic changes slightly.

But one thing is clear for the Nats. Any yield of less than seven points over the next three games, and the Americans will find themselves in the unenviable position of needing three points from the final match at RFK, against a Costa Rica team likely to also be in desperate need of a victory.

Obviously, the best case scenario for the US would be to put all this talk to bed by winning its next three games, leaving it qualified, and likely at the top of the hexagonal for a second straight time, come that final match against Costa Rica.

It won't be easy, but this team can do it. Much, however, depends on how Coach Bob Bradley approaches the matches in question. Knowing he needs outright wins, will the coach stick to his pension for a more defensive counter attacking strategy in any of the matches? Will any of his planning include Brian Ching, or will he deem the combination of Jozy Altidore and Charlie Davies ready to unleash on CONCACAF?

Bradley is making noises about being aggressive, at least against El Salvador. With an amply attack-minded lineup in each of the remaining games, the Americans are likely to prove to have too much firepower for the rest of the group, and have the potential to pull away from the contenders, leaving the other three sides to battle out the last two direct qualifying spots.

But if the US reverts, at any point, to a conservative, defensive style that relinquishes possession and relies on naively hopeful longballs aimed at Ching, then the next two months will be a slow process of suffering for American fans.

Worse than that, it won't be until the final whistle against Costa Rica that we find out if the next date on the fixture will be a casual November friendly, or a less than desirable winner-take-all match-up with a South American team.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 01:52:58 PM by E-man »

« Reply #37 on: September 02, 2009, 02:42:21 PM »
Half d reason that we have no respect in Concacaf is because of us. TnT is d ONLY PLACE in concacaf, where teams is look at the schedule and say they could win on d road. Even El Salvador, the USA is be happy for a draw.

But we? We hospitable and nice so teams know they could come in we yard and beat we when they feel like. How u could expect respect when a man know he could walk in your yard and oppose u and walk back out safe, safe...? We welcome everybody with open arms and expect the team to do all d work on the field.

The same team that playing away is the same team that playing home...the only real difference between home and away is us, d supporters.

(And well the weather for them countries who living in d cold, but that doh really apply here)
Spidey, i understand where yuh coming from , but sad to inform yuh that it's not the reason why teams like the U.S. costa rica and el tri does look @ they schedule and say we winnin this road game.

them fellas doh respect us BC we don't bring nothing different to the table, in other words, we real predictable!

so when the WCQ start initially and they come up against us, they, after the first or 2nd game basically say," we already know their strength's and their weaknesses so this should be easy".

for all the time i watching T&T vs U.S. games , whether GC hex or simi's, they does succumb to the same old U.S. tactics over and over.

they always come @ us hard and don't give us no time on the ball, in other words they play blitz football against us every time, and it works like ah charm every time.

then we duncy football federation don't do nothing to correct this fault, they just go on with their lives like ah bunch of daft forkin lizards.

they have the same notion like most the fans on the board, " the U.S.  don't deserve no respect BC they just started playing this game the other day, while we were playing this game since the game began and is a proper footballin nation BC football is we # 1 game.

in the mean time, no body does anything technical tuh counteract what the U.S. federation has been implementing over 20 yrs with a great deal of success in regards to us.

now i know it have real ppl on here who think latapy is ah deity and he can do no wrong, but from the trained footballing eyes of fellas who watching this game objectively for decades, he's lacking awful sore as a coach.

i am appalled to see fellas like spann, leon, keston williams, scotty, jorslin, abu bakr,  dog, keon daniel, on the roster when ever we have ah game. i watched these fellas carefully and came to the conclusion that they lack the quality that is needed to compete @ this level.

abu bakr, jorslin, leon and daniel needs time to grow, so for them there's hope, but the rest have reached where they were going and ran out of real estate, there is no more development in their case, they reach the pinnacle of their development.

we have better replacements for these guys that latas should seriously look @, and therin lies the problem, stubbornness is what does kill our success whether political or other wise.

we have ppl who don't depend on multiple heads decision making on what's good for the country, it's just ah bunch of power hungry head cases who running TNT.

if we are ever to be taken seriously in football, we need tuh lose all local involvement. get ah european coach like guilet or rijkard, have no local so call football guru no where near to influence selection policy, and that coach should @ least have a five yr stint to drastically change the mentality of our local game. that is what we need real bad!

as for being hostile to other teams , i don't think that will make ah huge difference, just look @ austrailia, their fans are not real aggressive, they are noisy, but that's it , and they still blow out ppl, that's BC they have upped the standard of their game and is reaping the rewards of their hard work. we need tuh do the same.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 08:25:40 PM by just cool »

Re: Charlie Davies scores for Sochaux in French 1st division
« Reply #38 on: September 02, 2009, 03:28:06 PM »
USA's Davies in a hurry

Charlie Davies is finally coming to the end of a hectic summer. Between 2010 FIFA World Cup™ qualifying, the FIFA Confederations Cup 2009, and the CONCACAF Gold Cup, as well as completing his transfer from Hammarby to Sochaux and beginning the new Ligue 1 season, the 23-year-old USA striker has hardly had a moment to sit down and relax.

Despite his busy schedule, Davies did not hesitate for a second when FIFA.com requested an interview squeezed in between two training sessions. After an SMS to set up the meeting, the refreshingly relaxed youngster was able to let his carefree manner shine through.

(continue)

« Reply #39 on: September 02, 2009, 03:33:55 PM »
allright man this really is stretching it in terms of relevance to T&T football.  come on now.

« Reply #40 on: September 02, 2009, 04:16:54 PM »
lol  while zeppo is annoying   , in all fairness whats different from  someone else posting that  a non  tnt player score.

buh still zeppo yuh real annoying   dread ::)

« Reply #41 on: September 02, 2009, 05:25:05 PM »
Zeppo you are my new arch-nemesis

« Reply #42 on: September 02, 2009, 05:27:07 PM »

For real.

« Reply #43 on: September 02, 2009, 05:29:47 PM »
zeppo cool man....

« Reply #44 on: September 02, 2009, 06:12:23 PM »
We not lying down say what allyuh want.  We can to play.

« Reply #45 on: September 02, 2009, 06:52:00 PM »
lol  while zeppo is annoying   , in all fairness whats different from  someone else posting that  a non  tnt player score.

buh still zeppo yuh real annoying   dread ::)

Zeppo's no different from the crazy uncle at the family reunion... all depends on how you choose to deal with him.  What trips me out is the number of men who know his "angle", yet they go into his threads or respond to his posts anyways, and only to complain.

At any rate, he's no more annoying than the men who posts La Liga or Serie A news.  Take allyuh complaint up with the mods.

« Reply #46 on: September 02, 2009, 06:55:16 PM »

no comment

« Reply #47 on: September 02, 2009, 07:00:17 PM »

Save your fury for men like raggafart and 2099. :challenge:

« Reply #48 on: September 03, 2009, 12:43:21 AM »
Zeppo's no different from the crazy uncle at the family reunion...vivid...well said

unlike RF and dem...dem like TV repair man

« Reply #49 on: September 03, 2009, 12:48:13 AM »

Save your fury for men like raggafart and 2099. :challenge:
I have no fury for Zeppo, he is just my new nemesis/rival I guess (he is Trinidadian (maybe?*) who likes the US and mucks up the board with info on them and I am American who hates the US team and likes T&T)

*if he's not, I do have fury, much fury
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 12:54:11 AM by theworm2345 »

Offline judge101

• If it is to be, then it is up to me
trinidad vs usa at 12.00 noon
« Reply #50 on: September 03, 2009, 08:04:58 AM »
hears a change

recently the heat seems to be risings why we do play d Yankees in d 12 o clock hot sun  with a more local based squad and see what will happen in stead a d night when they does look sleepy in the second half

and Donovan and them might get some sun burn
wise men talke because they have something to say,fools talk because they have to say something

Re: trinidad vs usa at 12.00 noon
« Reply #51 on: September 03, 2009, 08:06:55 AM »
hears a change

recently the heat seems to be risings why we do play d Yankees in d 12 o clock hot sun  with a more local based squad and see what will happen in stead a d night when they does look sleepy in the second half

wasn't that the tactic for Nov 19th, 1989?

all dem Americans will need to do is go train in Florida.
No different to POS ... only less Cubans.

« Reply #52 on: September 03, 2009, 08:11:29 AM »
hears a change

less Cubans and more Colombians

« Reply #53 on: September 03, 2009, 08:13:21 AM »
hears a change

dat will work against canada not d states, and when u consider our team level of fitness and fact dat 60+% of d startin team might be foriegn based and thus might have become unaccustomed to dat kinda heat, dat tactic might work against we, I remember dem tryin to pull dat shit on AUSTRALIA in d  u17 world cup here and we were literally and figuratively burnt.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 08:15:06 AM by lefty »

« Reply #54 on: September 03, 2009, 08:15:53 AM »
hears a change

Dat game wasn't at 12 noon.De problem was  US was leaving Hilton for a game at HCS and we leaving Fyzabad and making every stop possible

« Reply #55 on: September 03, 2009, 08:16:39 AM »
hears a change

play in de sun when we have ah bunch of old and unfit players?

« Reply #56 on: September 03, 2009, 08:20:30 AM »
hears a change

Remember what happened in the Oval when St. Clair was in charge. We played them around 1-pm and we could not keep up. We lose 2-0.

If the refs think it too hot they will give a water break.

« Reply #57 on: September 03, 2009, 08:22:33 AM »
All yuh want Belgrove to get rich... with all the dead trinis they go be picking up on the field and in the stands  :-[

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #58 on: September 03, 2009, 08:24:19 AM »
hears a change

Remember what happened in the Oval when St. Clair was in charge. We played them around 1-pm and we could not keep up. We lose 2-0.

Hottest time of the day is actually between 2:30 PM and 4:00 PM.

« Reply #59 on: September 03, 2009, 08:28:04 AM »
hears a change

Hottest time of the day is actually between 2:30 PM and 4:00 PM.

Thank you wikipedia...