March 28, 2024, 05:56:44 PM

Author Topic: Looking for a ride  (Read 7226 times)

Looking for a ride
« on: June 09, 2009, 09:55:12 PM »
Looking for a ride
By Fazeer Mohammed (T&T Express)

Sorry to interrupt this protracted meeting of the Russell Latapy Mutual Admiration Society, but what the hell is going on here?

I know he is the "Little Magician" and one of our finest footballers ever. Still, you would think that people employed to provide critical analysis would not indulge in unabashed starry-eyed cheerleading as was the case when the new head coach of the senior national squad walked into the media conference at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, following Trinidad and Tobago's 3-2 loss to Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifier last Saturday night.

A standing ovation? Even if it was deserved-which it wasn't, by the way -aren't professional journalists supposed to conduct themselves in an unbiased, dispassionate manner that permits measured assessment. Yet, in behaving like any old, face-painted flag-waver, they are inherently compromised, and their reporting on anything involving Latapy will be coloured by such obvious favouritism.

Anyway, we like it so...so let's move on, especially as there's no room left on this bandwagon.

Almost all of the gushing optimism, following our fourth fixture in the final phase of the CONCACAF campaign, seems to have conveniently and disingenuously overlooked a few critical shortcomings that are likely to be exposed again tonight at the Azteca Stadium, especially with the Mexicans in an unusually desperate situation, following a third defeat in four games at the weekend.

Let's begin with the defence. Call it stationary or non-existent, it amounts to the same thing. Yet, Latapy expresses satisfaction with the overall team performance, and no one apparently presses him on how he could say such nonsense on the evidence of what transpired in Bacolet.

Rest assured that if Francisco Maturana had uttered anything like that through his ever-present interpreter, the Colombian would not have been allowed to get away with it unchallenged.

Okay, so the attacking play and host of chances created, not to mention the rarity of scoring twice against the Costa Ricans, are to be applauded and welcomed. However, it's like boasting about a flashy new sports car that goes from 0-100 kph in six seconds but doesn't have any brakes. You certainly look good zooming by on the highways and byways of the country, although the fact that you can't come to a controlled stop means that you create havoc, cause considerable damage and invariably kill yourself and several others along the way.

Given his lack of energy and mobility in midfield, Dwight Yorke had the best seat in the house that bears his name. The only thing missing from a proper all-inclusive ticket was a scantily-clad waitress bringing him a constant supply of drinks while the play continued to pass him by. Despite this, he is kept on the field by his long-standing compere from the first minute to the last while someone like Chris Birchall, who has proven before to have the pace and work-rate to spark some life into the overall effort, remains on the bench until 25 minutes from the final whistle.

A legacy maybe of Latapy himself being ignored by Leo Beenhakker until the dying minutes of T&T's final game at the 2006 World Cup finals in Germany and the new head coach not wanting to diss his liming pardner, especially in front of thousands of Tobagonians, and at the Dwight Yorke Stadium to boot?

If so, then even as so many others seem to be in a delirious trance while the "Little Magician" gestures hypnotically, Latas would do well to take note that one of the first decisions made by Fabio Capello when he took over as England manager last year was to pointedly ignore the rising chorus of calls for David Beckham to be given the chance to play his 100th international, at least until the star boy had definitively proven his fitness.

But our latest bandwagon is already careening onward to the accompaniment of effusive praise, with so many observers too busy applauding to point out that the brakes-assuming that there are any-should be applied judiciously and firmly every now and then to ensure that we aren't left to pick up the pieces from another pile of footballing wreckage.

Speaking of bandwagon, where are the masses leaping on board Chris Gayle's version?

Hasn't the West Indies captain (a position he should no longer be burdened with after this tour is over) been true to his word, in that his pulverising of the Australians at The Oval five days ago when compared to listless, disinterested appearances in the Test and One-Dayers against England last month, essentially reinforced his own opinion that Twenty20 cricket is really what he prefers above all others?

Then there is the other bandwagon, the one that gathered speed on Sunday at Roland Garros after Roger Federer brushed aside Robin Soderling to claim his first French Open title and lift his tally of Grand Slam men's singles tennis titles to 14, equalling the record of Pete Sampras.

To see almost every renowned expert clambering over each other in their eagerness to hail the Swiss master as the "greatest ever", you would think that such a label is determined only by numerical superiority. Whatever happened to context, like Australian great Rod Laver completing the Grand Slam (all four majors in the same calendar year) in 1962 and after seven years of being ostracised as a professional in a supposedly amateur era, repeating this incredible feat in 1969 at the age of 31?

So many bandwagons. I bound to get a ride on one, if not Russell's.

Re: Looking for a ride
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2009, 10:28:26 PM »
Sorry to interrupt this protracted meeting of the Russell Latapy Mutual Admiration Society, but what the hell is going on here?

I know he is the "Little Magician" and one of our finest footballers ever. Still, you would think that people employed to provide critical analysis would not indulge in unabashed starry-eyed cheerleading as was the case when the new head coach of the senior national squad walked into the media conference at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, following Trinidad and Tobago's 3-2 loss to Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifier last Saturday night.

A standing ovation? Even if it was deserved-which it wasn't, by the way -aren't professional journalists supposed to conduct themselves in an unbiased, dispassionate manner that permits measured assessment. Yet, in behaving like any old, face-painted flag-waver, they are inherently compromised, and their reporting on anything involving Latapy will be coloured by such obvious favouritism.

Anyway, we like it so...so let's move on, especially as there's no room left on this bandwagon.

Let's begin with the defence. Call it stationary or non-existent, it amounts to the same thing. Yet, Latapy expresses satisfaction with the overall team performance, and no one apparently presses him on how he could say such nonsense on the evidence of what transpired in Bacolet.

Rest assured that if Francisco Maturana had uttered anything like that through his ever-present interpreter, the Colombian would not have been allowed to get away with it unchallenged.

Okay, so the attacking play and host of chances created, not to mention the rarity of scoring twice against the Costa Ricans, are to be applauded and welcomed. However, it's like boasting about a flashy new sports car that goes from 0-100 kph in six seconds but doesn't have any brakes. You certainly look good zooming by on the highways and byways of the country, although the fact that you can't come to a controlled stop means that you create havoc, cause considerable damage and invariably kill yourself and several others along the way.

So eloquently put, without all the expletives that you might run into on the forum for speaking blasphemy against Latapy.

I dunno why Fazeer acting so surprised at the local press though - it is actually dispicable that the majority of these people are allowed to call themselves journalists.

Offline Augi

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2009, 10:32:05 PM »
I've heard about a healthy does of cynicism but Fazeer does over do it

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2009, 10:57:32 PM »
He damn well right. Good performance...steups. The performance was better..buh the same mistakes were being made.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2009, 05:57:09 AM »
Fazeer, yuh is ah asshole. I have never been so compelled to speak out against a piece of journalism. To speak about the biases that exist when you are biased yourself is mind-boggling. If Maturana had the TNT outfit playing as they did in Tobago he would have been applauded as well. Russell remains the Magician why because with an ancient Team and a prehistoric back line we were able to give a respectable performance against the Team that is The Top Dog in The Entire Concacaf right now bar none. With Stick and Bones we went out there and though glaring mistakes on the field still left room for improvement I suspect if the score was 4-0 in favor of the Ticos that there would not be this ridiculous upheaval. The TnT back line is about 110 years old. Even in their old age their Experience shone through and they played Gladiator-like for at least 68-72 minutes. Inexperience on the part of our new and young Manager was made up for by the Heart and Soul with which the Team played which despite Beenhakker's Legacy is unmatached. Trinidad on Paper cant beat the Ticos. Its that simple MR Fazeer but it seems no one told the warriors they were the underdogs as they took the game to the Ticos and Time and Time again played football that would bring out the waggonist in anyone. I for Dam sure am on the Band wagon and my biggest dissapointment with this campaign is that MR Russell Latapy wasnt at the Helm all the time which would have given him more time and space to prepare a Team. So Mr Fazeer you could say what you want about the Dentist turned footbal coach... With all his stats and accolades  he could not seem to get the Team up to the level of "Fight" that was seen in Bacelot and at this point "Fight" is what we need because we are un-favored and in an Arena with Bigger guns. I say continue to bully your way Russell... For you dem boys will run until their legs fall off... of this I am certain. Good job not openly criticizing the players as well after they obviously left everything they had on the field.  Anton Corneal could learn something from our new manager.

P.S. Dwight Yorke had a good performance. True he faded in and out of the game but was it not the result of doing other work? defensive work maybe. Dwight chase everything going backwards and still had the legs to go forward. Chris Birchall is one of our favorite sons but the work of keeping the fabric together was one only Dwight could perform. Please Mr Fazeer dont try to disguise your bashing as critical writing or your verve as anti-bandwaggonism because Trinbagonians dont have a problem expressin how they feel. expletives included. Your just upset that it was applause vs cussin that emerged. Didnt I see you clappin too? Shame on you.

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2009, 06:14:29 AM »
Fazeer, yuh is ah asshole. I have never been so compelled to speak out against a piece of journalism. To speak about the biases that exist when you are biased yourself is mind-boggling. If Maturana had the TNT outfit playing as they did in Tobago he would have been applauded as well. Russell remains the Magician why because with an ancient Team and a prehistoric back line we were able to give a respectable performance against the Team that is The Top Dog in The Entire Concacaf right now bar none. With Stick and Bones we went out there and though glaring mistakes on the field still left room for improvement I suspect if the score was 4-0 in favor of the Ticos that there would not be this ridiculous upheaval. The TnT back line is about 110 years old. Even in their old age their Experience shone through and they played Gladiator-like for at least 68-72 minutes. Inexperience on the part of our new and young Manager was made up for by the Heart and Soul with which the Team played which despite Beenhakker's Legacy is unmatached. Trinidad on Paper cant beat the Ticos. Its that simple MR Fazeer but it seems no one told the warriors they were the underdogs as they took the game to the Ticos and Time and Time again played football that would bring out the waggonist in anyone. I for Dam sure am on the Band wagon and my biggest dissapointment with this campaign is that MR Russell Latapy wasnt at the Helm all the time which would have given him more time and space to prepare a Team. So Mr Fazeer you could say what you want about the Dentist turned footbal coach... With all his stats and accolades  he could not seem to get the Team up to the level of "Fight" that was seen in Bacelot and at this point "Fight" is what we need because we are un-favored and in an Arena with Bigger guns. I say continue to bully your way Russell... For you dem boys will run until their legs fall off... of this I am certain. Good job not openly criticizing the players as well after they obviously left everything they had on the field.  Anton Corneal could learn something from our new manager.

P.S. Dwight Yorke had a good performance. True he faded in and out of the game but was it not the result of doing other work? defensive work maybe. Dwight chase everything going backwards and still had the legs to go forward. Chris Birchall is one of our favorite sons but the work of keeping the fabric together was one only Dwight could perform. Please Mr Fazeer dont try to disguise your bashing as critical writing or your verve as anti-bandwaggonism because Trinbagonians dont have a problem expressin how they feel. expletives included. Your just upset that it was applause vs cussin that emerged. Didnt I see you clappin too? Shame on you.

I second dat!!!!!

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2009, 06:55:53 AM »
Looking for a ride

Almost all of the gushing optimism, following our fourth fixture in the final phase of the CONCACAF campaign, seems to have conveniently and disingenuously overlooked a few critical shortcomings that are likely to be exposed again tonight at the Azteca Stadium, especially with the Mexicans in an unusually desperate situation, following a third defeat in four games at the weekend.

Given his lack of energy and mobility in midfield, Dwight Yorke had the best seat in the house that bears his name. The only thing missing from a proper all-inclusive ticket was a scantily-clad waitress bringing him a constant supply of drinks while the play continued to pass him by. Despite this, he is kept on the field by his long-standing compere from the first minute to the last while someone like Chris Birchall, who has proven before to have the pace and work-rate to spark some life into the overall effort, remains on the bench until 25 minutes from the final whistle.

A legacy maybe of Latapy himself being ignored by Leo Beenhakker until the dying minutes of T&T's final game at the 2006 World Cup finals in Germany and the new head coach not wanting to diss his liming pardner, especially in front of thousands of Tobagonians, and at the Dwight Yorke Stadium to boot?

If so, then even as so many others seem to be in a delirious trance while the "Little Magician" gestures hypnotically, Latas would do well to take note that one of the first decisions made by Fabio Capello when he took over as England manager last year was to pointedly ignore the rising chorus of calls for David Beckham to be given the chance to play his 100th international, at least until the star boy had definitively proven his fitness.

But our latest bandwagon is already careening onward to the accompaniment of effusive praise, with so many observers too busy applauding to point out that the brakes-assuming that there are any-should be applied judiciously and firmly every now and then to ensure that we aren't left to pick up the pieces from another pile of footballing wreckage.

Speaking of bandwagon, where are the masses leaping on board Chris Gayle's version?

Hasn't the West Indies captain (a position he should no longer be burdened with after this tour is over) been true to his word, in that his pulverising of the Australians at The Oval five days ago when compared to listless, disinterested appearances in the Test and One-Dayers against England last month, essentially reinforced his own opinion that Twenty20 cricket is really what he prefers above all others?

Then there is the other bandwagon, the one that gathered speed on Sunday at Roland Garros after Roger Federer brushed aside Robin Soderling to claim his first French Open title and lift his tally of Grand Slam men's singles tennis titles to 14, equalling the record of Pete Sampras.

To see almost every renowned expert clambering over each other in their eagerness to hail the Swiss master as the "greatest ever", you would think that such a label is determined only by numerical superiority. Whatever happened to context, like Australian great Rod Laver completing the Grand Slam (all four majors in the same calendar year) in 1962 and after seven years of being ostracised as a professional in a supposedly amateur era, repeating this incredible feat in 1969 at the age of 31?

Fazeer Mohammed ,with all due respek ...why yuh eh go and make ah flip and fack yuh self ....'ride' dat yuh facking idiot .

Offline Peter

« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2009, 06:57:12 AM »

I second dat!!!!!

Third it. i agree davidephraim. cosign. That there is an accurate description of most of the articles I read from Fazeer Mohommed, he does have some good points in between and some good articles, but more often than not it does be a big ball of cynicism and bashing.

BTW...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!--
WE BEATING MEXICO IN AZTECA.WE BEATING MEXICO IN AZTECA.WE BEATING MEXICO IN AZTECA.

Offline Peter

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2009, 06:58:53 AM »
Looking for a ride

Fazeer Mohammed ,with all due respek ...why yuh eh go and make ah flip and fack yuh self ....'ride' dat yuh facking idiot .

haha lololol, i scroll down the page and started reading that post, and without even looking at who d poster was i know it was Berris. you is rel kicks man lol.

« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2009, 07:00:19 AM »
Latas:

Class legendary player
Likeable leader
Great motivator
Visionary strategist
Only player to mostly neutralize the blacklist, for now
Respected at home by fans, Vranes, Gally, Vidale, Lincoln, Jackulito and grudgingly by Alvin, Anton & de rest
Respected as coach in Scotland and T&T
Respected by de hungry-for-mentoring bad bwoys who have had difficulty with discipline and motivation.
Respected by de businessmen who need a safe populist bandwaggon to hitch dey investments to
Respected by de forumites
Speaks fluent "Potugee"
Speaks spanish
Will have de team on a new south american exchange program, especially in Brazil where he will be at ease
May be the first coach who might really stay for stable development, provided he geh pay

What a talent. Trinbagonians are not used to genuine, sincere and quality patriots like Latas with tremendous and invaluable high quality international exposure who have no chips on their shoulders and without dirty agendas, getting a chance to serve and make a difference. Leh we not waste dis moment. It is understandable why he is a threat to some if you look at it good.

Daiz my response to Fazeer's "wha's-all-dis-shit-about-Latapy-about" comment
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 07:04:34 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2009, 07:24:46 AM »
Latas:

Class legendary player
Likeable leader
Great motivator
Visionary strategist
Respected at home by fans, Vranes, Gally, Vidale, Lincoln, Jackulito and grudgingly by Alvin, Anton & de rest
Respected by de hungry-for-mentoring bad bwoys who have had difficulty with discipline and motivation.
Respected by de businessmen who need a safe populist bandwaggon to hitch dey investments to
Speaks fluent "Potugee"
Speaks spanish
Will have de team on a new south american exchange program, especially in Brazil where he will be at ease
May be the first coach who might really stay for stable development, provided he geh pay

What a talent. Trinbagonians are not used to genuine, sincere and quality patriots like Latas with tremendous and invaluable high quality international exposure who have no chips on their shoulders and without dirty agendas, getting a chance to serve and make a difference. Leh we not waste dis moment. It is understandable why he is a threat to some if you look at it good.

It was all beautiful but this part struck the best note.
Latas come like our very own Obama... liked by most feared by some and respected by all... (except Fazeer)
No dirty agendas... no chips on his shoulders and no favoritism. If so Keon daniel and Birchall woulda start in front of Trent and Tinto.

Offline Mackie

« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2009, 07:50:51 AM »
Fazeer does make some good points but the man so SOUR .. His point does get lost in the overall SOURNESS!
I feel he , Michael Holding and Tommy from ESPN either related or married to three sisters ..

Offline Arazi

« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2009, 08:02:51 AM »
Fazeer, yuh is ah asshole. I have never been so compelled to speak out against a piece of journalism. To speak about the biases that exist when you are biased yourself is mind-boggling.
If Maturana had the TNT outfit playing as they did in Tobago he would have been applauded as well. Russell remains the Magician why because with an ancient Team and a prehistoric back line we were able to give a respectable performance against the Team that is The Top Dog in The Entire Concacaf right now bar none. With Stick and Bones we went out there and though glaring mistakes on the field still left room for improvement I suspect if the score was 4-0 in favor of the Ticos that there would not be this ridiculous upheaval. The TnT back line is about 110 years old. Even in their old age their Experience shone through and they played Gladiator-like for at least 68-72 minutes. Inexperience on the part of our new and young Manager was made up for by the Heart and Soul with which the Team played which despite Beenhakker's Legacy is unmatached. Trinidad on Paper cant beat the Ticos. Its that simple MR Fazeer but it seems no one told the warriors they were the underdogs as they took the game to the Ticos and Time and Time again played football that would bring out the waggonist in anyone.
I don't agree with the part bolded...while we have never beaten Costa Rica WCQ, everytime they come here is not a sure easy win for them..Bertille drew with them in 2005..dwarika had them on edge in 2001 even tho we lose 2-0 and they score a special bullet to win in 1998 qualifying..is that kinda shit mentality you have about them being better than we is why USA and dem have we cutass reserve..

Fazeer Mohammed spoke the truth..I will take my cuss because alyuh just proving the man point..you ARE being hypocrites..

Maturana had the team look almost as if not as good against El Salvador away, Guatemala away and Guatemala at home...
in the case of El Salvador away and Guatemala at home we lost 2 points for the same reason we lost 3 points in Tobago, defensive lapses..yet Maturana is the dumbtist who shoulda never coach we..while Latas is the saviour for us playing with perceived "more intensity"

Nobody gave maturana credit for giving Hyland an extended run in the national team, but Latapy is the only coach who woulda give a youth like Tinto a run??? Da's not hypocritical?

Alyuh used to rel ben offa Mats tactics - why he take off Birchall  and bring on Glen?  why he leave Leon and Yorke on? Why he still playing akile?

Yet who criticised him vocifierously for playing Marvin Andrews? taking off the now beloved Tinto instead of the perceived ineffective Scotland? leaving on a tiring Yorke while removing Spann who had his best game in a T&T shirt while our captain fabulous faded out critically in a game yet again?

Latapy pick practically the same squad Maturana had before with the except that a couple men was suspended/injured and all of sudden latapy side make sense? REALLY? If tha's not hypocrisy what is it?

I not saying i din like what I saw in tobago, but I saw alot of things i din like get ignored by this board AND the media

I taking my cuss because the fans usually aren't objective, but the media are...

Fazeer may be a cynic, but he did not lie here...

« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2009, 08:22:13 AM »
Fazeer, yuh is ah asshole. I have never been so compelled to speak out against a piece of journalism. To speak about the biases that exist when you are biased yourself is mind-boggling.
If Maturana had the TNT outfit playing as they did in Tobago he would have been applauded as well. Russell remains the Magician why because with an ancient Team and a prehistoric back line we were able to give a respectable performance against the Team that is The Top Dog in The Entire Concacaf right now bar none. With Stick and Bones we went out there and though glaring mistakes on the field still left room for improvement I suspect if the score was 4-0 in favor of the Ticos that there would not be this ridiculous upheaval. The TnT back line is about 110 years old. Even in their old age their Experience shone through and they played Gladiator-like for at least 68-72 minutes. Inexperience on the part of our new and young Manager was made up for by the Heart and Soul with which the Team played which despite Beenhakker's Legacy is unmatached. Trinidad on Paper cant beat the Ticos. Its that simple MR Fazeer but it seems no one told the warriors they were the underdogs as they took the game to the Ticos and Time and Time again played football that would bring out the waggonist in anyone.
I don't agree with the part bolded...while we have never beaten Costa Rica WCQ, everytime they come here is not a sure easy win for them..Bertille drew with them in 2005..dwarika had them on edge in 2001 even tho we lose 2-0 and they score a special bullet to win in 1998 qualifying..is that kinda shit mentality you have about them being better than we is why USA and dem have we cutass reserve..

Fazeer Mohammed spoke the truth..I will take my cuss because alyuh just proving the man point..you ARE being hypocrites..

Maturana had the team look almost as if not as good against El Salvador away, Guatemala away and Guatemala at home...
in the case of El Salvador away and Guatemala at home we lost 2 points for the same reason we lost 3 points in Tobago, defensive lapses..yet Maturana is the dumbtist who shoulda never coach we..while Latas is the saviour for us playing with perceived "more intensity"

Nobody gave maturana credit for giving Hyland an extended run in the national team, but Latapy is the only coach who woulda give a youth like Tinto a run??? Da's not hypocritical?

Alyuh used to rel ben offa Mats tactics - why he take off Birchall  and bring on Glen?  why he leave Leon and Yorke on? Why he still playing akile?

Yet who criticised him vocifierously for playing Marvin Andrews? taking off the now beloved Tinto instead of the perceived ineffective Scotland? leaving on a tiring Yorke while removing Spann who had his best game in a T&T shirt while our captain fabulous faded out critically in a game yet again?

Latapy pick practically the same squad Maturana had before with the except that a couple men was suspended/injured and all of sudden latapy side make sense? REALLY? If tha's not hypocrisy what is it?

I not saying i din like what I saw in tobago, but I saw alot of things i din like get ignored by this board AND the media

I taking my cuss because the fans usually aren't objective, but the media are...

that is ah boss post Arazi..  :beermug:

« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2009, 08:41:52 AM »

Fazeer is dat you ???

Offline Mackie

« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2009, 08:50:31 AM »

I disagree. Latapy hit the nail on the head in a pre match interview where he said he would be focusing on getting players to run off the ball and also to chase runners when defending. I went to the game on saturday and Costa Rica's game plan was to exploit the right back who they possibly thought would have been Aklie with quick one twos , cos in the three games before Aklie ALWAYS followed the ball and had no help from Keon Daniel. There was a major improvement as Avery John showed a level head always calling for assistance AND receiving it .. Costa Rica gave up on that plan pretty quickly cos John handle them with flying colours. The other major imporvement was running off the ball when we had it , we did well in that area. I ahve been to all the local qualifying matches and watched thed rest on tv so i KNOW that there was a massive improvement in match play. I actually left oin saturday more pleased with the team performance than when we played Honduras.

« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2009, 09:04:56 AM »
I don't agree Lata's should get ah standing ovation based on the overall performance but as far as attacking performances against Costa Rica go, it was definitely one of our best. I have not seen us carve-up a Costa Rica team so frequently, even when we beat them with that Mickey Trotman Golden Goal at the Gold Cup.

I agree we shouldn't just be blindly loving Lata's, especially given the precarious posistion the result has put us in. But I can see promise, if can he can do what only Beenie has done in recent memory......make us a competent defensive unit without losing the attacking ability, who knows we might still have ah decent chance to get to SA 2010. I guess the Mexico game will tell us if he has learned anything from Saturday.

« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2009, 09:08:32 AM »
Latas:

Class legendary player
Likeable leader
Great motivator
Visionary strategist
Speaks fluent "Potugee"
Speaks spanish

Latas come like our very own Obama... liked by most feared by some and respected by all... (except Fazeer)
No dirty agendas... no chips on his shoulders and no favoritism. If so Keon daniel and Birchall woulda start in front of Trent and Tinto.

lucky you didn't do like that ass Evan Thomas, the Newsweek editor and call Obama ... or Latapy in this case,  a "sort of God" ... how this comparison reach in here - don't know.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 09:12:11 AM by acb »

Offline Peter

« Reply #18 on: June 10, 2009, 09:19:44 AM »

I disagree. Latapy hit the nail on the head in a pre match interview where he said he would be focusing on getting players to run off the ball and also to chase runners when defending. I went to the game on saturday and Costa Rica's game plan was to exploit the right back who they possibly thought would have been Aklie with quick one twos , cos in the three games before Aklie ALWAYS followed the ball and had no help from Keon Daniel. There was a major improvement as Avery John showed a level head always calling for assistance AND receiving it .. Costa Rica gave up on that plan pretty quickly cos John handle them with flying colours. The other major imporvement was running off the ball when we had it , we did well in that area. I ahve been to all the local qualifying matches and watched thed rest on tv so i KNOW that there was a massive improvement in match play. I actually left oin saturday more pleased with the team performance than when we played Honduras.

I totally agree with you there Mackie. Even though we scored 2 goals against El Salvador- we played very disorganized and soft still, it was more down to El Salvador having a poor start than us excelling and deservedly leading. The only match i can remember us playing solid and good in under Maturana was against Guatemala- but they weren't high quality opposition, quality opposition decimated and embarassed us every time we met.

The thing is, this performance wasn't due to Costa Rica playing soft- it was down to us DOMINATING THEM(at the start, until we let off), which is something I can't remember seeing TnT do to top quality opposion in recent memory, not even the World Cup team came close to creating so many chances. That's why people are optimistic. Pressure does buss pipe- like we always see as other teams demonstrate on us repeatedly, this time we actually did it to them, except that we succumbed to the pressure also ourselves, that game could have easily been a 4-3 win for TnT. Our attack is creating chances and running off the ball like I can't remember us ever doing in recent history- and that's how you win football matches,you have to create scoring chances. We just have to do some serious work on our defense so we don't concede such soft goals. You see, unlike under Maturana(with all due respect to him), we can actually build plays, and we look as though we can win football matches without depending on a lucky break from a boomkick.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 09:24:26 AM by Peter »

« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2009, 09:26:29 AM »

I totally agree with you there Mackie. Even though we scored 2 goals against El Salvador- we played very disorganized and soft still, it was more down to El Salvador having a poor start than us excelling and deservedly leading. The only match i can remember us playing solid and good in under Maturana was against Guatemala- but they weren't high quality opposition, quality opposition decimated and embarassed us every time we met.

The thing is, this performance wasn't due to Costa Rica playing soft- it was down to us DOMINATING THEM(at the start, until we let off), which is something I can't remember seeing TnT do to top quality opposion in recent memory, not even the World Cup team came close to creating so many chances. That's why people are optimistic. Pressure does buss pipe- like we always see as other teams demonstrate on us repeatedly, this time we actually did it to them, except that we succumbed to the pressure also ourselves, that game could have easily been a 4-3 win for TnT. Our attack is creating chances and running off the ball like I can't remember us ever doing in recent history- and that's how you win football matches,you have to create scoring chances. We just have to do some serious work on our defense so we don't concede such soft goals. You see, unlike under Maturana, we actually look as though we can win football matches without depending on lucky breaks.

Peter, El Salvador ONLY dominated the last 10-15 minutes of the game in ES ... we dominated virtually the entire game. Even after Stern had the penalty debacle, we were crusing. It wasn't until Birchall was brought off that the house of cards came tumbling down. Fitness was the problem in that game - and fitness again was the problem in Saturday's game versus Costa Rica. Only problem was that the fitness issue showed up well before the final 15 minutes of the game. While in cam, Latapy said thathe was concentrating on fitness, but based on what we saw - it clearly wasn't good enough.

If you have to compare the ES game versus the Costa Rica game - we played better, for a longer period of time in ES, and I will challenge anyone to say it wasn't so - and if anyone says that we weren't attacking, go back and watch that game - or the comments involved.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 09:28:38 AM by acb »

Offline Arazi

« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2009, 10:12:22 AM »

Alyuh used to rel ben offa Mats tactics - why he take off Birchall  and bring on Glen?  why he leave Leon and Yorke on? Why he still playing akile?

The thing is, this performance wasn't due to Costa Rica playing soft- it was down to us DOMINATING THEM(at the start, until we let off), which is something I can't remember seeing TnT do to top quality opposion in recent memory, not even the World Cup team came close to creating so many chances. That's why people are optimistic. Pressure does buss pipe- like we always see as other teams demonstrate on us repeatedly, this time we actually did it to them, except that we succumbed to the pressure also ourselves, that game could have easily been a 4-3 win for TnT. Our attack is creating chances and running off the ball like I can't remember us ever doing in recent history- and that's how you win football matches,you have to create scoring chances. We just have to do some serious work on our defense so we don't concede such soft goals. You see, unlike under Maturana, we actually look as though we can win football matches without depending on lucky breaks.

Peter, El Salvador ONLY dominated the last 10-15 minutes of the game in ES ... we dominated virtually the entire game. Even after Stern had the penalty debacle, we were crusing. It wasn't until Birchall was brought off that the house of cards came tumbling down. Fitness was the problem in that game - and fitness again was the problem in Saturday's game versus Costa Rica. Only problem was that the fitness issue showed up well before the final 15 minutes of the game. While in cam, Latapy said thathe was concentrating on fitness, but based on what we saw - it clearly wasn't good enough.

If you have to compare the ES game versus the Costa Rica game - we played better, for a longer period of time in ES, and I will challenge anyone to say it wasn't so - and if anyone says that we weren't attacking, go back and watch that game - or the comments involved.
thank you acb..

peter, just like you i thought the team played soft in el salvador until i watch over that game..you will be surprised how we dominated that game away at that..it should have been 4-0 even with stern missing that penalty... el salvodr newpapers even said it was a miracle they got a point after the caribbean team showed it's strength and quality time and again during the game..

what about guatemala away? carlos, wolfe and scotland all missed chances before cyd gray was sent off.. and with 10 men with had at least three clear chances to steal the game while guatemala were generally restricted to shooting from distance...it was one game where maturana had his tactics and subs down perfect but what credit did maturana get for that game? btw avery john played left back in both guatemala games and he almost gifted guatemala a penalty in the away game..

watching the costa rica game first half ( and i stress first half )it brought the same sentiment i had the same feeling i had at the guatemala game at home - i finally felt trinidad and tobago was playing like a team that actually went to a world cup..

i suggest you watch you watch those games over... then come wit ur judgements..

Fazeer is dat you ???

I know someone was coming with this, but nah..i just seeing the man point in this article..cynicism and all
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 10:30:34 AM by Arazi »

« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2009, 10:20:05 AM »

Well Tinto is his teammate; and whey Trent from again? :devil:

Offline swood

« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2009, 10:40:39 AM »
Latas:

Class legendary player
Likeable leader
Great motivator
Visionary strategist
Speaks fluent "Potugee"
Speaks spanish

Add to your list of accolades and achievements
First Trinidad & Tobago coach to lose a WCQ at home and get a standing ovation from the media...

« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2009, 11:01:12 AM »
I see plenty men missing the whole point of Fazeer article.  Arazi first post was spot on.  Faz cynicism is just the voice needed to keep our feet on the ground, and try to keep things in the proper perspective.  His was not a commentary on the game per se, but on the media's reaction to Latapy compared to that of Maturana, when the RESULTS of the games were in question. 

I always say that we were so starved for good football in this country for such a long time that anything that come close to it now will be heaped with praises.  How long would it take for the media and public start to call for Latas head if he continue to turn in good performances and we still end up on the losing end.  The answer will become a lot clearer after the next 2 games.

Firstly I woulda want to know why Latas get applause at the media conference.  I could think of many reasons why...but mainly because of who he is and as his first assignment it was a creditable one in spite of the defeat.  It was a similiar thing when some men talk about lavishing the players with a million dollars after WC06, whilst some were wondering why, when we get 1 point from 3 games in that tournament....it was nice to qualify in the first place, but in the bigger picture we failed anyway.  Some might say give credit where credit is due, others might say we reach the point where accepting mediocrity is now the norm.

I say is just the voice of reason, telling yuh to keep things in perspective.

Offline Mackie

« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2009, 11:08:55 AM »

The thing is, this performance wasn't due to Costa Rica playing soft- it was down to us DOMINATING THEM(at the start, until we let off), which is something I can't remember seeing TnT do to top quality opposion in recent memory, not even the World Cup team came close to creating so many chances. That's why people are optimistic. Pressure does buss pipe- like we always see as other teams demonstrate on us repeatedly, this time we actually did it to them, except that we succumbed to the pressure also ourselves, that game could have easily been a 4-3 win for TnT. Our attack is creating chances and running off the ball like I can't remember us ever doing in recent history- and that's how you win football matches,you have to create scoring chances. We just have to do some serious work on our defense so we don't concede such soft goals. You see, unlike under Maturana(with all due respect to him), we can actually build plays, and we look as though we can win football matches without depending on a lucky break from a boomkick.
Well said Peter , respect.

« Reply #25 on: June 10, 2009, 11:12:01 AM »

Carenage born and grow, so wha is de connection?

It seem like most people too caught up in the euphoria of losing but looking good in attack to realize thatthe man make some good points.  Wha de ass journalists doin givin Latas ah standing ovation?  Dem eh supposed to be there as fans and on top ah dat de team fackin lost.  It wasn't a win or a draw but ah flippin loss.  While I don't think Maturana was right for our team I do believe the team had moments under him where they played excellent ball but was let down by the defefense.  Before this game all who had a mouth wanted to see dog in the lineup, ok yuh get him and he was ineffective in key moments.  The result is still the same so what difference does it really make.  As mentioned before in El Salvador we had dat game lock down for about 70-75 minutes and completely dominated them.  Man want to look past them in terms of quality yet they scared the US team playing all the big guns while we get spanked.  They beat mexico seemingly with ease as well and drew Hunduras who we needed a blunder from the keeper to retain a point against.  Me eh care who vex but if allyuh praising Latas fuh this game and was ragging on Pacho allyuh is hypocrites.  Football at this level is about results, when yuh grooming young teams yuh focus on how they play.  At this level I doh care about moral victories cause dat eh go geh we no where near SA2010.  So while ah kno de man does be a cynic he talk some sense here.  Separate the message from the messanger and you might actually see where it makes sense.

« Reply #26 on: June 10, 2009, 11:15:45 AM »

It seem like most people too caught up in the euphoria of losing but looking good in attack to realize thatthe man make some good points.  Wha de ass journalists doin givin Latas ah standing ovation?  Dem eh supposed to be there as fans and on top ah dat de team fackin lost.  It wasn't a win or a draw but ah flippin loss.  While I don't think Maturana was right for our team I do believe the team had moments under him where they played excellent ball but was let down by the defefense.  Before this game all who had a mouth wanted to see dog in the lineup, ok yuh get him and he was ineffective in key moments.  The result is still the same so what difference does it really make.  As mentioned before in El Salvador we had dat game lock down for about 70-75 minutes and completely dominated them.  Man want to look past them in terms of quality yet they scared the US team playing all the big guns while we get spanked.  They beat mexico seemingly with ease as well and drew Hunduras who we needed a blunder from the keeper to retain a point against.  Me eh care who vex but if allyuh praising Latas fuh this game and was ragging on Pacho allyuh is hypocrites.  Football at this level is about results, when yuh grooming young teams yuh focus on how they play.  At this level I doh care about moral victories cause dat eh go geh we no where near SA2010.  So while ah kno de man does be a cynic he talk some sense here.  Separate the message from the messanger and you might actually see where it makes sense.

agreed

Offline Mackie

« Reply #27 on: June 10, 2009, 11:29:28 AM »

It seem like most people too caught up in the euphoria of losing but looking good in attack to realize thatthe man make some good points.  Wha de ass journalists doin givin Latas ah standing ovation?  Dem eh supposed to be there as fans and on top ah dat de team fackin lost.  It wasn't a win or a draw but ah flippin loss.  While I don't think Maturana was right for our team I do believe the team had moments under him where they played excellent ball but was let down by the defefense.  Before this game all who had a mouth wanted to see dog in the lineup, ok yuh get him and he was ineffective in key moments.  The result is still the same so what difference does it really make.  As mentioned before in El Salvador we had dat game lock down for about 70-75 minutes and completely dominated them.  Man want to look past them in terms of quality yet they scared the US team playing all the big guns while we get spanked.  They beat mexico seemingly with ease as well and drew Hunduras who we needed a blunder from the keeper to retain a point against.  Me eh care who vex but if allyuh praising Latas fuh this game and was ragging on Pacho allyuh is hypocrites.  Football at this level is about results, when yuh grooming young teams yuh focus on how they play.  At this level I doh care about moral victories cause dat eh go geh we no where near SA2010.  So while ah kno de man does be a cynic he talk some sense here.  Separate the message from the messanger and you might actually see where it makes sense.

agreed

This not directed at you in particular pardner , but i using your post to make a general point. It is not the FIRST time journalists have applauded someone that they are interviewing. You can simply google "journalist and applause" to corroborate that. Fact is they were impressed with what they saw and whoever applauded was free to do so. All journalists are not news readers , some write opinion columns as well so even in journalism varying degrees of objectivity are allowed.
I have been to every local WCQ game so far and beleive you me ,we played much better than I have seen since Beenhaaker. And THAT is down to Latapy. And THAT deserved applause. I am sure hard questions were asked in the interview , if not perhaps someone can post the interview script and point out if that too was only optimistic. But i see nothing wrong with journalist expressing their appreciatoion.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 11:35:47 AM by Mackie »

« Reply #28 on: June 10, 2009, 11:33:20 AM »

BIG, BIG post here Arazi. Anybody who actually reads the article objectively will see that it is not an attack on Latas, but on the media's hypocrisy. But nah, Fazeer is a cynic, he doh know what the ass he talking about ::)

« Reply #29 on: June 10, 2009, 11:57:29 AM »

Arazi I agree wid you.  The bottom line is we lost the game and the 3 points with it.  We looked horrible on defense but some people want to get vex when the same defeciences that we lambast other coaches for are pointed out in Latapy's case.  I too would like to see Latapy get a long run as coach to fully implement his philosophy but we should be just as critical as him as we are of others.  We cyah have one standard for every other coach and ah different one for Latapy.  Latapy the player is in my opinion the greatest player T&T has ever produced and he will always be loved by us as fans.  But, when Latapy accepted the role of head coach he also accepted all the criticism that comes with that position if he does not achieve results.

The reason we don't achieve success more often is because we accept mediocrity.  Fazir Mohammed damn right if Pacho was de coach on Saturday he would have been criticized.  De man article is spot on.  Who want to vex could vex.