April 19, 2024, 02:32:08 PM

Author Topic: Tinto, Edwards impress Costa Rica coach.  (Read 3505 times)

Tinto, Edwards impress Costa Rica coach.
« on: June 10, 2009, 03:50:10 AM »
Tinto, Edwards impress Costa Rica coach.
By: Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian).

Costa Rica coach Rodrigo Kenton Johnson said he was very impressed with the skill and performance of T&T’s striker Hayden Tinto and Carlos Edwards. The coach’s comments came after the teams’ 2010 Concacaf World Cup Qualifier at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Tobago on Saturday night.

Tinto was playing in his first qualifier, while midfielder Edwards was asked to perform duties at right back by coach, Russell Latapy for the crucial encounter. Tinto, who plays local team bmobile Joe Public in the T&T Pro League, was replaced at the half-time for a more experience striker in Colin Samuel. “T&T started off very strong and powerful and everybody was on top of us. But, I just wanted the first 15 to 20 minutes to pass because I knew that probably their energy and speed would drop a little, which would allow Costa Rica to start to play a little better, and luckily for us that’s how it happened,” said Johnson.

Edwards, who scored for T&T against El Salvador in a 2-2 draw, opened the scoring for the host in Saturday’s 3-2 loss.

Johnson said, “T&T’s intensity in the first-half was a surprised to me. I did not expect them to be so aggressive but really they did a great first-half and have really interesting players. “I don’t know what happened to the number ten (Hayden Tinto) but I know he was doing a great job in the first-half and the number 11 (Carlos Edwards) is also a very impressive player. “But I knew probably they were not going to continue with that intensity for the 90 minutes. So we just had to play and by the second half we felt they would drop and luckily for Costa Rica it happened like that,” the coach revealed.

Johnson added: “After T&T scored the first goal I knew we had to continue pushing and see if we (could) tie the match and that helped us a lot. When we scored T&T dropped a little in their resistance, speed, fitness and Costa Rica continued playing and using the space, and I think that helped made the difference in the game”. He continued: “We had a great second half. Probably we could have scored more. We played good combinations and if you saw the match against USA, I think our second-half against T&T was more like our performance in our previous match on Wednesday.

“All in all, I’m very happy for my team because we knew before coming here that it was not going to be an easy match as T&T needed to make probably their biggest effort for a win to keep in the race for an automatic qualifying spot. “I know that after this result for us we maintained our main objective, which was to be at the top of the group. We won and I’m very happy about that because I think it will give us a little break and a little distance in points from all the other teams,” said Johnson.

Offline Peter

Re: Tinto, Edwards impress Costa Rica coach.
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2009, 07:08:16 AM »
Carlos was Carlos- an amazing talent and all round player, who's been our best player by far for many years now.

Tinto- he was great, he was taking the ball out of defense and running with it- thereby relieving pressure off our suspect defense and drawing fouls also- just like Ronaldo does for Manchester United- that's something many people don't recognise- the big help players like that, with plenty speed and who can run with the ball and dribble without losing it, gives to the defense of their team- they take pressure off the team and in an instant have the ball in the opponent's half and boom- pressure's on them now. Only his nerves let him down when it comes to crossing.

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2009, 07:28:26 AM »
first time ever i seeing Tinto.  He looks like Andy Williams from jamaican team

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2009, 08:11:08 AM »
The man's name is Kenton ... the Johnson is his mother's surname ... this is like suddenly ascribing statements by Cuauhtémoc Blanco as Bravo said this, and Bravo said that. The acknowledged practice is to refer to the man as Kenton.

« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2009, 09:35:06 AM »
i feel tinto performance in the mexico game go get him an MLS trial.

« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2009, 09:41:56 AM »

I know for a fact MLS people was watching an impressed... do not know if anything will come of it...

I will see if I hear anything

Offline sebro2

« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2009, 10:28:35 AM »
See Tinto play InterCol when I was in Form 1 and end up playin against him when I reach Form 6(not sure how that work out) but the man always had a realll nice first touch and used to beat d whole Fatima side by himself...should do good at this level cuz he was always small and never afraid to take on...now that we have a good right wing maybe he and Carlos should be our wingers cuz as far as i remember Tinto have a good left foot too

« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2009, 11:03:15 AM »

I know for a fact MLS people was watching an impressed... do not know if anything will come of it...

???

« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2009, 11:06:50 AM »
I like Tinto, but I really doh know if he should be starting.

Might be better coming off the bench.

« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2009, 12:22:42 PM »
And Daniel was going to the MLS after the game he hot up for Public.

« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2009, 12:27:15 PM »

???
FF get ah Davy Jenny from the man himself  :rotfl: classic!
« Last Edit: June 16, 2009, 12:29:39 PM by Quagmire »

Online Peong

« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2009, 12:31:28 PM »
And Daniel was going to the MLS after the game he hot up for Public.

Yeh a couple good games doh cut it, yuh have to be consistent.

« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2009, 12:38:03 PM »
I believe Tinto is  a gem for the future.

The promise is there. But he really just threatens up front doesn't really do much and you can see a vast difference when Carlos goes forward. Tinto makes Carlos look like a great crosser.

Not knocking the yute but calling it as I see it. He might be better coming off the bench.

To his credit he had a better Mexico game than a CR game.
Maybe he might get better with every game. However, do we really have time to find out with every game being so important.

« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2009, 12:57:37 PM »
I believe Tinto is  a gem for the future.

gem  ??? tinto is  23

« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2009, 12:58:51 PM »

gem  ??? tinto is  23

Yeah, so?

« Reply #15 on: June 16, 2009, 04:01:36 PM »
As it is, we can't wait on the future. Tinto has to produce now. Wether he start or come off the bench is not the issue. Whenever he on the field he must produce. He got the chance in Mexico and played well. Lets hope he continues.

« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2009, 04:40:41 PM »
No offense to Tinto but ah cah belive he is the best we could for right winger.

As said before ah like him but he need some more blooding.

Maybe TT have some warm ups planned for the summer. And no, not Tobago or Guyana.

Maybe Panama and Guatemala that would be nice.

« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2009, 05:34:50 PM »
He raw. I seeing him tearing up since i in form 1.....de man was still tearing up when i was in form 6 and all. Buh as i said...his decision making does let him down...he like SWP. Buh that could only fix with opportunity. Allyuh hadda appreciate the value of consistency and hard work......even doh it does take one moment to give yuh de break yuh need.......it doh come just so.

Always remember...luck is where preparation meets opportunity.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline tempo

« Reply #18 on: June 16, 2009, 06:37:33 PM »
From what I've seen, this is my team vs. El Salvador
Subs in () 

John, S
     Glenn                          (Jones)                                  Tinto
    (Samuel, C)
                     Hyland                            Spann 
                                                          (Yorke)

Birchall                                 

John, A                  Sancho             Andrews              Edwards

Ince

« Reply #19 on: June 16, 2009, 06:53:46 PM »
No offense to Tinto but ah cah belive he is the best we could for right winger.

well there is lester peltier who move to portsmouth fell through

« Reply #20 on: June 16, 2009, 06:58:38 PM »

gem  ??? tinto is  23

Yeah, so?

a 18 19 20 year old is a gem 23 year old  ???

« Reply #21 on: June 16, 2009, 08:06:51 PM »
it really is amazing how we could go off on a comment that a stranger makes after seeing a player perform once. All of a sudden a player we seeing all de time is ah gem ! ..real banana republic yes !! ...